Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guns on Planes

• 30-12-2003 11:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭

Guards on airlines?

story

how long before "al quieda types" start to get jobs as these marshalls. good idea already putting weapons on planes, i know what im talking about, ive seen airforce one.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

ffs!
    I'm so annoyed that since 9/11 I can no longer bring my RPG and two M16's on board planes
    This is another step towards the federal goverment taking our rights!

:p:p:p

sorry, had to say that its just I watched one of those mad "evil federal Gov" type films last week about 9/11 and how the world gov did it.
    I want my killed brain cells back now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Beëlzebooze

As long as whatever is discharged doesn't punch a hole in the airframe, you should be ok.

Those 'gazillion volt, make you flop around like a fish' yokes should do the trick nicely.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Originally posted by Beëlzebooze
    Those 'gazillion volt, make you flop around like a fish' yokes should do the trick nicely.

Tazers, plus there very cheap and you can evcen buy them on ebay, so this should save the airline industry loads of money :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭herbie747

Jesus Christ, Americans are such cocksuckers........*sigh*....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

why don't they just release sleeping gas into the cabin when they push the hijack button.

shag all anyone can do when they are asleep. And searching for an independant air supply would be easier that searching for weapons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,797 ✭✭✭Paddy20

Peace,

Have you never heard of 'Gas Masks' ?.

Anyway, I personally would feel a lot safer flying on an airliner with trained armed air marshals, who are prepared to 'take out' any would be scumbag hijacker.

P.:ninja:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Mystic Fibrosis

Personally, I think it's taking it a bit too far, I mean it's understandable that they believe they need protection (interesting that they only noticed AFTER a major event). But I don't like the idea of there being an armed man on a flight if it isn't me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭bus77

No terrorist would be stupid enough to try and stand up and hijack a plane these days, not after sep 11 no way.
    sure even the shoe bomber knew that
    no, it will just be good old fashioned -no warning- bombs for the time being. Thats what all the cool terrorists will be doing this season

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭rmacm

Having guns on airplanes seems a bit idiotic to me. What happens if a round pierces the airframe??? bad s*it more than likely. It's also a pretty confined space to be discharging a weapon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭bugler

They'd be armed with low velocity weaponry, to avoid any fuselage punctures. I'm not a fan of militarising anything, but I think there may be a case for having armed air marshals. I've heard some of those opposed to their introduction on the grounds that it may result in two idiots blasting at each other in an airplane. But what is the alternative? Letting one of the idiots kill everyone on board? In case someone has somehow forgotten already, the current threat to airlines is not of the traditional terrorist kind i.e carried out for leverage for other demands or for publicity. Al-Queda just wants to kill and to hurt. If they get control of a plane then you needn't worry about innocent people on board being injured, because they are all already dead along with probably more on the ground.

Admittedly the fact terrorists could determine who was the marshal they could then seize his/her weapon is a huge worry. There's no right or wrong answer to this I suppose..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

I bet they won't allow anyone of Arab descent to be one of these marshalls...

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Guards on airlines?
    yes please, i get so bored on planes:D :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭rmacm

Originally posted by bugler
    They'd be armed with low velocity weaponry, to avoid any fuselage punctures.

I'd agree with this but guns are just plain idiocy in an airborne situation like a passenger jet. As was suggested earlier tasers would probably be the way to go. Anyway thats just my .02 cents

Cheers
    Rory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭Barry Aldwell

The marshalls would be armed with 9mm pistols firing subsonic ammunition, or possibly .22lr pistols. The bullets would be soft nosed, meaning they would rip a human body to pieces, but not pierce the fuselage.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Anyone got stats on El Al Hijackings ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭oeNeo

Originally posted by Kold

And with good reason too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Stupid stupid stupid idea - specifically on flights from countries whose airport security is a throrough as the UK etc - other countries, maybe...

I for one feel less safe with this idea than without

Originally posted by BuffyBot
    Stupid stupid stupid idea - specifically on flights from countries whose airport security is a throrough as the UK etc - other countries, maybe...
    As a man whose only pair of shoes (that I wear) is a pair of steel capped boots, I can tell you that their security is not as airtight as they think (No, I don't smuggle weapons onto planes for fun, I have just undergone enough pat downs to know that they don't check everywhere)
    Originally posted by BuffyBot
    I for one feel less safe with this idea than without
    They won't just hand some random stranger a gun and tell them to shoot any terrorists they see. The marshalls undergo security and background checks, and are trained specifically to fight in the confined space of an airliner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Originally posted by Barry Aldwell
    As a man whose only pair of shoes (that I wear) is a pair of steel capped boots, I can tell you that their security is not as airtight as they think (No, I don't smuggle weapons onto planes for fun, I have just undergone enough pat downs to know that they don't check everywhere)

They won't just hand some random stranger a gun and tell them to shoot any terrorists they see. The marshalls undergo security and background checks, and are trained specifically to fight in the confined space of an airliner

Just like yer man that went down for life for murdering Holly and jessica was vetted, before working in the school?

