Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Salthill Airshow

• 08-06-2004 12:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭

To remind anyone who is interested the Salthill Airshow 2004 takes place on Sunday July 3rd. Pretty much same as last year with (imo) the highlight being 2 German Navy Tornado's and the red arrows confirmed as of now. You can expect same late entry's from the USAF - F-16's/A-10's/F-15's etc.

Anyone going?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Sunday July 4th.

smeh, it was crap 3 years ago. some helicopter that never took off and a couple of jets that were too far away to see properly... WOW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

er, the Red Arrows are there this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

Originally posted by tman
    Sunday July 4th.

smeh, it was crap 3 years ago. some helicopter that never took off and a couple of jets that were too far away to see properly... WOW!

Right you are Tman - 4th of July.

Was that the year it was pissing rain (2 chinook's & a blackhawk helicopter)? The problem is there are quiet a few restrictions on the pilots (afair not allowed fly over crowed, Cannot break sound barrier - for obvious reasons). The Tornado's are really impressive. Loudest aircraft I've ever heard. Worth a visit just for those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

why cant they break the sound barrier. heard a concorde break the sound barrier once. that was class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,225 ✭✭✭Scruff

just saw the end of it last year. think it was the red arrows who were at it then but whoever they were they were well impressive.
    still the best show was the one in shannon all those years ago. f-16,f-15,tornado's, c5 galaxy and my favourite aircraft ever: f-4 phantoms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

Yeah I was sat on a train at the station when the red arrows were performing. From what I caught of it, it was fairly impressive. It also adds a strange amount of realism if your playing desert combat at the time at a lan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Originally posted by Asok
    It also adds a strange amount of realism if your playing desert combat at the time at a lan.
    *plug plug*

Originally posted by Draupnir
    why cant they break the sound barrier. heard a concorde break the sound barrier once. that was class.

Mainly because of the amount of windows it would break.
    still the best show was the one in shannon all those years ago. f-16,f-15,tornado's, c5 galaxy and my favourite aircraft ever: f-4 phantoms.

When was this scruff? Don't know how I missed that one. Would love to see some phantoms.

Hopefully this won't happen at the airwshow this year.

ah i have the cockpit camera view of that crash. He left it a bit late alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

I'll be around.

Running GalwayLAN that wekend too.
    I might not get down to see it myself, but we'll certainly hear it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

They have F-4 phantoms at that show ? the jet must be 40 years old now wouldnt of though the americans would still have them

For anyone who is interested:

Salthill airshow confirm the attendance of

1 Tornado F3 (in addition to the 2 German Tornado's)
    1 Hawk T1 (fastjet trainer)
    1 Harrier Gr7 - This will be superb...

Full line up:

2004 Flying Display
    Royal Air Force Red Arrows Aerobatic Display Team
    RAF BAe Harrier GR.7
    RAF Panavia Tornado F.3
    RAF Shorts Tucano T.1
    RAF BAe Nimrod MR.2
    RAF BAe Hawk T.1
    St. Ivel Utterly Butterly Wing Walkers
    Marineflieger Panavia Tornado IDS
    Luftwaffe Panavia Tornado IDS
    Royal Netherlands Air Force Agusta Bell AB-412 SP
    Royal Netherlands Air Force Display PC-7
    Irish Air Corps Pilatus PC-9M
    Irish Air Corps CASA CN235-100MP Persuader
    Irish Air Corps Aerospatiale SA365Fi Dauphin II
    Irish Air Corps Aerospatiale SA316B Alouette III
    Dr. Tony Walsh's Beech C-45H Expeditor
    Coast Guard Sikorsky S-61N
    Garda Air Support Unit Eurocopter EC135
    Aer Arann ATR-72

http://airshow.topcities.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Only Human

Im going to Roundstone, conemara, co. Galway this weekend as i do every year and the planes usually come our way! Its really great becuase your out in the middle of the backside of no where bored out of your mind and all of a sudden an armada of U.S navy and airforce planes fly over. it really is exciting! that made my day now knowing that it will be on again.

