Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ID Cards

• 03-05-2004 3:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭

Hey
    I need to get a "novelty" ID card for my grad this month, and I don't have a clue where to get one. All my friends just use brothers/sisters IDs, but given that I don't have any it's not really an option. I saw the FluxCard website, but ermmm, it doesn't exactly seem kosher. And they look crap. Any ideas where I can get one pretty rapidly? I'll be 18 at the end of June, which is just pissing me off since it's so close and I've gotten away without ID up to now.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

hmm seems kind of illegal if you ask me..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭subway_ie

Originally posted by Cabaal
    hmm seems kind of illegal if you ask me..

[cover-up]Surely not. The website clearly states "Novelty Cards" in their terms and conditions. I, of course, am simply looking for an authentic-looking "novelty card" so I can play nightclub bouncer with my friends. Obviously I'm not looking to acquire one for any other unlawful activities such as underage clubbing/drinking. Absolutely not.[/cover-up]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

Originally posted by subway_ie
    [cover-up]Surely not. The website clearly states "Novelty Cards" in their terms and conditions. I, of course, am simply looking for an authentic-looking "novelty card" so I can play nightclub bouncer with my friends. Obviously I'm not looking to acquire one for any other unlawful activities such as underage clubbing/drinking. Absolutely not.[/cover-up]

so what type of cards are needed by you kids these days?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭StephenInsane

Growing a mustache will help you look older.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

You can look cool and act as if your older if you smoke....oh wait that don't work anymore

Maybe get a Tatoo, all the cool kids are getting them these days.

Originally posted by Cabaal
    You can look cool and act as if your older if you smoke....oh wait that don't work anymore

Maybe get a Tatoo, all the cool kids are getting them these days.

Hmmmm. Well, as promising as getting a tattoo sounds, I think I'll pass. And anyway, don't you need to be 18 to get one of those too? :rolleyes:

The moustache idea sounds good, although I probably wouldn't be let in on grounds of looking like a knacker/pimp.
    so what type of cards are needed by you kids these days?
    Well that's the thing, I've never been asked for it before. I'm thinking the National Age Card / Garda card would be the standard, but since I'm not 18, I can't get one and don't know anybod with one who looks anything like me. (I'm "special"). College cards wouldn't do, since I'm going to a grad celebration thingy, which I don't imagine many college people would be going to...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

Sorry, but i couldn't resist....

[pun]
    Grow up
    [/pun]

Argh, you'd think with this underage drinking crisis we're supposed to be having that it would be much easier to get fake id. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,284 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

I wonder if that link will be removed... :dunno:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭sionnach

Originally posted by RobertFoster
    I wonder if that link will be removed... :dunno:

most definitely, ferdi should have more cop on....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

photoshop + scanner + laminator*

*the hardest part.. but one can easily obtain access...

...for novelty purposes of course...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

wouldnt bother mate. my AUTHENTIC garda ID was refused in 2 clubs in town and the bouncers said something along the lines of "you'll have to do better than that"

maybe i just have a trouble-maker look about me. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

dont waste ur money, try borrow a cousins/older firends passport/drivers licence/age card.
    have 2 "novelty cards" and the bouncers laughed when i gave it to em, twas quite embarrassing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭Skud

Originally posted by ferdi
    http://www.wellcoolstuff.com/Merchant2/merchant.mv?Screen=CTGY&Store_Code=1&Category_Code=FI

if this link is too much, i'm sorry monty, please remove/

I want the breasts inspectors one...
    if all else fails beat up a foreign dood and rob his. you'll get away with that "oriental look"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

Originally posted by subway_ie
    I'll be 18 at the end of June, which is just pissing me off since it's so close and I've gotten away without ID up to now.

taken from your profile

Birthday: July 28, 1988

which if my maths is right your 15 now and will be 16 on that date

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Originally posted by Cr3m0
    your 15 now and will be 16 on that date

so when u said "grad" u really meant "last day of school before the junior cert starts"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

Originally posted by Cr3m0
    taken from your profile

Birthday: July 28, 1988

which if my maths is right your 15 now and will be 16 on that date

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

o my god, you anal square!!!

teh guy is just tryin to get a fake id, who are you, his mother?!!

