Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ripped off purchasing online

• 18-12-2003 11:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭

Hello, I'm basically looking for advice anyone may have about how I can get my money back for a purchase I made over the internet and didn't get what I ordered.

Here the gist of it:

I was looking through ebay to see if I could get a Nokia 8910i phone for a reasonable price. I stumbled across one seller who was selling a lot of five of them but said in the ad that he has a couple more that he is willing to accept private offers for.
    I mailed the guy and asked did he still have any and how much would they be. He said he did and that he would hold onto one for me. He gave me a website address advertising that he buys and sells mobile phones.
    He said the phone would be €300 and once he received payment he would ship the phone to me from the UK.

He gave me his bank account details to tranfer the money too. (And before you say it yes I know it was a very stupid thing for me to do to just tranfer the money to his account and not make him do the transaction through ebay). Anyways, I sent the money to his account and it took a week to get there. Once the payment was sent I mailed him and asked him to confirm that you was shipping the phone that day. I never got a reply.

All this week I have mailed him again and again and I have even rung him, but every time he answers the phone he says hello and then as soon as he realises who I am he hangs up on me and then doesn't answer the phone anymore (even with ID hidden).

Anyways, I know I was very stupid and foolish, but I was wondering if anyone knows of anyway I can get my money back off this w@nker. All I have is his email address, phone number and bank account details, and a reciept of the money transfer.

I would appreciate any help anyone can give me on this cause thats a lot of money to be loosing especially coming up to christmas. I've definately learned my lesson anyway.

Thanks for taking the time to read this. I hope someone can get back to me.

Cheers
    Vgar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭D!ve^Bomb!

ur right, u were stupid and foolish... personally i dont think u deserve the money back for doin somethin as stupid as that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭vgar

That's a great help there! Thanks a million for your input!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 378 ✭✭wiped

Sorry to hear that ... but I think it's a case of "buyer beware" .... unfortunately you've been stiffed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

If you used western union you're shafted, i'd never use WU it's so insecure it's a joke.
    You could try and report him to the police in the UK, try and get his address details from ebay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭rob1891

I got screwed on ebay once, left the guy good feedback before I coped on, which was a tad stupid. Luckily it was for only 30 euro. I was thinking of creating multiple accounts, winning the guys auctions and leaving terrible feedback until it got boring but I never got around to doing that, perhaps there is a mechanism to prevent you form causing harm to someones profile like that ...

Even if there isn't I don't think this would be a good idea for you as you need something a little more that theriputic!

I have been warned about buying gear using western union as they seem to be particularly difficult to make any claim back if something goes wrong, I'd say get in touch with the bank you used to make the transfer and see if they have any advise to offer, but don't expect too much :(

Rob

(well done newband, you just reminded me what the ignore list is for!!!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭PhoenixRising

Originally posted by newband
    ur right, u were stupid and foolish... personally i dont think u deserve the money back for doin somethin as stupid as that

Try to make a positive contribution or don't bother posting at all.

vgar, try here http://www.eccdublin.ie they might be able to help.

Hey guys, thanks a million for your posts. Yours were a little more helpful than the first.

I didn't use the Western Union though. I did an electronic transfer from my bank account to his (I have his bank account number). I have a copy of the tranfer application in my possession.

Sorry to hear you got done for aswell! Its a real pain in the @$$.

Cheers for that link, I will go take a look at it now and see what I can do. Hopefully there is something I can do.

Thanks again guys!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Talk to your bank to see if there's anything they can do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭PhoenixRising

I was thinking of that. But unfortunatley the transaction was not carried out through Ebay. We only made contact on Ebay, but then everything else was dealt with away from it.

I don't think ebay will cover it or help you out in instances such as this?!

Do you think its worth a try anways?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

Cheers for the advice! I have a record of all the emails that have been sent and received.

I sent a mail to him today saying that he has until midday tomorrow to get in touch with me and let me know if he is going to send the phone or return my money! If he doesnt get back to me by then I will send another mail saying that I have contacted the bank and the cops!
    Hopefully he will know that I'm not gonna take this lying down! I am seriously pi$$ed off about loosing the money and not getting the phone, but its the principle as well that gets me! I really don't want him to get away with this!

Again, cheers for the advice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,797 ✭✭✭Paddy20

The 'Free' service that should be able to advise you are called; 'The Money advice and budgetting service'. They are spread throughout the country, or I think their website is www.mabs.ie
    if not, you can find a link to them on: www.oasis.gov.ie

Good luck.

