Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Has Christmas.......

• 12-12-2003 11:09am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭

Got worse?
    For the last two years it has just crept up and kicked me up the ar$e on Dec 24th.
    I was wondering, is there anyone else out there that loves Chrimbo, but can't get in the festive mood anymore? I know it's easier for Children and Students especially as they have about a month off and can warm themselfs to the seasonal spirit, but for real life people it's harder. Holidays are scarce and I feel as if I'm missing something.
    It's the only time of the year I envy Students and the unemployed. They can sit at home eating mince pies watching Christmas films etc etc. Instead I have to look at the same sh*te that I see all year round. No tinsel, no tree, just an office.
    And why do suicides happen more often around this time? (fact) I thought it was supposed to be the time of cheer and happiness?
    Bring back the Christmas of yesteryear, where people who ignored it where stoned to a pulp and hung by their genitals from the nearest Christmas tree.
    Thats what ruining Christmas!! Too many students, no sorry, too many Bah Hambugs that ignore the festive season and ruin it for all of us. I hate people who hate Christmas.

Rant over.

C'mon everyone, get in the Spirit.

Happy Christmas to all you Students. Enjoy your holiers while you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭beardedchicken

Originally posted by L4
    And why do suicides happen more often around this time? (fact)

because you won't shut the f**k up about students!!! enough already, or someone will kill you and make it look like a suicide!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭angelofdeath

well, not as controversial as your last two threads anyway....we'll see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

If you let yourself get caught up in what you think people expect on Christmas, then you're not going to enjoy it. If you worry because you can't afford present x or present y, then don't buy them.

I will never let the cost of christmas get beyond my means. I'm lucky this year because I've come into a bit extra cash recently, but while I was a student, I only bought what I could afford. Anyone who doesn't appreciate the fact that you bought them any present, regardless of how big or small it is, isn't worth buying a present for (obviously this doesn't include screaming under-12's).

People are too easily lead, is my conclusion. Media gets people so hyped up about Christmas, so that when their Christmas doesn't turn out like the roaring-log-fire-everybody-laughing-and-singing-carols-around-the-piano ideal Christmas they see on TV, they don't enjoy it.

Frankly L4, if your office is boring, you're working in the wrong place ;) Anywhere I've worked puts up decorations this time of year, and at least makes an effort to have a christmassy feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭Silent Bob

Originally posted by L4

It's the only time of the year I envy Students and the unemployed. They can sit at home eating mince pies watching Christmas films etc etc.
    If you replace the words "eating" with "coding", "mince pies" with "vast amounts project work" and "Christmas films" with "computer monitors" you would be about right :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭L4

Originally posted by beardedchicken
    because you won't shut the f**k up about students!!! enough already, or someone will kill you and make it look like a suicide!!!

Happy Christmas Bearded Chicken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭LoneGunM@n

Originally posted by L4
    No tinsel, no tree, just an office.

Hey L4, maybe you should get a better job ... I work in an office too, but I get in the christmas spirit [I wear a santy hat for the last week of work] ... It gives the clients a great laugh when they see an office full of stuffy accountants & there's me with a santy hat & tinsel around my monitor [just hope it doesn't go on fire :rolleyes:]

Christmas is my favourite time of year, because it's the only time of year that I get to spend a lot of quality time with my family.

My only grievance with Chrimbo is the fact that the shops start too early ... p!sses me off:mad:

Finally, L4 leave off the students etc. We all know your feelings on students, so there's no need to re-iterate the point each time you do a post ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Grom

On a side note lawl at l4 I like him.

on another side note im a student and i think your assumption is slightly misguided I will most likely be working round the clock whilst doing xams just like last year 14 hours shifts starting at early and finishing late whilst xams and study is a little strenuous so lets swap Ill take your office job and rant and rave about **** I have no clues about all because im a prejeduce prick,and you can take my life.which is Nice.

On a side note I do like you , you bring a sprak to this place.But your still an ignorant prick with moronic views.

**** sakes aidan when you got work placement in athlone did the job state.

<
    Post on boards as much as you can and become a fat **** sitting at a comp whilst doin so
    >

and when you enrolled for you course in college did it say you could attend 7% of your classes and spend the rest of the time at home on your computer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Grom

lawl.down to 6% now.pfft course is piss easy any way.pass no bother you know me genius and all that:rolleyes:

Your still a mupper aidan.and oh yea im a pull her tbh

Is this lads spelling really bad or is it just me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭AL][EN

Yea L4 i know how you feel,

The last 3 years i've worked both christmas eve and new years eve (long into the night i might add) and as much as i b!t*h and moan i do love the festive holidays, christmas is my favourite time of year but as you grow older ive noticed that now more and more xmass is just another excuse for companys to try and pimp there products and spam the general public with pointless stupid xmass ad's on TV,

the reason why christmas of yesteryear was so enjoyable is because we were all (well in come cases anyway) allot younger, i didnt have to worry about bills or my rent money or buying christmas presents or working on christmas eve, christmas has lost that special feeling for me yes its my favourite time of year but tbh its lost that special feeling you get at xmass.

maybe because ive been working for the last 3 years and i havent really been around my family for christmas who knows,

But as you said L4 i should prolly get into the spirit of things (therefore my plan is half a bottle of jack on christmas eve that should get me into the spirit of things :D)

happy christmas to everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,640 ✭✭✭Gillie

Christmas is great! Everyones in Great form!

Affording pressies can be a bit of a balls though! But all in all I love it!
    Merry Christmas to All!!!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Ichiro

I love Christmas....Now telling the Truth A couple of years ago I hated it
    And used to Call It Merry Bleakmas

But know i livew abroad and like to come home to famliy friends and a good time

Lets not forget the real Reason for Christmas

Merry Christmas Everybody
    Have a good One

And never ever DRINK And DRIVE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Ichiro

God My English and Spelling is terrible

Sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

I have a month off, im on holidays already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,216 ✭✭✭phreak

i get off next week...and besides 4 little exams sometime in january i'm on holidays till the 9th of february :)

Why is it so f*cking boring today in here?
    If I hadn't got a warning to stop insulting students I would
    liven the place up, but I can't. C'mon someone say something
    controversial!!

I think black people should be banned from the internet.

If you ask me, Christmas would be a lot better if Students would just go and
    enjoy themselfs
    . I'm sick and tired of
    Mouth ulsers
    at this point and I wish them would just die. Every day they irritate me.
    And not to mention those foreign
    Turkeys
    . I can't stand them. They're rotten. I wish I could just set them all on fire.
    happy
    Furkin
    Christmas everyone.

Originally posted by Sangre
    I think black people should be banned from the internet.

Any more racist comments like that and your out.

he was trolling, you'd think you'd recognise it at this stage:rolleyes: , oh and you'd have to be a mod to ban someone, i wonder if l4 is an alter ego of...ahem..not looking in anyones direction

Originally posted by angelofdeath
    he was trolling, you'd think you'd recognise it at this stage:rolleyes: , oh and you'd have to be a mod to ban someone, i wonder if l4 is an alter ego of...ahem..not looking in anyones direction

Enough out of you or your outta here.
    Plus my 'trolling' if it was that, was a bit better than that.
    If your going to be childish and blatanly looking for a reply then you'd post something like that fello did.

and your threads are so innocent, you're just posting your honest opinion, not looking for replys whatsoever, common so if you think you can ban me, do it then, i ****in dare ya

Push me. Post something that gives me reason and your out. mark my words.

l4 you're the most retarded asshole on these boards

Save your childish jibes for the school yard please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭El Marco

THIS IS SUPPOSED TO BE A HAPPY THREAD! Stop flaming angel!

I'm still young (if 17 counts) so christmas is still brilliant.

come on back up your claims that you can ban me, then we'll know who you are, or don't and then we know that nothing you say here can be trusted to be truthful, and that you're full of ****

Happy Christmas Marco. Your still at that magic age, when Santa comes and leaves a suprise in the jacks and there is piles of reindeer sh*te left in the front garden in the morning. Enjoy.

Originally posted by El Marco
    THIS IS SUPPOSED TO BE A HAPPY THREAD! Stop flaming angel!

I'm still young (if 17 counts) so christmas is still brilliant.

ill stop flaming when he stops trolling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭fozzle

Originally posted by L4
    I know it's easier for Children and Students especially as they have about a month off and can warm themselfs to the seasonal spirit, but for real life people it's harder.
    I'm a student. I will have slightly over a week from college during which time I have to fit in working on my thesis around my 8-10 hours a day barwork. So really I'll only have Christmas Day off. And yes, I will be working New Years.
    Christmas sucks.

FAO: MONTY, please don't delete this thread. I meant to raise the Christmas spirit among fello posters and it didn't need someone like AOD coming on here trying to ruin it. Please delete his posts, and leave the thread.
    Oh and Monty, happy Christmas.

if i get banned it means l4 is monty

Man, L4 is running out to controversial topics, you're really scraping the bottom of the barrel there....whoever you are ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

l4 tell us what u think of gays and black people.

Pffft everyone knows L4 only posts from 9-5 because he's working hard so he can support himself in this cruel, cruel world overrun by students and people better looking then him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭smiaras

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Monty - the one and only

L4, strike 2

banned for 1 week.