Originally posted by daveg

When was this scruff? Don't know how I missed that one. Would love to see some phantoms.

jaysus....let me think, it was donkeys years ago, i dont think i was more than 14 at the time. So it was '92 at the latest. Think i still have the program from it somewhere and i know i definitely still have some photos of it, taken on a crappy 35mm camera. Will have a look for them the next time i'm home.

The phantoms were F-4G Wild Weasels that were still based in Germany at the time. The last time they saw combat was in Gulf War 1.

If i had the vocabulary and understanding at the time i would have described it as like having a day long orgasm (or what i'd imagine a day long one would be like) :D

Originally posted by Only Human
    Im going to Roundstone, conemara, co. Galway this weekend as i do every year and the planes usually come our way! Its really great becuase your out in the middle of the backside of no where bored out of your mind and all of a sudden an armada of U.S navy and airforce planes fly over. it really is exciting! that made my day now knowing that it will be on again.

Human it's not this weekend it's next weekend.

I think I posted this earlier but a good tip is to head out to Salthill on the Saturday (day before airshow). They (Tornado's and fastjets) usually practice over the bay. No crowds and no restrictions (ish). I'll never forget the woman who jumped out of her skin whilst strolling her child in a buggy across the prom when a Tornado passed over her head at approx 100 feet/450 miles per hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

The airshow rocks, I live in an apartment in salthill looking over the bay. So i see it every year. The year before last was savage when the chinook's were just sitting there all day in the park, then at the very end they finally took off and did a fly-by. They were amazing, also whenever the "big jets" (sorry havent a clue about names) turn there asses on the crowd at speed and you get to actually hear them properly.......

And of course when the aer Arann "plane" does its fly-by.

Sean

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Only Human

Human it's not this weekend it's next weekend.
    Im goin out this weekend and spending two months there. Yes two whole bloody months of being constantly bored. Altho ive got a job for the first month working in the local shop 'Ferons' , so if any one is passing through Roundstone stop in and see me :D

Any way I cant wait to see the PC9's. I did work experience with the Air Corp's back in transition year! At that stage they had'nt got the pc9s, Buit we got to sit in all the other aircraft even got to sit in Bertis seat on the govt. jet! stole his special toffee's aswell. There are a few good stories roaming around Balldonnel aerodrome. Including one about the waiting room which has a €14,000 carpet. one young no-com decided he was going to get mud all over his boots and walk in on the carpet!! The Air corp is such a laugh. its no where near as disiplined as the army or as the stereotype would have it made out to be, i didnt see any of the non-coms slaute the officers, the would walk by and say 'how a ya ' before they gave a slute!
    another thing we got to see was the robot from robot wars , does anyone remember the first ever episode and there was a robot from Dublin? well that was a bunch of young fellas from the air corp who built it. Messing around with that was good fun!

so was it any good? anyone get any pics?
    Didnt go see it myself but the 2 Tornados flew over my gaff a couple of times enroute to\from shannon. was in salthill the next day(:rolleyes: ) and the RAF Harrier did a nice little flyby before heading home.

daveg, the date of the shannon airshow was 22nd July 1990. found the pics but as ye can imagine they're not the best, though not bad for a 12year old with a 35mm camera with no zoom. got a nice one of the front of a galaxy with its nose open all the way and one or two of the impressive USAF contingent. Turns out there were A-10's as well! must scan them in and post em up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

Originally posted by Only Human
    Any way I cant wait to see the PC9's. I did work experience with the Air Corp's back in transition year! At that stage they had'nt got the pc9s, Buit we got to sit in all the other aircraft even got to sit in Bertis seat on the govt. jet! stole his special toffee's aswell. There are a few good stories roaming around Balldonnel aerodrome. Including one about the waiting room which has a €14,000 carpet. one young no-com decided he was going to get mud all over his boots and walk in on the carpet!! The Air corp is such a laugh. its no where near as disiplined as the army or as the stereotype would have it made out to be, i didnt see any of the non-coms slaute the officers, the would walk by and say 'how a ya ' before they gave a slute!
    another thing we got to see was the robot from robot wars , does anyone remember the first ever episode and there was a robot from Dublin? well that was a bunch of young fellas from the air corp who built it. Messing around with that was good fun!

