Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tesco Finglas. Good show!

• 04-12-2003 11:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭

79.3 Unleaded.
    69.9 Diesel.

Well done Tesco.

Since the end of the gulf war, the price of petrol in Dublin has hardly dropped, now all the garages on the N2 are cheaper than before Monday, since Tesco's arrival.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Exellent news - now all they have to do is have a
    forecourt at every shop! The new Tesco in Waterford has a huge car park, loads of space- c'mon lads! :)

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Posted in the Bargains forum first. See here for details

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=128940

This is excellent news and just shows how much profit was being made. The cheapest unleaded petrol in Dublin I have fed my thirsty motor over the last month in the Dublin area was €0.83. Including the excise increase that would have been €0.88. Full tank savings in Tesco is 80 liters * (€0.88 - €0.79) = €7

For me (average mileage) this would amount to several hundred € a year. Nice one :)

Hope they are coming to a Tesco near me though ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭ondafly

do they do super unleaded ? feel like spoiling my baby !

great news all the same - tis nearly worth the trip to give them the business

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

Yes, they have super unleaded, cant remember the price though.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Methinks me may have to pay a visit..

yeah that new tesco in Waterford could do with a nice forecourt in the carpark..

all that lovely space and no nice cheap petrol.. such a shame.. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

I thought the small print was that you only get it at this price if you spend €40 or more in Tesco itself, otherwise you'll be paying post-budget prices ?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Tescos prices at the pumps for every punter off the street are 79.3 u/l and 69.9 diesel.

But the best thing about this offer is that for every €40 you spend in Tescos you get ANOTHER 5 cent off every litre of fuel you buy.

So if you spend €120 on your weekly shopping you could be paying as little as 64.3 cent per litre unleaded and 54.9 cent per litre for diesel.

Thats what the small print is---Its an extra 5 cent off every litre for every €40 you spend in Tescos supermarket.

Tis about time someone gave all these cartel garage owners a kick up the arse.All we need now is that UK pub group to open a few of their own pubs near town and we`ll be drinking pints for €1.50 or so.Just then it may feel like we`re not being ripped off as much as we are now.

Cheap petrol and cheap drink.Thats what the country needs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

Originally posted by Hellrazer
    Thats what the small print is---Its an extra 5 cent off every litre for every €40 you spend in Tescos supermarket.

I see.
    Cheap petrol and cheap drink.Thats what the country needs.

To be fair though, our petrol prices are amongst the cheapest in Europe at the moments, but keep the prices falling, they can never be cheap enough :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

We dont want to mix cheap petrol and cheep drink now!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭pedro ferio-vti

Originally posted by ondafly
    do they do super unleaded ? feel like spoiling my baby !

great news all the same - tis nearly worth the trip to give them the business

Yeh they do Super for 87c brian! Anywhere else it was 110 or so for a litre.........So get ur teg down there now, there's no excuse not to use it anymore!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Originally posted by Jip

To be fair though, our petrol prices are amongst the cheapest in Europe at the moments, but keep the prices falling, they can never be cheap enough :)

I just came back from Gran Canaria where i payed 46c for a litre of unleaded petrol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

Statoil in Ballindine, Co. Mayo is still 82.9 per litre unleaded!!...All the others in the region are at least 89.9!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭Big al

visit www.irishfuelprices.com its fairly update, and not a bad reference site

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Originally posted by Chief---
    I just came back from Gran Canaria where i payed 46c for a litre of unleaded petrol.

I'd say that was a good night ;)

But this is indeed excellent news. Competition is second only to compund interest in it's perpetual abilities. Hopefully all supermarkets and large shopping centres will follow suit.

Seeing as the Texeco at the KCR was the chepest, to my knowledge, at around the 83.9 mark that's still a saving of 4% even if you don't do your shopping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Originally posted by Chief---

I'd say that was a good night ;)

But this is indeed excellent news. Competition is second only to compund interest in it's perpetual abilities. Hopefully all supermarkets and large shopping centres will follow suit.

