Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good Dublin nightclubs?

• 07-12-2003 8:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭

Have not posted on here in ages since i got a girlfriend (yay me!)

Anyway looking for some good nightclubs to go to that do good dance/trance music and maybe even some Rock.

Location wise, either southside Foxrock or Palmerstown areas or in City itself. I would like them to be safe and prefferably not too full of smoke if possible etc etc. Just some good clean fun where i can make an ass of myself since i cant dance and no one will care!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Ichiro

Did you forghet you were in Dublin!

Nightlife non exsistent.

Hmmm Let me think, Hogans Bar on Fridays is apparently Fun
    Thats on Georges Street

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Originally posted by Saruman

Anyway looking for some good nightclubs to go to that do good dance/trance music and maybe even some Rock.

Location wise, either southside Foxrock or Palmerstown areas or in City itself. I would like them to be safe and prefferably not too full of smoke if possible etc etc. Just some good clean fun where i can make an ass of myself since i cant dance and no one will care!

why do people announce that they have a girlfriend on the internet?

Club 92 in leopardstown, blakes in stillorgan or quite a few in dun laoire, can't think of any others around foxrock off the top of my head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Originally posted by lafortezza
    why do people announce that they have a girlfriend on the internet?

You cant be a nerd if you have a girlfriend!

Its a known fact. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Ichiro

You cant be a nerd if you have a girlfriend!

Its a known fact.

Please explain that statement
    would love to heat this.........

The Floor is yours Winters.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

1. A foolish, inept, or unattractive person.
    2. A person who is single-minded or accomplished in scientific or technical pursuits but is felt to be socially inept.

Nerd

Ergo, if someone has a girlfriend, at least one person considers them not to be unattractive and therefore, not a nerd. Or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Originally posted by Ichiro
    Did you forghet you were in Dublin!

Nightlife non exsistent.

Er what?

You're an idiot.

Club 92 rawks btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Originally posted by lafortezza
    Club 92 in leopardstown, blakes in stillorgan or quite a few in dun laoire, can't think of any others around foxrock off the top of my head

Do not go to Blakes. Well unless you want to bump into a load of skangers that got off the 75 bus or the other nackers that wandered across the dual carriageway from Patrician Villas.
    Club 92 is great. Although doesnt cater for the musical taste you have stated. It's mainly chart/rnb music. The women are top notch though, but considering you have a girlfriend that wont matter to you.
    Ah, anyway, check out the Club of Love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Originally posted by Makaveli
    Do not go to Blakes. Well unless you want to bump into a load of skangers that got off the 75 bus or the other nackers that wandered across the dual carriageway from Patrician Villas.
    Club 92 is great. Although doesnt cater for the musical taste you have stated. It's mainly chart/rnb music. The women are top notch though, but considering you have a girlfriend that wont matter to you.
    Ah, anyway, check out the Club of Love.

only been in Blakes the once myself, didn't see too many knacks but I'll bow to superior knowledge,
    92 is great for women, but probably not the place to go for a coupley night out,

you could try Blackrock either, plenty of late bars around there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 989 ✭✭✭MrNuked

mono's good (for non-charty dance). Also whelans (for rock). Also Porterhouse (for beer). Haven;t been out much in Dublin for years though so maybe times have changed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

I think he's trying to be cool in front of the nerds. Maybe he expected some praise or something. Millions of men have girlfriends. It's no big achievement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

not fussy are you ;)

Location wise, either southside Foxrock or Palmerstown areas or in City itself.
    Nothing in palmerstown cept those kips in Leixlip, neithe of which is safe. Foxrock = club knackery doo (club 92) neither good craic nor somewhere you can make an ass where no 1 cares.

I would like them to be safe and prefferably not too full of smoke if possible etc etc.
    smoke disappears in jan (hopefully) safe, most pubs n clubs are ok, tis the streets around them....

