Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Possesion of cannabis

• 04-05-2004 4:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,064 ✭✭✭

Has anyone ever been arrested / charged / convicted of possesion of cannabis in Ireland ?

- Not including those who pissed off the gardai in some other way, eg. driving a stolen car or pockets full of e's or murdering journalists etc.

No particular reason, just interested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

no.

touch wood

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Johnny Versace

A friend was taken to the station because he had some acid and a hash pipe. He wasn't arrested. They just wanted to know who he got it from.

He actually told the police but they never did anything to the dealer.

If this happens with acid, I'm sure the hash situation would be similarily relaxed.

FYI this friend is a regular poster on boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Well, unless they've reason to search you, you're unlikely to be checked for it in the first place. If you know you're about to be searched and it's at all possible: swallow it. While it's illegal to be in posession of cannabis, you can't be arrested for being stoned unless you're driving/causing a public nuisance. So if the hash is in your stomach being digested and you become stoned while talking to the Gardai there's damn all they can legitimately get you for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,064 ✭✭✭Gurgle

Just wondering how illegal it really is.

As far as I can see, the only effect of the illegality is to keep the dealers in new cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭leonotron

Why did he snitch with the real guys name? Knob
    Originally posted by Johnny Versace
    A friend was taken to the station because he had some acid and a hash pipe. He wasn't arrested. They just wanted to know who he got it from.

If this happens with acid, I'm sure the hash situation would be similarily relaxed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭herbie747

Sniveling little rat. If he think he's "hard" enough to use drugs, then he should be "hard" enough to keep his dumb mouth shut if he's stupid enough to get caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

so lets see, snatch some dealer you dont really know of face a load of hassle from the cops?? day day dealer

personally wouldnt touch the stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭KlodaX

I've seen that happen before where they took the 'idiots' phone off him to call the dealer and meet ....

of course dealer was given the heads up .... I think there is too much paper work involved for the guards to actually bother.

maybe if it was a minor that was found with a large amount in possesion the parents would be called

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭m4cker

I was searched last week coz i got long hair and looked "suspicious".

while 1 guard searched me the other kept asking where i get my hash.
    (didn't have any at the time.)

they only want the dealers don't tell them s**t and they will leave you alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Kone

What I have always wondered is what if the Gardai arrest you with some quality Dublin soapbar, I mean is there actually any THC in it at all?

Could they charge you?

DON'T SMOKE SOAP
    DON'T BUY SOAP
    DON'T SELL SOAP

Say No To Soap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭KlodaX

soap is good for baking with

guards wouldn't be able to tell if is was an eight of soap or an eight of pollum ... I don't think they test it ... maybe when they get off duty! ;)

hmm ... you raise a good point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭SeeYouJimmy

i got stopped when i was living in belgium last year. was on the train coming back from amsterdam with a rather large quantity of weed and a punnet of mushrooms in my pocket....sniffer dog on the train just as we crossed the border.

i have to say that the belgium cops couldnt have been nicer to me, if that was back here at home i would have probably went to jail but the cops just took the stash off me and let me go

i think the funny thing was that they kept asking me if i felt addicted, and needed help

cool bloody police force

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

Originally posted by SeeYouJimmy
    ....the cops just took the stash off me and let me go....
    cool bloody police force

high bloody police force more like!!:D

if there is one place i'd like to be a cop, its onthe boarder betwee amsterdam ans belgium

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭Micro1

Originally posted by Sleepy
    Well, unless they've reason to search you, you're unlikely to be checked for it in the first place. If you know you're about to be searched and it's at all possible: swallow it. While it's illegal to be in posession of cannabis, you can't be arrested for being stoned unless you're driving/causing a public nuisance. So if the hash is in your stomach being digested and you become stoned while talking to the Gardai there's damn all they can legitimately get you for.

Not really the best advice in the world. If i ever get cought with a 1/4 of widow, i aint eating it. Id go completely crazy. Rather deal with the cops than go through that nightmare.
    Cops in Ireland will deal with each person differently if thay catch you with weed. I am, for example, 26 work hard, have no criminal record, they are hardly gonna nick me for a bit of weed.
    If your a kid though, there gonna tell your folks,that fair enough.
    If you have been found with a scales and a few eighths then your gonna get nicked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

here lads, im lookin for a quarter at the weekend, if anyone can sort me out, my dealer went missing there a couple of weeks ago... afaik someone ratted on him o_O

only jokin!

In all fairness, if he was cought with the stuff, he should take the wrap for it. I dont smoke hash or what not, ive had an experience or two with it but i wasnt in possetion, and if i was cought at any time i would have taken it on the head like a man!

ive never smoked the stuff. I know loads of people who do it, and im completely fine with it.

With regards to the law, afaik the gards just take it off you, warn you, send you off on your merry way....... then smoke your hash :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,216 ✭✭✭phreak

he's fairly lucky the dealer didn't break his face. why not keep his mouth shut and accept the consequences of his own actions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭l3rian

he's fairly lucky the dealer didn't break his face. why not keep his mouth shut and accept the consequences of his own actions?

yes, he accepts the consequence that annonymously rating on the dealer is of more personal benfit

well said Kone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭Emboss

got caught a few times with the odd bit here and there

just took it off me and off i went.

to buy more obviously....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Johnny Versace

Originally posted by Phreak

Yup, that's what I thought at the time. He could have said anything.

And the thing is, the dealer was a friend of ours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Not long ago the UK decriminalized the possession of a personal amount of cannabis, now they have gone the other way about it and reclassified it as a class B drug. They are blaming new strains of weed introduced in the last number of years such as skunk and Widow. So in future if your caught you could go down for five years instead of one. :eek:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/7845023.stm