Seeing as the Texeco at the KCR was the chepest, to my knowledge, at around the 83.9 mark that's still a saving of 4% even if you don't do your shopping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,577 ✭✭✭✭Victor

The thing with the Canaries is (a) low demand - nowhere is more than 50 miles away (b) low VAT and little excise (c) good (enough) public transport - who cares about waiting for the bus when it's 24 degrees in January?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Suppose so. It was nice to see many people including young people (18-30) driving around in BMW E30 m3's and 4 litre mercs.

Rarely over there will you see a bmw less than a 330i or 530i. I presume they dont pay the same tax rates as we do. So many lovely 1980's mercs over there in mint condition with huge engines.

Chief.

just filled up the car there with Super Unleaded - 87.2c per litre :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭pedro ferio-vti

Good stuff brian, i'll be heading up this evening to do the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭dcGT

Originally posted by Hellrazer

But the best thing about this offer is that for every €40 you spend in Tescos you get ANOTHER 5 cent off every litre of fuel you buy.

Was in Tescos the other day, and read the small print in a poster that this '5 cent a litre off' offer ends in May some time (can't remember date). Does anyone know anything about this? Also, are the cheap Tesco petrol prices slowing creeping up at a higher rate than the more expensive forecourts? Wasn't there 10 cent in the difference at one stage?

DC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭leonotron

I Think the expiry date is relative to when you get the voucher

I know that there's a date printed in the receipt which is an expiry date, but the I'm referring to was in the shop. I saw it while I was queing. Also, I have a few receipts from family/friends etc. bought up as recent as last Saturday, yet they all have same expiry date: - 16/05/04 ???

Cheers,
    DC.

prices certainly are creeping upwards . 85.2cent last time i was in the statoil in finglas - still better than 93 cent, but slowly getting worse. I was told of somewhere near monaghan charging 99.2 cent per litre :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 843 ✭✭✭DaithiSurfer

yer man in statoil in finglas is adding on 1 cent a week to get to a point where he can just about manage the amount of customers. At the moment he is swamped with qeues and will keep putting up the price til he has a steady stream of punters rather than qeues. That way he maximises his profit.
    Or so goes the story from a member of the staff there anyway.
    Makes sense to me.

So that's the new scam now? Increase your prices so you have the optimum amount of customers without the bottle-neck of queues.....interesting
    Don't you think that non-local people will soon stop going out of their way to petrol at these places? Will it not cost them more to get there and back than they are saving by going there in the first place? Especially now as the gap between 'cheap' and 'normal' petrol is about 5 cent/litre and closing :)

That reminds me, I saw 2 Roscommon reg vans up at Tesco Finglas last month. They had about 6 or 7 medium sized barrels in the back of the vans and were filling all of them up. They also had what looked like a domestic oil tank strapped to the roof of each van! I hope they both had their '5 cent/litre off' vouchers! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 843 ✭✭✭DaithiSurfer

Originally posted by dcGT
    So that's the new scam now? Increase your prices so you have the optimum amount of customers without the bottle-neck of queues.....interesting
    Don't you think that non-local people will soon stop going out of their way to petrol at these places? Will it not cost them more to get there and back than they are saving by going there in the first place? Especially now as the gap between 'cheap' and 'normal' petrol is about 5 cent/litre and closing :)

I said somthing similar myself. Seems that the day there is a lull the price will go back down by a few cents and then eventually he'll get a happy medium.

From my experience though, i've tried tesco and the qeues are horrendous. I much prefer going to one of the other garages aroun because there is less of a qeue in them even though the petrol might be a little bit more.

Fair play to the Roscommon lads in the van.
    I hope they didnt crash on the way home :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Nice thing is living beside Tesco Finglas!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

What is the margin on a litre of petrol?

Originally posted by Bond-007
    What is the margin on a litre of petrol?
    That would be very interesting to know!
    DC.