Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Summer jobs for leaving cert students

• 01-06-2004 12:42am
    Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Any ideas?

I'd love something full time so I can save / get experiance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭damnyanks

Take anything you can get! I remember when I did mine (2 years ago). After I finished up it was 2 - 3 weeks after everyone else had finished their holidays. This meant most jobs were taken, was a bitch to find any work!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

Yeah, I'm gonna go into town and hand my CV out everywhere, and try some other places too. I'd do anything, and I have experiance.

I'd love an office job or working with the public.

Gonna try for net cafés!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Nothing better than a cushy 9-5 job, but majority will have to settle for jobs with ****ty hours etc.

Go for sumting your REALLY good at. Like the net cafe......i presume you have good working knowledge of computers etc......if so its a perfect place for you. :) Hope you get it.

And the cv thing is also a handy trick. Just print out a rack of em and hand them in anywhere you fancy......luck may fall upon you:)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

That's the plan. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Thraktor

I'm also doing my Leaving Cert next week (NEXT WEEK??? WHAT THE HOLY F**K AM I STILL DOING ON THE INTERNET??) and I'm planning on popping into town tomorrow or the next day and throwing my CV everywhere I can find. The problem is, as I'm a Leaving Cert student (won't even have my results for a few months), there's squat all I can actually put on my CV, and my attempts at finding help on the internet have been in vain, as all the hundreds of advice guides are aimed at exactly the same people, while there isn't a single one for the sort of experienceless-student-who's-idea-of-a-good-job-is-being-a-video-rental-store-guy that I am. I've got absolutely no idea what jumps out from a CV to tell an employer that I'd be able to make a good coffee/stack shelves neatly/do any other form of mindless repetitive work. I'm also completely at a loss as to what to put into a cover letter, especially seeing as I'm applying to so many different kinds of place (if I were just applying to video rental stores, for example, I could come up with a great spiel on how into movies I am). Anyone willing to give any advice on either count? I might be able to load up my current CV to show what I'm working with here.

Here's the CV (obviously a work-in-progress).

A few notes:

As well as the SAT and JC results, I also have a set of DAT (Differential Aptitude Tests) results which are exceptionally high, but I took them off because I felt that their inclusion made me look like an arrogant git.

I only had a single week's work experience in Havok, so I doubt they remember me, which is why there's no Havok contact on the references list.

Pen & Ink Ltd. is a company owned and operated by my brother, and while I have done odd-jobs for him over the past two years, it hasn't exactly been the steady employment my CV implies. Also, considering he has the same surname as me, I decided to leave him off the references list as it'd be a dead give-away. Or does it look more unusual that I don't have references from either of my past employers?

The two memorial prizes are school prizes they give out to the best student in the senior cycle of various subjects. I chose not to include the school reference as it made them seem more impressive without it.

If anyone has any tips, please let me know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Originally posted by Thraktor
    Here's the CV (obviously a work-in-progress).

A few notes:

As well as the SAT and JC results, I also have a set of DAT (Differential Aptitude Tests) results which are exceptionally high, but I took them off because I felt that their inclusion made me look like an arrogant git.

Cv's are about you and your achievments. Unless it takes up too much space, leave them in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

Originally posted by jesjes
    Yeah, I'm gonna go into town and hand my CV out everywhere, and try some other places too. I'd do anything, and I have experiance.

I'd love an office job or working with the public.

Gonna try for net cafés!

heh.

Net Cafe job is a fantastic job for someone who just needs some extra cash, its the modern day video store. However, for that same reason its why its impossible to get a Job in one.
    I was lucky and knew of people who worked for the company, however, i can tell you that there are 23 CVs to my right, and none of em get looked at.
    Good luck though.

Originally posted by funky penguin
    Cv's are about you and your achievments. Unless it takes up too much space, leave them in.

It's pretty much completely irrelevant to any sort of job I'd be applying for, but then again so are my Junior Cert results. I might put them back in, depending on if I can find anything else to fill the hole.

