Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SG-Atlantis, does the S stand for Scotland?!!!!

• 06-04-2004 11:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭

<a href = http://www.gateworld.net/atlantis/graphics/photo03.jpg>Looky</a>

So Atlantis has a nice Scottish member to the team. Very nice, check the guy on the right of the pic. Scottish arm patch.

Slightly off topic, anyone else reckon that the costumes look a little bit fake and crap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭Ping Chow Chi

they do look pretty poor to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭woolymammoth

alas.. its all gone a bit wormhole x-treme...

bleh..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭Ping Chow Chi

one of the strong points of stargate is that it happens in 'todays world', so I fail to see why they have dressed them up in such blatent sci-fi costumes :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Kevok

:(

woolymammoth, I burst out laughing in the middle of a practical when I read that. Dunno why either.

I love that they've brought that physicist from SG1 into it as a regular, just hope they don't rehash a Daniel/Jack relationship with him and the military folk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Inspired comment by wooly mammoth there, hopefully those costumes might be ditched early on when
    The old bubble round Atlantis burst etc. etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

Aye those uniforms look horrible :dunno:

Nice to have a scot makes a change from star treks "theres only one county in the world" norm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Squall

Maybe there not the actual costumes. Could be taking the piss making it look like wormhole extreme ( plese tell me they are :( )
    Nice to have a scot makes a change from star treks "theres only one county in the world" norm

Ah come on now. Theres Reed in Enterprise hes English. You should know that bizmark. We know how you love Enterprise :P

Originally posted by Squall
    Ah come on now. Theres Reed in Enterprise hes English. You should know that bizmark. We know how you love Enterprise :P

:D Do not point out the flaw's in my posts damn you !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭The_Bullman

Originally posted by woolymammoth
    alas.. its all gone a bit wormhole x-treme...

bleh..

To me that looks more like the StarGate pisstake that was on the show before. Can't think of the episode name or that, but the one where Tealc is known as Murray... and there's the alien dude who forgot that he's an alien. Jack is taken on as a consultant to the series.. funny episode... anyone know what I'm talking about?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Wormhole X-treme, Bullman :p

The costumes look ridiculous, I can't believe they'd actually use them... i can only hope TPTB see sense quickly.

wormhole x-treme bullman

as wolly nicely posted above the link you qutoed :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭The_Bullman

now don't I feel rediculous.... That's what I get for working. leaving me tired and braindead..

/me hangs head in shame :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

Ye they do look odd but i dont think its a joke unless that pick came out on april 1.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

It reminds me of the level of costume design employed by the Power Rangers team :dunno:

What's wrong with the military design that they've had the other SG teams using? SG-1 to SG-423 are much better suited to traditional battle fatigues because they're air force personnel. This seems more like they're trying to be "clever" and "different". Maybe the new SGC leader decides to have a costume change because.... well just because she can...

The leader of the Sgc is going to be a man we all know him
    you know he has a irish name and lead's a certian sg team called sg1
    Your one weir will be in atlantis but wont be the leader i think

Also anyone notice the set's are pritty poor so far ?

To be honest, the whole damn thing looks pretty **** at this stage. Hopefully the storyline will be good, but I reckon that could be **** too.

Hope Im wrong. I need Stargate, its the only decent Sci Fi on TV at the moment for me because I cant stand all those Vampire/Werewolf/Librarian programs and Star Trek hasnt been good since Wrath of Kahn imo.

Wasnt Colm Meaney and Irish character in Next Generation? Or was his character just descended from Irish ancestors?

Originally posted by Draupnir
    Wasnt Colm Meaney and Irish character in Next Generation? Or was his character just descended from Irish ancestors?

Aye he was from Dublin so full irish man.....was in TNG and DS9

Ya gotta love Colm Meaney, I met him not so long ago and got his autograph, sound bloke. I told him I wasa big fan of his performances in the Roddy Doyle/Stephen Frears movies but I thought he sold out by doing Star Trek cos it was crap and mainstream. He loved me after that and bought me coffee. See, even the actors think the show sucks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,225 ✭✭✭Scruff

Just hope to fook this scottish guy isnt called Scotty and doesnt run around saying things like "I kanna hold er capin! The naquida reactor is overrrrrrloadin! I'm givin her all she can take, ach!" :dunno:

Well he is
    gonna be the guy working all the Ancient technology due to his "rare" gene
    so he just might!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

All it needs now is a charector named "welshy" to speak g'auld in a good thick welsh accent "Jafaaaaaah kreee takkkk"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭bus77

Originally posted by Draupnir
    Ya gotta love Colm Meaney, I met him not so long ago and got his autograph, sound bloke. I told him I wasa big fan of his performances in the Roddy Doyle/Stephen Frears movies but I thought he sold out by doing Star Trek cos it was crap and mainstream. He loved me after that and bought me coffee. See, even the actors think the show sucks!

