Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Phobia of dentists need advise quickly.

• 02-03-2004 10:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭

Hi Lads

I have a very severe phobia of dentists especially needles. I am absolutely petrified even thinking about it brings me out in a sweat. What I was wondering is there any dentists in Ireland that you can go to and get gassed. I have a tooth in the back of my mouth that has been dead for around 4 years you could put a bag of coal in it. Lately though it has got sore its a throbbing pain and the side of my face its warm sign of an infection I reckon. I absoutely terrified to go to the dentist so if any of you guys are in the same situation I would really appreciate your help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

I share the same fear of the needle. I got by front tooth broken in half playing basketball and had to get 6 injections over 3 hours in the chair.

Best bet is to try and find a younger modern-thinking dentist. There's alternative and mostly painfree alternatives to the needle injection around but they're a bit more pricy afaik.
    Best thing to do is to lie in the chair, close your eyes, and imagine something pleasant, just try to distract your mind from anything the dentist is doing.
    Having a very pretty nurse/receptionist at the surgery can give you something to think about if your mind can't stop thinking about the pain.

I knew a guy in school who got off on the pain of the dentist chair. seriously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

You will have no teeth left if you don't go. See this smilie :D? you won't be able to do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭Psygnosis

Ok Lads,
    These alternative methods you talk about do you know any dentists that use them for example phone numbers or websites anything at all would be great. I really dont mind paying a bit more. I had teeth out when I was younger and had to do the think of something else lark. That scared the be jaysus out of me Ill never go through it again. Lads I really need your help on this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Originally posted by mickb00
    Ok Lads,
    These alternative methods you talk about do you know any dentists that use them for example phone numbers or websites anything at all would be great.
    Sorry, don't know any particular contact details, its all hearsay from friends and work people. Google is your friend as always.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

when was the last time you've been to the dentist mick?

I also HATE going to the dentist, however, I am old enough to remember those court house dentists run by the government (perhaps they were just called that where I came from cos his office was in the same building as the court house in our town) anyway, he was a monster.
    Now when I find a dentist I stay with him till he dies or retires :D the needles are so much improved now it's almost like star trek (I said almost)
    anyways, if it's been a long time since your last visit, perhaps things are a lot better now and you'll not find it as hard as you think.

No its only around 6 -7 years I had orthadontic treatment as well. I am absolutely terrified of the dentist when I was a kid I bolted from the chair and the fecker hit me across the head. Since then I can't stand them. I even have an uncle who is a dentist I wouldnt let him near my teeth either.
    Come on guys some one must know some one.

Mick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭littlemiss

I completely understand your fear of dentists and needles. I am terrified of them but find that by the time you get to the injection it is never as bad as you think. I used to have braces and had to get four teeth removed to make room, as far as I remember it didn't hurt that much if at all. I think the dentist may have put something on my gums beforehand. It is the same with any kind of needle be it bloodtests or injections if you try and relax it won't be as bad. It will be over before you know it. If it helps close your eyes and don't look at the needle.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Mickboo---Same here absolutely terrified of dentists.If Ive an appointment coming up say in a week or two I cant sleep for 3-4 days leading up to the appointment.

Get VALIUM.

Brilliant stuff.

Most dentists give 2 tablets about 45 mins before you go in and the stuff relaxes you totally.
    I find that I can let the dentist do any sort of procedeure if Im out of it on valium.
    Before I couldnt even get a check up/cleaning done.
    Hope this helps
    Richie

No I have a complete mental block on this I cant do it, you don't understand Im 100% terrified of these guys. When I got braces I had to get 2 front teeth out Ill never forget the pain I went through, I had to get stitches in my gum. I could hear the tooth cracking and breaking. I could feel the needle in the pallate of my mouth fire stuff in around my ear it was absolute agony, I never want to go trough that again. When I was a kid the dentist gave me vallium to try and calm me down needless to say didnt work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Originally posted by mickb00
    What I was wondering is there any dentists in Ireland that you can go to and get gassed.

