Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Toyota Glanza

• 28-05-2004 10:01am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 577 ✭✭✭

Does anyone know where I can get a 99 Glanza from with low mileage??

Or any Decent Jap import dealers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭ChipZilla

4x4.ie have one with 44000 miles. Dunno if thats low mileage enough for you...

http://www.4x4.ie/stock/99starlet.htm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Wrestlemania

Cheers 44k is not to bad.

For a 1.3 Turbo they sure do the business

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

they do look **** though and have an image of muppets driving them (I've not seen one been driven by anyone other than a young lad with a baseball cap and noise blaring out the windows)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭dcGT

Originally posted by draffodx
    they do look **** though and have an image of muppets driving them (I've not seen one been driven by anyone other than a young lad with a baseball cap and noise blaring out the windows)

Yep, true in most cases unfortunately. Although the Glanza (EP91) is not as common and is not as 'muppetesque' as the older model (EP82). They are a fantastic little car though for the engine size. Very quick off the mark. If you're looking for one, try these boys...

http://www.japimportsdirect.ie/

They import them direct from Japan. They're based in Kilbarrack in Dublin. Try giving them a bell. Sometimes all the cars don't appear on the site.

Hope this helps,

DC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 973 ✭✭✭Gmodified

http://www.japimportsdirect.ie/

they use the same pictures which appear on the Jap auction for many cars listed.

This just tells you that you are looking at the same car but the price difference in something else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Kersh

Total muppet car. Always looking for a 'race'. I dont think they go over 110mph.:D :D

try http://www.merlincarauctions.ie/contentv3/index.cfm?pageID=569

they have jap imports auctions every Wednesday

Originally posted by Kersh
    Total muppet car. Always looking for a 'race'. I dont think they go over 110mph.:D :D

Well yeah, it's true, they don't have a great top speed, but it only has a small engine and is not designed for flat out speed. However, for the enthusiast, there are many tuning parts (uprated turbos/brakes/intercoolers/exhausts etc.) you can buy for Glanza/GT Turbo to increase its performance. It's basically an 'entry level' high performance car (if there is such a thing) for people who can't/don't want to pay huge amounts taxing/insuring/fueling a 2.0L etc. OK, so it doesn't have a great top speed, but it has got 133 BHP as stock which will launch you off down the road pretty quickly :) Besides, if you're living somewhere like Dublin, which is of more use; a quick take-off from the lights or the potential to do 190 MPH ? :D

I think it's just a shame this little Toyota has the stigma of a muppet/skanger car.

DC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

yeah their quick off the mark but I've been told they handle like **** and snap at you easily

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,118 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Quite nice looking car imho, but as said could do without most of the people driving them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Kersh

@ dcGT
    I have driven 2 of them. No doubt they are little rockets. Its just a pity most people driving them are baseball cap wearing twats illegally insuring them as vans/Gi/standard. And they drive like idiots too.
    As for Dublin, automatics are the way to go.

Well I am a 27 Year auld lad, I just like them for the low tax, insurance and all the little extras like air con etc.

My bro in law has one now, he like cars not a boy racer 30 years old, but it is his project car...For the money you get a lot....I know you see knackers driving them but let them be as they most likely will crash them hopefully.

I am sick of 55BHP cars and need a little more power and better fuel economy which they have.

@ dcGT
    No doubt they are little rockets. Its just a pity most people driving them are baseball cap wearing twats illegally insuring them as vans/Gi/standard. As for Dublin, automatics are the way to go.

Yep, insuring the Starlet GT as N/A and not as a turbo seems to be a problem. It's like insuring something like a 1.5L as a 1.0L.... some muppets just seem to think it's 'less' of an offence for some reason......it's fraud whatever way you look at it.
    @ dcGT
    As for Dublin, automatics are the way to go.

Yeah for the stop and go traffic in Dublin, it's definitely easier on the foot! I still prefer my manual though :D

DC.

Originally posted by Wrestlemania
    Well I am a 27 Year auld lad, I just like them for the low tax, insurance and all the little extras like air con etc.

Yeah most of them do come with some nice extras.... also look out for ones with add-ons like a boost guage, turbo timer or S/S exhaust. Having discs all-round is nice too! I'd definitetly go for the EP91 over the EP82. Some of the EP82's that come in from Japan now are '94/'95 models with 60 - 80K miles! They're basically too expensive to maintain under Japan's strict car/emission tests, so they dump 'em over here :D

The EP91 looks fantastic but you will pay for a mint example of one (like anything really)
    The EP91 is around 100KG heavier than the 82 though, so it's a little slower off the mark.
    Best of luck finding one mate. Keep us posted and let us know if you do find one!

DC.

Is there any site I can get more info or can I come to you with questions as I am looking around but they actaully do look nice some 99 Models are pretty slick

Yeah sure, I'd be happy to try and answer any questions you might have... just drop me a PM.

Also, check out this site http://www.toyotagtturbo.com

It's actually run by an Irish guy, he's on the boards too as "Macker Eire"

It's an excellent site where people come from all over the world to discuss toyotas, in particular, the Starlet GT.

Everything you need to know about the GT, you'll find there.....mods, parts, spares, members cars etc.

DC.

Cool thanks, I am looking foward to moving from my 03 skoda to a nice glanza.

Have about say 4 to 5 k in the hand aswell after selling it, so I can do the odd mod or two.

One thing can white dial kits be got for them and something similar to haynes manual for my own maintenance.??

I have become very handy at doing my own servicing.

Dial kits I am not sure of.... best to ask the lads in the toyotagtturbo forum....
    I don't think Haynes do manual specifically for the GT as it is a purely imported vehicle (no UK or Irish versions of this motor). However, they have placed a maintenence schedule here that might give you an idea: -

http://www.toyotagtturbo.com/maintenance.html

As for mods, it's best to see what car you get first, then see what it needs most urgently! :)

Also, check out the pics of the member's cars on the site:

http://www.toyotagtturbo.com/memberscars/index.html

User 'white warrior' has a seriously powerful GT.