I'm up for it, but who is america to tell anyone to do anything. If aerlingus doesn't want armed guards on their flights, it's there choice.... in the end of the day, in fact eh, it is there plane.

The argument stands.... there shouldn't be the need. If people were checked properly going onto a plane. FFS I flew a few weeks ago and the hot airhostess didn't ask me any security questions, just cause I spoke nicely to her. Also there were a family of nackers standing behind me.

John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭oeNeo

Somehow I think a little more effort would go into checking the background of an air marshal than that of a school care-taker.

Anyway I'm all for the idea!

ssuuuuuurrrreeeeee

I'd rather not risk it...

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

"We will notify airlines when we have information on a specific flight," he said.

*cough*

So, you won't need air marshalls, unless the US decides that your flight is at risk. So instead of simply cancelling the flight, and dealing with the threat before it reaches 500mph and 20,000m, let's put armed forces on to actively 'cleanse' the plane of any terrorists and civilians who happen to get in the way (they're well trained, but nobody is perfect). :rolleyes: IIRC, the US had already made a similar claim about air marshalls being present on 'high-risk' internal flights, well before 11th September. Effective that.

It also raises certain jurisdiction issues. If an Air Marshall was present on a flight, say from LA to Dublin, and shot a potential 'threat' (let's not forget that some people who have just been drunk and abusive have been harshly treated in the US) over Irish territory, do we have the right to jail this Marshall for murder due to the use of excessive force?

What got me though was a soundbyte on Sky News from some American spokesman who said something almost like "We are in the middle of a war on terror, and passenger aircraft are the front line". :rolleyes: You just want to shake every member of the US Government until they cop the fluck on.

A slight sideline, but apparently, there was a former member of the elite Sayeret Matkal (a top-secret Israeli counter-terrorist unit), sitting in front of one of the terrorists on one of the flights that hit New York. They reckon by sheer stroke of luck on the part of the terrorists, he was one of the first to die on the flight, as the terrorists stood up and killed one or two people to scare the rest of the flight into obedience. Otherwise obviously, they wouldn't have stood a chance. Of course, there also exists the possibility that they found out he'd be there and prepared for it - so now they know that air marshalls may be present, they can use their own intelligence to determine who they are, where they'll be sitting, and plan to disable them before they take the plane.

Just my 2c...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

im all for trained air marshalls but without fire arms.
    Werent the september 11 terrorists armed with just knives? (or am i deluded here)

A marshall brings a firearm on board, the terrorists know who he is and manage to nick his gone (by whatever means). Suddenly instead of terrorists with knives than can only do so much damage you got a gun wielding maniac in a confined space at 20,000m. Guns and airplanes just dont mix.

Those of you who say, well they managed septemer 11th with just knives. i'd like to point out this was a first and therefore the flight crews probably thought, "He only wants some ransom, we'll just do as he says and no one will get hurt". Well no flight crew is gonna be stupid enough to think that again. They just wont give the terrorists access to the flight deck (or cockpit).

Make the cockpit/flight decks secure and even a ****er with a gun isnt gonna crash that plane. (course you'd need to secure all the vital electronics and stuff as well then)

In short, im all for air marshalls with tasers or even knock out darts (they maybe slow acting but however long it takes ur terrorist will be out in what? 10-15mins.) That way as well if the highly trained marshall (god forbid) misses at least he'll only stick the poor sod to sleep. (tho a lot can happen in 10-15mins)

Anyways my rant over :p

Originally posted by B-K-DzR
    im all for trained air marshalls but without fire arms.
    Werent the september 11 terrorists armed with just knives? (or am i deluded here)

Yeah basically, they were using box cutters, even with a air marshall on the plane if there's say 6 terrorists there's a bloody good chance they can take him out just with knifes..ah . box cutters.

Yes, but they do enough checks that satisfy me. There is only so much you can do, and this is a step too far

Ah, you don't say? :rolleyes:

Still doesn't mean I want or desire them on flights I take

Well I think now if any clown jumped up with a knife he'd have most of the passangers to deal with. I for one would jump up and tackle him. I know saying that is easy, but I've often thought about it mid flight. You'll always have the element of suprise. I'm sure if on person jumped up others would join, and you're bound to have some tough cookies out of what 200 + people on a flight.

