Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drink> or not?

• 30-04-2004 7:57am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭

Everyone on boards seems to love there beer, Is any one else here who doesn't drink, at all? Just for personal reasons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

Can't drink at the moment. Drinking will resume in June, and I intend to be in the pub...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Well Im in work now dyin, in Club M till 5 this mornin, not a good idea at any stage, but why not drink? Not drinkin is a mugs game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

Personally I dont drink that much more because something in beer doesnt agree with me and makes me sick. I still drink wine,cider and alcopops. Tbh if someone told me I could never drink again I dont know if I would be one bit bothered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭bean

didnt start until i was in my twenties believe it or not. It did my financial situation no harm nor did it make things harder socially. I was happy to wait, things are messed up enough in the teens, i didnt need alcohol making things more complicated i suppose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭LoneGunM@n

I can't drink @ the moment for medical reasons, but that being said, I was never a big drinker anyway!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭ravenhead

Originally posted by Draupnir
    Well Im in work now dyin, in Club M till 5 this mornin, not a good idea at any stage, but why not drink? Not drinkin is a mugs game

Have to disagree here ... I enjoy going out & not drinking - it doesn't bother me either way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

I used to be a huge binge drinker but happily (luckily) am on the other side of it now. Don't go out boozing but I do enjoy the odd cold glass of beer with my dinner every now and then. Tis a better way of life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,137 ✭✭✭✭Stark

I've done my system a good deal of damage through alcohol and sugar (mostly through sugar, but they're both basically the same chemical). My adrenals are burnt out at the moment (and possibly my thyroid although that could be related to the adrenal fatigue and heal when my adrenals heal). Basically I used to eat what I wanted, drink what I wanted, pull all nighters then come in to college and still have my brain functional enough to handle whatever challenges it presented me. Then about 2 years ago I started suffering from burnout (I now get totally knackered from the slightest bit of stress) but found it extremely difficult to cut back on my intake due to the addictive effects. I'm finally off both, and will be until my adrenals recover. Even after that, I'll be highly reluctant to go back on either. Bloody devil substances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭daggeredge

not drinking doesn't bother me in the slightest...always go out every week for a session with the lads from work in the local, a week ago just didn't bother drinking (dunno why) and no one seemed to mind ! course its cheaper not to drink. next step now is 2 get my full licence cos I'm sick of payin 4 taxis 2 drop me home (of course on the nights I'm driving not a drop will touch my lips, I no someone who started off just havin a glass on the night out and quickly turned it in2 2 bud shandies and now can't go out without havin a drink even if this person is driving!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭Commissar

I'm not a heavy drinker at all, mainly because I find it so hard to find an alcholic drink I actually like. To be honest Bulmers for me was just the best of a bad lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I've pretty much effectively given it up, just a few G&Ts maybe on a friday and that's it. It's been so much kinder to my wallet. That's the real reason I don't drink like I used to. Throwing down the bones of a fiver for every trip to the bar is far too much. Especially when I've gotten beers and wines in other countries, also in the EU, for E0.5-E2 a glass.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

I like my drink when i go but i can go out and not drink although i prefer not to. my girlfriend doesnt at all.she never has or never wil according to her and i dont see any problem with it.

Im irish i like to drink what can i say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭fozzle

Sometimes I drink, sometimes I don't. I used to drink a lot but there's no way now that I could handel as much as I used to. To be honest, I'm just as happy, I like being able to remember a night out, and I hate feeling like I've been eating carpet fluff the morning after. Fairly often I'll go out without drinking at all, or I'll only have one or two, and I have just as good a time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭whosurpaddy

id probly only drink about once a month, if that. the very odd time id have a bottle of beer with dinner. christmas would be the only time id drink more than once in a week id say. maybe on holiday.

although in saying that i will be drunk this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭sionnach

i don't drink, can't stand the taste of alcohol and from the state ive seen my friends in some nights im kinda glad i don't :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

man up dawg, man the **** up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭whosurpaddy

Originally posted by SheroN
    man up dawg, man the **** up.

where do i know that quote from? is it training day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

yes.

For me, drink is the nectar of the gods, the stuff makes ugly women pretty and makes you a lot funnier.

Im stuck in a binge drinkin phase right now, and Im likin it

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,011 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Been drinking less of late, and feel none the worse for it. I've always been a slow drinker too, despite jocular ribbing from my friends. I've always given thought to the idea of not drinking alcohol at all, but I've never had enough will power to see it through...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

Just the odd cold beer when relaxing at home for me. Was never that big a drinker anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,216 ✭✭✭phreak

Originally posted by sionnach
    i don't drink, can't stand the taste of alcohol and from the state ive seen my friends in some nights im kinda glad i don't :)

haha :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

<sigh> the great old Irish 'beer joke' - Isn't beer wonderful and isn't it hilarious that our life revolves around beer?

