Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Something Fluffy

• 21-05-2004 2:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭

Hello all

I am interested in buying a pellet gun/deactivated WW2 German Rifle and am not sure of the legalities of doing so.
    Ive heard numerous tales of getting firearms licences etc and I was hope you guys could clarify this.

The gun in question is a WW2 version German Marushin Kar 98K bolt action rifle.

The pellet version is gas and fires 8mm BBs. The replica itself is actually dearer than a legally deactivated original......pretty strange considoring the deactivated original is just a large paperweight.

I think that deactivated Firearms are allowed in Ireland and heard of an old Luger being found in my area (Blanchardstown). The guards came across it during renovations to an old house and took it away. There was no hassle and the family where quite surprised at what had been under thier floorboards. After deactivating it by bouring holes in the mechanism they gave it back to the Family who owned the house.

The deactivated Kar 98 is certified deactivted and comes with a certificate from the British Home Office. While the pellet gun version is made of perspex/wood/etc and fires pellets

Basically does anyone know of the Law regarding Deactivated Firearms / Pellet guns?

Or maybe anywhere I can contact?

Thanks all

Herr Krupp of Essen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

serious lack of fluff :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Pellet guns are covered by the firearms act.

With regard to replicas I *think* they're illegal. Go down the local Guarda Station. they were very helpfull about some queries we had in Galway when setting up a paintball club.

googl'ing...
    i don't think they're included in the bill ( Firearms and Offensive Weapons Bill ) ... but gardai seize them .... in attempted robberies? :bLiNk:

pell. guns _are_ illegal afaik

read through the Firearms and Offensive Weapons Bill yourself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

Originally posted by Karoma
    serious lack of fluff :mad:

I agree! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Originally posted by Sleepy
    Pellet guns are covered by the firearms act.

Whoops!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭l3rian

behold fluffy!

fluffy.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Deactivated guns aren't necessarily safe. Sky News showed an expert "reactivating" a deactivated Uzi in less than 20 seconds the other morning. Granted, the spares for a WWII rifle may be harder to come by, but the spirit of the law is such that a perceived threat is almost as bad as an actual threat, so replica firearms, blunt swords, syringes full of clean blood, or of something equally non-fatal, are treated very seriously if used to commit a crime.

It's very likely that you would need a licence for anything that could be "used" (that is, it could create the belief of a real threat) to commit a crime. This would obviously exclude certain things which can be used as weapons, but weren't originally designed as such, i.e syringes, baseball bats, toy guns (with the big red cap). So replica guns, swords, ba'tleths ;), large knives, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

whats with the book called "women"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭DrummerBoy

Women are like men. Only different! They're the other half of the species. Some might even say the fairer half ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

Originally posted by peachypants
    maybe it's an exclamation!

funny i was looking at the titles and came across 'Dutch' and funnily enough it's exacly what I was thinking about all the other books.

I missed the 'Women' one though, but it's equally valid. all dutch to me.

as for the gun thing, it's all illegal i'm afraid deactivated, BB or whatever, unless you want to get a licence which is harder than brass monkey turds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Originally posted by peachypants

Have yiz never read anything by Charles Bukowski?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Originally posted by Micheal Wittman
    I am interested in buying a pellet gun/deactivated WW2 German Rifle and am not sure of the legalities of doing so.
    The gun in question is a WW2 version German Marushin Kar 98K bolt action rifle.

Right. Story is that if you get the pellet version, you will need a firearms licence. The sole authority for issuing that licence is your local garda superintendent. And the odds of getting a licence for an 8mm pellet gun designed to look like a battlefield rifle is about zero, unless you know him very well indeed.

Deactivated firearms are a different story. Legally, no problem to own. You could even have them shipped here without talking to anyone - witness the student in the National College of Art and Design who had two AK47s (deactivated) shipped straight to the college for a photography project without telling anyone. Of course, they will panic - that student was hauled up on disciplinary charges by the college and the Gardai got very worried for a while there. It's far better, basicly, to talk to your local superintendent and let him know what you're doing. Even get an import licence for it (Department of Justice, Firearms Section. Used to be Betty Walsh but she's since left, I don't know who's in charge there now).

Or maybe anywhere I can contact?
    Your first point of contact is the local Garda Superintendent. Always. Not only does he have the sole authority to grant you the licence, it's just a good idea to talk to him or her first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Kêrmêttê

Originally posted by l3rian
    behold fluffy!

fluffy.jpg

I came her expecting fluffy stuff and was NEARLY disappointed! Thanks |3rian you've made me happy!

As for replica & deactivated guns, they're still dangerous if ya throw them at ppl... they're quite heavy ain't they? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

That pic is well funny, all the computer books and then on the far left, one entitled "Women"! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭munkeehaven

you seem to be obsessed with guns..nearly all of your posts have been about them....:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

some people like guns. some people like tanks. just a hobby. there's lots of interesting history (if you're interested of course) behind a lot of weapons as well as all sorts of other war memorabilia.

anyway, it's much better to have people interested in that sort of thing than not.

the day we forget the darkest moments of our history is the day we are doomed to repeat it.

or something.