Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Joyriding

• 28-04-2004 12:29am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭

there is about 12 scumbags out my back road flashin a 92 robbed nissan micra around, the noise of it and they crashed it into a neighbours wall. thgey just keep wrecking it until the car cant do no more and then they will just burn it.

They have the "tunes pumpin" and there hangin out of the windows how do they not kill themselves? bashing it into the kurbs and wrecking the place. Just mayhem. the Garda were called a half an hour ago so they will be down in the mornin they dont want to get involved.

If its not a micra its a honda civic or a moped.
    There terrosing the streets of Dublin, scum.

Tell me your stories or views about this lethal "fun" they have!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

Actually,I was playing IRA(you know,one team makes a word, the other beats it out of people,letter by letter) with some friends recently (I would like to emphasise that Im 16. Im allowed be a child.), and a couple of lads around here were joyridin in some car...beltin it down the road, one of em stuck his head out the window and said to me and a friend; "oi, dya want some bangers bai?!", before belting it off. We thought nothing of it,and continued on our hunt. Two of our other team mates, who were girls, were after coming around the corner, as had the car. They got out of the car,and started chasing the two girls, screaming at them. So the girls run off, as me and my brave friend..hide in a ditch. anyway, they get back into the car, laughing, and continue to drive around terrorizing others. We meet up with the two girls, and they said that the 4 of them hopped out of the car, and one of them hit her. Ages around 17-20 or so.

Anyway, they refuse to ring the cops, so me and the friend say we'll go up there,and if they're still there, we'll ring ourselves. So we go up, and they come belting around the corner, once again. Except this time they smash into a wall. Shame they were clever enough to have seatbelts on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭tribble

/0ff topik/
    I would like to emphasis that Im 16. Im allowed be a child.

/me runs off to have a *very* cold shower.

tribble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Originally posted by tribble
    /0ff topik/

tribble

eh ? what :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

Em well the good thing about joyriding is there is a high chance of 1 of the joyriders dying a painfull death. The more ppl that see there friends die and suffer from joyriding the less ppl will do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

Originally posted by tribble
    /0ff topik/

tribble

..... Are you a priest 0_o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,064 ✭✭✭Gurgle

Posted by User45701
    Em well the good thing about joyriding is there is a high chance of 1 of the joyriders dying a painfull death. The more ppl that see there friends die and suffer from joyriding the less ppl will do it.

Did you see the primetime program on these scum a few months ago ?

They actually don't have enough understanding of the world to realise that what they see happening to other people could actually happen to them.

And the real down side is that they usually take someone with them.

and:
    Posted by tribble
    me runs off to have a *very* cold shower.
    I echo the sentiment.

What ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Lainey

its sad to see one of these young people lose their lives but a lot SADDER to see innocent people being killed by them.. they chose to joyride and risk their lives but the unfortunates they run into are livin on chance they might not be speeding or they might not hit them on their side of the car.. whats the sentence usually for joyriders anyone know???????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,064 ✭✭✭Gurgle

Originally posted by Lainey
    whats the sentence usually for joyriders anyone know???????
    I think the usual sentence is "Please don't do it again."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Originally posted by Tellox
    Shame they were clever enough to have seatbelts on.
    Maybe they didn't want to run the risk of getting penalty points? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Deadwing

its sad to see one of these young people lose their lives
    Sorry but i dont find it sad at all when joyriding idiots are killed in car smashes. In fact, i think i dont think enough of them are killed. The less of these scumbags are roaming the streets/roads the better.
    Whats sad is when an entire generation of family is wiped out in a car smash, mother, daughter, grandparents, etc, and yet these scumbags can hare around in a micra all night long, smash into a wall, and walk away without a scratch going 'Deaaaaadly buzz!!!'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 612 ✭✭✭Phil_321

its sad to see one of these young people lose their lives but a lot SADDER to see innocent people being killed by them..

I don't think it's sad if a scumbag joyrider dies. I think it's a good thing. As long as they haven't killed anyone else but themselves (and their friends), I couldn't care less.

Originally posted by Phil_321
    I don't think it's sad if a scumbag joyrider dies. I think it's a good thing. As long as they haven't killed anyone else but themselves (and their friends), I couldn't care less.

i do.. i think its' sad when someone so young loses their life without knowing how they could have achieved so many things.. obv, the innocent people are most in my mind..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭L5

I think the government should give funding for a joyrider park. Where they leave hundreds of old cars parked in some purpose built park or something, and let them drive around however the hell they want in it. There should be landmines hidden in the ground though so they'll get a better buzz out of not dying if they make it through the night. We could all pay in and watch them for our own amusement.

Originally posted by L5
    I think the government should give funding for a joyrider park. Where they leave hundreds of old cars parked in some purpose built park or something, and let them drive around however the hell they want in it. There should be landmines hidden in the ground though so they'll get a better buzz out of not dying if they make it through the night. We could all pay in and watch them for our own amusement.

not a bad friday night out :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

My mate's Honda Civic was nicked from Stillorgan shopping centre car park a few years back. The next he heard about it was when the Gardai called round. They told him they'd found the car, totalled out in Tallaght somewhere. My mate was well pissed off.. only compensation was, the filthy scumbag who took the car, was thrown when it crashed, and he lost an ear..