Wouldn't it be better for one person to get injured then for thousands to die. But if there is a gun onboard, your fúcked.

John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭Walter Ego

The airlines and airports go to so much trouble scan/search passengers to make sure that guns, knives etc are not smuggled aboard.

You take off, then the meal comes. First class passengers are given real steel steak-knives and real glasses. Nobody appears to have noticed this.

Most large aircraft are divided in sections, first class, club class, business class and economy. Jumbo jets even have an "upstairs". How many sky marshall per plane? It could end up like the gunfight in the OK Corrall.

Given the amount of media attention this topic has attracted any self respecting Al Qaida member would look for a softer target, the New York Subway, any major road junction, a MacDonalds food processing plant.... The list is endless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Guns are a hazard to the passengers, not the aircraft - you can loose several windows and still maintain air pressure.
    So what are Egypt Air and Jordanian Airlines meant to do?

http://starterupsteve.servepics.com/funny/newfie.jpg

Get bombed?

John

Originally posted by oeNeo
    And with good reason too.
    Surely that could qualify as racism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Umm....slightly OT, but Sky News were reporting today that flight BA223(?) was finally being allowed to depart, but the footage to accompany the story was just pictures of two pairs of men of Arab descent, waiting for the(a?) flight. Emm....hello Mr. Bias....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭Faust

I think its a good idea, it's better to be safe than sorry. If there was a hijacking i'm sure people would be asking why there was not a guard on the plane. And it gives employment opportunities to the good ol' security sector!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭Silent Bob

Something worries me about "sky-marshalls":

We can be fairly certain about a few things
    • These terrorists don't care about killing themselves
    • Odds are a sky-marshall will kill anyone who tries to take over a plane
    • Terrorists are concerned with spreading terror
    • Killing an entire planeful would be quite an effective means of doing so
    This leads me to a conclusion where the intent will just be to blow the plane up as seruptitiously as possible because a sky-marshall will kill you if you try anything else. All you need to do is light the (very short) fuse.

Replace "Armed guard" with "Bushido master" maybe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭Faust

Originally posted by Silent Bob
    Something worries me about "sky-marshalls":

We can be fairly certain about a few things
    • These terrorists don't care about killing themselves
    • Odds are a sky-marshall will kill anyone who tries to take over a plane
    • Terrorists are concerned with spreading terror
    • Killing an entire planeful would be quite an effective means of doing so
    This leads me to a conclusion where the intent will just be to blow the plane up as seruptitiously as possible because a sky-marshall will kill you if you try anything else. All you need to do is light the (very short) fuse.

You call that logic, i laugh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

was going to post somthing about the stupidness of allowing any sort of weapons onto a plane but i just cant be bothered explaining what if a hostage is taken and the other guy plans to kill the hostage unless his demands are met ( give me ur feckin gun ) will the cop be allowed to kill the hossie in some lame attempt to save the rest ?

1 hostage.....1 planeful of people. Hmmm, real hard choice, that :rolleyes:

I HATE to quote Keanu Reeves, but "Shoot the hostage"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

If there's a group of terrorists on a plane not sitting together, and they formulate a plan whereby one of them gets a little drunk and then stands up and shouts "hijack!", then the air marshall would obviously jump out of his seat. On finding out that the guy was drunk, he'd probably stick him in hadncuffs and move him to the front or back of the plane. But then, the other terrorists know who the air marshall is and can plan to take him out.

It's late, and I'm just formulating terrorist attacks. Don't mind me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Daddy Dinkie

I'm concerned about who is going to pay for this? Airlines are gonna be losing an extra seat or two for the air marshalls and they're gonna have to get paid as well. Where's the money coming from? The passengers most likely, that's gonna have serious impact on the price of a Ryan Air flight!

Originally posted by Daddy Dinkie
    I'm concerned about who is going to pay for this? Airlines are gonna be losing an extra seat or two for the air marshalls and they're gonna have to get paid as well. Where's the money coming from? The passengers most likely, that's gonna have serious impact on the price of a Ryan Air flight!

It applies in the main to transatlantic flights, so I wouldn't worry too much about the price of a Ryanair flight.

Originally posted by Daddy Dinkie
    They don't fly to the states ;) average occupancy on a plane is about 70% anyway, so plenty of space.

http://home.eircom.net/content/irelandcom/topstories/2291895?view=Eircomnet
    Flying into the face of danger
    Saturday, 3rd January, 2004

The use of armed guards aboard aircraft is being dubbed by critics as the 'Hollywood response' to a security threat better tackled on the ground, writes Gerry Byrne

Aviation security experts could be forgiven for feeling there is something ironic in the recent announcements by the US Federal Government that, whenever a terrorist threat is forecast, it wants armed guards on flights from Europe, including Ireland. For years, while European airports and airlines applied layer after layer of extra security in the wake of a wave of destructive Palestinian attacks, the penny-pinching US aviation sector successfully campaigned to reduce, not increase, security at US airports.

