Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Slate

• 08-12-2003 10:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭

Did any of ye pick up the 'best of The Slate' magazine? I recommend you do folks; quite possibly some of the funniest/sickest stuff I've read all year. Only ten notes too, which is feck all cuz it'll last you for ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

Where is it being sold? Tower I presume?

I'll be picking it up as soon as I see it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭xx

Originally posted by Lodgepole
    Where is it being sold? Tower I presume?

I'll be picking it up as soon as I see it.

Yeppers. Just inside the door of tower on wicklow street. Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

A tenner? i'm so used to getting it for free! Is it a proper magazine print now tho for this best of? Or will it still go brown in about 6 weeks? :D

Same sort of paper as Maxim magazine or PC gamer etc. Very good quality.
    Its worth its weight in gold, dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭uRbaN

aye it parodies just about anything you can imagine.... very funny stuff
    Its easily worth a tenner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Tenner is still overpriced for a magazine

but it's the slate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

They're not writing the Slate any more afaik, a terrible shame, some of the storys were absolute genius,
    "Blacks in the Jacks",
    quote Samantha Mumba: "Its good they have the blacks down in the pub toilets, best place for them" or something along those lines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Originally posted by utility_
    but it's the slate

**** the slate. The last few magazines were dire and the joke had worn thin. Ten quid *Is* steep and don't bother buying it if you have all the back issues.
    The final mag is good though, brings back memories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

Originally posted by eth0_
    **** the slate. The last few magazines were dire and the joke had worn thin. Ten quid *Is* steep and don't bother buying it if you have all the back issues.
    The final mag is good though, brings back memories.

You are a complete grump.
    Its a compilation the best issues + more.
    €10 = about 2 pints .......jesus so steep.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

Is there any archives of the slate on the net?

Originally posted by Red Alert
    Is there any archives of the slate on the net?

Not as far as I know, they're website hasn't been updated in ages. Although, I'm on their mailing list and they have suggested at making a new magazine sometime in the future, which would be cool.
    So don't mind any of the humourless w@nkers here - pick it up, you won't regret it. And another fun thing to do, which I thought was great, is to leave it around places where yer auld pair will find it and read it.

Originally posted by aphex™
    You are a complete grump.
    Its a compilation the best issues + more.
    €10 = about 2 pints .......jesus so steep.

I'm not a grump :) I loved the slate when it was at its best, and I happen to feel the last couple of issues were below par. I'd recommend the best of, I just think 10 euro is a tad steep. I wouldn't spend a tenner on a regular magazine...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

I'd buy it if it were to fund the return of the slate.

Originally posted by Kold
    I'd buy it if it were to fund the return of the slate.

I don't think the closure was because of financial problems though, was it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Who cares, give them money n we'll see...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

must buy this ! how long is it on sale for and how many pages is it ?

Originally posted by Tusky
    must buy this ! how long is it on sale for and how many pages is it ?

Been on sale about a week or so. Pretty much a hundred pages in total. Good quality publication. I don't really mind paying a tenner for it in light of getting it for free before. One good turn deserves another and for all the laughs its given me, I'd have paid more for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

It was sold out in Tower today, they say they're getting more next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭Fabritzo

It's back in, you'll find it just inside the door to the left.