Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So bad its good.

• 11-06-2004 2:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭

I'm sure something similar has been posted, but what the hay.

Everyone has a few movies that they love, coz they're so bad they're practically comedies. IMO Steven Segal is the king of these movies.

Back in my student days (not so long ago), me and the brother used to go down to Chartbusters alot, (usually to the action adventure section) and pick out something with the worst looking tacky-cheezy piece of crap cover we could find.

If there was anyone above a C-list actor in it, we wouldnt get it, and we got some real gems.

Please tell me some of you have seen a movie called Crackerjack (has some guy swinging from a rope shooting a gun on the cover), or perhaps Deadly Heroes? (starring a very washed-out coked-up airwolf dude). Its a great way to pick a movie if ye dont know what to get.

Anyone got any other films in this category?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,352 ✭✭✭Ardent

There have been so many low-budget, crap movies made that it's hard to know where to start. I must have seen millions of them when I was kid after my parents bought our first VCR.

I always have a soft spot for Cobra (Sly Stallone). "You're the disease, I'm the cure!".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 989 ✭✭✭MrNuked

Starship Troopers
    Mission Impossible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Dreamcatcher!

Definantly in the so bad it's good category!

Check out some of the quotes in it below. Some of these quotes crack me up!!!

Gary 'Jonesy' Jones: I'm filing that in the "Who Gives A F*ck" section of my Memory Warehouse.

Joe 'Beaver' Clarendon: This is our twentieth year coming out here to "Hole In The Wall", and f*ck me Freddy, here's to twenty more.

Pete Moore: Motherfu*ker tried to bite my dick off, Jonesy. I always thought it'd be my ex-wife did that.

Joe 'Beaver' Clarendon: Jesus-Christ-bananas, some F*ckarow this is turning into.

Rick McCarthy: [Burps loudly]
    Joe 'Beaver' Clarendon: bitch-in-a-buzzsaw. I've heard some mighty burps in my time, but that's the blue ribbon baby.

Pete Moore: Bite my bag, motherf*cker.
    [Snowmobile stops]
    Mr. Gray: All right, Pete - I'll bite... your bag... and everything else.

Gary 'Jonesy' Jones: Fu*k you.
    Mr. Gray: I know what that expression means. I've studied the foul language section of your memory warehouse. Rather distasteful, I must say.
    Gary 'Jonesy' Jones: How about this, Mr. Gray? Eat sh*t and die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭radiospan

I dunno if Batman: The Movie (1966) counts, but that's one of my favourite films, so funny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

oh ye dreamcatcher was SO funny!
    so was dawn of the dead (yes dawn not shawn)
    so was day after tomorrow.

but em ye dream cather ye, the aliens with there telephty make the pilots think there little children and then they get napalmed and it is so funny all the aliens saying "dont hurt us" and then BAM! they get napalmed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

Did anyone else see Runaway Car on sky one a couple weeks ago

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0120041/

It's got Judge Reinhold in it as Ed who basically just shouts "OH MY GOD OH MY GOD" a lot...

twas truly hilarious...

theres a scene where they have to helicopter a baby out the window and they nearly hit the bridge and all this mad stuff goin on...

by the by you can buy it on dvd from here just in case anyone else was into this sorta thing

the very last scene where judge reinhold finally gets to have his smoke hes been waiting for all day and his lighter wont work is pure genius

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Evil_Bilbo

Love john carpenter's early stuff aswell.

Big trouble in little china

They Live - total classic starring rowdy roddy piper. Has the funniest fist fight I've ever seen.

He keeps shouting stuff like "Momma dont like cry babies" while blowing the sh!te outta zombie/aliens things.

Class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Ellesmere

'Bloodsport' with Jean claude vandamme, really bad and cheesy in every respect but good fun entertainment still.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

Tremors Chessy but i have the DVD:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭SirLemonhead

Originally posted by Evil_Bilbo
    Love john carpenter's early stuff aswell.

Big trouble in little china

They Live - total classic starring rowdy roddy piper. Has the funniest fist fight I've ever seen.

He keeps shouting stuff like "Momma dont like cry babies" while blowing the sh!te outta zombie/aliens things.

Class.

Lol classic film. 'God damn you need a Brazilian plastic surgeon!'

'I have come here to kick ass and chew bubblegum!....but i'm all out of gum!'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Rnger

Evil Dead 2.

Its so **** that its good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭yossarin

SPAWN !
    or better yet, SPAWN , THE DIRECTORS CUT

the finest high-grade shíte I've ever seen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Bloodsurf - fcuking classicly awful movie that's really laugh-out-loud funny!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,601 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Originally posted by bedlam
    With out a doubt, King Kong V Godzilla

Haven't seen it in years - remember watching it as a kid - missed the start so I just saw from when KK was on the raft and thought it was just a King Kong remake until guess who showed up - chewing power cables on the way..

Reno - unarmed and dangerous.

Evil Dead 2. Its so **** that its good

Evil dead 2 is a classic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭orangerooster

Originally posted by basquille
    Dreamcatcher!
    Pete Moore: Bite my bag, motherf*cker.
    [Snowmobile stops]
    Mr. Gray: All right, Pete - I'll bite... your bag... and everything else.