Regarding what people are looking for when hiring students for menial jobs, I presume an willingness to do pretty much anything and an actual dedication to the job (coming in on-time, every day, not hung-over) would be useful aspects of my personality to try to bring across, but how would I put that to writing? I presume it would be something to imply in the cover letter, or should I crack out the old "perfect attendance" records and start listing them on the CV? (The last time I was sick enough to miss school was back in 5th class, but I was on the Easter holidays at the time, so I actually have no recollection of ever missing a day of school through sickness)

Originally posted by Doodee
    heh.

Net Cafe job is a fantastic job for someone who just needs some extra cash, its the modern day video store. However, for that same reason its why its impossible to get a Job in one.
    I was lucky and knew of people who worked for the company, however, i can tell you that there are 23 CVs to my right, and none of em get looked at.
    Good luck though.

Thanks. I think it'd be my ideal job, but I guess I'll just have to look for something else. Unless ya can offer me a job ;) I'll wipe screens and make coffee!! lol, jk.

Ah well, I'll probably end up working where I live rather than in town. But tis just a summer job, so I don't mind!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Kinda the same thing where I work,with loads of CVs handed in and not hiring! I work in a game shop, and we get about 5 CVs a day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭conZ

Heheh. I've got my job,... Net Cafe tbh :D.

Grr...I'd love to work in one. And there is NONE in Tallaght, so I'm fecked. Gonna go around with oul CV again. Here is hoping. My mate who has loads of experiance and all can't even get a job.

I'll doooo anything, just pay me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Another net cafe here! Nice cushy sit on your ass type job with the odd computer related problem. But be warned, you need to be a bloody great interpreter to be able to understand what the foreigners are talking about. Other than that and the odd asshole who blames you for a website being down it is grand! Oh and it also takes some patience when dealing with old people. I had one there a few days ago asking me when her brother would reply to an e-mail she sent, do I look like Mystic Meg?

Ah, now, I love dealing with crazy people. Esp old/foriegn ones. Lol, really. That satisfaction when you get the job done.......ah, nothing like it!

Lol, last night I spent 30-45 mins talking on MSN to a 13 year old, telling her how to get her signature/picture working. Had to host it for her myself, but it was worth it when she finally got it up!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭Rockiemalt

i've just finished first year in college and can't find anythign anywhere! at this point i'm willing to do anything.. well almost

Well good luck to ya! Hopefully we'll both get jobs!

*considers going into town on thursday*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭garyc

its harder these days to get even crappy jobs because there is a lot of foreiners, especially chinese!
    I have nothing against them but they just seen to have all the bloody jobs!
    Aargh, its so annoying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭hoggie-bear

nly decent job you'll prob get is bar work since all students who are got all the part time jobs cant work late!! also good tips but you dont want to work friday and saturday nights... its the summer and ou deserve it off and also deserve to go on the piss... im a leaving cert student and work in a health shop.. kept my job ryt thru the year.. crazy i know but it helped with homec cos its all about vits and mins ans ****e... plu they gave me time off when ever i needed it and im off the past month until the leavings over.. but have my job to go back to... sweet!!! how nice of them huh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

I reckon they're okay now tbh.

Four year bumps, wow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

tribulus wrote: »
    I reckon they're okay now tbh.

Four year bumps, wow.

You understood that post?!

I am slightly intrigued now if jesjes got a job or not 4 years ago!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

i read the title, then the poster... and was like... WTF?

I read the post and was like WTF aslo... haha.

I did get a job. Wow embarrassing reading over those posts. Shouldnt digging up threads this old be a site-ban? I think so... hehe.

I got a job in the cinema and loved it to bits. Great staff, great atmosphere, great place to work. It did the trick instead of an office job anyway.

Now I am finished college (four years later and all that) and just got a "professional" job... think I'd rather be back in the cinema. Heh, we'll see how it goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 mrsound

Did ye get the job back in 2004 lads? Love a bit of boards internet nostalgia! I was 9 when this was posted! still same problem for me in 2016, can't get a summer job :(