Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Free roll tonight?

• 03-06-2004 4:23pm
    Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I dunno if I'm gonna be there (heh, yeah right... who am I kidding)... anyone else going to wander along? I may have an Amp in tow!
    I cant do another 3am ending again tonight so I dont know if I even want to win! :)

Then again... it is free and a ticket to the big game would give me a shot at chasing Davey's monumental fortune of winnings cos god knows its going to be a long time if I have to catch him with 20-in tournie wins even at 1k a shot!

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

I have no source of income at the moment so I have to take every opportunity to make some. Can't be buying in though. Freeroll all the way, hopefully this time I wont come 3rd! arghhh!!! haha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Cerdito

I'll be down there....round 9.30 as usual

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Marq

yeah, i'll be there, probably be across the road in LM's enjoying a few beforehand. see ye there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

NO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

What's the prize structure? 1st gets a ticket, and everyone else the bus home?

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

depends on how many rebuy and what sort of deal is done at the final table...

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭MrPudding

Giving it serious thought. Is it LMs for a pint?

MrP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Marq

We all know it, Norman will raise with anything, and for some strange reason he has a sentimental attachment with 5-7. On the second last table of the freeroll tonight, I've worked damn hard to have 15,000 chips with absolutely no cards whatsoever, and we're down to five players (the other table still has seven or eight). Big Blind, 2,000: 2-5 off suit. Fuq. Didn't I go out on this hand while on the big blind last week? Yup. UTG calls, Norman calls two to my left, pass, SB just calls. Free flop. Legend.

Flop comes 6-4-J. Check, check, check, check, check. Fantastic! I'm on an inside straight draw and I'm getting a free look at the turn, which, rather nicely, comes down a three. Straight. It's my lucky day - final table tonight. I think, I raise small, I have no doubt Norman will come over my head for all my chips no matter what he has, and I'll call. Marq 1 Norman 0, and nearly all of norman's chips. So I raise 2,000. Everyone passes as Norman predictably goes all in and I call. Of course, it never even crosses my mind that he's on 5-7. That just couldn't happen, it would be too ironic. Not the hand we joke about him loving. Not this time. Fuq. The river brings no seven to split the pot. Fuq.

So I went out twelfth. Oh the agony. Kencleary looked good for a ticket tonight though. Was sitting on a ridiculously large stack on the other table as I left. This from a man who only had 250 chips before the top-up. Fair play Ken, let us know how you got on.

Fuq.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Yeahh!! Made final table.

Aggh.. drew seat 4.... Norman on seat two.

Two hands of garbage and wouldn't you know it blinds went to 1500/3000 as the BB passed to me. More Garbage...4500 out of my stack..now..I'm on the Button with KQo - Whooo! All in with my measly 6000. Seat 7 calls with JJ and the Jacks hold up. 9th place No ticket for me...

Should I have waited for a monster or was this the right play?

All the same I'm very happy with 9th for my first freeroll.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Oh god what a night of cards to forget. I won the first hand and double through and that was all I won. 1 solid hour of tossing and I go all in on K10 to try and harvest some chips and some of the respect I hope I've built. No chance... 4 callers!
    Last hand before the freeze out I'm bad beat and I just know its going to be one of those nights. Po-Kar is angry with me for returning after gifting me such wonderous bounty the night before.

Buyin. Topup. Back to our table and I look down to see QQ... ah now this is more like it. Like a tender morcel given to a starving man I think hard how to make the absolute most of this. 6-7 people call before me and I bump the pot 1000 which is steep enough but theres already about 1400 in there. I have my sights on Paddy, an old guy down the end with a penchant for over betting his hand sometimes.
    Sure enough Paddy comes up with the goods, pushing his rather large stack in. Lovely. He has AJ... even better!
    The flop and turn bring him AAJx. I felt like the wicked witch of the East... someone dropped a house on me!

I had a laugh at our table but god those were ugly cards.

DeV.

