Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

JES-Computer Payment

• 12-06-2004 8:34am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭

I made an order on June 2nd with JES, paid them by electroic bank transfer in BOI on the same day. 7 working days later, they still haven't gotten payment (I e-mailed them and they told me this). Bank Of Ireland never gave me any kind of receipt, but they did say it usually takes a max of 5 days. BOI aren't exactly "competent", but I don't know what JES are like, so maybe they have been paid. Anybody else have a similar experience/any advice on what I should do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭maxheadroom

Jes have been quite good about keeping me informed of when payment reached them etc, so its possible BIO are acting the s**t here - AIB tried to overcharge me by €19 last time I sent money to JES... Try ringing BOI and see when they actually put the payment through - you might need to talk to someone in their international department though (there might be a number to ring on the counterfoil of the form you filled in to make the payment)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭neokenzo

Did you send payment through your bank account? Just call BOI and ask them whether the transfer have been made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭Mutant_Fruit

just remember you should only be charged 74CENT to do a bank transfer to germany, the same price as one to your friends account in ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

So the bank said it takes 5 days... Its been 7 days since you sent it...

Gonna put my neck out on the line here and suggest it takes 5 working days, so its not really late yet is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭subway_ie

Originally posted by jesus_thats_gre
    So the bank said it takes 5 days... Its been 7 days since you sent it...

Gonna put my neck out on the line here and suggest it takes 5 working days, so its not really late yet is it?

The bank said it would take "5 days" - it's been seven *working days* since I sent it. So even if they did mean 5 working days, which they probably did, then it's still late. The thing is, I had to get my mother to do it for me in the bank (big mistake). She went in with the €260, gave them the printout I made with the IBAN. swiftcode etc, name address, all that. They took it, went away and said "that's grand". No forms filled out, not even a receipt. Which is just a bit odd. I gave her my ATM card as well, but I doubt they did it through the account when she had the cash. Parents are already suing the same bank branch for something else along the same lines as this. Feckin retards. I'm thinking they just didn't bother sending it at all.

Could somebody post the Swiftcode if they've got it, I'm trying to find it for when I go in on Monday, but can't see it anywhere on their site. All they give in the email is their IBAN.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭BoB_BoT

Couple of problems here, first off the money must be sent from your bank account, so the money has to be lodged into your account.

Secondly you have to fill out the "Paylink Euro Application Form" (aib name for it).

Thridly they check at the counter to see if all the details are right, for instance the first time I bought from Jes I had wrote down the wrong swift code and they knew there and then that it was wrong so it has to be checked.

I'm pretty sure that they havn't processed your transaction in the bank, sounds pretty dodgey to me. Go have a talk with the manager, make sure you have all the details of what has happened on a page so you know anything they can ask. Plus you can have the video tapes checked etc...

Swift details are at the bottom of the Contact Page

Swift: GENODES1RWT

Good Luck,
    Rob

Just checked my account balance on the phone... still only €16 in my account, so it definetly hasn't been lodged and forgotten about. Aparently they brought over a clipboard with a checklist on it when they took my info-sheet and said "everything's in order there" and then they just went away with it. She (my mother, who went to the bank for me) said she asked them if she needed to fill out anything, they said "no". They didn't use my ATM card at all, but my account number was on the sheet so they could've just used that. I still think they just forgot about the whole thing. The problem is, the cashier is a friend of the family, so I can't really go up complaining to the manager about the fúck up...

Originally posted by subway_ie
    The problem is, the cashier is a friend of the family, so I can't really go up complaining to the manager about the fúck up...

260 euro says you can.
    either that or have a talk with the cashier

Well I'm definetly going to do something to fix it, I just mean I can't really go in giving out about their (mostly) incompetent staff and all that crap. Which, for the most part is true, just can't really say it in this situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

When i did a bank tranfser to the UK i had to fill out a form, bank details, forms etc.
    This sounds slightly suspect (im with BoI)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,133 ✭✭✭Explosive_Cornflake

maybe your mother thought it would be funny to keep your money. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA :)
    Sorry, i'm not helping am I.
    If the cashiers a friend, ring her and ask her to check out the progress of it for you.

If you havent done so already go to the branch and enquire.

Originally posted by B-K-DzR
    If you havent done so already go to the branch and enquire.