Definitely not...general anaesthesia carries risks and it isn't something you should take unless you HAVE to (such as having an operation).
    Why are you so scared of the dentist? Did you have a bad experience as a child? I'm only 22 and I know when I was a kid going to the dentist was a horrible experience and hurt a lot more than it does now, with advances in the tools and technology used these days. You might benefit from going to see a hypnotherapist, or a cognitive therapist if it isn't merely an issue of having a low pain threshold.

There are also many dentists who specialise in treating phobic patients, ask your own dentist if he can refer you.

Ok those anyone know of such a dentist. I have'nt been in so long I dont have a dentist any more. I am fairly flexible in where I can go. But someone who could help with a phobia would be great.

http://www.dentist.ie/

Someone on here should be able to help you out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

If your uncle is a dentist, ask him if he knows of any such dentists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭Michelangelo

I know what you mean. I had to get my root taken out of my tooth. Its the most painful experience I have ever suffered in my whole entire life. Not the actual procedure, but the days leading up to it when it got so bad. I fainted because of the pain and made myself throw up because it was so bad. It was a nightmare. :(

Best of luck getting it all sorted man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 Jewel

Hey
    don't share the fear factor about the dentist, as I had to put up with braces for a good numbers of years (6 to b exact long story behind that). But when I was getting my train tracks on back then I was put under a local anistectic and that did the trick for me, it was great. So they may do the gas aswell. The practice has since been taken over by a guy named Hoey in Lucan. You could always ring and find out if it can be done still not sure what his view on things would be. I think he is private aswell so it might cost you. Afraid I don't have his number on me 2day but if you want it let me know and I'll get it tomorrow. :)

Man that would be sweet if you could do that I would really appreciate it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,264 ✭✭✭RicardoSmith

I hate/fear it with a vengence as well. Had to go a lot over the years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 Jewel

Thats cool, I shall send it on in the morning :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

jeez grow up will ya. So what if you get a bit of discomfort. The worst part of getting a tooth pulled out or filled is the injection, but its over in a few seconds. Anyway they should be using a spray anistectic before the actual injection of the needle.

I had 3 teeth taken out 16months ago, worst part of it was going back to work and trying to talk with half my face numb with anistectic :D lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

i ran away from the dentist before when he brandished a large needle, and it was only about 3 years ago!

im grand now, i found a really nice dentist who explains everything he's going to do before he does it. i discovered my problem was really just with someone poking around in my mouth and me not knowing what was going on. i just asked him to tell me what he's doing so i know whats going to happen and im not taken by surprise by large needles and cracking sounds.
    what is it exactly that your afraid of? if its a mental block maybe something to calm you down(although not quite valium) would be good, so you're not so panicked when you go in. explain your fears to the dentist on the phone, im sure some could make a few arrangements for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,264 ✭✭✭RicardoSmith

Originally posted by ando
    jeez grow up will ya. So what if you get a bit of discomfort. The worst part of getting a tooth pulled out or filled is the injection, but its over in a few seconds. Anyway they should be using a spray anistectic before the actual injection of the needle.

I had 3 teeth taken out 16months ago, worst part of it was going back to work and trying to talk with half my face numb with anistectic :D lol

Theres a lot worse you can get done than extractions and fillings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Cop yourself on you big wuss and grow up. Any decent dentist will not hurt. It's not pleasant, but it is genuinely no worse than, oh I don't know what.

getting teeth extracted is easy these day if the dentist uses that thing called the luxator(??). They use that to cut the ligaments that hold the tooth in place in the gum and it literally slides out. Easy as cake. I got 3 teeth (2 wisdom and 1 normal) extracted a while ago and I was dreading it (bad memories of having teeth yanked with forceps out as a kid). I was so surprised at the ease and speed.

Luxator

Needles are nver fun, but nowadays the needles are incredibly fine (one-time use so they don't blunt), and again, any good dentist will give the area a rub of numbing stuff beforehand just to take the wrost of it away. The dentist will let the point sit under the skin for a few seconds to numb the area, before putting the neddle in fully. If your dentist doesn't do this for you, don't go back. There are good dentists out there.