About 2 months ago, I was asleep in bed, when I heard an almighty crash outside the house (I was living in an estate in Dublin at the time, not known for it's pleasantries..) Went outside and discovered my car had been ploughed into by another car. The occupants of the other car then drove off down the road and burnt it out.. :mad:

Scum of the earth the lot of them. Kneecapping is too good for them.

Kevin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

I don't agree. I think there is a high chance that these little f*ckers escape relatively uninjured 9 times out of 10. Ever see those Car chase programs. The joyriders drive through a junction without stopping, cream a car as they go across, their car spins, smashes and rolls over even, car wrecked...................the f*ckers always crawl out and are capable of still outrunning the police on foot. Meanwhile the innocent that was creamed is either dead or is being cut out of their car. Its probably something to do with a head-on collision from the joyriders point of view meaning maximum crumple zone, airbags, seatbelts coming into play, whereas the innocent who was hit side-on has.......a door protecting him/her. What happens to pedestrians is just horrific. Remember the poor guards on the stillorgan dual carraigeway. Big Police mondeo hit by a tiny mazda mx5 at 120mph. The little scumbags survive and two brave guards lose their lives. Scum, Scum, Scum, Scum, Scum!!

So IMHO, not enough of them die.

As for punishment!! Your Honour, poor little anto has no leisure facilities and is bored, sure of course if the government don't provide leisure facilities he'll get into mischief. I know he's gotten the probation act each and every time for his previous 50 convictions but he assures me your honour that he will be a good boy from now on.

(Maybe if Anto didn't get himself barred from every Cinema, bowling alley, youth club, amusement arcade, snooker hall etc in a 20 mile radius by vandalising, bullying, thieving, Stabbing other kids for their nikes or mobiles, setting fire to 'stuff' etc etc etc he might have some 'other' leisure facilities to avail of!!!!!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

i opened this thread in the vain hope that it would be about a girl called Joy and her adventures, not about youngsters drving stolen vehicals.:(

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Originally posted by rymus
    Maybe they didn't want to run the risk of getting penalty points? :D

haha, had to laugh out loud with that one tbh :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭garyc

ye thta micra ended up in the field burned out. as they all do. one of the tyres burst and it was going around on the rims for about an hour, sparks everywhere and the tunes still pumpin. Deadly buzz boys, rapid.

out of the joyriding that goes on here they never get hurt, never.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by Calibos
    I don't agree. I think there is a high chance that these little f*ckers escape relatively uninjured 9 times out of 10.
    Actually, most of these people have been hurt. If you've ever been in an accident and only lightly injured (no major blood loss, head injury or broken bones) you won't feel much pain for about 15 minutes until the adrenilin wears off. Most muscle damage won't be felt for 24-48 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Remember the MX5 that was nicked from an appartment in Dalkey and crashed into a police car on the Stillorgan Dual Carriageway and killed the two policemen?

That was serious stuff. I live in blackrock and could hear the car driving around screeching, sirens and the almighty thud when i was walking home near the dual carriageway. Those little ****s are in kids jail for a bit. then they get out and become drug addicts and kill themselves. Id love to personally get an iron bar and knock the living **** out of joyriders or those knackers that are just too stupid to understand whats going on. they do nothing and are ****ing mongos. kill them all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

There was a time when people who stole a horse/donkey would be beheaded where the animal would have a string, holding the blade, tied to them. When they walked away the blade would fall.

I would LOVE to see the death of joyriders by death from the very same car they stole, being driven by the owner of the car. In the same way people would turn up to watch exections, I'd turn up to watch these bastards being killed.

Other than that, I'm a pretty nice bloke, honestly.
    S.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

i do.. i think its' sad when someone so young loses their life without knowing how they could have achieved so many things.. obv, the innocent people are most in my mind..

Lainey, wise up. These people will contribute *nothing* to society at all. They will sponge from you and the government for the rest of their lives, I wish them all dead, or pretty much close to it. Sorry, but I do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭jerenaugrim

2 stories from Cork-

Last week I was talking to a Garda who'd just come from a joyrider chase. Apparently, in Cork the joyriders head for the Tivoli docks and do their thang there. There's only one road out of there, tho'. So the cops put a squadcar across the entrance, and wait for them to run out of petrol...

About 8 yrs ago, about 6 in the morning, I heard a car with the alarm going off coming up the road past the house. Joyriders, obviously- the lights were all flashing too. Just past the house, the stolen car stalled. The first squadcar following slowed...then speeded up, and rammed the back of the stolen car. This got the joyriders going again, and off with them, thru the red lights (where Lough Road meets Bandon Road, Corkonians!) and took the next left. Which is not a left, but a big f*cking wall. Luckily, there were a total of five squadcars in pursuit, to help shovel the remains into bags.