Just went in today... made a fairly substantial post about it before boards.ie did its amazing time-travel act. Basically, the payment went through on the 8th of June, JES had it all the time, so I emailed them today and they basically said "sorry, we'll send the order right away". The order is down as "Delivered" on the JES site, but I didn't get any confirmation e-mail or anything, so I'm not sure how reliable that is. I wonder why it took so long for them to realise they had my money?

it can take anytime between a week and two weeks before transactions are lodged by the german bank, they may not have known that they had your money until they checked it with the banks. if you used a paylink form (from aib) it transfers in 2 days (costs €20 extra). oh and the delivered means it's being dispatched, you don't get a confirmation e-mail when it has being sent out. It's now up to the postal service to get your package to you. Very odd about the bank, next time do the transaction yourself, at least that way you know what's going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Ba$tard banks :mad:

It takes only a fraction of a second to do an electronic transfer. They just like to keep your money for a while so as it generates revenue for them

lol.

glad to see it was all sorted.

Originally posted by BoB_BoT
    it can take anytime between a week and two weeks before transactions are lodged by the german bank, they may not have known that they had your money until they checked it with the banks.

But that's the thing, they specifcally said they had never gotten my money the day before I e-mailed them saying that my bank had confirmed it, then all of a sudden they said it would be "leaving our house" by the evening. I still think they had the money for the last few days and just didn't bother doing anything. Having said that, I'm probably going to use them again since their prices are o good - even if it does take a little longer than Komplett or Elara. Plus I use the GLS Knock depot, which is always good.

if you're placing a large order, use the paylink option, the extra 20 is worth it so that your money transfers in 2 days, or 32 for transfering the money that day. Never had any probls like that with jes before, but oh well, **** ups happen.

if you're placing a large order, use the paylink option, the extra 20 is worth it so that your money transfers in 2 days, or 32 for transfering the money that day.

It wasn't a very big order, only €260 - including €17 postage. The extra €20 for tha paylink thing would probably have made it cheaper to buy elsewhere. But the delay was a blessing in disguise... I'm in the middle of my leaving cert, and if I had gotten it before now I probably wouldn't be able to resist opening it all up and messing around with it. So JES has, in effect, helped my with my leaving cert aswell as supplied cheap computer parts. Pretty good service.

Glad to here it's all good now.
    What goodies did you get for yourself?
    Why don't jes take CC's?

Originally posted by Explosive_Cornflake
    Glad to here it's all good now.
    What goodies did you get for yourself?
    Why don't jes take CC's?

Just got an NEC DVD-RW, Samsung 160GB HDD, floppy drive, DVD-Drive, fans, and a few other things I can't even remember now 'cause it was so long ago. I think not taking credit cards is a German thing... alot of places dont take them, or if they do, they need a photocopy of the card. TBH, I prefer to pay by bank transfer - takes longer, but since I'm a 17 year old (ex) secondary school student, I can't get a credit card.

Does anybody know if JES usually send out confirmation e-mails/tracking numbers when they dispatch orders? I've never gotten anything, and it'd be nice to have a rough idea when my stuff's gonna arrive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭CombatCow

I orderd stuff from them last week,but dut to a item not in stock it only shipped yesterday morning,i didnt get a tracking number either.Hopefully i will get it by friday....i hope

CombatCow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭unklerosco

Might be a stupid question but is the whole site in german... Ie the faq'a n stuff/?//

Originally posted by unklerosco
    Might be a stupid question but is the whole site in german... Ie the faq'a n stuff/?//

Yeah, everything's in german, even if you click the british flag... I've just been using google to translate it this link should translate *most* of it. For some reason it won't translate everything, none of the stuff in the FAQ/Help sections.

cheers

do they sell cpu's??? I cant find them//

They sell processors and motherboards, look along the list on the left. Not everything is translated, but the names are similar :Processors.

I just looked at the site, and the 160GB Samsung I ordered has come down by about €15 since I ordered. Two feckin weeks ago today. I'd say most of the other stuff I've ordered have been reduced too. :mad:

I'd like a samsung myself. Have one in this computer, and i have a 160 WD in my other computer, and its the loudest part.
    Didn't get the job i was going for today (yet), so it'll be awhile before i'm buying techie stuff again. Got my iriver 40 GB this week though, so i guess i can't complain :)
    Passed all my exams though so at least some good news today !

I think I'm gonna get myself an MP3 player for when I finish the LC, Shop4Memory have some good bargains right now. Can't really go over €100 though.

Well i dealt with www.mx2.co.uk
    Someone was doing price checks and theres was the cheapest. Got an IHP 140 for €392 i think, delivered. Its free delivery.
    Ordered it on thursay night, and it arrived on monday, so i'm happy.
    I like stick to big brands for expensive stuff.
    TBH i'd spend a bit more on a MP3, with €100 your only going to get a 128.
    I'd love a GIG flash player, but the iriver apparently have fairly decent battery life, 16h or so, a good bit more than 6-8 for an ipod.