Lol
    I never realised people actually read the profile things - I just put down total crap. By "grad" I mean "the last day of school ever" (assuming I don't totally fuk up and have to repeat...). And no, I'm 17 now, not 15 and I'll be 18 on that date. Which makes it ok for the post-leaving cert piss up, but a bit crap for the pre-leaving cert piss up, ie the grad night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

You leave school, you graduate from college. Twat. Another teenager with a problem....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭pigeonbutler

If you've been getting away without ID in pubs and clubs up to now that means that you don't stand out as being young-looking. That means that you're unlikely to be singled out for having to show ID. However here's a contingency plan for if they are routinely checkin everyone's ID that you might be able to pull off:

If you can't get hold of even a vague look-a-likes ID, preferably Age Card cuz the picture quality is crap, then just bring out your driving licence if you have one. Failing that bring a passport but the driving licence is far superior.

If you are asked routinely for ID along with loads of other actual 18 year olds the bouncer will simply glance at the licence to make sure that

1. It's real.
    2. It's not tampered with.
    3. It's you in the photo.

They may also glance at the date of birth but seeing as writing on driving licences is so small and crowded they will usually see 1986 and be satisfied. That's why a driving licence is better for this sort of bluff than a passport because on a passport the Date of Birth is very prominent and the month is in words rather than numbers.

Trust me, it takes balls to try this but it works most of the time because bouncers as a group aren't the brightest knives in the drawer and because they're well used to seeing fake id's and id's belonging to other people but their thought process is something along the lines of "What kinda gob****e would show an ID that says they're only 17?"

I'm not 18 until July but through a combination of looking kinda old and trying this bluff whenever they start asking everyone under 20 for ID I can get into pretty much any pub or club I want in my hometown.

Don't even bother with any of those Novelty IDs. Up until about 12 months ago you could get away with them in some places but since last September the law is very clear on what's an acceptable form of ID: Age card, passport of driving licence must be carried by anyone under 21 in a licenced premises after 9pm.

Originally posted by MojoMaker
    You leave school, you graduate from college. Twat. Another teenager with a problem....:rolleyes:

wtf? :dunno:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

for playing niteclub go to www.phatism.com

please note i am giving this address to help a fellow boardster play a realistic club game, as it will prepare him in future for a job in the entertainment biz;) gud luck m8 i solute you :D

Originally posted by pigeonbutler
    If you've been getting away without ID in pubs and clubs up to now that means that you don't stand out as being young-looking.
    Well, it's mostly because the places I go to (and not that often) are underage - no alcohol, no ID.
    That means that you're unlikely to be singled out for having to show ID. However here's a contingency plan for if they are routinely checkin everyone's ID that you might be able to pull off:
    Well I'd think that all of us will be asked - since most will be wearing suits on a thursday night, some looking like 15-16 max.
    If you can't get hold of even a vague look-a-likes ID, preferably Age Card cuz the picture quality is crap, then just bring out your driving licence if you have one. Failing that bring a passport but the driving licence is far superior.
    I've only got a provisional licence, I suppose I could give it a try, although I'll probably feck it up.
    Trust me, it takes balls to try this but it works most of the time because bouncers as a group aren't the brightest knives in the drawer and because they're well used to seeing fake id's and id's belonging to other people but their thought process is something along the lines of "What kinda gob****e would show an ID that says they're only 17?"
    Well, the bouncers are one thing, but then the barmen are another. I was working as a barman during the Summer, and I just know we all get a perverse pleasure of laughing at fake/underage ID. It's one of the few perks of the job.
    Don't even bother with any of those Novelty IDs.
    Well, I wasn't actually going to get a novelty one, more like a "customised" garda ID or something dodgy like that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭conZ

Friend told me about this today -

If you have a drivers licence, put some tippex on a sharp knife. Spread the knife over the '-86' bit and make it an '-85'. It worked for him.

Me, I've had the licence photoshopped and contact-paper'd over it.

Friend told me about this today -

If you have a drivers licence, put some tippex on a sharp knife. Spread the knife over the '-86' bit and make it an '-85'. It worked for him.

Me, I've had the licence photoshopped and contact-paper'd over it.

