Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Empire top 100. thoughts?

• 02-02-2004 2:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 293 ✭✭

What does everyone think of Empire's top 100 films of all time?
    LOTR And star wars making up the top 4! It was a good list overall.
    Where was A clockwork orange. can anyone add anymore films that they think were left out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭davej

Again this is just a populist vote, so it means very little really. I've seen around 90 of the films in the Empire top 100 and I'd say less than a quarter of those should be anywhere near the top 100 best films of all time.

This poll should be taken for what it is: The 100 most popular films right now as voted by Empire magazine readers.

davej

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,003 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Well I think Empire is good as glossy toilet paper, so I wouldn't trust their reader's poll

As stated, it's a popular poll. That means current fads get in. Additionally, movies like Star Wars always do well. There's a simple reason for this - Star Wars fans, and their ilk, are far more rabid about their movie than other fans. They're also, generally, more nerdy. It means they're more likely than the average reader to bother to vote in the poll - particularly if it's done online. This skews these polls all the time, resultin in geek favourites assuming top positions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

bought it yeasterday for a bus journey.

There wasn't enough content in it to keep me satisfied for half of it... glossy pictures and then that stupid poll. Can't believe I ever bought that sh\te on a regular basis.

craptacular.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭lamda

yeh I wouldnt pay any attention.
    Empire is wan.k
    I'm so glad i'm not alone in my hatred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Ah it's not a bad magazine if you get it for free (I rip the covers off in the shop I work in, no way am I paying over the odds for a magazine).

Looking through it now...
    Spider-Man's inclusion is a joke. #92
    Titanic @ #57 yeah right.
    Episode 2 @ #51.
    PoTC @ #19, yeah it's good but not that good.
    Grease @ #16 wtf?

Top 5:
    LotR: FotR
    Star Wars - A New Hope
    LotR: TTT
    Star Wars - The Empire Strikes Back
    The Shawshank Redemption

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

Originally posted by ixoy
    Well I think Empire is good as glossy toilet paper, so I wouldn't trust their reader's poll

that says it all really. wouldn't trust it at all tbh

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Yeah Empire is really gone downhill these days. All it does is tells people what will entertain them in the cinema. I mean what a waste. Where is the needless glorification of pretensious **** cinema we all love. Those films with odd quirky characters that say meaningfull things that only us really intelligent movie goers acknowledge for it's genius. A top 100 without at least one film shot in black & white and colour, containing at least 30 minutes of silence, completely inexplicale plot and disdain for the idea of entertaining is just not the kind of top 100 I'm interested in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 448 ✭✭Agent Orange

Empire is for morons who like big pictures and pointless polls rather than decent critical analysis.

Sight and Sound, now there's a real magazine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭MrGump

What do u read agent orange apart from Sight and Sound.

(ESPECIALLY FOR U IXOY)

Originally posted by MrGump
    What do u read agent orange?
    I'm going on a limb here, but I guess he reads "Sight and Sound".

Originally posted by musician
    Yeah Empire is really gone downhill these days. All it does is tells people what will entertain them in the cinema. I mean what a waste. Where is the needless glorification of pretensious **** cinema we all love. Those films with odd quirky characters that say meaningfull things that only us really intelligent movie goers acknowledge for it's genius. A top 100 without at least one film shot in black & white and colour, containing at least 30 minutes of silence, completely inexplicale plot and disdain for the idea of entertaining is just not the kind of top 100 I'm interested in.
    Oh har-de-har. You know people can enjoy a range of movies. Just because I mightn't want "Star Wars" in its current slot, doesn't meant that I despise the series or don't acknowledge its contribution to the popcorn genre. I've quite enoyed the movies, at times. However, I'm also able to appreciate other movies, such as "Citizen Kane" for their arguably greater contribution. IMDB's Top 250 is, generally, a fairly good indicator of test, once you allow for the fact that there's a few too many modern movies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭Linoge

I haven't read it but it would be a crying shame if The Matrix Reloaded and Revolutions dont make it into the top ten:p

Can someone please post up the link to the list, I cant seem to get Empires webpage. I've tried empire.com, empirefilm.com and empiremagazine.com. None work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭Linoge

Originally posted by Igy
    http://www.empireonline.co.uk/

Thanks for that, unfortunately they haven't put the list up on the site. Your sig is cool btw!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭Franky Boy

I have been a reader of empire for quite some time now and i think that those listings were good,i was seriously happy with donnie darko@#21 and the graduate i would have rated a bit better than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭Zoton

I'm a totalfilm man tbh. But the empire list did have quite a few shockers in there alright. I can never understand blade runners popularity, kill bill vol. 1 was very high up, magnolia and moulin feckin rouge shouldnt be in there at all.

Full list here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭PWEI

When Crouching Tiger,Hidden Dragon doens't make the Top 100 it makes a complete joke of the whole thing!

Originally posted by PWEI
    When Crouching Tiger,Hidden Dragon doens't make the Top 100 it makes a complete joke of the whole thing!
    Whereas personally, I think CTHD is the most overated cult movie of the last five years or so... Glad to see it not get in. Hell, even Xena was flinging herself through the air long before Ang Lee tried to woo Western audiences...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭PWEI

Its fantasy,what's wrong with the characters flying through the air?I mean you don't look at Superman and say, "well that's stupid cause he's flying".
    Just cause it was a marital arts film and the characters could deify gravity some morons thought it was stupid.Its only a fantasy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Kalina

There are quite a few on the list that I haven't seen but I wouldn't have put grease in ahead of Schindlers List.
    Still, for the most part the list was pretty much on the ball.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭adonis

what is this film..
    i hate darned acronyms...
    i also dislike top 100 lists,, ...
    what was number 1?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Pirates of the Caribbean

#1 LOTR FOTR ;)
    Lord of the Rings - The Fellowship of the Ring

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭adonis

#1 lord of the rings , the fellowship?