Yeah, I heard he tried to back out of deep space nine by not renewing his contract.
    Rick Berman rang him up and said "What's the problem?"
    The excuse he gave was he wanted to persue other things like stage plays ect .
    but then Berman said, If somthing comes up you want to do you can have the time off

Star trek Tng-Ds9 isn’t crap. Jesus what is it with sci fi fans be it star wars farscape bab 5 stargate-sg1 etc they always HAVE to attack the big boy (or former big boy). I hate to break it to you but EVEN enterprise does better ratings than stargate sg1 if you don’t like the show then fair enough but what’s the point of bashing it? Just don’t watch the ****ing thing.

Tng and Ds9 own stargate tbh Voyager and enterprise are fairly bad stargate is better than those two. But at the end of the day when stargate has 5 series and 10 movies spanning 40 years then stargate fans can bad mouth it until that time id keep my head down Atlantis doesn’t look promising tbh.

Jaysus, someone is defensive of their Star Trek. Reason I dont like Star Trek is the non linear plot and the constant one off episodes. Bit too muddled for my liking. Plus its all the same IMO, oh no our shield is wrecked oh no one more hit and we are dead, oh we got away.

But then again, it is popular so hey

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Originally posted by bizmark
    Star trek Tng-Ds9 isn’t crap. Jesus what is it with sci fi fans be it star wars farscape bab 5 stargate-sg1 etc they always HAVE to attack the big boy (or former big boy). I hate to break it to you but EVEN enterprise does better ratings than stargate sg1 if you don’t like the show then fair enough but what’s the point of bashing it? Just don’t watch the ****ing thing.

Tng and Ds9 own stargate tbh Voyager and enterprise are fairly bad stargate is better than those two. But at the end of the day when stargate has 5 series and 10 movies spanning 40 years then stargate fans can bad mouth it until that time id keep my head down Atlantis doesn’t look promising tbh.
    ah lads, dont poke fun at the fanboy's holy grail.

i love TNG and DS9 (to a lesser extent) but there is no way they are better than SG1. There is a reason they are more popular - the name STAR TREK (not TNG, not DS9, the original) is famous. I'd also point out that the majority of the films are the original cast, you seem to have ignored the poor buggers.

btw, on the ratings... Enterprise airs on UPN. Its ratings are continually falling and are now around the 3.7mill mark. Stargate airs on Sci-fi, and it still manages to pull in an average of 2.7mill viewers per episode.

Hey kaids, Im shocked to see you agreeing with me and backing me up!

Could this be the start of a beautiful Stargate forum friendship?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭mr_angry

Lets hope so. :rolleyes:

Anyway, as far as I'm aware, Stargate SG-1 is the second-longest running sci-fi series ever, after The X-Files. I think its fair to say that its an extremely popular show. However, I think its unfair to pitch it against Star Trek in a series battle. I'm sure that there are many people who are fans of both shows. Stargate is a military-based series where everything is usually done in a confrontational manner. Star Trek on the other hand is exploration-based, and used to revolve mainly around quirky science storylines. To say the two should be compared directly is a bit pointless, IMO.

Ah lads sorry had a bad night just need to let off steam this seemed as good a thread as any

I like stargate its by far my favourt sci fi prog on tv at the moment....But i dont think its better than Tng or Ds9 but thats just my personaly view...

Anyway sorry for that little out brust as i said ****ty day/night

No worries Bizmark, we all know about bad days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭mr_angry

Every day with no sci-fi is a bad day! In any case, I believe this thread was once on topic? So - we have one Canadian, one Scot, and some new locations. Lets just hope there's no re-use of actors from other sci-fi series. I really hate it when they do that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭JustHalf

Yeah, I hope they don't get anyone on from, for example, the X-Files. That would suck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

SCREW THAT!

Cancerman from X-Files is one of THE BEST actors he plays the role so well.
    Sloan and Lydeckey both play brillent bad guys aswell.

Lydecker especially.
    His best friend for like 15 years and he just goges his eye out with a spoon to put in the retnel scanner LOL LOL !!! LOL

Yeah I was a big fan of cigarette smoking guy as I thought he was called, I may be wrong. But who did he play in SG-1?? Unless there was both a Cancerman, who got killed on Prometheus with the NID Gouald that time they tried to nick it, and a Cigarette Smoking Man, a wrinkly, tall, grey headed lad