Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DNC over the BH Officially Open

• 09-12-2000 4:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭

Sorry about the shameless plug...

DNC's new Internet Store is now open over the Bleeding Horse Pub on Camden Street. For the next week or two the first hour of computer time is only £1. As we're the cheapest in town anyway you can't go wrong really.

Why DNC?
    half meg dedicated internet connection
    (in both stores)
    High end PIII's
    GeForce Graphic Cards
    19" Sony Trinitron Monitors
    Microsoft Optical Mice
    DVD - CD-Rom and 250mb Zip Drives

Just above where the N is marked on this map.
    http://www.softguides.com/dublin/maps/l52o54.html

Temple Bar Store - Essex Street West
    http://www.softguides.com/dublin/maps/l49o51.html

Gary.

www.doesnotcompute.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭Paladin

If your going to abuse the boards like this, then you should be paying them like all their other advertisers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭logic1

Yeah for **** sake...
    on a totally different note nethousegames has just been relaunched nethousegames hehehehe
    jaysus

.logic.

I wake up in the morning and ask myself if life is worth living, should I blast myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

thanks for your help logic...always welcome...grumble...grumble..

www.doesnotcompute.ie

jasus before we go any further I have spoken to Tom (DeVore) about advertising and hope to follow up on this in Jan. But in the meantime...I posted.

www.doesnotcompute.ie

So basically you are saying Im right? smile.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭Edilfar

Well I was just in the new DNC and must say it seriously rocks. The PC's are so ****ing fast, playing CS on them rocks. I think after playing for a few hours here I own the owner of the shop at least a thanks and so must say, what's wrong Logic, your not scared of a bit of competition now are you? smile.gif

Hey Paladin why not come down for a game, CS or whatever you play, I'm sure once you start you'll want to stay for a while, I know I did.

[This message has been edited by Edilfar (edited 09-12-2000).]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭Edilfar

By the way, I'd love to know where you learned your definition of "Abuse" Paladin? Thank god your not in charge of the court system here.

hey Paladin...i'll say this much, with some of the shïte I have seen posted on these boards over a long period of time...well my post pales in comparison.

www.doesnotcompute.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭m1ke

sounds like a good offer, fair play for posting it, ignore the moaning whores smile.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭logic1

dunno why your asking me if i'm afraid of competition hehe i don't work for nh...

go figure!!

.logic.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Woah, yes they have spoken to us about advertising.

Also, we never said cafes couldnt come here and advertise their gaming nights. Of course they can. What we stepped in to stop before was two cafes having a go at each other about how crap the other one was.

As long as it doesnt become mindless repeated spam I have no problem with cafe owners dropping in a post to say they are having a gaming night and the details (including machine specs) etc.

DeV.

It's impossible to play a decent game of quake without a mouse pad yah know.

Invest in a few mouse pads there lads, decent allsop only costs around £4 or something smile.gif

Your lan connections weren't the best either to be honest, with pings spiking for 1 to 40 (but overall it was good enough).

Also the cafe sucks for internet gaming, all your versions of Quake3 are cracked and without cd keys, so when I finally uncracked them and put cd keys into then and got onto the internet to play quake3 it was stanky, jerky and unplayable smile.gif

Ya I know it aint the worst sh1t ever posted or anything, but you gotta admit tom, if they didnt ask you guys first, and went ahead and posted on every board you wouldnt be terribly happy.

And i prolly would love to go there, but unfortunately i live in west cork.
    Anyways....bleh
    gnite wink.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭podgeen

this place sounds like a lot of fun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭[BSE]Telgere

lo mike
    q3 hasnt been set up on the machines in dnc above the bleeding horse they have been set up for lan games
    as for the jerkiness i dont have a clue as the machines are well over speced for it and the line is better than any other cafe in town
    come in again and ask 1 of the workers
    to help next time

Mike...thanks for stopping by but there are a few things I should point out to you.

1. As Oisin says above the Quake3 is only set up for Lan at the moment. We have a load of new copies coming in for Internet play.

2. The mice are optical and don't really need a mouse pad and certainly one of those crappy alsop material ones will make them very hard to use indeed. So you've learned that some things are possible even when you think they're not.

