Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Masturbating with friend

• 08-06-2004 11:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hi all.

I'm a regular to boards and am 14 years old.

The thing is, I was staying in my mates house some weeks ago, and we got talking about girls, and sex and stuff.

He asked me if I masturbated, I actually haven't and would like to but as he said he did it i said yeah of course I do. I think we both kinda started to get a bit excited, and he said he was really horny and wanted to jerk off, he asked me if I'd **** with him, but I chickened out. I really wanted to but was afraid.

He is coming to stay in my house tomorrow night and I am afraid the whole topic will come up again. If it does and he asks me to masturbate with him should I agree. i really do want to, but I don't want to be classed as a freak.

Is it normal for guys my age to do this? Have any of ye guys here done it?

Help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭rs

I think I speak for most people when I say

Masturbating - Perfectly normal

Masterbating with male friend - Perhaps a little wierd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

Originally posted by rs
    Masterbating with male friend - Perhaps a little wierd

Just a little ? i think its very very odd tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

rs - you do speak for most of us.
    Masturbate away my good buddy, it's great fun.
    But I would only do it with/in front of a girlfriend.

Now, if you think you might be gay....

Originally posted by Zulu
    But I would only do it with/in front of a girlfriend.

You wouldn't do it by yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭_sheep

Originally posted by Curious bloke

Help.

Its perfectly normal at that age, remember its only gay if the balls touch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Masturbation is normal, certainly. Apparently 95% of Men masturbate, and the other 5% lie about it. I would be more concerned for someone if they didn't have a massive curiosity in it when growing up.

As for masturbating with someone else (of the same sex), well I've never done it, and apparently it's not normal, but it's not unusual. That is, you're not a freak if you do or if you don't. I would have no desire to, but at 22, I have a couple of mates who wouldn't blink an eye if it was suggested to them (and they're straight too).

It's extremely normal at your age to be curious and wanting to experiment. You're only now defining your own sexuality, so it's another ype of growing. Just like finding out what hobbies you enjoy doing when you're younger, it's all a matter of trying what you think you may be interested in, trial and error.

Bottom line: If it makes you uncomfortable, you don't have to do it. If this guy suggests it, and you decide you don't feel happy about it, tell him to go into the toilet or something.

Originally posted by rs
    You wouldn't do it by yourself?

The whole time - sorry I should have been clearer.
    If I was going to masterbate in front of/with somebody then it would only be with/in front of a girlfriend.

My apologies for any confusion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Originally posted by _sheep
    Its perfectly normal at that age, remember its only gay if the balls touch.

your own? crap.

The whole time - sorry I should have been clearer.
    If I was going to masterbate in front of/with somebody then it would only be with/in front of a girlfriend.

I guessed as much, but I didn't want the original poster thinking it was only ok to masterbate in front of members of the opposite sex :)

I suppose it boils down to this

It's not wrong to masterbate with a member of the same sex, but it's not something that most people would do.

At the end of the day, it's not hurting anyone, quite the opposite really ;) It's up to you to decide if you want to do it or not.

I'd just say that you might want to be careful who you tell about it, should you decide to do it. It's not the kind of info that you would want eveyone at school to know about, if you know what i mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭garthv

Ahh masterbate away to your hearts content,it only gets better,on your own that is.
    I'd be a bit skeptical about doing it in front of a friend,if i was pissed outta my tree then , maybe,but your only 14 so i cant see that happening any time soon.
    Maybe it might just be that your friend fancies you,has he ever made any remarks like that before?
    But to be honest i wouldnt do it,i'd fell real weird around my friend afterwards

I really don't know if I could get it up in front of another bloke with his lad in hand.
    But I'm not 14.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭LoneGunM@n

He is coming to stay in my house tomorrow night and I am afraid the whole topic will come up again. If it does and he asks me to masturbate with him should I agree. i really do want to, but I don't want to be classed as a freak.

You've said that you're afraid that he'll bring up the topic again .... If you are uncomfortable with it then don't do it. You should only do it with the other guy if you feel comfortable to do so. Do not allow yourself to be pressured into it. If need be, ask the guy to stop bringing it up!!

