Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Deb's Women

• 03-06-2004 2:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Right, PI time...

I'm just after finishing a texting session with a good friend of mine. She's decent and we're very good friends. She was implying that we go to the deb's together, I was vague in my replies, leaving her with no definate answer. Let her be X.

I dont want to be pinned down for the summer, because I'm studying for the Leaving at the moment, and haven't been actively looking for women lately, though there are a few interesting one's in town, so to speak.

Thing is, if I say 'yes' now to X, and meet someone during the summer, what could I say then to 'someone'. "Ah, yea, I cant go to the debs with you, because I'm already going with X". It'd be awful awkward.

Any suggestions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Errr going to the Debs doesn't involve a ring and 2.5 kids does it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

Originally posted by Gordon
    Errr going to the Debs doesn't involve a ring and 2.5 kids does it?

As Above.

Deb is just a pissup. The birds get left in the corner to talk about make-up n ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

Originally posted by GenericUser

Thing is, if I say 'yes' now to X, and meet someone during the summer, what could I say then to 'someone'. "Ah, yea, I cant go to the debs with you, because I'm already going with X". It'd be awful awkward.

One in the hand is worth two in the bush and all that, what if you don't meet someone this summer that you'd want to bring to a debs, they could all be two-bit whores.

if you do find someone that you'd want to bring to you debs if she is a decent bi-atch she'll realise you had a previous commitment before she was around and be ok with that, emphasis on the word decent, chances are she'll be a jealous cunt and may demand that you go with her and never see your good friend again, but then maybe you shouldn't be going out with someone like that, i know i wouldn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,365 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Always, always, always, bring a friend to the Debs. Don't bring a possibility, bring someone your mates with. Have them arranged months in advance and if they're a good mate, they'll step aside should you get a significant other before that date. Also, if you don't have a girlfriend, it's always better to bring a mate that knows the rest of your mates from school, that way you don't end up babysitting someone for the night and can concentrate on having fun. Plus, if you and all your other single mates do this: ye can nab each other's dates! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭ssh

Dammit sleepy, wish you had been around to tell me that 6 years ago :-)

Going to the debs with someone means you'll get them drunk and *maybe* get a smooch off them. I wouldn't look at it as anything more than that. And if you're a friend to this girl, you'll say yes and put her mind at ease.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

Well i went with my ex- at the time, it was a bit of a laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

As someone who has never been to a debs if feel *uniquely* qualified to answer this question.

Say yes to the chick who wants to go now.
    You might meet another chick during the summer who does interesting party tricks and calls you Daddy when you smack her ass, at which point you can politetly invite your current date to wear jelly while you smack hers.

Whichever one *agrees* is your date. You need not be mercenary, just fair in the application of choosing from the *queue* of women ready to fulfill this role... at least *I* try to be.

I'm sure that choosing from your current list of *one* may be difficult and arduous decision *ahem*, if however you have a better option *ask her now*, failing that just say yes.

You need not acknowledge/talk to/sleep with your date, if you 'really' don't want to. Perhaps you could muzzle &/or have her wear a chastity belt if you don't find her attractive, need a date and don't trust your descression when pi$$ed.

However : One might point out that if you want to remain *friends* with the girl, then doing the whole *oh she's just my friend.. who happens to be my date... but, there's nothing going on" thing is ill advised, since, by the sounds of it, this particular chick isn't in *lets be friends mode*.... going to a debs with a man being an indication (I hope others would agree) that this friend who is female (or girlfriend if you will) has amourous intentions.

So, if you are single and could envisage yourself getting nekkid with her say yes, else... err... say no... or find some random excuse not to go to your own debs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

Sorry this sounds to me like the absolutely perfect situation. A Deb's is not really something you wan't to bring your girlfriend to. It's a piss up with mates. SO bringing a mate is the best idea, super you're sorted. It also allowes you to pick up any spares lieing around during the night. Bringing a friend means you save on a ticket. Only about five guys I knowo brought their girlfriends. Bringing your girlfriends means you have to take care of her, buy her alocohol, be with her and devote a certain amounth of time to her which hould be spent with people you're never going to see again.

In short stop dicking around and do what you know you should, otherwise you will end up goign on your own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭Nala

Originally posted by Sleepy
    Always, always, always, bring a friend to the Debs. Don't bring a possibility, bring someone your mates with. Have them arranged months in advance and if they're a good mate, they'll step aside should you get a significant other before that date. Also, if you don't have a girlfriend, it's always better to bring a mate that knows the rest of your mates from school, that way you don't end up babysitting someone for the night and can concentrate on having fun. Plus, if you and all your other single mates do this: ye can nab each other's dates! ;)

Excellent advice. Follow it!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭theciscokid

Originally posted by ballooba
    As Above.

