Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

a little concerned

• 18-12-2003 1:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭

hello

i'm a little concerned, i'm with my gf now for about 18months, all the while she has been on the pill.. now, we use condonms, but we dont always start with a condom, but its always on when the time comes!!

but only the other day i learned that pre-cum(woteva its called) is actually a lot more effective than wot u produce when u ejaculate.. now i'm just soo worried, cos u often heard of the pill being unaffective at times..

so i'm worried bout her gettin pregnant, and its still a another week or so before she has a period.. i know i'm just bein paranoid cos its like 97% effective, but i cant help it..

is pre cum really more effective??

advice is appreciated!

thanx

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

if you are inside her without a condom then you risk getting her pregnant, end of story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

if i'm inside her WITH a condom on there's still a risk of gettin her pregnant..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

It's only a week you said til you said she has her next period, but if you can't wait that long, all you have to do is go into a pharmacy and get a pregnancy test.

At least then it'll put your mind at rest.

Moral of the story - put a condom on before you go in! There's no point goin in and not wearing one, and then putting one on before you actually cum, you may as well not have bothered with one at all!

Better safe than sorry.

i totally agree.. but i didn't even know that pre-cum is that effective.. but thats wots gona happen from know on.. but even wearin the condom as well, there's still only a 97% effectivness, so apparently i'm perfectly fine with one.. but i'll be usin both for pease of mind..

i dont know why i'm soo paranoid now,, we've been doin the same thing since we started seein each other.. is pre cum really more effective??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

If your girlfriend is on the pill and taking it correctly, then you are pretty much covered. (Within the limits of the pill of course).

But pre-ejaculate does contain sperm, and can of course transmit STD's as well. So for her safety and your own, you should wear the condom at all times

yeah she is takin it correctly, or else i wouldn't be gettin any:)

and there's no worry of stds,, she my first and i'm her first.. altogether now... ahhh

and i trust her completely..

thanx for the replies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭yellum

66 Million sperm in one Millilitre , and all it takes is One to get her pregnant.

Do the math.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Originally posted by bonzaibob
    i know i'm just bein paranoid cos its like 97% effective, but i cant help it..

1.) Condoms are only 97% effective when it's ON!
    2.) They're 0% effective when still in your wallet.
    3.) Pre-cum does contain sperm and it only takes one.

Seriously, if you want to avoid pregnancy just put it on beforehand. It could save you an awful lot of trouble (and money!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭Havelock

Just to awww, not being patronising. I never had that, wish I had. Good luck and always wear a condom!
    -Alex

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

is pre cum really more effective??
    No. Precum is just an initial fluid designed to prepare the urethra for ejaculation. Urine is toxic to sperm, so precum neutralises any urine in the urethra. But it can also contain trace amounts of sperm.
    Nothing compared to the actual ejaculation, but remember, it only takes one sperm to get to the egg...

Originally posted by Kananga

1.) Condoms are only 97% effective when it's ON!
    2.) They're 0% effective when still in your wallet.

would people please read the original post let this guy know wot i said...

i said she was on the pill and i DIDN'T KNOW that pre cum was really that effective, which apparently its not as near as effective as i first thought.. so i didn't think i had a problem at the time..

and even if she's on the pill AND i wear a condom, the chances of her gettin pregnant are still the same..

and i dont have a wallet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

Jus for your own peace of mind (and hers), go and get a pregnancy test from a pharmacy! There's no point sayin "what if, what not if" when you could jus get your answer straight from a test.

But in future - since she is on pill, and you will be using a condom, you can never be too careful, if ye are goin at it again a short while after you've cum once, make sure you thoroughly wash your hands before puttin on another condom, etc, etc.

She's probably not pregnant since she is on the pill - with the pill, the longer you are on it, and if you come off it (to actually want to have a child), it takes longer to get pregnant as your body has to get back to normal. So since she's on it 18 months already, she's probably not pregnant IF she's been taking it properly (i.e. not missing one, or taking them a few hours late, etc)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,643 ✭✭✭✭Victor

i said she was on the pill and i DIDN'T KNOW that pre cum was really that effective, which apparently its not as near as effective as i first thought.. so i didn't think i had a problem at the time..
    I would concur that precum would have a lower sperm count. **My** opinion is the condom should go on at the stage where there is any genital-genital or genital-hand contact either direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

genital - hand contact? i'd have thought that wearing one for masturbation increased the chances of it ripping, as its not quite as delicate/lubricated a procedure...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,643 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by uberwolf
    genital - hand contact? i'd have thought that wearing one for masturbation increased the chances of it ripping, as its not quite as delicate/lubricated a procedure...
    My point being, she eh, stimulates you manually for a while, then she stimulates herself for a while (while you video her, but thats beside the point). This creates some risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

Originally posted by Victor
    My point being, she eh, stimulates you manually for a while, then she stimulates herself for a while (while you video her, but thats beside the point). This creates some risk.

I get that, and it has/does concerned me, but are condoms upto the rigours of unlubricated friction? Or do you have the option if u want to be safe?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Originally posted by yellum
    66 Million sperm in one Millilitre , and all it takes is One to get her pregnant.

Do the math.

i dont like thoes odd's

everythin is ok now,, but we got **** scared at the end.. she should have been gettin cramps all week, (her period was today) but she didn't start havein cramps till late last night!!!

we were ****tin ourselves with worry. but then our worries were over and got some nasty cramps..

in the end the period was 12 hours EARLY.. wot a kick in the teeth

thanx for everyones replies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭smiles

in the end the period was 12 hours EARLY.. wot a kick in the teeth

She can predict her periods down to the _HOUR_ ?

jasus.

<< Fio >>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 limerickbabe

Jaysus if u cant handle a kid you shouldnt be having sex.

Some of the dumb questions asked here must be from young teenage boys which in my opinion should not be doin it cos they aint got a clue!!!

Please if any girls out there are readin these threads please don Not have relations with these boyos they need to study a little More about the birds and bees.

Lads keep it in yer trousers :)

so ur an expert and know everythin i suppose.. so wot were the stupid questions asked here then.. i'm curious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭Wolf

Chances of getting her pregnat off that method are very slim but still possible basiclly. I would overly worry but in the future be doubly careful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

and even if she's on the pill AND i wear a condom, the chances of her gettin pregnant are still the same..

i don't think the chances of her getting pregant are the same if she's on the pill and you wear a condom compared to her just being on the pill

if the pill fails in ever 2 in 100 cases and the condom fails say 3 in every 100 cases then i would have thought the probability of them both failing would be 6 in 10000 well thats how i used to comfort myself :) and then the sperm still has to make it to the egg