Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

About a girl,

• 22-04-2004 2:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭

Ok the other night i was on a chat site called oceanfree. I was in taking the piss out of everyone (as you do) when i started slagging this girl called Emma. Now this bird was ablt to take it aswell as give it which i kind of like in someone.

At the end she asked me could she have my number so i gave it to her and that wa about a week ago. Since then we have become close, ringing each other and messing around and all that. Now i want to meet her for real and i said it to her a couple of times.

Trouble is that im a youngish looking 22 ands she is 23 going on 24 and this seems to be holding her back. At the same time she seems eager to meet but is just unsure as am i but id still like to, obviously nothing is being mentioned about us being introduced on the Internet.

I dont really see the point in carrying this on with her though unless we do finally meet. She has seen me and she likes me and i ahve seen her and she is fine out so it would all be good.

So can anyone give me some advice? Should i put my foot down and arrange to meet or what should i do? Help!!!

Thanks for reading

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

buy a fake moustache?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭ykt0di9url7bc3

well, get her on boards and then drag her to a boards beer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Trix

Originally posted by tman
    buy a fake moustache?

good thinkin, perhaps wear lifts in your shoes too...and bring a very small dog along to amplify your stature and maturity.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

tman
    Trix

How many times do I have to say READ THE CHARTER before replying to a thread??
    B

not_sure
    there is what? less than two years between ye and ye are both in your twenties?

I've been in a relationship with a bloke for 4.5 years now, he is 8 years younger than me, so what?
    in this day and age you'd think people would get over such minor little things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭hedgetrimmer

Beruthiel is quite right. Such a small age gap in early 20's is entirely negligible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

hehehehehe
    Lucy_la_morte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Go for it, the age gap is negligible and you have little or nothing to loose.

However, you might feel you've grown close in a a week, but remeber it isn't all the much time when you think about it. Online ( and I include text and phone) relationships grow quickly due to the nature of the medium, but an offline one can take a while to develop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Corksham

Go for it man age means nothing and most of the regrets in life you will have will be things you didnt do as opposed to things you did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

put the foot down - show you can be assertive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Originally posted by Zulu
    put the foot down - show you can be assertive.

aye. nothing wins a girl over like a good case of the stalking...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Feint heart never wins fair lady...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Lainey

only two years between yis.. you be mad not to go for it.. as for meeting on the net.. who cares if ya like one another.. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭Emboss

i'm starting to think no one in this country can think for themselves.

it's TWO years..........

arrange a place...go out....have fun.....get her drunk....bring her home POW!

well done batman!

bob's your favourite linux geek

/no really his middle name is robert

pm him and see.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Lainey

Originally posted by Emboss

exactly.. i think.. cept no need to get her drunk, she might want to enjoy herself too;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

Originally posted by Emboss
    i'm starting to think no one in this country can think for themselves.

it's TWO years..........

well done batman!

bob's your favourite linux geek

/no really his middle name is robert

pm him and see.....

Emboss I have you on ignore don't you know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭not_sure

yes well can anyone give me advice on what to say to her. I was going to say tell her that i wanted nothing more to do with her if she wont meet, is this good or bad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭dave13

don't say that. Makes it sound like an ultimatum, take it casual you've only been in real contact for a week, she may want to suss you out a bit before you agree to meet(after all you hear a lot of bad stories bout meeting on the net).Suggest it lightly and don't push too hard.if she doesn't want to meet you'll know it. As for the age gap, don't worry i'm 20 my girlfriends 23 but it never seems as if she's older than me. Just my two cents.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

the age thing isn't a problem, although i know where you're coming from. my new g/f is 22, i'm 20 and it's not a problem for either of us, although before we were going out i thought it would be.

if the two of ye can slag one another then you're more than suited i think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 hyp

she's a whole 2 years older than you...you dont stand a chance :rolleyes: , come on man...dont be a wuss, the age difference is an excuse, next time you speak to her ask her out and if she declines, insist ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

Originally posted by not_sure
    yes well can anyone give me advice on what to say to her. I was going to say tell her that i wanted nothing more to do with her if she wont meet, is this good or bad?

Nah, just keep talking to her on the phone. If you are getting on as well as you tell us then I think you won't have to even suggest meeting up, she will bring it up. Just have a little patience!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 242 ✭✭planck2

Guys you would think that age between two people in their twenties wouldn't really matter wouldn't you, but you know some girls still are very narrow minded about that. I liked a friend of mine I'm sure she probably had an idea at the time, but any way we were out one night and there was couple in the corner snogging away who we both you any way she said she thought that they shouldn't be going out because the girl was older than the boy by about a year or more in fact probably nearly to years.And this friend of mine was not your average run of the mill girl, six foot and fiery red hair and a temper to match if she wanted too, feisty oh I so fancied her for ages upon ages....... I should have tried to snog her later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Post her picture on the boards and we'll decide weather its a good move or a bad move.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Originally posted by Beruthiel
    tman
    Trix

How many times do I have to say READ THE CHARTER before replying to a thread??
    B
    soz:(
    i've been through a similar thing recently. me being an unmotivated 21 year old, her being a 24 year old go getter...
    didn't last too long:dunno:

just go for it, you'll either click in person or you won't... very little to lose, much to gain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭the cat

Go for it! age doesnt matter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Kersh

Age doesnt matter

It doesnt matter if both parties are over 20.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭the cat

Originally posted by Kersh
    It doesnt matter if both parties are over 20.

no it doesnt matter when both parties are over 18

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭alienhead

good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

What are you all talking about?
    Age just matter - its a state of mind maaaaan.
    Age doesnt matter if you're over 18 duuuude.

So a 68 year old going out with an 18 year old isn't weird?

Look, the bottom line is, age shouldn't be a problem, especially with that age gap but the simple fact is that it could be especially if you are in different stages in your life maturity wise and ambition wise.

Although usually the age excuse is a scapegoat for the simple fact people don't connect.

Ok well i said it to her last night on the phone, now i didnt pressure her or anything but what i said was

'Have you any interest in meeting up woth me at some stage in the future'?

to which she replied '

'Yes i do, after a while if you are good'

She says if you are good because she slags me like that because she is a bit older than me so she winds me up about it and calls me a 'Brat' etc. So is this a positive response i got off her? Am i good to go or is she just teasing me? Can anyone tell me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Jesus pal, look at your situation objectively. You're getting on well with her, she's flirting like mad with you ("if you're good" in that context is blatent flirting), she just doesn't want to rush into meeting you IRL. That's understandable. It can be a scary thing to do. For all she know's you're a fat, balding, paedophilic pervert. You have to build up her trust in you, and trust me, pressuring her to meet IRL is not the way to go about it. Take the foot off the accelerator for a while and you'll probably see a better result.

Right thats good advice Sleepy, im going to go with it.