DC

I saw a Glanza with lexus clusters but for the life of me I can't find them anywhere.

They looked nice on the car as it was black and very well kept, had a quick glance at the interior and what pretty nice he had a screen and the seats retrimed in cream leather must have cost a pretty penny:D

Have you tried Pro Parts for the lexus lights?

http://www.pro-parts.net

If they are available for the Glanza, Richie in pro-parts might be able to get them, drop him a mail...
    Pro-Parts is also great for other mods for the Glanza. Reasonable prices too compared with other places

richie@pro-parts.net

Yeah the cream leather re-trim is fantastic....damn expensive though and a bitch to clean *lol* .... no more eating in the car!

Also, there's some info on http://www.glanza.co.uk

DC.

Deadly only an extra 75 euros for the glanza on my insurance and i told them it would be a turbo but hibernian are only concerned with the cc which is handy

Originally posted by Wrestlemania
    Deadly only an extra 75 euros for the glanza on my insurance and i told them it would be a turbo but hibernian are only concerned with the cc which is handy

Sweet....

DC.

I put an inquiry into the uk glanza site it looks A1 could be the better place to go.

I have asked if they can deliver to the belfast docks if so I am sorted.

I would say the VRT on the Car would be low as a 98/99 is over 5 years old hence the VRT should be little or nothing.

Anyone know anything about this??.

is the VRT not related to the current market value of the car? You could pay up to €12,000 for a mint '99 Glanza ..... and if the VRT is a percentage ???????

DC.

I am going to check it out as I dont wanted to be roggered for tax

You could always wait a few years to see if they start to import this little baby to Ireland :D

http://www.toyota.co.jp/Showroom/customize/vitz/sportscustom/rs_turbo/top/

The Toyota Yaris RS Turbo. 1.5L turbo (it's called a 'Vitz' in Japan). Loads of optional extras too; Sparco seats, indicator mirrors, start button. Tuned by TRD.... not too bad.

They'd never be able to sell them new here or in the UK because they'd work out too expensive and wouldn't be competitive enough :mad:

I worked out a while back that they sell in Japan for about €16,000 ! :eek: I think it still looks tame sitting beside a Glanza, and there's no air-intake in the bonnet, but it would be nice to have!

DC.

Yeah I saw an article on it, the Yaris which I had one of still has the girls car stimga attached to it. But this one is fast.

Will 17" Alloys Slow down a Glanza, have been told to stick to 15" s as the bigger wheels cause more drag or is that Bull ?? Mind you there is some cracking 15" Alloys out there and not to badly priced.

Hell yeah, 17s will kill that quick take off. Bigger wheels mean a bigger rolling radius and a slower start. You'll notice that most GTs stay on 15's. I'd definitely keep to that size.

DC.

Cool well I have a hell of a selection then as 15" s are not to badly priced. cheers.

yaris in action
    movie 486k

Nice white dials

the only thing i like about the glanza/gt is the rear lights and you wanna change them to those ugly "wish they'd never been invented" lexus lights, how tastes vary!

anyway if your 27 (full license?) then insurance on a proper performance car wouldnt cost too much would it!?

how about a honda integra..............love them cars, there stunning, far nicer than a glanza and with alot less of a muppet image. havent a clue about costs etc... but one a them cars is definatly on me list by the time i'm 27 :)

Hmm that Yaris is impressive. I know there's a stigma about the Yaris.. ie women drivers but I would'nt mind a bit of that 1.5turbo :D

i'd rather it than the stigma of muppet drivers, hehe seen a muppet in a micra today with a 4inch exhaust sticking out the back and him thinking he was "the man" what a tool!

Originally posted by ando
    Hmm that Yaris is impressive. I know there's a stigma about the Yaris.. ie women drivers but I would'nt mind a bit of that 1.5turbo :D

Yeah, 'tis very nice. It also has a nice body kit (and a bit more of a roar) to distinguish it from the normal Yaris.
    Hmmm it's a tough decision if you had to choose..... to drive a car with a 'woman' image or a 'muppet' image :D

DC.

I dunno I like small cars and this has so much potential, it has something unique about it which is nice.

Originally posted by draffodx
    the only thing i like about the glanza/gt is the rear lights and you wanna change them to those ugly "wish they'd never been invented" lexus lights, how tastes vary!

anyway if your 27 (full license?) then insurance on a proper performance car wouldnt cost too much would it!?

how about a honda integra..............love them cars, there stunning, far nicer than a glanza and with alot less of a muppet image. havent a clue about costs etc... but one a them cars is definatly on me list by the time i'm 27 :)

anybody have any specs for the Yaris, like 0-60 times and Bhp/Torque figures?

I think the BHP is 170 unless I am wrong I saw it somewhere let me have a look

jesus that puts it within striking distance of an ST focus... and for a lot cheaper if the 16k mentioned above is right + the insurance would be cheap enough seeing most insurance companies just take cc into consideration

Originally posted by ando
    jesus that puts it within striking distance of an ST focus... and for a lot cheaper if the 16k mentioned above is right

Actually ando, I said that 16K was the JAPANESE price for it (in Euros). Knowing Ireland, it would cost about 35K over here :D

yeh it would be much cheaper in japan, hardly gonna cost 35k here though, things haven't just got that bad yet! have they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 T0R91

get this glanza forum going again!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

IBTL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

T0R91 wrote: »
    get this glanza forum going again!

Welcome. Please read the forum charter before posting. This is a 6 year old thread, and does not need to be brought back to life. If you have anything you want to discuss you can create your own thread.