Hey I did work experience there in TY too, was great fun! You're right about it being all relaxed and everything, I think I saw at most three salutes in the whole week. We didn't get any of Berties toffees though :mad:

Originally posted by Scruff
    so was it any good? anyone get any pics?
    Didnt go see it myself but the 2 Tornados flew over my gaff a couple of times enroute to\from shannon. was in salthill the next day(:rolleyes: ) and the RAF Harrier did a nice little flyby before heading home.

daveg, the date of the shannon airshow was 22nd July 1990. found the pics but as ye can imagine they're not the best, though not bad for a 12year old with a 35mm camera with no zoom. got a nice one of the front of a galaxy with its nose open all the way and one or two of the impressive USAF contingent. Turns out there were A-10's as well! must scan them in and post em up.

The Salthill airshow website will probably have a few pics/vids up over the coming days. The airshow was very good imo. The harrier was superb coming in to hover/flying backwards etc. The RAF tornado F3 was pretty impressive. Flew a few more manouvers than the German Tornado which just flew around the bay. However the 2 German Tornado's made an operance later and were pretty impressive. The red arrows were excellent as ever. There was a US black hawk which took off from the green at the end of the show and did a pretty amazing show over the bay (chopper hovered and then began to rotate around - was really impressive). Another year over....

Would be nice from them to get a few different jets next year. The tornado's/red arrows are excellent but they have headlined the show for the last 2-4 years. An Su-27 would be nice.

Please do post up the pics scruff. I have some amazing pics from an Airshow in Boston a few years back. F15/14/16's static on the ground. Got 2 excellent shots - me and my mate holding the nose of an F-16/upclose pic of an F16 cockpit. I'll post em up if anyone is interested?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

The Red Arrows were wicked but what really impressed me were the two earlier jets (think they were F15's). The guys basically just threw them about, flying inverted over the crowd at about 200 feet or so... fucking deadly. Must be the best job in the world: get paid to play in fighter jets /me drools.

An Su-27 would be nice.

I'd wet myself if a 27 showed up.

Originally posted by Sleepy
    The Red Arrows were wicked but what really impressed me were the two earlier jets (think they were F15's). The guys basically just threw them about, flying inverted over the crowd at about 200 feet or so... fucking deadly. Must be the best job in the world: get paid to play in fighter jets /me drools.

Sleepy they were Tornado's from the Luftwaffe.

I had heard strong rumers a B-52 or stealth (F-117) bomber was to open the show. Boy was I dissapointed when Air fúcking Arann opened the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Thanks Daveg, you just won me a bet. One of my friends was convinced they were F15's but I bet him they weren't because AFAIK, America haven't sold them to other airforces and they weren't in the livery of the USAF. :D

Ah the Aer Arann was a funny one alright.
    Still, I'd say the pilot had some fun as he wouldn't get to do flybys that low day-to-day!
    The auld beechcraft doing it's lazy ups, downs & turns was about as exciting as a slice of toast but it was good to see the pilatus, those things can climb.

The tornado's & the GR-7 were the highlights for me though.
    Reminded me of jumping out of my skin in Wales when a supersonic Tornado flew by me.
    "New pants please"

Originally posted by Sleepy
    Thanks Daveg, you just won me a bet. One of my friends was convinced they were F15's but I bet him they weren't because AFAIK, America haven't sold them to other airforces and they weren't in the livery of the USAF. :D

No worries. I hope the bet wasn't that the US hadn't sold F-15's cause if it was you have lost. F-15's are currently active in the Israeli, Japanese, Saudi Arabian and US airforce.