Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Incursion by hostiles....

• 12-02-2004 12:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭

Gardai in Co Louth are investigating an apparent British army and PSNI incursion into the Cooley Peninsula in Co Louth last night. Local residents have claimed that a group of around 15 soldiers and policemen entered the Republic along the Newry-Omeath road before returning the North via the Flagstaff Mountain. Gardai have interviewed witnesses who said the incident happened shortly before 8pm yesterday. Arthur Morgan, the Sinn Fein TD for Louth, said locals were extremely angry about the incursion and wanted an explanation from the British Government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

Who cares?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

It's just news Lex.

If Irish forces went over the border you can be sure the U.K. would kick up a stink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,265 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

why do you use the word "hostiles" if not to start a flame war?

Kick this thread/muppet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

They are a foreign army coming into our teritory univited hence they are hostiles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭IgnatiusJRiley

Anyone else here wish Louth was part of the UK/Northern IReland?

Originally posted by MojoMaker
    why do you use the word "hostiles" if not to start a flame war?

Kick this thread/muppet.

Aragh kick yourself MojoMaker. Who exactly would I be flaming?

It's a joke, a jape, humour. Your brain may catch up to this in an hour or two, give it time.
    Do you take everything you read on the net so literally?

As SheroN says, any foreign force which enters the territory of another recognised state would be considered hostile.
    The British would (quite rightly) consider a similar incident as such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭aodh_rua

Its not an uncommon incident. A friend of mine used to live up near the border in Monaghan and they'd regularly see patrols from the North trooping around on our side of the border. They claimed they were lost.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Sleipnir you should probably post this in politics instead

any links btw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

OK so a training exercise went wrong and they were attacked by Werewolves. BIG DEAL! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Ah the Brits have a history of this kinda thing.

Before the latest War on Terror(tm)(r)(c) they were practising beach landings in Gibraltar. They landed a heavily armed squad with live ammunition and started to set up a defensive platform.

The story goes that a bemused Spaniard walks up and tells them "sorry lads, but your country is 4 miles that way --> "...

> On February 17 a contingent of about 20 heavily
    > armed Royal Marines on an exercise landed an amphibious
    > craft on a Spanish beach just across the border from
    > Gibraltar. They stayed for 10 minutes and then pulled out.
    > At the time the Spanish government played down the incident,
    > accepting the official version that it was an accident due
    > to poor weather, and considered the case closed. But El
    > Mundo said that, after analyzing the incident, the
    > government concluded it was done on purpose to underline the
    > MoD's opposition to conceding any ground to Spain on
    > Gibraltar. "It is absolutely unthinkable, and it would be
    > ridiculous to believe otherwise, that an elite corps like
    > the Royal Marines, considered some of the best-trained units
    > of the British rapid reaction force, could commit an error
    > of this caliber," El Mundo quoted a government source as
    > saying. The MoD in London rubbished the story, saying its
    > acknowledgement at the time that the landing was a mistake
    > had not altered. "We apologized at the time to the Spanish
    > government and there is not much more we can add to it," a
    > spokesman said. Officials at the Spanish Foreign Ministry
    > and at Prime Minister Jose Maria Aznar's office had no
    > comment on the report, which came as the two countries seek
    > to revive flagging talks over Gibraltar. Spain claims
    > sovereignty over the tiny outcrop, famous for its towering
    > Rock of Gibraltar.

Originally posted by Beruthiel
    Sleipnir you should probably post this in politics instead

any links btw?

Yeah wasn't sure if it was really a political issue. Seems to have turned into one though :rolleyes:

Link

They paid a visit alright according to locals, but the NI office etc are denying it.

Apparently it's not unusual for the army on it's own to cross into the Republic due to map reading errors.

But locals say the PSNI went for a drive too, which would have been deliberate as locally based officers do know where the border is.

RTÉ story here .

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

WAR!

let us invade and reclaim what is our's!

or just sit here and not care.... like i'm doing! right now!

(as you can see i kinda dont care)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Originally posted by agent smith
    WAR!

or just sit here and not care.... like i'm doing! right now!
    (as you can see i kinda dont care)

its the cool thing to do alright, not care, and it's not really a huge deal but it is something to care about, you can't have groups of heavily armed guys wanderin around, lost or not, they're trained to kill and if some poor sod frightens one of them then they will know all about it with a 2 footed quickness, then 'i kinda don't care' will ring hollow when the corpses are being shovelled up

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

IIRC the phrase used to be "map reading error"

Back in the 80' didn't they open the valve on a tank of heating oil on a farm and cause problems with Dundalk's water supply ? (or was that just rumours spread by the devout)

What's the name of that village where the Guards have to go to in plain cloths because the only road to it goes through the north ?