Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

fukup situation at work

• 01-12-2003 4:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Howya,i need some help
    I've ****ed up at work,i got caught stealing a few items of confectionary
    and my boss was spying on me for ages and as i thought the cameras
    wern't on i talked about and did alot of things(talked about smokin hash
    and taking mushrooms etc)while he was spying on me the whole time. Hes
    been doin this for a while. I dont know what to do,ye see im not bound by
    contract of imployment,its only a verbal agreement which we had&i get no
    overtime and holiday pay. he says he'll bring me to court if i dont give
    him a figure on how much drinks and crisps ive robbed on him. And if his
    figures on stock take dont match mine ill be in trouble or somethin.
    I dont take well to being spyed on and insulted but he's got me with the
    whole drugs thing and spent 850 euro on surveilance and stuff(i think hes
    mental). another guy who works there claims someone else robbed money off
    him and kept doin it so he fired him but didnt bring him to court. i
    dont think hes the type of chap to bring me to court and that his figures
    and in parralel to the stuff bein robbed by younglads when i cant see
    or when this old guy who works there is on(cuz hes pretty old and stuff)

Any ideas of what i can do.

Will post more info later

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

haha.. time to own up man... if its only a few items I don't see the problem... get another job, its not the end of the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 625 ✭✭✭ThreadKiller

1. You knew there were cameras there & stole stuff
    2. You got caught

Pay for what you took (tough ****, you shouldn't have done it anyway)

3. Nothing else is your boss's concern, assuming:
    a) You didn't do it on his time
    b) It didn't affect your performance.

My 2 cent. Pay up & shut up. & lay off the drugs, they're starting to fry your brain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭John Player

hehe everyone robs stuff from work (fond memories of dunnes), leave the job and get another where u can get away with stealing stuff,

as for the shrooms and hash he can do nothing cos hes just got u on cam talking bout em - even if he had u on cam smoking the cops prolly wouldnt be arsed.

as far as i knew it was illegal for employers to record you without you knowing, and the ****er would get busted anyhow for giving you a job and not giving you proper employment rights, i say tell him to **** off and throw a match in the till and leg it hehe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

The stuff he has on camera about you doing drugs isn't work shít in court or anywhere else for that matter, so he can't use that at all, also blackmail is illegal.

Pay the man what he's owed. It is so hard for shop owner to get off time because they know gobshítes like you will steal from them while they're away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

Aww didums.

This is great.

haha.

Bend over.
    Put head between legs.

Pucker up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Originally posted by silly bugger

Learn how to use paragraphs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,797 ✭✭✭Paddy20

Pay up, grow up, then shut up.

P.:ninja:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭KoNiT

you were lucky you weren't turfed out on your ear.

Throw him some cash or do some voluntary overtime to make amends.

How long did u work there & how much have you taken? (curious)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭yellum

Originally posted by Typedef

Bend over.
    Put head between legs.

Pucker up.

Bite The Pavement

Theres more theft from staff than shoplifters in a business, punks like you are the reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

[he's] spent 850 euro on surveilance and stuff(i think hes
    mental). another guy who works there claims someone else robbed money off
    him and kept doin it so he fired him but didnt bring him to court.
    Yeah, he's mental for putting surveillance cameras up to stop people thieving his stock while he pays them their wages after he's been f*cked over before. Mental man, the audacity of him to want to protect his own business. The bugger should be whipped with rusty nails.

You are the mental one silly bugger, admit you are wrong for having stolen from the person that gave you a job, apologise and offer to pay for the stock that you stole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Pay up for what you owe. If he continues to threathen to bring you to court threathen that you'll report him for not employing you properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Learn how to use paragraphs? Thats an insult? Anyways thanks for all that,im gonna pay up of course,i just dunno how much i took. I dont think it was all that much and i dont get proper employment rights. I dont blame him for wanting to protect his business but paying that much for at the most 50 quids worth of drinks and crisps is a little irrationally paranoid. I just feel like i've been scapegoated. Ah i dunno the whole story but i figure hes bein fair enough so ill make out what i can remember takin an pay for it and then leave the job. Tryin to protect his business is one thing but listenin in on my private conversations makes me shudder(not just about drugs by the way,they're just illegal not immoral in my opinion). As for drugs fryin my brain,naw im just abusin hash. im gonna keep it purely recreational from now on like i do drink,time and a place for everythin. Fcukit its only money anyway. The more money the more problems,look at the country hehe.

Thanks for the advise,much appreciated

Oh these little paragraphs are more like a p.s. maybe thats what you mean ya pedantic fuk

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

i dont get proper employment rights

if this is the case, then it was up to you to insist on them before taking the job

I dont blame him for wanting to protect his business but paying that much for at the most 50 quids worth of drinks and crisps is a little irrationally paranoid

you think so? imo if he hadn't done this you would still be stealing from him, it wouldn't be long before you would have mounted up the bill

I just feel like i've been scapegoated

no you haven't
    you stole - you got caught

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Is he paying you in cash?
    Sounds to me like you're not 'on the books' and he would therefore not be taking tax from your pay.
    He'd get into a lot more trouble than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,927 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

In keeping with the recent degeneration of threads on PI, this is yet another TROLL. Read it again and you'll see why.

...for the benefit of someone who hasn't time to figure it out for himself, could someone point out to me what indicates this thread is a troll?

...just curious is all...

