Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

see will it work

• 20-06-2004 4:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭

for the last two years i have wondered how much one could make by just colleting 1 euro of people they meet in just one month. so as i never have the courage to actually do it ill start my quest here rite now. can you spare a euro????? if the answer is yes then thank you its mostly appreciated. this proposal shall last one month and half of the monies recieved shall go to an irish charity. the person who delivers the last donation in 30 days shall choose the charity and i will inform the board daily on progress. if you donate a euro then please post a note on this thread so everyone will know.
    any donations can be posted to me.
    lookin forward to it.....
    :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

I'll post you a euro... in 1c coins. Do you mind if I don't put a stamp on it? I've run out...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭lisa.c

i dont mind and if anyone is not donating can you please post a comment to let me know what you all think. also has any one ever heard of this been done before if so when and where and what response did they get!!! thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,572 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

If it was posted by someone who has over 2000 posts on boards, I might consider it. However, since this is your first post on boards, I have absolutely no reason to trust you.

So no.

thats cool but i cant dupe any one ye'll have my address and ye can tally what i make as i asked who ever donates to say so on tread also you have just been nominated to choose the charity!!!!!!!!!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

this reminds me of the fellas in college who went around asking people for spare change cos they broke the window in some girls house at a party and needed to fix it, in reality they just did it for booze money, and made the mistake of talking about it infront of people who had 'helped' them. They were never seen again...:D (that bits not true, but the story is)

Oh, and why only half the money??
    Im not sending anything, btw.

Flogen

well to set the story strait i dont drink i work fulltime and im doing this for fun as well as that a charity will benfit.
    im not looking for bad vibes of any one as i said its being done out of curiousity but comments are welcome

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

I admire fundraising for charities of any description, but it might be better to do it with people you know, or people you meet in the street or something...

Flogen

thanks for your comments.

Originally posted by TmB
    If it was posted by someone who has over 2000 posts on boards, I might consider it.

I've got this mad idea right.... if everyone posts me a euro I'll donate it to the charity of choice. Whaddaye think??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭Cucullan

good idea ill post you on 1 euro. any smart ar.ses are only jealous any way who knows she might be good lucking and to be fair to her she did take a chance with this one. give her some respect for trying think she deserves that at least. any how she's right she cant con any one so why not back her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭subway_ie

Originally posted by Cucullan
    good idea ill post you on 1 euro. any smart ar.ses are only jealous any way who knows she might be good lucking and to be fair to her she did take a chance with this one. give her some respect for trying think she deserves that at least. any how she's right she cant con any one so why not back her.

I think the issue of the people with single/double didgit posts has been addressed already...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Originally posted by flogen

Oh, and why only half the money??
    Indeed. Why is only half of the money going to charity :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

The other half will be spent buying the stamps to send the money collected to them. :D

IOU €1. There, who needs PayPal...

why not i had the balls to do this so why not.

thank you cuculann............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Sounds awfully like a scam to make you money on the basis of you collecting for charity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭nads

"I used to believe in things when i was young too" :D

Only messin'! fair play sure. i've no money myself - i'm an irish graduate!

not a scam as i said its to SEE WILL IT WORK as ive often wondered in a month ill contact a charity and they can contact this board to confirm if i do not then ye have my details and ye can go public. ye can nominate a charity and verify it yereselves. as i said ye have my details so i cant run off with it. any how whats wrong with tryin to earn a quick few quid ive been nothen but honest im just tryin to see if it works

im not collecting on the basis of using a charity and then profiting im collecting for my self and to show a bit gratitude to people who donate im in return donating to a charity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Space Coyote

This reminds me of your dad's (i.e. Homer's) telemarketing scam a few years back. ;)

"This is Homer Simpson, aka Happy Dude. The court is making me call everybody back and apologize for my telemarketing scam. I'm sorry. If you can find it in your heart to forgive me, send one dollar to Sorry Dude, 742 Evergreen Terrace, Springfield. You have the power."

Originally posted by lisa.c
    why not i had the balls to do this so why not.

Transexual? Sorry, it had to be said...

Why is it no matter what someone trys to do in Ireland you always get one fool (aka Rymus) who has no interest in what your doing yet can't stop giving childish opinions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭kano476

well he does have 2800 posts and no life. too much free time if you ask me. get a job you loafer!

ill send you a euro. couldnt give feck if its a scam. if its sepnt on drink then make it mikey finn's schnapps!

pm me the addy.

thanks its been sent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭keu

can I see your permit and charity registration number please.
    Thanks.

