Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Radiator Location

Options
  • 23-02-2004 9:44am
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,804 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Hi,

Am looking at buying a recently built house.

It's circa 2400 sq feet and a lot of the rads - bedrooms - are located on the inside walls whereas I'm used to seeing them under windows.

Virtually all the rads are double and are fed by Grant 60/90

Any thoughts on how this would impact room heating?

Cheers

My stuff for sale on Adverts inc. outdoor furniture, roof box and EDDI

My Active Ads (adverts.ie)

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Dr. Dre

I'm no expert by any means, but I would have thought that rads under windows was a considerable waste of energy ?

Interesting, I always wondered this very point myself.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Borzoi

Theoretically the heat loss from the window will be same, wherever the radiator is located, however the window is still the place where the largest heat loss happens. So the reason for placing radiators underneath windows is to prevent convection currents (draughts to you and me) from the rad to the window.

This is probably less of a factor in modern houses with double glazing and good airtight windows - and bedrooms even less so as the curtains will be closed over most of the time you're in the room - further cutting the possibilities of draughts.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

Sometimes I wish some of the rads in my place were not under the windows, but c'est la vie. Too much hassle now to get them moved.