I think I'll leave the tippex solution, maybe stick with the scanning/photoshopping. What kinda paper did you use? It's more rigid than normal printer paper, but nothing like photographic paper. Nice challenge though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭penguinbloke

010a.jpg

Am I the only person who has never seen the Irish version of the National Identity Card, that
    will be very effective everywhere

If they don't take Age cards you'd have to wonder.

[edit] just noticed all they changed was the union jack in the crest to the irish flag, the stamp code and address are all uk.[/edit]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

my 17 year old brother was getting into clubs in town with my passport, some 6 years his senior. Go with girls and not a large group.

I've been working on the "modified provisional licence" thing for about an hour, it's looking pretty good, although I'm having trouble printing on both sides of the page. It's impossible to get them to line up *exactly* on both sides of the page and it's a nightmare trying to figure out where exactly the image will be printed in relation to where it is on the screen. It took me an hour just to get it to "roughly" line up (the licence is unfolded and printed along the lenght of the A4 sheet, the front of the licence (with the "Eire" and harp on it is about 1cm out of plcae, which fecks it all up)). Now, just to get some decent card-like paper, some double sided sellotape, contact and craft knife. And maybe one of those plastic pocket thingies that the licence comes in that I lost ages ago. :ninja:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Superman

Don't bother getting an ID they are usually:
    1. Expensive
    2. Low grade
    3. Refused by bouncers

you'd be better off taking the money and using it to buy a few tinnies and goin to a
    field, and before all you upstanding citizens get offended by knacker drinkin',
    I only advocated when certain rules are followed :
    1. Don't annoy locals
    2. Don't litter
    3. Don't be loud at night

If your young you always seeem to have this idea that clubs are cool cause of the whole age limit thing. there not!. they usually consis of hyper trendy shitheads and bent predictable women. The rest of the people are usually alot less trendy and spend their nights in clubs using there few cents to buy pints of some cheap brew. Pubs are a different ''kettle of fish''(I feel 67!) and can be good if they are nice spot. at the end of the day few things match up to knackewr drinkin. far cheaper and funner.|You don't have to worry about problems smokin and gettin spliffed either.

Well, the only reason I need an ID is because this one time we're going out, we've been warned that everybody in the group will need ID (about 70 of us...) Pubs are grand, but they don't want 50-70 leaving certs taking over the place on a Wednesday/Thursday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭conZ

The tippex scrapes off easily, and it works well.

For the drivers licence, if you have one already, scan it in, edit it, print it onto normal paper, cut out the hole for the picture and use double sided sellotape to stick it to the original licence. Then contact over the full thing.

If you dont have an original drivers licence, your making it very hard for yourself, so get a drivers licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭pigeonbutler

Ah right well if you look young anyway my trick wouldn't be much use but I found it great. One particular club had let me in 3or4 times without asking me for ID because there was huge big queues and they were only stopping really obvious underagers. Then one night I went up when there was no queue and was asked for ID kinda routinely by the bouncer. I reckon he'd seen me in there before and just wanted to find out my name and address to make sure I wasn't a knacker. Cuz he looked at my perfectly legitimate Provisional Driving Licence DOB 15/7/1986 and let me in.

Originally posted by conZ
    For the drivers licence, if you have one already, scan it in, edit it, print it onto normal paper, cut out the hole for the picture and use double sided sellotape to stick it to the original licence. Then contact over the full thing.

I just finished it, and it looks a bit sh1t. If you just look at it on it's own it's not too bad, the photo is fairly crap (just printed onto glossy photo-quality paper, and the signature printed onto heavy-matt paper, both with double sided tape underneath). When it's compared to a real licence it looks awful. Slightly too dark, paper doesn't have the right texture/weight and the folds are dodgy (they look black instead of just looking creased). It might pass if it's dark and they don't take much notice... but I doubt it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭eoge

Well... did it work?

I'm heading to New York on a J1 Visa. I'm just 20. Anyone with underage experience in the U.S. have some tips for me? How did you get away with it? Are they generally strict in cubs? Bars? Off licences?