(if you can't provide, just give me your name and address so I can contact the relevant authorities)

Why is it no matter what someone trys to do in Ireland you always get one fool (aka Rymus) who has no interest in what your doing yet can't stop giving childish opinions

What kano said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

Originally posted by flogen
    I admire fundraising for charities of any description,

Flogen

i know what ur saying and all and i do admire fundraising etc my mam works in our ladies hospital for sick children for past 37 years or so and she has done her share in that respect,but i was working in the ISPCC i think its called for children a good few years ago in town in kildare st,and one morning there was a room full of young 20 somethings who where getting kitted out with stuff for going out collecting and stuff so i started to talk to one girl and i said" u do all this voluntarily " and she said NO!!! we get 20% of what we make!!! i was :eek:

well i suppose they need funds for college too

im not here working for any charity or fooling people in to thinking that i am. im doing this to see if it is possible to make a few quid if ye cant understand that then fine. im doin this for myself but as i actually dont need the money because i do work fulltime my partner works full time we have no benefits and we own our own house ive decided that ill give most to charity so whats the problem im not here begging for money for a worthwhile cause or saying that im so poor that if ye dont give me money ill be terribly in debt im been honest im doin this for a laugh and if it works then a charitry that needs a donation will get one. i do appreciate everyone sayin its a scam but im not scamming any one or any charity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Our very own 419'er? nah, it doesn't make a nice pet, let's put her down. Can a mod please ban this muppet?

And lisa.c if you're interested to know can it be done, yes it can. It was done in the states YEARS ago: http://www.sendmeadollar.com Now, you know it can be done so stop harping on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,243 ✭✭✭zoro

...ive decided that ill give most to charity...
    Most? Didn't you say 50%?
    And if you really felt that way, why not give 90% or 90% to charity? That way you may be able to keep a tenner or something so that you can buy yourself some call-credit.
    so whats the problem im not here...
    Simply put, we don't trust you. Nor will any of us ever trust a new user with our money/women/small fluffy animals.
    If you stay on boards for long enough you'll hopefully have built up a reputable name for yourself. Post intelligently, don't flame people, take an active interest in helping new users get used to how this place works.
    Maybe even become a moderator of a board that you participate in regularly.

You can be guaranteed that if a moderator of a board or someone as respected as a mod (heavily active users that are informative and helpful) would likely have no troubles whatsoever in testing something like this. Plus we'd then have the added assurance that we trust (I use the word loosely here, as we're all just internet-names to each other) that person more than we would someone who had just joined.

I have ~400 posts I think. I wouldn't imagine that there'd be many people that would support me if I tried this. Maybe some of my friends that I know in real life, but other than that I dont see very many others throwing a euro my way. But I would have more luck with it than you.

Try this again in a few months time after you've been here as an active member, then dig up this thread and we'll see how you get on :)

thanks ill pull the plug on this it was only for laugh any way but you all took it wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

Im not usually a deep thinker and i've never posted any kind of comment like this before but...

Reading this thread I was thinkin, in many ways, this embodies alot of whats wrong with the internet. Also, to take it further, it's a very concise example of the negativity in the modern world. Flick back through it and think about it. Im not just refering to Lisa or in anyway insulting any of the posters!

far out!

Interesting comment allright.

It's a pity there were so many flames in this thread - sure she was out on a limb asking the question, and no one really knows if she's for real or just trying to scam us. But flaming a new user is not the way to go, unless they go creating a second account in order to back themselves up ;)
    Lisa_c:
    thanks ill pull the plug on this it was only for laugh any way but you all took it wrong.
    I don't know if we did take it wrong - you have absolutely zero reputation on these boards. You may well be a millionaire with nothing better to do than try to find the best in humanity, but you could also be pure scum just out to get a quick few bob.
    I'm not insulting you here so don't go getting all ratty on me! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

Id like to hear her answer the "half" or "most of" question

whats the story there?

i assure you all i am neither scum nor millionaire and i appreciate all coments hurtful or not. opinions are welcome as is advice. i was hoping to get a good response but i guess not. my partner has been a respected member of this site for quite a while and he did say that this could happen. i should of listened i guess. any how once again thaks for the replies. if athen does come through in post ill send it all strait to charity. it was only a bit of fun which obviously rubbed people up wrong way and i aploagise but **** happens and sometimes we take chances i obviously took a wrong one any way ill still keep with this site as i do think its good.

i assure you all i am neither scum nor millionaire
    :) twas only a passing comment, not an insult
    my partner has been a respected member of this site for quite a while
    gizza name :p
    any way ill still keep with this site as i do think its good
    Well at least we haven't driven you away with our noob-bashing :D

were you a knacker in your past life?

Why don't you stop wasting your time and, more importantly, money on the internet and get a job. Stop being a twit.

"hey boss...give us a few bob there boss"
    (btw...I don't really need it as I collect social payments in several counties, and sell furniture as a sideline)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭Time Man

Ill send a euro, give me your address

i work full time i work evenings so my son dosent go to a minder ive just bought my parents house so they can start a life abroad im far from a knacker and would it be fair to give his name i dont think. so ye can hammer me as much as we want but the fact is i didnt try con any one i didnt say the money was just for a worthy cause i said it was for me and if i did well a charity would benefit whats wrong with that. yes i was stupid to think it would work but i didnt lie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Just stop replying to people's posts, and the thread will die naturally

I think it's about time that this thread was closed :dunno:

thanks time man but the response is bad and the idea is gone. put it in a poor box in the next shop your in.

i agree zoro

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭kano476

... and on a totally unrelated topic - anyone who sends me 10 euro will recieve a free glossy nude pic of myself. the money will go to charity of course. its in aid of my local off licence.