America was, paradoxically, the one country which should have had tougher, not weaker, security because, prior to 9/11, it had suffered 234 recorded hijackings. One US airline, Eastern, accounted for 47 hijacks or 20 per cent of that total. All of Western Europe, on the other hand, accounted for just 57 hijacks during the same period.

September 11th, 2001 was not an isolated occurrence either. There had been a hijack attempt less than two months earlier at New York's JFK Airport, within sight of the Twin Towers, when a man armed with a pistol entered a National Airlines Boeing 757 while it was boarding. He was persuaded to surrender peacefully but the event demonstrated glaring loopholes in US airport security. Amazingly, there was no attempt to beef up precautions in the wake of such a breach of security.

Equally amazing was the fact that some of the 9-11 hijackers had earlier aroused FBI suspicions but their reports were not followed up by senior officials. The hijackers seized four jetliners and succeeded in crashing three of them into both Twin Towers and the Pentagon in Washington, causing enormous loss of life. A fourth crashed in rural Pennsylvania with the loss of all aboard.

The American response, the formation of the Transportation Security Administration (TSA), has not had a happy history, as its first months were blighted by corporate mushrooming. Its first director, John Magaw, concentrated on developing an alternative law-enforcement agency, complete with armed officers, instead of simply ensuring adequate security measures were in place at US airports. A year after 9-11, for example, private security companies, which paid workers less than McDonald's, were still employed at most US airports, instead of supposedly more highly trained and better motivated Federal employees.

While the TSA was being developed, complete with snazzy logos and designer uniforms, there were few bomb-detection machines at work in the US; for the past three years, for example, Dublin, a relative backwater in aviation terms, has boasted far more advanced bomb-detection machinery than most major US cities. Yet Magaw missed deadline after deadline for the installation of bomb-detection equipment as his officials squabbled with airport companies and failed to agree on a common specification for the equipment. After Magaw was fired the picture slowly improved but more than $6 billion had been spent with little to show for it.

But all is still not well in US security. Posing as terrorists with concealed weapons, government agents have repeatedly probed airport defences and found them wanting. And recent events, when flights from France, Britain and Mexico have been met by jet fighters with armed missiles, or even turned back, may have been generated as much by confusion as by accurate intelligence on genuine terrorists. In the case of six recent Air France flights which were either cancelled or turned back, the French authorities reacted by accusing the Americans of incompetence and wrongly translating Arabic names. Shortly before Christmas, two airline pilots from Trinidad and Tobago, flying for the West Indies airline BWIA, were arrested by the FBI when their names appeared on a TSA "no-fly" list. It emerged the men were listed in error and they were released with apologies.

Meanwhile, other groups have been writing their own air-security policies, none less so than America's trigger-happy pilots, a majority of whom successfully campaigned to repeal legislation banning guns from cockpits. Federal law once required pilots to be armed when carrying US mail, a throwback to the days of Wells Fargo. Indeed, one pistol-packing pilot, in the 1950s, foiled an attempted hijacking by shooting the teenage would-be hijacker dead. But, although they have succeeded in getting Congressional approval to carry weapons again, pilots have still not secured agreement with the authorities on how and when those guns are to be used.

In the face of such dithering, it was inevitable that what one wit called the Hollywood solution would emerge. Just as a film director with a sagging plot introduces the obligatory gunfight or car chase to liven things up, so the Americans have returned to the notion of having armed marshals in the passenger cabin.

Armed marshals were randomly introduced to US aircraft in the wake of a rash of hijacks by Cubans seeking free passage to Havana in the late 1950s, but their numbers had faded to almost negligible proportions by 2000. Now they are back but it's a typically frontier solution to a problem others say could be better tackled on the ground, before the aircraft takes off, by properly screening passengers.

American pilots differ markedly with their European colleagues, who say the pilot's job in a hijack emergency is to keep the cockpit door locked and land the plane as quickly as possible. As 9-11 showed, today's determined hijackers want to get the controls and once they do everyone is doomed anyhow. The cockpit doors of most airliners, once (pre-9-11) weaker than the average wardrobe, are now extremely tough affairs that cannot be easily broken down, giving pilots valuable breathing space as they try to land the aircraft. Mid-air shootouts, European pilots say, either by themselves or armed marshals, can only distract them from that vital mission.