1 thing to remember is that masturbating is ok & not something to be ashamed of! To quote Woody Allen [from Annie Hall]
    Don't knock masturbation, it's sex with someone I love.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

masturbating with a male friend would definitely turn me off, not to say that there's anything really wrong with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

If you don't want to do it - don't do it. If you do want to do it - do it.

But if you don't want to do it then surely ask him not to do it in your house. ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,216 ✭✭✭phreak

ask him if he knows how to play soggy biscuit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Don't ask him that!

(and please don't get into the details of said practice in this thread!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,216 ✭✭✭phreak

do ask him! you're new to the game so you'll probably win. you have nothing to worry about :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 947 ✭✭✭neXus9

Personally, I would see it as being gay. Why would anyone want to do something sexual intense and personal with someone of the same sex unless they were homosexually curious or havn't done it before (I still see this though as a way too personal thing to share).

You havn't done it before so you are naturally curious, but I say your mate just wants to get his kicks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,865 ✭✭✭Syth

Well not only is masterbating normal, it's healthy! That's right! 5 **** a week is recommened to reduce your chance of getting prostate cancer! So **** on lads, **** on.

Here's some proof:
    Can masturbating each day keep the doctor away?

New Scientist vol 179 issue 2404 - 19 July 2003, page 15

IT WILL make you go blind. It will make your palms grow hairy. Thankfully, such myths about masturbation are largely a thing of the past. But the latest research has even better news for young men: frequent self-pleasuring could protect against the most common kind of cancer.

A team in Australia led by Graham Giles of The Cancer Council Victoria in Melbourne asked 1079 men with prostate cancer to fill in a questionnaire detailing their sexual habits, and compared their responses with those of 1259 healthy men of the same age. The team concludes that the more men ejaculate between the ages of 20 and 50, the less likely they are to develop prostate cancer.

The protective effect is greatest while men are in their twenties: those who had ejaculated more than five times per week in their twenties, for instance, were one-third less likely to develop aggressive prostate cancer later in life (BJU International, vol 92, p 211).

The results contradict those of previous studies, which have suggested that having had many sexual partners, or a high frequency of sexual activity, increases the risk of prostate cancer by up to 40 per cent. The key difference is that these earlier studies defined sexual activity as sexual intercourse, whereas the latest study focused on the number of ejaculations, whether or not intercourse was involved.

The team speculates that infections caused by intercourse may increase the risk of prostate cancer. "Had we been able to remove ejaculations associated with sexual intercourse, there should have been an even stronger protective effect of other ejaculations," they suggest. "Men have many ways of using their prostate which don't involve women or other men," Giles adds.

Giles accepts the possibility that the men who completed the questionnaires could have lied about their habits. But he doubts this skewed the results, since questions about masturbation are unlikely to evoke the same macho exaggeration as questions about, say, number of sexual partners.

But why should ejaculating more often cut the risk of prostate cancer? The team speculates that ejaculation prevents carcinogens building up in the gland. The prostate, together with the seminal vesicles, secretes the bulk of the fluid in semen, which is rich in substances such as potassium, zinc, fructose and citric acid. Generating the fluid involves concentrating these components from the bloodstream up to 600-fold - and this could be where the trouble starts. Studies in dogs show that carcinogens such as 3-methylcholanthrene, found in cigarette smoke, are also concentrated in prostate fluid. "It's a prostatic stagnation hypothesis," says Giles. "The more you flush the ducts out, the less there is to hang around and damage the cells that line them."

His findings suggest an intriguing parallel between prostate cancer and breast cancer, as recent studies indicate that lactating reduces a woman's risk of breast cancer, perhaps because this also flushes out carcinogens. Alternatively, ejaculation might induce prostate cells to mature fully, making them less susceptible to carcinogens. "All these mechanisms are totally speculative," cautions breast cancer expert Loren Lipworth of the International Epidemiology Institute in Rockville, Maryland.

But if the finding is confirmed, future health advice from doctors may no longer be restricted to diet and exercise. "Masturbation is part of people's sexual repertoire," says Anthony Smith, deputy director of the Australian Research Centre in Sex, Health and Society at La Trobe University in Melbourne. "If these findings hold up, then it's perfectly reasonable that men should be encouraged to masturbate."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

Now, if you think you might be gay....

Then perhaps you should invest in a bottle of poppers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Originally posted by Syth
    Well not only is masterbating normal, it's healthy! That's right! 5 **** a week is recommened to reduce your chance of getting prostate cancer! So **** on lads, **** on.

