Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ashdown amps?

• 28-04-2004 12:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

Anyone got any experience of these? My beloved Peavey 300W head died tragically last week and I need a replacement asap. These are the main contenders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

man thay are flippin beautiful, i practiced a few times with the yoke pictured below, it was an a lovely big practice area but this thing seemed like an absolute star, great sound, it sound just so so nice, this the only expereince with ashdown but whan i up gread from my TE it will most likely be to an ash - great machines:) one of the nices combos i've ever played thru, if not THE nices.

MAGC410T300-0d5779940cccd46ded39131583c1304c.jpg

http://www.zzounds.com/item--ASDMAGC410T

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

Nice one. I believe one of the main dudes from TE set them up. I always liked the TE stuff. Methinks the Mag 300 is within the budget.

MAG300H.jpg

what sound boxes ye gonna use?

Got an ancient 15" speaker which I'll need to replace soon enough. Was hoping to pick up a Peavey 115BVX BW 1x15" Black Widow, 350 Watt (RMS) before I replaced the head, but the head blowing up has scuppered me plans. I'll need a 15" cos the low B on my 6 string just doesn't have the right whumph out of a 10" speaker.

Can get one for about €350. Wallet hurts :dunno:

its worth the money in the end, let us know how ye get on.

I will indeed. Did you buy that Danelectro?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 8,351 ✭✭✭fitz

Doc, the Ashdown's a beaut.
    Well built, great sound.
    Well worth the cash.

Thanks lads, I've consulted my humble bank balance and check it out on Saturday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 800 ✭✭✭dabhoys

I've heard nothing but good things about them. I would highly recomend them. The guitar mags praise them highly too...

Originally posted by Doctor J
    Did you buy that Danelectro?

no, your man had a change of heart.sheit.

Ended up getting an ABM Evo 300, the model which is being replaced by the Evo II, so I got it at a decent price. Man, the tone gives me a stiffy. Beautiful tone, got a solid state and tube pre-amps and you can blend them. Brought it to one rehearsal and one gig so far, I haven't needed to use the EQ yet, just plug in, turn up and let rip. It's just got a natural tone which kicks big ass. Loud as f*ck too, way louder than my old Peavey which was also rated at 300w, but much nicer at higher levels. I'd highly recommend them.

oh man, i'd say its mighty. you will have years of hot sticky pleasure with that beast i'm sure....when i get mine, i'll let you know....of course i have to get a car first to transport it!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 800 ✭✭✭dabhoys

I can tell you first hand there is a beautiful tone off the amp :)

It ain't heavy at all You'd have no problem getting it around.

There a sweet amp. I love the sub harmonic. But the fact that it has sweet tone at a flat EQ is impressive...

Originally posted by ferdi
    of course i have to get a car first to transport it!!!

It's quite compact and surprisingly light. Just bring it on the bus. ;)

• How much did you get it for? Where? and which model was it? I'm gettin a new amp soon and these where just recommended today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭robbie1876

Our bass player uses one, but unfortunately he's leaving for the Czech Repuplic this Sunday and taking it with him. I have to say, of all the bass players I've played with, this dude has the best onstage sound. Our style requires lots of funky fingering and plenty of slap bass, and the Ashdown performes beatifully with everything he throws at it. He's using a 5 string Musicman through it. If you get a chance to catch one of our gigs before Saturday, he'd be happy to let you play around with it I'm sure. The gig listings are in the sig link.

Robbie

Shameless gig plugging, but I'll let it go 'cos it's you Robbie :D

I picked one up last week. It's ****in beautiful man.

But thanks for the offer anyway man, greatly appreciated. Have you guys sorted out a replacement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭robbie1876

Ach, silly me didn't read the whole thread and didn't realise you have it sorted! Oops....

Yeah, we got a replacement, a funky Frenchman. Next Thursday is his first gig with us.

Originally posted by Louis Plain Logjam
    How much did you get it for? Where? and which model was it? I'm gettin a new amp soon and these where just recommended today.

Got the ABM Evo 300 for €680 in MM. It really brings out the tone of the bass, I haven't used the EQ section yet, no need. The solid state channel sounds excellent, really deep and clean and the tube channel adds just the right amount of growl to the tone. Very well made, beautiful sound. Handles the low B and high C of my 6 string with ease. A really nice piece of equipment. Hugely recommended.