I tells ya!:dunno:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,553 ✭✭✭wolfman

They are all ****ing bastards!
    :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭chrismon

its such a waste of nice cars

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭Runfree

I think joyriders should be used as crash test dummies for all car companies. See how often they can say "deaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaadly buzzzzzzzz" before they die.

and no they dont get no medical treatment if they are injured either. The more pain the better.

RunFree

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 computer licker

They aqre only having a bit of fun. Its not their fault they grow up in areasd where they aree undder privaleged. Its society that crweats them so blame socieety. Just cause you all come from good homes is noexcuse fof doing them down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Tommy Vercetti

A team of about 60 Gardai with, say, 5 cars, a couple of vans and Garda Air Support Unit backup (and of course appropriate resources to punish offenders) could virtually eliminate joyriding in Ireland within a few months. But instead our ever-so-wise justice minister wastes his and our time with a half arsed referendum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Originally posted by computer licker
    They aqre only having a bit of fun. Its not their fault they grow up in areasd where they aree undder privaleged. Its society that crweats them so blame socieety. Just cause you all come from good homes is noexcuse fof doing them down

boo-****ing-hoo. There's plenty of underprivelaged people that don't spend their weekends stealing cars and ruining lives.

****hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭Hecate

Whatever happend to those stinger devices that the UK police were trialing?

Stop the car cold. They might get out and run but at least they wont be in control of a piece of metal travelling at 120mph anymore. And if it happens enough then mabye the 'buzz' will go out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,107 ✭✭✭John R

Stingers have been standard issue in the UK for many years now, not sure about here though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Mutz

The stinger system is ok (still in "testing" - lack of training and funds - not used yet) if you have numerous squad cars in persuit of a joyrider and coordinating with each other but its harder said than done and its very rarely the case as joyriders are unpredictable as they sometimes deviate from the roads onto fields and walkways

The Air Support unit is a blessing really for this type of problem and should be given more helicopters as a preventative tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Originally posted by Mutz
    The Air Support unit is a blessing really for this type of problem and should be given more helicopters as a preventative tool.

Definately... more helicopters needed to sort the problem. Maybe a half dozen of these lads;
    apache.jpg

:D:D

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

Yeah, joyriding is only taken seriously by the courts when people die.

Just litreally around the corner from me, two summers ago, about 8 in the evening. Still sunny. There were twin girls playing on the front wall of their garden, when a robbed car crashed into the wall. One of the twins had to have her womb removed. She'll never have children. And the other twin was alright. Besides the obvious trauma/shock they both suffered.

I mean, those lads that did that are free now. Where is the justice in that?

And that's only ONE story. I live in Tallaght though, so you won't be suprised with what happens.

And its even the little things, like a robbed car in Tallaght means that SOMETIMES the copper comes out. That interupts my study. I mean, they are gettin in my way of escape.

Ugh, line em up, and shoot em down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by Mutz
    By definition, it is a response, not preventative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

I agree with whatever punishment a joyrider gets,they know there getting into a stolen car and they know they are going to drive the be-jaysus out of it and maybe get a chase from the Garda,they just dont realise they might and have in past hit innocent people.Like that taxi fella up in tallaght he was cosying for someone when a joyrider came out of nowhere and ploughed into him and killing him....

Next thing these days is the cars are getting harder to break into,and now they are breaking into houses to get keys and who knows what else....imagine doing some ZZZZs waking up next morning and car gone front door opened and having that errie feeling someone was in house.....they have no fear,they are Scum!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Ask any Garda and they'll tell you the little ****ers are made of rubber.
    A combination of adrenaline and whatever drugs they're on, I suppose.

The problem is punishment. We're far too afraid to punish minors and their parents. Start throwing their mothers in jail and see how quickly the little ****es cop on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Tommy Vercetti

even when they do go before a judge who happens to live on this planet, there's nowhere to keep them anyway, it doesn't really matter how many Gardai are used

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

How about allowing the Guards to shoot out their tyres at an opportune moment for them to smack into a wall when the cars out of control? As echoed above many times: the only good joyrider is a dead joyrider.
    So if I take a gun and start killing scumbags can we blame that on society too. After all, it'd only be a bit of fun... Please, for the love of god, learn to write in English before posting again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭leef23

GARYC you have some neck calling someone a scum bag when you are selling stolen phones on boards.ie

GARYC sold me a nokia 3200 through boards.ie he said it wasn't working so i bought it of him cos i thought i might be able to fix it but couldn't and left it into a shop to get fixed.
    i got a call from the shop a week or so later sayin it was a stolen phone and they where returning it back to it's rightful owner.
    i rang GARYC to tell him and get my money back but he just hung up on me and won't answer my calls and has me blocked from sending him pm's.

so your a scumbag too.

avoid buying anything off this lad the joyriders are more then likely his mates and he's get stolen goods of them and selling them on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Huh, makes you wonder about this thread of his then...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭leef23

ye koneko,
    he's a shady f**k alright

i think he has another user name aswell <snip>
    so beware and don't buy anything of him.
    you could be charge with handling stolen goods