3. Our Lan is 100mb switched, which is WAY over spec'd for an Internet cafe. Last week I was using a program called ghost to image a Pc. It was copying 125mb a minute over the Lan from a Windows2000 PC, which was also hosting a dedicated CS game with 16players. There was no lag whatsoever the pings never went over 18.

4. We have a 512k dedicated pipe in both our shops, which is highly reliable with excellent latency. Although I don't know what server you were going to so I can't really answer.
    Average pings to Netshop in CS 60ms
    Average pings to Barrysworld 40ms

Lastly IMHO we have the best equipment of any Internet Cafe in Dublin so your post doesn't bode well for anywhere else.

Next time you have any issues while in DNC you should try ask a member of staff to assist you.

www.doesnotcompute.ie

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,586 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

I've used ghost before, some piece of software, just thought I'd say that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Vorosha

Sounds like you people really want gamers to game at your cafe.

Saying how great and better your equipment is won't do it. I play at Nethouse Rathmines and everything about the set-up is perfect for Q3 lan. No need for change or upgrade.

So organise an event with prizes greater and better than the fantastic stuff we've recieved from Nethouse and you'll get all the spotty, ugly, unsocial, gamer nerds your heart could possibly desire...

...and one or two cool fúckers, including myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 411 ✭✭Jay

More expensive equipment, doesn't mean better equipment. You spoke about optical mice.... well these are actually crap for professional gaming. Nobody uses them. You need Intellimice (or Razors) and mice mats if you want gamers. The fact that you don't have mice mats, just because optical mice work anywhere doesn't matter a damn. The mouse mat is an essential part of gaming, if only to keep your wrist off the table. I get a very sore wrist without a mousemat on a cold table.

As someone already said, sort this out, and organise a big competition. Perhaps offer to sponsor the Irish Team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭creative

....professional gaming....or people who just play the game.

Nice offer though...I am sure all the little things will iorn out and some good laughs will be had.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,586 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Jay:
    I get a very sore wrist.
    </font>

*childish snigger*

thanks for the reply there melgome, for all the critism it was a good laff.

Just a few things : to backup Jays point, if you're skilled at Quake3/or most fps games then you'll know that a mouse pad is pretty much mandatory, and a good mouse aswell.

I use a Intelli mouse with optical eye, and yes you can play on the table adequately but it's so much easier on a mouse pad. This is all down to friction and you end up loosing around 50% of your aiming accuracy, depending on what sensitivity you set your mouse to you'll end up moving the mouse faster / slower on the desk, lower sens probably = high movement on desk. Newer players usually use higher sens and move their mouse less... from experience it effects the better players, or the ones using lower sens a lot more smile.gif

Oh average ping to Barrysworld when I was in DNC (Essex St.) was 150 and erractic, it was around 21.00 and the place was packed. Is it the one on Camden street that gives better pings then ?

Mike I'm not trying to say that some guy can't have twelve downloads going at the same time but in general our pings are excellent even when the shop is full.

If it makes the rest of you feel better we are having mouse mats made for us at the moment anyway. The point I was trying to make though is that they are not necessary with MS Optical mice.

www.doesnotcompute.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Think I'll through a couple of cents in here...

Megalome: as stated above, mouse mats are pretty much essential for a decent game - if it wasn't bad enough that you were using optical mice for a gaming-orientated cafe, it certainly is that you don't have mats. And the Allsop mats are very good mats - we use them in Nethouse with praise from gamers.

Mike: it's rare that you'd get a good internet game from a cafe, especially one just opening. If there are 20-odd other customers downloading, checking mail, playing online, etc. then you have to expect some sort of lag and often packet loss as the server tries to cram all this info down a pipe of certain bandwidth. And I'm sure the internal network will be sorted out soon enough.

Put 'em in your mouth and suck 'em
    Clan Acid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,399 ✭✭✭Zero

I know I always have to put a down point on it....

Nethouse has actually spent thousands on Irish Quakers in the last few years.
    Nethouse lets Team.ie take over half the cafe on busy nights for training.
    If it's quakers you are trying to bring over to your place, you'll need to offer more than high spec machines, us lads go to Nethouse.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Gary's first post was fine. If anyone cares you can dig up the rules we suggested before about cafes advertising their nights.

I dont want to get into who's done what for whom. Let the cafe owners state their offer and leave it at that. Anything else spirals into some sort of degrading argument.

I'm locking this thread as I feel its really run its course.

DeV