There is some precedent in their favour. Although air marshals have successfully defeated hijackers, especially the highly trained Israelis aboard El Al jetliners, in too many cases pilots have ended up crashing their aircraft as noise, panic and fear erupts around them.

Even the stress of having a hijacker on board is unnerving enough to cause fatal pilot error. That's probably what happened aboard an Air Vietnam Boeing 727 in September 1974 when the pilot of a hijacked aircraft, attempting to land, overshot the runway and crashed. All 75 aboard died. In 1977, a hijacked Malaysian 737 unexpectedly stalled and crashed into a swamp, killing all 100 aboard and leading to the suspicion that the distracted pilots were unaware they were running out of fuel. In 1996 an Ethiopian airlines Boeing 767 crashed in the sea off Grand Comore in the Indian Ocean, killing 125 when it too ran out of fuel during a hijack.

As if landing an aircraft is not stressful enough, there's even more pressure on pilots when violence does erupt. In October 1990, 82 died when a hijacked Xiamen Airlines' Boeing 737 crash-landed and collided with two other airliners at Guangzhou-Baiyun Airport in China. The pilot had been attempting a normal landing but the hijackers tried to prevent it by struggling with the crew in the cockpit when they realised they were not landing at either Hong Kong or Beijing as they had ordered.

And it's not always much better when air marshals intervene. Mayhem erupted during a 1986 hijacking of an Iraqi Airways Boeing 737 when air marshals tried to prevent hijackers gaining the cockpit. Grenades were thrown by the hijackers and the aircraft crashed on landing at Arar in Saudi Arabia, killing 63 of the 106 aboard.

Cont./...

Cont./...

Although it has yet to happen, there is also the fear that a group of unarmed hijackers will stage a fake hijack to provoke the air marshal to show his hand. Then their colleagues will simply overpower him from behind to give them control over his weapon, from which moment a more deadly game will begin. Air marshals have also shot innocent passengers dead by mistake.

The fear remains that badly aimed shots at cruising altitude, if they puncture the skin of the fuselage, could lead to immediate depressurisation of the aircraft and the quick death of anyone not able to reach his or her emergency oxygen in time, and, admittedly a very remote possibility, even a mid-air break-up.

That's not to say that well-trained air marshals who keep their nerve have not proved their worth. Israeli air marshals usefully put paid to the career of serial Palestinian hijacker Leila Khaled, and killed her accomplice, during a hijack without injury to either the aircraft or the passengers and crew. But equally, good airport security at Heathrow subsequently foiled an attempt to smuggle a bomb aboard an El Al airliner in the luggage of an unfortunate Irish woman who had been fooled into a fake engagement with a Palestinian, who, unsurprisingly, said he would travel on a later flight.

That, say European airlines and their pilots, is where the emphasis should lie, in preventing the hijacker, or his bomb, from boarding the aircraft in the first place.

It doesn't make things easier for passengers, however, as more identity papers and background checks are needed and increased security could see the end of last-minute flight bargains for passengers who may need to book in plenty of time for security checks to be completed. US officials now want to see passenger lists an hour before departure but it's still leading to alarms after, not before, take-off.

Irish flights are, at the time of writing, unaffected, but the Government is under pressure from Washington to quickly install armed marshals aboard Aer Lingus flights should security concerns arise. Although Army rangers and some gardaí have trained in armed intervention in ground-hostage situations, they have little or no airborne training simply because existing Irish policy has been to combat terrorism before, not after take-off.

Indeed, Aer Lingus's only hijack experience occurred in 1981 when an ex-monk claiming to be carrying a bomb took over a flight to London and had it diverted to Le Touquet in France. He was soon persuaded to surrender and was found to be unarmed. His mission was not the reunification of Ireland or freedom for Palestine but simply to learn the Third Secret of Fatima.

Career of a hijacker: Leila Khaled

Prior to the Twin Towers attack in 2001, the worst spate of hijackings started in August 1969 when Leila Khaled, a 24-year-old Palestinian woman, suddenly whipped out a pistol and took over a TWA flight en route to Tel Aviv via Rome. The aircraft landed in Syria, where she was arrested but later quietly released.

Despite doing a series of subsequent media interviews she was undetected in September 1970 before attempting to take over an El Al flight between Tel Aviv and New York. She was overpowered by air marshals and her colleague was killed. She was arrested when the plane diverted to London but released in return for British hostages aboard three other British aircraft, which Palestinians had hijacked and flown to airfields in Jordan and Lebanon. After the hostages were released the aircraft were spectacularly blown up.

Now retired from hijacking, Khaled lives in the Jordanian capital with her husband, a doctor, and two sons.