P.:ninja:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭DriftingRain

Awwww. Vgar what a shame....Take mercs advice it seems like the best. But If one person like you stops him He's less likely to do it to someone else...I would deff. let ebay know about what has happened too. That way they can "watch" the guy.

Good Luck in getting your stuff....
    /me goes off ranting to herself about dishonest people...GRRRRR!!!

~DR~

Let us know what happens... :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Not much use - but since you have his details you could sign him up for about 10% of Mr Umgutu's $45million that he is trying to recover now he is living in exile from Nigeria..

lol :-) I just might try that! Cheers!

Hopefully if I manage to get my money back it will make him think twice about doing it again to somebody else! I really should have been more careful though! I was just so excited at getting an 8910i I was looking forward to it so much and never even thought of stopping to think about what would happen if it all went wrong. It was only afterward I stopped and thought to myself "What I gob****e I am"!!!

I'll give it a shot anyways and hopefully I can make this guy pay!

Will let you know how I get on. But if anyone can think of anything else feel free to let me know! I will give you a BIG MASSIVE THANK YOU even if it doesn't work! :-)

OHHHH...you have his bank stuff just get online and buy what you paid him to give you.....Just punch in all his stuff and BAM your phone shipped to you from a reliable source....

No....you may get into trouble doing that....but it's a fine idea :D

~DR~

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

Originally posted by DriftingRain
    OHHHH...you have his bank stuff just get online and buy what you paid him to give you.....Just punch in all his stuff and BAM your phone shipped to you from a reliable source....
    If it was that easy I'd be living in Antigua.

Hehehehe :D Would you consider taking me with you?:rolleyes:

I'll take one of those tickets if they are going too! But I'm not paying for it online!!! :-) lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭Fabritzo

Use his email address any time a dodgy website asks you for a mail addy

I originally came on here looking for advice on how to get my money back, but I have to say, I am liking some of these revenge ideas! Sweet! Keep 'em coming! :-)

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Originally posted by rob1891
    I got screwed on ebay once, left the guy good feedback before I coped on, which was a tad stupid.

You know you can leave feedback more then once and afaik you can reply to feedback on ebay, least I've seen people do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭empirix

Let these guys know - send em all the information including his bank details, phone number etc. and then let him know that you let them know , bound to give him a scare. Good luck

http://www1.ifccfbi.gov/index.asp

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Similar thing happened to my brother before. The guy was in the states, selling something or other. Brother sent a cheque, cheque cashed in the guys home town, no delivery in the end. Local gardai contacted local p.d in the states, checked with the bank etc. Turned out to be a 14 year old school boy who was ordered to make restitution to a large number of defrauded people. Go to the guards, get an incident report, and they should get on to the uk police, who can get the details of the bank holder from the bank once an incident has been recorded.

And NEVER go for off site deals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭whosurpaddy

i wouldnt advise signing him up for spam or anything like that just yet. at least wait until uve either got your money back or have no chance of getting your money back.

the last thing you want him to do is change his email address and u have no way of contacting him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

if ur sure you're not getting ur money back then I'd be tempted to try that fill in his bank a/c details malarkey, whats he going to do? if he gets legal on ur ass, you can counter sue, you get phone, he gets money all good.

caveat - don't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Mad Mike

I know very litle about th law but I would think that the fact that you have so many details (name, bank account, mobile phone number etc.) gives you important leverage - at least this guy is not going to dissapear into oblivion. You could try reporting him to the UK police - or at very least threaten to. You should probably also report him to your bank and his bank.

I strongly advise persistence - make sure that this guy knows you are not going to go away.

Many years ago I was sharing a house with some people and one of the co-tenants did a runner without paying his bills. Those of who were left were down almost £500 because of this guy. Of course when we tried to ring his work etc it turned out that it was all bogus and to all intents the guy had vanished. I was particularly mad (£300 of the £500 was mine and we were saving up to get married at the time) so I kept looking for clues. Eventually we found a phone number that he had received a message from while he was in the house. It turned out to be this guy's mother. She claimed not to know where he was and in fairness I think she was genuinely upset about her wayward son. Nevertheless I was desperate and I rang the mother (politely but firmly) every day for two weeks. Eventually the guy turned up and his mother shamed him into returning the cash. It wasn't very nice to have to pester his mother but it was the only link I had and persistence eventually paid off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭rob1891

Originally posted by Cabaal
    You know you can leave feedback more then once and afaik you can reply to feedback on ebay, least I've seen people do it.

thanks cabaal, I updated my feedback accordingly :)