Deb is just a pissup. The birds get left in the corner to talk about make-up n ****.

lmao :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Yea. I think she was implying we get together, but I don't want to be pinned down for the start of the summer.
    Always, always, always, bring a friend to the Debs. Don't bring a possibility, bring someone your mates with. Have them arranged months in advance and if they're a good mate, they'll step aside should you get a significant other before that date.

If I did find someone during the summer and decided to go with the new someone, I'm sure X would be be bitching, probably ****in up our friendship completely. You know how women like to prepare for Deb's months and months in advance. I haven't been talking to her since the 'text session' yesterday, but i've a feeling she's fairly pissed.

I've a feeling that this is gonna turn on me, and I'll be going alone :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭brainstorm

take the girl to the debs.. if u get together that nite then all well and good. who says ur going to be pinned down for the summer?? sounds to me like u both go to the same school so ur doing both of yourselves a favour here and its not like she has to hang off ya all nite if she knows half the place, leaving u the chance to get around

if either of u end up meeting someone over the summer, u can sort it out then.. humour her cos if u dont u mite have to go alone as well as loose a friend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭froggie_1

i asked a friend (who i wanted to shag) to the debs (years ago), started going out with this other bird during the summer. she was wickid pissed off that i cudnt bring her.

went with my friend, she wanted to b wit me at the debs, managed to not b wit her, but it fcuked things up with the bird i was goin out with.

moral: if shes asked u shes keen for sure. play it by ear, have the craic for the summer, dont start goin out with anyone, go to the debs with her, get with her. all good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Lainey

oh that happend to me.. i asked a friend and then started going out with someone.. the friend insisted he was still going.. and i ended up leaving him on the bus to go off with my new man.. disgraceful behaviour i know.. :rolleyes: :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

meh not really bit of a crap friend if they insisted they where still going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Jesus, take the girl to your debs.

You may meet someone during the summer, but you probably won't. You may meet someone, but the chances of it being something serious are a lot less than it being a brief fling. Don't forward plan too much, take it all as it comes.

Tell Ms X you'll take her to your debs. If (a big IF) you meet someone you'd prefer to take to your debs, and it's still a few months to the debs, both girls will understand. You uninvite Ms X and bring your girlfriend.
    If it's only a few weeks before the debs, or Ms X has already paid for a dress, you bring her. Your girlfriend will understand. Happened to me. Had a mate sorted to go with me. Met a girl, was going out with her a month or so, when the subject came up. Explained to new gf that I had asked the other, but I'll see if she's ok about being uninvited. She was. Both girls happy.

As was said, it's not like a debs is a big, important, bring-the-girl-you-want-to-marry affair. It's an excuse to get drunk. A lot of guys go to a debs with one girl and go home with another.

If she thinks this is a precursor to something more, feign ignorance, even shock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Lainey

Originally posted by Dataisgod
    meh not really bit of a crap friend if they insisted they where still going

i thought so too.. esp since he knew i was mad into other fella.. asked him cos just broke up with ex of 3 yrs and didn't know who to ask.. :rolleyes: still i felt bad looking at his sad face as i walked away.. the plonker..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 359 ✭✭Macseamusa

bring X to the debs, if u feel like she actually wants to get together with u, just tell her ' i brought you here as a freind, and if we do hook up, it will change our friendship, which i dont want to happen' of course she will be slightly pissed but then after the debs and maybe a week or so afterwards she'll realise that if u got together, ud break up in horrible circumstances and u two wudn't be friends anymore.
    She might think that the debs will be a perfect night in which both of you will fall in love for the rest of time..........but most likely ull be too pissed to realise ur talking to the wall while pissing on the floor and trying to get with a light switch.
    if you tell X you are going as freinds she will see the sense in it(at some stage), you guys can have a drink, a few dances, a few laughs and then go off looking for someone to kiss.
    it will work out a lot better than if she starts coming on to you and you try to get up the courage to tell her no...buy drinking anything alcholic... if you do that u'll insult her, get a slap and have a **** night.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Either way, after teh debs you'll both go off to different colleges and never see one another again. No?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭brainstorm

still i felt bad looking at his sad face as i walked away.. the plonker..

broke ur heart i bet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Originally posted by Macseamusa
    bring X to the debs, if u feel like she actually wants to get together with u, just tell her ' i brought you here as a freind, and if we do hook up, it will change our friendship, which i dont want to happen' of course she will be slightly pissed but then after the debs and maybe a week or so afterwards she'll realise that if u got together, ud break up in horrible circumstances and u two wudn't be friends anymore.

That is possibly the stupidest bit of 'advice' I have ever read on PI, including Typedef's. Saying that to a girl you invited to your would come off as the most arrogant, egotistical thing I could possibly imagine. If you were to say that I am slightly inclined to believe she will not get with you.

I just know the poster wrote down this bit of advice, never having actually taken it himself but thought it sounded good and made him 'in touch with his feelings'.
    Well wise up buddy and start giving advice you would genuinely take.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

i have the solution.....

take me, i need an excuse to wear my tux, and you cant smack my ass, nor will i call you daddy...