Got a ticket, woo! Wow, what a game. Stressful stuff. That was bad timing Madsl. I was the guy in between Norman and the dealer, black jumper. When it came down to 6, nobody would play, it was just a blind massacre. The blinds were about to kill 3 of us. Norman even showed folds of AK, AJ etc just so he wouldn't be risking his stack, which is the right thing to do cuz it was just a matter of time. I was all in on my small and won, then the woman was all in on her small one and she won with 10 9o, her 9 kicker did it for her against 10 7. Exciting! I was just waiting for somebody to do something stupid and leave me with a ticket (5 tickets) I hung in anyway and was all in when the blind was coming to me with pocket 3's, won it, survived the blind. Then when I was small blind and Norman big, everyone folded, into me, I had K4 suited and said to Norman "I'm sure I have you beaten" so I went all in, Norman folded and flips an ace, phew!and then the woman was all in again and she was knocked out. It didn't go exactly in that order. Norman said it was a great tournament, which it was. But last time I came 3rd with 2 tickets available, I wasn't coming 6th with 5 available. The 5th ticket was only for €250 entry fee. I wanted to play on so I wouldn't have to pay the €20 extra, but everyone else had their 270 ticket (because I was the shortest stack) so no game:( It's alright though, I didn't buy in or top up.

Now this 270 tournie. Please say its a freeze-out!!!!!????? How many players usually?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭kencleary

Well I got a ticket, not bad considering after the freeze-out i had a grand total of 1750 in chips - including my top-up!!!. Final table was excruciating though. We must have played for over an hour with seven players, Cormie & Betty had only small stacks but were hanging onto them for dear life. And Cormie, no offense but you are one lucky fu*k to have got a ticket!!! All-in on the big blind and 3 players to my right folded to you, thats absolutely insane and I gave out to Norman for it :). I called but your hand stood up.

You got €250 for your ticket, 3 others got €260 for theirs and I got the €270 for the largest stack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

Well done Cormie. 270 tournie is a freezeout. normally about 70-80 players. Great standard. Very seldom get to see a flop for free. you start with 5000 in chips and the blinds are small for a while, so it gives you time to settle. Don't look at it as a 270 tournament but rather one that you got for free that way you will prob play a bit better. Enjoy.

Thanks careca:) dont worry, I look at the chips in front of me, not the money behind me;)

Ken, I take it your the guy who called me with 10 5? haha, what were you doing!!!! If you didnt do that, the guy next to you probably would have called the rest and probabaly had something better than 10 5off. I don't think I was lucky at all. I think I was unlucky! The amounf of times that the small stacks stood up was unreal. Not just Betty and I, but every all in, the smaller stack won it. There was just no budging. I don't think I was lucky at all however. I was folding really nice hands, I folded KJ and better because I knew I could survive the blinds and they would get Betty. Which rightfully happened. They were doing the right thing to fold. I was all in, had I won with allot of callers, I would have been in a much better position. I was either going to go or it would be Betty next. I do take offense to the lucky statement. If anything, luck was against me.

Freezeout? yipeee:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Originally posted by kencleary
    All-in on the big blind and 3 players to my right folded to you, thats absolutely insane and I gave out to Norman for it :). I called but your hand stood up.
    Thats pretty bad play right there. everyone should have flat called, the big stacks anyway, and checked it down, not a nice way to play poker but at the final table you have to do whatever will get you moving up the money.

I was the guy sitting in the suit at the far end of the table from you.

My point was that you had only 6k in chips and were all-in on the big-blind. You should have had 5 callers in the position who would then check the pot down. My stack was over 30k or so at that point and at least two others were aswell. A call means little to us but no matter what two cards you have, even if its Ace-Ace, if you're against 5 random hands youre in trouble and we each make €270. Instead it was folded round to me and I was you're only caller and suddenly you're back in the game. That was shocking tournament play and thats why I gave out to Norman over it. That and he had been giving out to me for raising a pot when he held Ace-Jack and he had to throw them away :)

What were you doing? It was like you were trying to get all the chips on the table. You should have been trying to get me Betty or the other guy out, not win against the rest. That's why he was going mad. And after me, it was Norman to call. He could have called, but 10K is allot if your blind next, then small blind and also with the chance of you re-raising since your earlier play, I think he was right to fold. Betty, why would she call? She didn't have the chips to call and neither did the next guy. So it was up to you. You called and the other guy probably thought you had a good hand and that you would beat him so he folded his small. He probably should have called, But only him! Norman and the rest up to you could not afford it.

Afford is irrelevant if you're going out on this hand since everybody else immediately moves into the money and if you had five callers you would almost certainly have walked.