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

keep on topic

if you have a problem mojo - pm me
    B

Im no troll
    I get paid in cash and the dole office has no record of my working there.
    I think he'd get into trouble for tax evasion,i dunno how he does his accounts and i dont really wanna completely screw him over. I got caught yea but i feel i've been scapegoated as there are alot of other factors as to why his books are all fukd such as kids robbin all round them when the old bloke is workin. I accept that i am partly responsible so im gonna chat him and get things sorted when he comes back

Thats again for helping to put things in perspective

Howya,me again
    I got some forms from the dole office cuz the job is part time,thats how i found out i wasnt on record as being employed(no p60 or somethin). He signed the forms though,the ones where you put an X in the box on the days you don't work and a O in the days worked. I get no holiday pay or holidays but i get off if i ask in advance. I don't wanna anger him by threatening him back though cause he's alright albeit a little strange imo. So do you still think hes avading tax? curious me,im still gonna pay him back some money. But dont ya think hes making more back though not paying me PRSI and holiday pay?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 576 ✭✭✭chill

Firstly I suggest you pay some compensation, keep your head down and sit tight while you work on getting another job....

Call me an old fart, but this is what I say to you. I've worked in many jobs and faced many temptations. I haven't always been so strong.

You need to decided what kind of person you are and what kind of person you want to be. Do you want to be a thief or do you want to be a trustworthy, honest person ? You may find that amusing but trustworthyness and honesty succeed in life and career FAR better than dodgyness.
    Taking stuff is taking stuff. The size and value are immaterial.
    If you make a decision now, you can start again and begin to build a new and better career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭oneweb

Aww, it's the "Poor me, I was only stealin stuff but the nasty boss man wants to get his own back. WAAAA WAAAA WAAAA"

It is what it's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

I'll bet that if he spent all that money on video equipment that you're not the only one who's been nicking stuff and it just happened to be you that got caught. This isn't an excuse though so just pay up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

yeah, time to be a man (or woman) and hold your hands up.
    give him 50 quid, apologise and get another job.

Bear this in mind - some other punter, who might really need the job, and would do the work honestly, now has less of a chance of getting the job because of what you did.

Caimin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Billy Turdhed

Forgive me for having no sympathy with you

Humpbacks like you are what are giving the workforce a badname

Put yourself in your bosses position and some rock ape was rippin you off?

Your first words to him would start with f and end with off

Im surprised you are getting moderate reaction on these boards

WO Turdhed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Not that I condone theft in the workplace but isn't it illegal for someone to take sound and picture recordings without permission.

I know hidden security cameras are fine but I thought that they weren't allowed take audio as well as visual.

Correct me if I'm wrong.

You are wrong.

Originally posted by Paddy20
    You are wrong.

Really? Does that mean then that it's legal for businesses to record customers conversations while they are in store?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭DMT

Originally posted by Jeff_Lebowski
    Really? Does that mean then that it's legal for businesses to record customers conversations while they are in store?
    I assume it would, so long as there's a visible sign in store saying so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 576 ✭✭✭chill

Originally posted by Jeff_Lebowski

I don't believe there is an 'expectation of privacy' when you are in their store.

Audio tapes of conversations on their own, are generally frowned upon by the Judges in Court, whereas 'Video with Audio combined' is welcomed as admissable evidence for the prosecution.

I had my own Closed Circuit TV Security company for many years, and speak from hard experience. If you do not agree with the law !, then I suggest you consult a Solicitor.

P.:ninja: :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭neuro-praxis

Try to learn from this experience.

Don't steal anymore.

Settle with this boss and get another job. Make a fresh start and don't tell everyone you meet what you've done. It's really not too impressive.

Also, all employess are entitled to paid holidays. For part-timers, it's 8% of total wages. Don't ask for it in this situation though. While your boss does have grounds to be angry with you, he does sound a little odd. Why hasn't he just sacked you instead of this rigmaroll?

Apply for other jobs and get your act together. Petty theft is the sign of a petty person. You should look at this as a mistake you've made and won't be repeating.

Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,576 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Most shops / businesses will have CCTV warning signs.
    Audio tapes of conversations on their own, are generally frowned upon by the Judges in Court, whereas 'Video with Audio combined' is welcomed as admissable evidence for the prosecution.
    'Audio only' is a lot easier to take out of context and 'Video with Audio combined' harder to fake.

Victor,

Quote; Re, Audio only: " harder to fake" ?..

Audio only recordings, are obviously 'much easier' to tamper with, than Audio/ Visual recordings, which normally also contain the time and date. You can not honestly believe that an 'audio only' recording is more difficult to edit/falsify than a real time video and sound recording ?..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,576 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Sorry, I had stopped half way through writing the sentence and wrote it wrong. Corrected now.

I thought something like that might have happened. Thanks for correcting .

I would hate those idiots, who think it is cool to steal from their employers to get the wrong impression.

Maybe, I should add for their benefit. That it is not the CCTV cameras or monitors that are publicly visible that people should be concerned about, as they serve mainly as a very effective deterrent/warning to would be shoplifters, of all categories.

However, the simple truth is, most shop theft is carried out by 'staff' on their own, or in collusion with others. Thats why most properly installed CCTV security cameras, linked up to automatic industrial quality 'audio/video sound recorders', are hidden and practically undetectable by your average worker.

Believe me, it is better that they be warned in advance. Than be caught.

All the best.

I had my own Closed Circuit TV Security company for many years, and speak from hard experience. If you do not agree with the law !, then I suggest you consult a Solicitor.

P.:ninja: :rolleyes:

That's fair enough. No need to roll your eyes as I was simply asking a question and not 'disagreeing with the law' as you put it. People seem very quick to jump down each other's throats these days - I'm not the one up for stealing from my boss and how on earth should I have known that you had a security company?

Jeff_Lebowski,

I agree with you that, Quote; " People seem very quick to jump down other's throats these days " end quote.

Therefore, I have no hesitation in apologising for offending you with the "Rolleyes", which upon reflection, was not needed, given the subject matter.

I hope this retraction makes you feel a little better, and have a nice week.

Be lucky.

P. :ninja: :)