I find 'the beer joke' a bit embarassing at this stage. Can't we outgrow this as a nation? Am I alone in feeling uncomfortable with the sense that heavy drinking more than anything else seems to mark out our culture to others?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Superman

you have lots of retorical questions, but can i answer them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,472 ✭✭✭Sposs

Originally posted by Draupnir
    For me, drink is the nectar of the gods, the stuff makes ugly women pretty and makes you a lot funnier.

Im stuck in a binge drinkin phase right now, and Im likin it

Finally Some honesty!!

That Irish 'beer joke' stuff is stupid, I like goin out and getting hammered, cos I like being hammered, not cos Im Irish. I dont mind the stereotype either, better to be known as drunk, funny basta*ds who are really popular than thugs or hooligans who wanna smash up the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

I used to go out and get blitzed once a month, and drink sociably (< 6 pints) about once a week.

Having been off the drink for almost a year now, when I start again, I'll probably drink a decent bit less, but I'd like to imagine I'll still get drunk.

One things for sure, you notice a definite increase in available cash when you're not drinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

That Irish 'beer joke' stuff is stupid, I like goin out and getting hammered, cos I like being hammered, not cos Im Irish. I dont mind the stereotype either, better to be known as drunk, funny basta*ds who are really popular than thugs or hooligans who wanna smash up the place.

I wasn't having a pop at you Draupnir. My point was not so much about the amount we drink, but more about the level of comfort we have with the stereotype, as is frequently demonstated by the recurring 'beer joke'.

I'm not a teetotaller or anything. I like a few when I go out, just that it's not that important to me.

If you're comfortable with the 'drunken Irish' stereotype, that's fine. I'm not, is all I'm saying, but each to his/her own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,255 ✭✭✭TCamen

There was a time last year that I was drinking every night. It just became a habit, easier to drink than not. Around April/May last year I gave up alcohol for 4 weeks, just to see-- I was going away to Toronto for the summer, so I didn't particularly want to be continuing the heavy drinking over there.
    Happily it broke the cycle, and while over there & when I came back I'm just drinking occasionally rather than systematically.
    These days I don't really drink beer, it just makes me feel ill-- except for Nastro Azzuro, a tasty Italian beer, but since it's not sold everywhere I'll generally have cocktails or alcopops when I'm out instead.
    Most of my friends aren't heavy drinkers either but I still find myself drinking faster than them, so rounds are a good way of regulating the amount I'll drink in a night.
    That being said, I generally only find myself out once a week, twice at the very most, so there's definite savings to drinking less, as well as not destroying your body with excessive alcohol consumption :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Longstaff

I don't drink as it removes my fear of consequences. I do however enjoy using recreational drugs on occassion and love the insanity of two day e benders about three times a year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Lainey

i likes my drink and i cannot lie.............:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

drink is the only drug for me.......cant stand E or coke or anything like that. its just stupid. at least ppl can somewhat control what happens to them with alcohol. we all, generally, know our limits and know when to stop.......whereas with something like E - u get a bad one and ur fúcked!

Control and Alcohol HA! Theres a novel idea.

Lets face it DRINK IS GOOD. DRUNK IS GOOD. HANGOVER IS BAD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,347 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

I don't like alcohol...can't find one I like...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

I like a good beer. I also like remembering things and not smelling bad. So I drink for the taste and the pleasent relaxation that three or four pints will cause. I quite like my liver too, and I intend to have the original one until I die. Binge= stupidity.

Your liver is feck all use to you if you get a smack of a lorry tomorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

You'd be surprised. And looking both ways before crossing the street helps ensure that Sarky/lorry interactions are kept to a minimum in any case.

I would be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

I drink.
    I like Drink.
    I plan to contuine to drink till my doctor tells me to stop.

I drink.
    I like drink.
    I dont have a doctor, I shall have to rely on nature.

Last night was the first time I ever drank. About fourty of us were out celebrating and I just thought **** it I have a drink. None of my friends or I got drunk, but someone we knew had drank a bottle of JD on the way in and followed that up with god knows how much more. He ended up being arreasted for assaulting an garda or something. Most of the people went into class today drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,347 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

what were you celebrating?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭sound_wave

i cant believe no one has quoted a certain Homer J yet:

"Alcohol, the cause of and solution to all of lifes problems"

i like my drink, i like being drunk but if someone said to be i cant drink again it wouldnt be the end of the world.
    im off it at the moment studying for my exams! but when they finished im gonna get absolutly langers!!

what were you celebrating?

Our pre-pre grad. It was also our grad mass.