Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

how much does it cost??

• 16-12-2003 10:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭

hello people..

i'm 20, a non student and unemplyed.. i live with my mother but i'm starting to want and survive on my own, so i'm thinkin of gettin a full time job and movin out

BUT!!

i want to go to college in september(hopefully).. so this is a question for all u students...

is it worth leavin home? how hard do u guys have to work just to pay bills and eat on top of college etc.. is it really worth it??

so wot i'm lookin for realy is advice

if and when i become a full time student wot will i have to do just to pay bill and keep up with college work AND have a life at the same time..

any students here? wot job do ya's have, how many hours do u work and how much on average has to go towards the bills and food and all that kinda ****

thanx,, merry exmas

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Prob have better luck in the college board..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Depends on where you're going to college. Dublin is way more expensive than most. You'll probably have to work your ass off.

Your best bet is to apply for one of the oncampus accomodations wherever you go to college, and apply very very early, as sson as you get offered the place tbh. They're cheaper, and great craic.

It's totally worth moving out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

If you want to stay in college, don't move out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Grom

im in college work and live at home.10 min drie from college dont have to pay rent work weekends and have a **** load of money for clothes drink and anything I want really.allthough i kip in mates houses most of the time as its better craic than being at home.

but purely from a financial point of view you shouldnt move out if your worried

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

stay at home if your goin to college, its well cushy:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

I can't wait til L4 sees this thread you bunch of feckin sponging gits. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

YEAH! Feckin no good layabout students etc etc... :D

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

<Channelling L4>
    Morning, people! Hey students - have you heated up my fries yet?
    </Chanelling L4>

What I did, as a student, was work during the summers and X-mas. I saved all my money and then had enough to get by living at home for the whole year. This worked out grand. I'm living away from home now and working full time (not sponging, y'hear. W-O-R-K-I-N-G :p) and it's very expensive. It's nice to get away and all but you'll be able to not worry about finances and go out, buy clothes, etc. a LOT easier if you stay at home and attend college. Moving out, when you don't need to, is madness when you're a sponging student :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Don't move out, rent can easily eat a third of you income, plus you have bills, have to cook and clean for yourself etc. Much better to pass your parents a €50 note at the end of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭carbonkid

it all depends on two things,(1) you dont mind having a huge loan over your head cause working full time and goin to college isnt a good idea or (2) your parents go half way with you,you work 2 or 3 shifts a week and they help with the rest if they can afford it.

on the goodside moving out of home is probebly the best thing you can do when your 20...i could never move back home!

of course theres the 3rd option which is a grant (depending on your family situation) or the back to school scheme which is if your out of work for a year the goverment will give money for your books and help with your rent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,085 ✭✭✭✭Stark

A part-time job is a must for a semi-comfortable lifestyle regardless of what option you choose when going to college. You don't want the burden of a huge loan to pay off when you leave college especially in this unpredictable job market.

Your best bet is to stay at home during college, independance is nice, but fairly impractical for a student. You'll do a lot better in your coursework too if you're coming home to a warm meal every night, and don't have to put up with flatmatest coming in drunk at all hours of the morning. (Removes the temptation for you too to get hammered all the time).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭carbonkid

Originally posted by k.oriordan
    and don't have to put up with flatmatest coming in drunk at all hours of the morning. (Removes the temptation for you too to get hammered all the time).

isnt that the up side of been a student living out of home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,085 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Yeah but living at home, you have money to go out, and you don't have to worry about being hungover ALL the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭genie

If you've been unemployed for a while you may be eligible for the Back to Education Scheme. BTW I wouldn't move out of home!