Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bringing out a 'bird' in Dublin

• 19-01-2004 3:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 31

When you've done the whole pu/club/cinema scene whats next?A new pub?
    Just been out a few times and need fresh ideas!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

for a start you could call her woman or girl

try cooking her dinner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

Yep if shes just a "bird" to you, then why should you give a **** where you bring her? as long as you get a shag :)

whats wrong with the pub scene anyway? running out of things to talk about already?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

I kind of lean towards the amorphous 'chick', unless she says something like.

"I have money" "I'm pregnant", "I'm going to boil your pet rabbit".

Uhh.

Dinner, roses, a movie.

Try cooking, it will make you look liberated 'new' and not a slave to 'gender roles'... she needn't learn the truth till later no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

try taking her to caffemocca don near break for the border, go all the way upstairs to where they have the comfy couches and the chessboards and have a large hot chocolate and a game of chess... theres a woman does tarot cards in there as well;

i'd imagine she's bright enough to realise that if you pay her to read the cards for the two of you that she shouldnt say something like "this relationship is doomed!" - perhaps a subtle tip in advance when the object of your affections isnt looking might sort that out :teeth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭a_ominous

Originally posted by Typedef

Dinner, roses, a movie.

If money is tight, an "early bird menu" ;) might help. About 15-20 yoyos per person for 3 courses without wine. Most city centre restaurants do them. Defo in Temple Bar.

If money is tight.

Something perhaps romantic and inexpensive.

A rose and perhaps a trip to the Irish film center, followed by a walk around Stephens Green, I'm told girls are really into that whole romance thing.

If I were you, I'd just pretend to be rich.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

hands up what man HASNT tried this?

/me sits waitning

Actually, I don't pretend to be rich.

Maybe that's why I'm single, of course the hostile cynicism may also be a factor.

of course the hostile cynicism may also be a factor

hammer
    nail
    head

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Originally posted by Beruthiel
    hammer
    nail
    head

i shudder to think what you mean Beruthiel.

/me starts shuddering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

I like "wench".

Jaysus Kali, you make it sound like a crime to be "just looking for a shag"! :)

You could go play pool in the palace - good night & bit of craic.

There's tonnes to do in Dublin, just wander round Templebar til you see something interesting if you're really stuck. Use your imagination, your wench will love that.

Al.

Originally posted by Trojan
    I like "wench".

Jaysus Kali, you make it sound like a crime to be "just looking for a shag"! :)

Well Al.... it 'is' as sin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

A mortal sin.

Well Al.... it 'is' as sin.

Sure...
    http://www.thisislondon.co.uk/lifeandstyle/articles/8555586?source=Daily%20Mail

Devil worshiper.

Foolish mortal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭phoenix2181

hands up what man HASNT tried this?

I don't pretend.....I just am rich

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭Barry Aldwell

I have access to a lot more money than most people my age, yet I never try to use it to impress women.

Note to self: Use money to impress women

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Wander around the shops on Thursday evening / saturday afternoon. Stop off at a café (nice) or something.

And if the bird is game, shoot her, both barrels.
    Originally posted by Barry Aldwell
    I have access to a lot more money than most people my age, yet I never try to use it to impress women.
    Oi! thats the bank's money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭Barry Aldwell

Originally posted by Victor
    Oi! thats the bank's money.
    No, they're just minding it for me

Well, they'd damn well better be

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭Pretence

In general I don't think girls mind if your rich or not and who would really want anything to do with one that is so shallow?

Theres nothing like being yourself and not afraid to be. If someone dosen't like you for being yourself, then there not worth knowing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

Go on a magical mystery tour. be completely spontanious. Try be original though.

If u got a car,drive it somewhere with a picnic in the boot.
    Grab any number bus and just go whereever.Take her Ballooning over the city (If u can find a company).

etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭Baraboo

to be Honest it sounds more like

Hammer
    Nail
    Thumb

Have you no Imagination

Get drunk - shag

Bloody cavemen

In my day we made our own entertainment........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

Bring her to a bar that serves until midnight or so. Then at closing time suggest a wine bar for a night cap and/or a bite to eat (many do light platters of cheese, etc after hours).

Getting her to mix her drinks like that should do the trick.

Originally posted by The Corinthian
    Getting her to mix her drinks like that should do the trick.

naughty boy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Chucky

How long have ye been going out?

I mean, if you're looking for advice then maybe it's not working the way it should be working. That's a problem in my view - people end up getting married even though they don't love each other. Then it just makes life a lot more difficult.

Do ye not get on just hanging out at her/your house? Ye should. It should flow, there should be no question marks. People say you have to work at relationships to keep them going. I think that's b*ll-sh*t. Then what the hell is true love, something non-existent. People are idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Originally posted by The Corinthian
    Then at closing time suggest a wine bar for a night cap and/or a bite to eat (many do light platters of cheese, etc after hours).
    Eyar loov, cmon ovar to a woine bahr and have soom loi' plattars o cheese.

Where does light platters of cheese? My only experience with wine bars in Dublin is La Cave (;)) and my only experience with light platters of cheese has been... hmm, actually I don't think I've ever experienced a light platter of cheese...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

Originally posted by Gordon
    Where does light platters of cheese?
    Pretty much every wine bar does some sort of light food after hours (legally they're required to, even after the cook has left for the evening).
    Originally posted by Chucky
    I mean, if you're looking for advice then maybe it's not working the way it should be working. That's a problem in my view - people end up getting married even though they don't love each other. Then it just makes life a lot more difficult.
    He's dating the girl, not proposing to her.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,945 ✭✭✭BEAT

The whole pub/club scene does get tired after awhile, take a break from it and do something more personal.

Cooking together can be quite an experience
    Creating something together (paint something, write something etc..)
    Taking a movie home and playing cards, conversation
    learning about each other, finding what you have in common that is a good night out.
    Going to each others favorite places, do each others favorite things for a night
    make a list of things you have never done and switch with her then find a way to do some of those things
    It is soooo easy...
    Man, do you not have any imagination?
    Just have fun, dont think about it so much ;) There is a world of things to do!

*and to comment on an earlier post, I see no problem with pub/shag it's a perfect night out sometimes ;)