Cheers (big ears).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

I have heard of some one photocopying his passport and changing the DOB. When the barman asks for ID, he was shown a photocopy. If the barman asked for the original one they were told that they didn't want to risk bringing it out incase it got lost or stolen. it worked for the whole summer. you could try that.

Originally posted by Rabies
    I have heard of some one photocopying his passport and changing the DOB. When the barman asks for ID, he was shown a photocopy. If the barman asked for the original one they were told that they didn't want to risk bringing it out incase it got lost or stolen. it worked for the whole summer. you could try that.

that hasn't worked in years. if the door/bar-man has it in for you, he won't take it. their policy changed to "original copies of passports and/or birth certificates' .. pfft!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

a birth cert doesn't mean its you. no pictures attached.

Originally posted by Rabies
    a birth cert doesn't mean its you. no pictures attached.

...number 1 reason that they're not accepted...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭Auburn

Originally posted by eoge
    Well... did it work?
    I'm heading to New York on a J1 Visa. I'm just 20. Anyone with underage experience in the U.S. have some tips for me? How did you get away with it? Are they generally strict in cubs? Bars? Off licences?
    Cheers (big ears).

Clubs - yes they are strict, they usually ask for id. But some clubs will let you in, and they put a glow in the dark stamp on your hand, so that you won't be served at the bar - fine if you drink at home beforehand. Pubs - same as here. The more trendy ones will have bouncers on the doors early. If you go before the bouncers come on, or choose a not so trendy pub, you'll be fine.

For id you'll need your passport usually, none of that student card stuff.

Hint: passport - tracing paper, year of birth - laminator.

I just used my scanned/printed licence this week for the first time, and it worked perfectly (even on the gardaí, which, on reflection, was a bit of a stupid thing to try). The colour is just slightly off, but barely noticeable, probably looks more like its been worn than anything else. The only thing that would definetly give it away is if they used blacklight on it. Epson Perfection 1670 scanner, 600dpi resolution and an Epson Stylus C82 inkjet, great results and not that expensive. A few sheets of heavy paper (not card, but heavier than standard printer paper), a sheet of high gloss photo paper, plastic ruler, craft knife, roll of contact and a plastic pouch. Great results, not too much hassle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 362 ✭✭Dancing_Priest

Just as a note , last september at my first year ball in the black box in galway they were scanning the drivers licences under a uv light to check the hollograms , which dont come out on a coppied licence , although that place and the GPO in Galway are the only places that I ever had that problem with when I was underage.

Originally posted by Dancing_Priest
    Just as a note , last september at my first year ball in the black box in galway they were scanning the drivers licences under a uv light to check the hollograms , which dont come out on a coppied licence , although that place and the GPO in Galway are the only places that I ever had that problem with when I was underage.

That's not a problem for me, since I'll be 18 in a month - the fake licence was just a short-term thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

fuk sake, u actually used it on gardaí?? must have balls of steel or something, i would never chance anything like that, luckily you werent caught cause if you were.....well thats another story

Originally posted by Caliden
    fuk sake, u actually used it on gardaí?? must have balls of steel or something, i would never chance anything like that, luckily you werent caught cause if you were.....well thats another story

Well, it wasn't by choice, I had it in my hand when I was on the street, since it had fell out of my pocket when we were waiting for out bus. Lads were making too much noise, so over comes gardaí. Sees it in my hand, points to it, has a quick look. Luckily it was outside on a dark(ish) street, so he didn't notice anything. It'll probably be the last time I ever use it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Beekay

Auburn wrote:
    Clubs - yes they are strict, they usually ask for id. But some clubs will let you in, and they put a glow in the dark stamp on your hand, so that you won't be served at the bar - fine if you drink at home beforehand. Pubs - same as here. The more trendy ones will have bouncers on the doors early. If you go before the bouncers come on, or choose a not so trendy pub, you'll be fine.

For id you'll need your passport usually, none of that student card stuff.

Hint: passport - tracing paper, year of birth - laminator.

What do you mean by this? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭rsynnott

Let's ask about criminal fraud on boards.ie! Yey!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭tintinr35

anyone ever hear of the passports that were printed in irish and said they were fake but obviously foreign bouncers dont know :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

in fairness who would turn down a PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR!!!!