I still insist I made the right play when Norman was giving out to me. Normans on small, Bettys on big blind (with only 5k remaining after blind). I look down to see a pair of Jacks and move all-in and everybody folds. Norman said I should have made a smaller raise but I've no incentive at all to do that. My minimum raise is more than Betty has so any raise will put her all-in but by raising it only the minimum I invite other callers. Admittedly this gives us a higher chance of knocking out betty but why should I take the risk? My pair of Jacks were highly likely to stand up anyway. Norman was just pis*ed because my raise forced him to fold Ace-Jack and he thought that he was ahead pre-flop. In the event anyway Betty folded leaving herself all-in on the small blind which was another crazy decision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Kelter

went out 8th myself. AJ suited against bettys QQ unsuited.

Had to bet on those cards as at that stage I had only 3 big blinds left.

Still really over giving ken that cash when I chased the flush on the second last table.

Sounds like I wouldn't have had the patience for the last table anyway, a bit of a yawn fest.

Would have liked to get a ticket anyway though. I'm sure ken will sort me out when he wins another next week.

Oh yeah cormie, what did you have the time when I had just joined ye at the second last table and kept throughing 2000s at you. Flop was A, 10, 2, river was 10.

It would have brought Betty and the other guy all in. 3 of us had a fair chance to lose. I think they made the right move to fold in their circumstances.

Anyway, I didn't get lucky once last night. I was never behind and hit a river to save me or anything. I didn't buy in or top up. When I had my hands I made them pay, when I didn't I folded. And I was getting terrible cards last night. At one stage I got 72o 3 times in a row. Anyway, I'll see you in the 270. Well done on the ticket yourself;)

Sorry. But I'll tell you what I had when you called the blind and QJ3 came on flop and I raised 1700 and you re-raised. I just had pocket 5's but I'm sure you probably had a Q since you called the blind. What did you have when you kept throwing your 2Ks at me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Kelter

q3

a bluff

Originally posted by cormie
    It would have brought Betty and the other guy all in. 3 of us had a fair chance to lose. I think they made the right move to fold in their circumstances.

Anyway, I didn't get lucky once last night. I was never behind and hit a river to save me or anything. I didn't buy in or top up. When I had my hands I made them pay, when I didn't I folded. And I was getting terrible cards last night. At one stage I got 72o 3 times in a row. Anyway, I'll see you in the 270. Well done on the ticket yourself;)

No Betty couldn't have been all-in because she was able to afford the next big blind with a bit left over as I remember and that other guy had a decent stack. If you won they both would have reduced to almost zero but if they had called the chances are you wouldn't have. Anyway Norman & that guy to my left, both with huge stacks should certainly have called :)

As regards the luck thing, I didn't mean that you were outdrawing people or getting away with bad calls or anything, just that on that one hand I reckon you should have walked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭MrPudding

Originally posted by cormie
    Sorry. But I'll tell you what I had when you called the blind and QJ3 came on flop and I raised 1700 and you re-raised. I just had pocket 5's but I'm sure you probably had a Q since you called the blind. What did you have when you kept throwing your 2Ks at me?

So you won't say what you had but expect him to tell you what he had? Hardly fair.

MrP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Originally posted by MrPudding
    So you won't say what you had but expect him to tell you what he had? Hardly fair.
    MrP
    They had none of any of that!!!:mad:

They had none of any of that? Don't know what you mean. Anyway, I told him what I had when I raised him, he told me what he had when he raised me. Fair;) Anyway, he has a good sense of humour, when I did the card throwing manouver and then went for my chips. haha... and then threw my cards.

Maybe Norman wanted me through. Just thinking about the Tom clock thing. Betty called the clock when I was thinking for a few seconds and Norman goes "would you let him think"

About the calls.. Betty and the other guy wouldn't have had a chance if either of them lost. And the way you were raising when you didn't need to if that was your plan (to get me out) they were runnig the risk of being called all in and still running the risk of losing the hand and being knocked out. Just as well for them anyway, I probably would have got everyones call with my Jack. I know you can't really go by that. You have to admit I was unlucky aswell. Every time somebody was all in, the short stack stood up every time. The amount of times I stood up when other people were all in out of excitement of getting a ticket. haha.