Here's some proof:

I'm grand so ive built up about 175 cancer free years by now:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 920 ✭✭✭elvis2002

In my opinion I think this situation is a bit gay. Another man masturbating a man is not normal....... And I think its something you'd get beat up later on if someone finds out... he'll be asking for a blow job next....... oh rotten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by elvis2002
    Another man masturbating a man is not normal
    Not common, but not abnormal and in any case, it's not whats being discussed here - they were discussing doing it together, not to each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

Hi all.

He asked me if I masturbated, I actually haven't and would like to ...

there's nothing stopping you, i mean the internet is right there :) . It's about self discovery really, no need for some other guy there, not to mention how unutterably awkward it would be afterwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Redrocket

masturbating with friend, GAY
    GAY GAY GAY
    GAY GAY GAY
    GAY GAY GAY

before you know it he will be asking you for a blowjob, then to take it up the ass!
    just tell him no, you think its all a bit too gay for you. go into the jacks and dont make a mess

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Rock Climber

In my opinion I think this situation is a bit gay. Another man masturbating a man is not normal.......
    Hang on there, he's not talking about masturbating the other guy off, he's talking about the two of them masturbating at the same time, ie curious bloke masturbates (rythmic up and down stroking of his penis which should get hard and stand up and after a while of this..spit white fluid called semen with a ticklish pleasurable sensation known as an orgasm)
    He's talking about doing this with his own penis while his mate is also doing it to his penis aswell.
    They aren't jerking off each others penis's.
    The term for what they want to do is mutual masturbation
    It's enjoyable as a first time experience if you are gay curious or bi curious..
    But it's also done by straight lads who might be watching straight porn or whatever or thinking of some chick they both fancy
    A good few lads that I knew had a great laugh doing this on scout trips:D

As regards whether it's normal??
    Well its not overly common if thats what you mean by normal, but I suspect it goes on more often than people think.
    I wouldn't regard it as abnormal in the sense that, if the two of ye are doing it, and ye want to , theres nothing wrong or abnormal there.
    No ones going to know about it only yerselves...
    Do it if you want to, and dont if you don't want to :)
    Hell there are far worse things you could do that I'd consider abnormal, like drugs or something.
    This on the other hand is ( pardon the pun :D ) recreationall and much less harmfull.

Originally posted by Syth
    Well, it can make you blind, if you over do it. If you get blurred vision after and don't rest you can lose your eyesight.

!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

does it really make guys blind...??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭qwertyphobia

In my opinion I think this situation is a bit gay. Another man masturbating a man is not normal....... And I think its something you'd get beat up later on if someone finds out... he'll be asking for a blow job next....... oh rotten.

Before the homosexual panic brigade gets carried away with themselves here.

what the young fellow is talking about is in fact
    very common
    very normal

and not nesascaryly linked to sexual orintation.

it's about exploring his sexuality. A large percentage of men at some point have some sort of sexual experience with another man of some kind, **** off in the same room, **** each other off and yes some even suck each other off it's no big deal. And can often be part of a normal developmental stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭TacT

Originally posted by Gordon
    Don't ask him that!

(and please don't get into the details of said practice in this thread!)

damn :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,459 ✭✭✭T-b0n3

Im 16 close enough to your age. Id never do that , and to be perfectly honest I think its gay. But if your that way inclined , thats fine , seem a bit young to know tho , but your know best your self to be honest.

Adam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

Tbh it seems gayer than tonto in a crotchless cavelry outfit ......Phwoar that **** is hot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

i think we have all forgotten the most obvious word here:

TROLL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 975 ✭✭✭j0e9o

Originally posted by neXus9
    Well, it can make you blind, if you over do it. If you get blurred vision after and don't rest you can lose your eyesight.

!!!!!!!

is that a piss is take because i seem to be suffering from a lot of the effects

No, it's not. It's due to some lack of chemicals that the brain produce. You need rest for the brain to recouperate.

I've just done some research...
    Masturbation with the same sex - even if your not touching each other - will make you far more likely to catch the gay. Of course this will make you far more susceptible to full blown gayness.

Be careful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,942 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

Troll. Surprised it's gone on so long. Tut tut moderators.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

This has run its course.