Just some good clean fun where i can make an ass of myself since i cant dance and no one will care!
    See above
    E

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,362 ✭✭✭the Guru

You could try with Arc bar @ Liffey valley its not a dancie place but its open till 3 at the weekends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Originally posted by Ichiro
    Please explain that statement
    would love to heat this.........

sarcasm
    1. A cutting, often ironic remark intended to wound.
    2. A form of wit that is marked by the use of sarcastic language and is intended to make its victim the butt of contempt or ridicule.
    3. The use of sarcasm. See Synonyms at wit1.

joke
    1. A cutting, often ironic remark intended to wound.
    2. A mischievous trick; a prank.
    3. An amusing or ludicrous incident or situation.
    4. Informal.
    1. Something not to be taken seriously; a triviality: The accident was no joke.
    2. An object of amusement or laughter; a laughingstock: His loud tie was the joke of the office.

stereotypical
    1. A conventional, formulaic, and oversimplified conception, opinion, or image.
    2. One that is regarded as embodying or conforming to a set image or type.
    3. Printing. A metal printing plate cast from a matrix molded from a raised printing surface, such as type
    1. To make a stereotype of.
    2. To characterize by a stereotype: “Elderly Americans are the neglected sector of the fashion industry, stereotyped by blue hair and polyester pantsuits” (American Demographics).
    3. To give a fixed, unvarying form to.
    4. To print from a stereotype.

Coupled with the nerd explination above you can link all these together Ichiro to get what I was going at. I was making a sarcastic joke about the stereotypical nerd. Get it now? If you dont I was also using the example, as portrayed in Disney movies [which you must watch on a regular basis no doubt] that nerds do not actually have a girlfriend. These examples can also been seen in the Matrix where inside the Matrix Neo [or Mr Anderson] does not actually have a girlfriend. Also this can be seen in classic films such as War Games.

Want to know more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,083 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Whelan's for rock.
    Don't know what clubs there are for trance etc.
    If it's kylie you're after then the George :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

Your post lacks humour to me.

Whelan's for rock.
    Don't know what clubs there are for trance etc.
    If it's kylie you're after then the George

presumably you frequent the george a lot since you know this...Not that there's anything wrong with you being gay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭gsand

duno when this was posted but blakes is now oasis and the knacker crowd is now being turned down as new management is trying to make it a posher club-cud be good.92 is ok-a plentiful supply of hot biatches but if ur not on the guestlist or a perceived regular u just wont get in sumtimes.fireworks is a good all round club in town,spirit was initially good but has become a bit of a dump over time.savannah and tramco in rathmines are ok-tramco is getting renovated at the mo tho. mono is now called the village and is not really the dance music club it used to be-its got more live bands-some rock-and just a normal bar downstairs.not many more worth mentioning-but a special word out to 'time' down in naas which is massive and is irelands attempt at priviledge in ibiza-12 bars r sumthing tho i cant claim to have got near drinking from them all..as well i was bolloxed by the time i got throught the first few and too many stairs.but good stuff nonetheless for an overnighter.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,001 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Originally posted by MrNuked
    presumably you frequent the george a lot since you know this...Not that there's anything wrong with you being gay.
    They just had a Kylie night. He's not exactly wrong. Prolly is the best place then for Kylie fans altho' I made sure to avoid it last Friday. Although what I paid €15 for instead... :(

Not surprised. The only openly-gay guy I know loves her (so-called) music, as do his equally-gay ex-flatmates. Fancies the ass off her too, though he's really gay: doesn't consider himself bi or anything. Anyway sorry for straying off-topic. I am bored at work.

Originally posted by Dustaz

Club 92 rawks btw

I hate Club 92. It has a really mingin smell and the place is a dive. Perfect for OAP's like dusty tho ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭phoenix2181

the club of love......let me see....best when you have a few drinks on you.....we are the guys dressed in black usually drinking champage by the dance floor...getting slowly slaughtered (hehe!)...when in town sin is worth a look, open nice & late...coyote (near the Q bar) used to alright but has gone some what downhill of late, blackrock is a good starting off point...plenty of pubs...good for a pub crawl though :)