Komplett have a 256MB for about €100, but I'd prefer one with a radio too. I don't have a huge music collection, so it'll only have to store about 50-100 songs max. Definetly wouldn't need anything like the iRiver or anything more than 256MB. Right now, money's a major factor. So €100 is definetly the max. Maybe €120.

Hmm, my shooping list includes:
    Quieter fans than the turbines in this box
    At least some fans for my other box!
    Better ram for this, and while i'm at it, a better mobo. they but 266 ram with a p4 2.8, wtf? I won't make the mistake a buying a built computer again.
    Move my other box up to 64 bit.
    Fans i met get soon, the other stuff i met get in september or later, depends if i get a job or not.

That's my plan too - buying the smaller stuff now, probably get the more expensive stuff sometime in July - try to spread out the cost once I get a job. All I've got now is case (Sonata), HDD, DVD -RW, DVD, floppy drives, fans, monitor and small stuff. I've got a decent Dell right now, so there's no huge rush in building the new system.

Just need to say how great JES are at replying to e-mails... I've sent them three in the last 3 days, each time they've replied in 3-5 minutes, all sent in english. I'm really impressed - you'd have to wait at least a full day with any of the other companies I've ever bought from (OCUK, Amazon, etc). Definetly not going to buy from OcUK ever again.

The package left Germany yesterday morning, arrived in Dublin last night. I think GLS might be getting a bit better. Plus, I found out that once you fax them a copy of your bank trasnfer receipt, they start to dispatch the order immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭TacT

I've ordered a lot of stuff over the past 3 months from both ocuk and jes and both have been equally good at replying to e-mails. ocuk tends to ship much faster though and I'm not fond of not knowing where the hell my product is with jes but a quick e-mail usually sorts that out.

Originally posted by TacT
    I've ordered a lot of stuff over the past 3 months from both ocuk and jes and both have been equally good at replying to e-mails. ocuk tends to ship much faster though and I'm not fond of not knowing where the hell my product is with jes but a quick e-mail usually sorts that out.

Well, the package left germany yesterday morning and I received it about 30 mins ago from JES by GLS. When I ordered my €600 monitor from OCUK, they couldn't track the package at all. They (ocuk) guaranteed delivery in 48 hours - it turned up 8 days later (6 working days). Wouldn't answer their phones and when they did reply to my email, they were a bit weird... not so much arrogant but more like "why are you bothering us with this". While there was a bit of a slip-up with my bank transfer, JES were very apologetic and fast. Not to mention cheaper than OCUK. I suppose it's just down to personal preference, but I'm definetly sticking with JES.

Well i'm gonna give them a go tomorrow, the're prices are vgood and the shipping is only €17 compared to ocuk €45!!! Im hopin for the best...

Originally posted by unklerosco
    Well i'm gonna give them a go tomorrow, the're prices are vgood and the shipping is only €17 compared to ocuk €45!!! Im hopin for the best...

If you're paying by bank transfer, e-mail them after you've made the transfer and ask if there's any way to make the process faster... they mentioned to me about faxing a copy of my bank-transfer receipt to them so that they could despatch the goods.

Will do, hope to place the order tomorrow but will most likely be mon... Still have to make up my mind!!!!

Will post how I get on

has anyone got the phone number to contact jes, i know it's on their site and it's on the invoices i've recieved from them, but whenever i try to call it doesn't seem to work. Have tried 00 49 - (the number on site) but that doesn't seem to work for some reason, what one do ye call?

Are you dropping the first digit of the number? Eg, if the number was "0496 2136 216", then you should be dialing "0049 496 2136 216". But, they do say on the site to keep communication to e-mails - it's going to be cheaper and faster - just put down in the subject line that the e-mail is in english and what it's about and try to keep the english simple. Or better still, get somebody to translate it to German. But why do you want to phone them?

I want to phone them because i'm not getting any replies when I email them. It's getting irritating at this point, I've being keeping the english simple, i've more or less being asking
    "Can you tell me the order status of #(order number)" sent about 3 of these with the order number in the title. Nope havn't being dropping any numbers. Will give them another try.

That's weird... replies to my e-mails literaly took 3 minutes. Try dropping the first digit of the number - you've normally got to do that for international calls.

Whe dialing international you drop the zero from the area code, so say westmeath is 044 XXXXX, but international is + (international access: normall 00, but 010 i believe in britain) 353 (country code) 44(area code: omitted zero) XXXXX(local number).
    Sorry if this is obvious, but it may be of use to others.

It's the same from Britain: 00-international dialing code-area code, without the first digit-phone number. Eg, 00-353-91-564125 would be 091 564125.