I was unable to stand or continue watching the film for several minutes after that line.I cracked up completely.More films in the so bad their good category would be Bloodsurf, The Swarm, Cobra and Crocodile two-late night on sky movies is a gold mine for really awful films.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

Evil Dead 3, Bruce Campbell Vs The Army of Darkness, classic stuff.
    Braindead/DeadAlive (Peter Jackson), absolutely brilliant, must of had at least a $20 bugget :D (actually $3 million but hey). Lawnmowers will never be the same again!
    Bad Taste, Peter Jackson's first film, he stared in it aswell. Very cheep looking, full of gore, brains falling out of head, that sort of thing.
    And most recently, Shaun of the Dead, so crap and yet so funny.

Man - that is a deadly film. So crap - yer man running over the wet cement and stuff. Fecking class.

For some wierd reason I really loved Lake Placid. Pure muck. Mustve seen it at least 10 or 12 times though - I'm always delighted when it come on tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Frank Grimes

Delta Force.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 darraghmac

joe dirt, hands down winner. i know that it's awful, but it cracks me up.

it's either the worst movie ever made, or the most intelligent satire, either way, does me.

Originally posted by Darko
    Evil dead 2 is a classic.

Yeah its **** you mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭nadir

Die Rnger , DIE!!!! you..... you heathen

Bruce Campbell is THE man.

evil dead 1,2 Army Of Darkness, all rule, those flicks are like benchmarks.

*anyway back to topic.

rambo 3 , blazing saddles, etc list goes on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭blobert

Anything with Van Damage in:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Originally posted by nadir
    Die Rnger , DIE!!!! you..... you heathen

Bruce Campbell is THE man.

evil dead 1,2 Army Of Darkness, all rule, those flicks are like benchmarks.

*anyway back to topic.

rambo 3 , blazing saddles, etc list goes on.

I agree with you 'bout Bruce Campbell being the man.

But Blazing Saddles is great - Mel Brooks best!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Jesus christ people! You're naming some classic films here! There's certainly nothing bad about The Evil Dead trilogy, it's 100% quality!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Frank Grimes

Originally posted by Karl Hungus
    Jesus christ people! You're naming some classic films here! There's certainly nothing bad about The Evil Dead trilogy, it's 100% quality!
    I think their definition of "bad" is a movie that didn't cost 100s of millions and have 5 A-list actors in it.

Army of Darkness is just WIERD.

What kinda buzz is it on? Horror? Comedy? Satire? Its a very wierd but thoroughly enjoyable movie - think its the worst of the 3 though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭LoneGunM@n

Originally posted by Capt'n Midnight

I remember seeing that in the cinema in Nenagh when I was a kid ... Classic movie :D

Some funny quotes:

"You're going to be the 11th commandment, 'Thou shalt not get away with it'."

You know Chuin, sometimes you're a real pain in the ass."
    "That is because it is the shortest route to your brain."

And there are times when I could really kill you."
    "Good! We will practice that after dinner."

p.s. It's called Remo [not Reno]

Remo - Unarmed & Dangerous

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

Originally posted by Evil_Bilbo
    Army of Darkness is just WIERD.

What kinda buzz is it on? Horror? Comedy? Satire? Its a very wierd but thoroughly enjoyable movie - think its the worst of the 3 though.

Yeh its not the mae west but it's still great... commentary with bruce sam and ivan makes the movie much better though

But for the topic at hand its defenitely the most "so bad its good" movie in the trilogy

Gimme some sugar baby.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

Deep Rising

• Subscribers Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭Draco

Originally posted by joe_chicken
    Deep Rising
    Great little movie that. But it delibrately rips the piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

Yeah I have to say Deep Rising too, its ultra cheesy and predictable but still brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Man Time

Oh my god, I saw Space Truckers last night, what a terrible film. reminded me of one of those really cheap and bad sci fi movies made in the early 80's or late 70's. Ice Pirates springs to mind. They even had Ab Rollers to strap them into their seats. Poor Steven Dorf Charles Dance, and Dennis Hopper, they must have really needed the cash. Was cool seeing the corpo buildings on the quays as the hospital though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

Myself and one or two of my mates went through a phase.

The rules were simple.

1. Van Damme, Schwarzenneger, Stalone, Dolf Lundgren, and a few others.
    2. 18's Certificate.

If they met both of the above criteria they had to be rented (automatic rental choice).

Some of the most enjoyable film watching was done in those months. I have seen so many terrible films that nearly all cinema releases seem good to me.

But again, most were bad in a good way. Some were just so bad they werent funny any more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭oeNeo

The Transporter

I don't think I've ever laughed so much in a cinema. The best bits are probably when he noticed that it was quiet.. too quiet.. then WHAM! missiles blow up his house. Another is when he lubes himself up with oil to fight off the bad guys.

maybe i was being a bit harsh, but all your saying is that its quaility.

Gimme a reason to like it

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

Spaceballs :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭Cactus Col

THE CORE!!

THE CORE!!!

THE CORE!!!!

Dr. Josh Keyes: As the EM field becomes more and more unstable, we'll start seeing isolated incidents - one plane will fall from the sky, then two, then, in a few month, anything,everything electronic will be fried.
    Dr. Konrad Zimsky: Static discharges in the atmosphere will create superstorms with hundreds of lightning strikes per square mile.
    Dr. Josh Keyes: After that it gets bad.