Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

dunno wot im gonna do.........

• 22-06-2004 1:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 550 ✭✭✭

Originally posted by ClareBear
    I rarely fall for someone.

I know, give it time.....until then Cadbury's is my new best friend :(

im the same right now, only I told my best guy friend how i really feel bout him, and hes gone all cold and distant on me...but the funny thing is that he told me he fancied me the week before i thol him i was falling 4 him..........
    Hes goin 2 england 4 the week, and then he's stayin in Tipp with his granda 4 a while........

What am i gonna do???

i really really fancy him, but i dont wanna loose him as a friend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 murt

Do you think that all boy/girl relationships are rooted in sexual attraction. I am convinced of it. What are you thoughts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 murt

I realise that wasnt much help to you barbie - apologies and sympathy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

what was your response to him telling you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,454 ✭✭✭weemcd

Originally posted by murt
    Do you think that all boy/girl relationships are rooted in sexual attraction. I am convinced of it. What are you thoughts?

I completley agree murt, sorry for hijaking your thread Barbie. I believe that if the attraction dies out the friendship can also do the same

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

keep it on topic ladies
    B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

No matter what advice anyone gives you, you still have no idea what is going on in his head.

Him going away for awhile is probably the best thing that can happen in this situation. It'll give him time to think about everything. When he comes back the situation will most likely just be akward. Most guys are cowards at this sort of thing, he wont want to be made the fool of and act first. Just talk to him directly about it. If he says no and he can't be friends with you anymore, theres nothing really you can do about it.

Make it clear that even if he doesn't feel the same you still want to be friends, and he can still talk to you about other girls etc... and you don't want what your feelings to interfere with the friendship.

Although he may come back from Tipp, run around to your house and tell you hes in love with you or something. I may be wrong.

Btw, when he told you he liked you the week before, what did you say? If you totally rejected him he may have gone off with another girl and thats why he was acting weird.

The best advice anyone can give you is talk to him about it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

Originally posted by Barbie_666
    im the same right now, only I told my best guy friend how i really feel bout him, and hes gone all cold and distant on me...but the funny thing is that he told me he fancied me the week before i thol him i was falling 4 him..........
    Hes goin 2 england 4 the week, and then he's stayin in Tipp with his granda 4 a while........

What am i gonna do???

i really really fancy him, but i dont wanna loose him as a friend.

Right, morei nformation please.

What was your response when he told you that he fancied you?
    If it was a hell no, then its quiet possible he has moved on, I know you girls like to believe you're little heart breakers, but sometimes guys get the message pretty sharpage.

You haven't mentioned you're doing the leaving at the moment, so things are probably abite weird because of that.

How long have you been friends, does he have a girl, do you have a guy, just give us the whole run down if you want an honest opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

Him : I like you lets shag.

Her : I love you <makes big eyes>

Him : Slaps head and runs away.

General advice. You should try being really cool (like you don't care) and take him to bed a few times, perhaps tell him about other men you have been with to make him jealous.

Then let him tell *you* how his world revolves around you.

Sounds stupid right, but... the force tells you it works nonetheless.

You don't want to eat that diary milk !

Typedef you really are a legend you know that... if you catch my drift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,334 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

Originally posted by Boston
    Typedef you really are a legend you know that... if you catch my drift.
    Ye but he's telling the truth, It would work and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭ven0m

i really really fancy him, but i dont wanna loose him as a friend. [/B]

Hate to say this - but it's make a choice time. Faint hearts & all that malarky..... You can't be on both sides of the fence running hot & cold cos it suits your position in the relationship.... Love is about risking it all on a person & leaving yourself open to hurt from that person unfortunately... & yes that sucks!!!

More to the point - if he told you the week before you told him why the feck did ye wait a week - were ye playing silly buggers about it or did you only realise in that week how ye felt? AND, if it did take a week to realise that - what was the deciding factor? Cos from his point of view, he's probably wondering why it took you a feckin week to come & tell him that.......

Women - we don't know what yis want & more than half the time yis don't even know yourselves.... LOL

::: SURFING = MEAL TIMES FOR SHARKS & WORKTIME FOR LIFEGUARDS :::

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

Well to be honest I do think for what it's worth that most boy/girl relationships have some kind of underlying sexual attraction that might or might not surface at some point.

The reason he's probably gone all cold and distant is that he didn't expect this to surface, which for a guy is fair enough - we don't tend to like unexpected things in general! This doesn't mean that he's said no. He's probably quite shocked by it. My own g/f was a good friend of mine for just less than a year, and we used to meet up as mates quite often. Around april both of us realised that we had feelings for one another, but it felt much harder for me to tell her how i felt because she was a good mate. Sometimes it could just be the wrong time for either of you - if the 2 of us had made a move on one another in the summer both she and i couldn't have seen it working out. Maybe that's just the way it is with you two. He might be afraid also that you confided in him that you like him but maybe he thinks you actually don't want to do anything about it. It's a possibility at least.

In my opinion, the 2 of you need to have a good talk. Maybe ring him up and just talk for a while, and maybe just see how he's doing. And to be honest, when he's down in tipp, Bus Eireann aren't that bad - you could always show up some afternoon/evening and say hello.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Barbie_666

When he told me, I was kinda speachless!i'v fancied him for ages, and i never thought he'd like me like that...so i snogged him.......:rolleyes:
    we were slightly drunk, but my friends said that he wouldnt have said it if he wasn't thinking it.:dunno:

When he told me, I was kinda speachless!i'v fancied him for ages, and i never thought he'd like me like that...so i snogged him.......:rolleyes:
    we were slightly drunk, but my friends said that he wouldnt have said it if he wasn't thinking it.:dunno:

So he said He fancied you, you kissed him, and then a week later told him how you felt. Maybe it was a ****e kiss.

*Do not* go laying a load of " we kissed so ... I've decided I love you and we should get married " stuff on him, that's the surest way to drive him away *at speed*.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭ven0m

Originally posted by Typedef
    *Do not* go laying a load of " we kissed so ... I've decided I love you and we should get married " stuff on him, that's the surest way to drive him away *at speed*.

Never a truer set of words has ever been uttered on Boards....

i dont love him...i fancy him!and i just thought id tell him the truth...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Walls

Ah, the old 'truth is the best policy' option.

Kid, you're screwed. You went off thinking you were dealing with a civilised human being, when in fact he's still congratulating himself on dry underwear and being upright. He is giving himself a pat on the back that says "That girl is crazy about me! Shure, why wouldn't she be?" But to talk to you would involve a reality check, and that is the last thing he wants.

I would suggest you start withdrawing from this one. If he wanted you by God he'd let you know. That's not the case here. Sorry.

Been involved on both sides of this equation by the way, so I'm not bashing anyone in anyway here.

he asked me to meet him in town this mornin for "a chat" before he left, and we got everything sorted out!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭LoneGunM@n

Glad to hear you got everything sorted ... nothing worse to wreck the head than the ole love/friendship issue!

p.s. Is it love or friendship?

"Friends" : Translation for him : "Might have sex at a later date".

"Friends" : Translation for her : "Might get married at a later date".

/pats self on back for being a stud/walking upright/having dry pants...