For your dental pleasure in Cork, may I recommend Mr. Fenn of Shears Street. An absolute pleasure. Takes the time to explain everything and no bother.

Just grow up, as a man at least you'll bever have to have kids!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Lie back and close your eyes.

Ask him only to tell you what you will feel, not what he's doing.

Basically, they put an anaesthetic gel on the gum a few minutes beforehand, which is a very local anaesthetic, so that you don't feel the needle going into your gum. Indeed, even the thought of someone putting a needle into your gum is painful, so this is necessary. The process of injecting the actual anaesthetic is mildly uncomfortable (feels like a slight pinching), but hardly distressing. After that, close your eyes and try to blot out the noise of your tooth being pulled form your head.

If you feel any pain whatsoever while the tooth is being pulled, alert him straight away. Take it from someone who had 5 milk teeth removed (stubborn bastids refused to fall out themselves), it's a bad enough experience, you don't want it to be painful as well. Obviously he's not in the business of torture too ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭Going Demented

The THOUGHT of going to the dentist is worse than when you get in there imo. The pain is certainly worse in the run up to needing to see the dentist. I have had horrible experience with those free dentists from years ago when at school. Three injections, didn't work, crying with pain, being sent away cause he couldn't give me another injection and having to go back another day. Few years back had wicked toothache. Left it for about five months, pain killing me but being too afraid to go to the dentist. Someone told me cloves were good for toothache so left work, went to Super Valu, got the cloves...popped one in my mouth...bit it and holy crap i screamed my head off. The clove was stuck in my tooth, pain was killing me....within 10 minutes of biting that clove i was in the dentists! Then he told me it was done? What? I hadn't felt anything at all and my tooth was out. I still dont like the thought of dentists but now would prefer to look after my teeth than to have them rot out of my head!

Easy to say i suppose but JUST GO! You are going to have to go eventually anyway so why not go and get it over and done with.

Good luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭Mocking Burd

Beruthiel - your dentist wouldn't have gone by the name Vasey (the butcher) by any chance?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Originally posted by Mocking Burd
    Beruthiel - your dentist wouldn't have gone by the name Vasey (the butcher) by any chance?

couldn't tell you
    I was no more then 10yo at the time
    he was bald with glasses and looked like a nazi doctor in his white coat....

Does any one had the nimber of a denitist who deals with this sort of phobia, Jewel has said that he will get me a number so cheers for that.

Originally posted by Seraphina
    i ran away from the dentist before when he brandished a large needle, and it was only about 3 years ago!

The syringe they use is big, but the needle itself is 18-20ga, which is *tiny*! Last time I had anaesthesia they offered to numb the area first before I got the injection but I said no (high pain threshold lol) and it was grand, just a little pin prick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Dr. Dre

From someone in your position Mick, me thinks you might prefer it up north.

There are NO dentists that do it under general, I've searched.
    I'm 29 and have only had 1 tooth removed WITHOUT general, i managed to find a butcher about 6 years ago to do it under general, had to go to hospital to use operating theatre etc... IR£240 alas that was the last time i was able to get it done under general.

My experience of Dentists in Northern Ireland is great, it's only local anaesthetic like down here now, but they do give you nitrous oxide gas which puts you out of it, tis great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭Going Demented

Have you wrote to Dear Deirdre in the Sun newspaper by any chance? ;)

Someone wrote it about the same problem as you regarding phobia of dentists. It gave a website address.

It would appear reading the rag can be beneficial at times...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Explain your situation. Ask for a sedative. Make sure you do not see the needle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Dr. Dre

As per PM mick >

McHenry P 29 Dominic St Newry, BT35 8BN 048 30251715
    O'Farrell & Staunton 36 Mill St Newry, BT34 1EY 048 30262322

These are ones in Newry, I myself have used O’Farrells surgery, if Belfast is a preferred location there are simply loads that offer special treatments to Republic patients, some even provide free transport to/from train station. Of course, the fees charged are dearer than down here – because you can’t get it done on your PRSI/stamps, but shop around – oh and you can claim back the cost of the surgery in tax relief.
    The gas is usually referred to as twilight gas, mad stuff !