Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hairy Tech Boys

• 24-11-2003 10:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭

I was in both Peats and Maplins today....

So many tech boys have big hairy beards or long pony tails or both....

Whats it all about lads?

Is that how ye pick each other out in a crowd or whats the story?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭mr_angry

Standard dress code. Usually you're required to have somebody's tour diary on the back of your t-shirt aswell, but it might have been a "smart-but-casual" day in Maplins...

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

Maybe that's why I get mistaken for an employee in that place all the time....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

Originally posted by mr_angry
    Standard dress code. Usually you're required to have somebody's tour diary on the back of your t-shirt aswell

yeah like "Aerosmith world tour 1989"

complete with cringeworthy slogan!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

Basically, they are the successful few who actually have the patience to grow their hair long. All real techie people would like to look like this if they had the choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

One particular boy was very hairy and wore a t-shirt bearing the slogan :

"Don't blame me, it's a software problem"

*sigh*

Is that pooter humour????

Another "classic" t-shirt simply had four big huge letters :

R T F M

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

RTFM = Read The fu!king Manual

It's the equivalent of top bosses in the bank wearing Daffy Duck or Bugs Bunny ties - to the average viewer it means nothing out of the ordinary, maybe slightly humorous, but to people in the "the know" it means they dream about killing innocent puppies every night...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭ColinM

I reckon they grow beards and have their hair long (often in a greasy ponytail) in order to attain the appearance of the "Guru-nerd". This type of nerd is revered by the common-or-garden "Geeky-nerd".

Anyway, what the hell were you doing in Maplins yourself? You must be some kind of "Burd-nerd", Embee.

I'm not a nerd of any variety myself. That's why I don't even know what Maplins is.
    Ask me what it is and I bet you I won't know. From the context though, I'm guessing it's a shop like Boots or something, is it?

Actually, don't tell me - I don't want to know, in case it's somewhere nerdy.

Originally posted by Sinecure
    Basically, they are the successful few who actually have the patience to grow their hair long. All real techie people would like to look like this if they had the choice.

How insightful, Mr. Sinecure. Your in-depth knowledge of the nerd mind leads me to believe that you are either a psychologist, or an EX-NERD YOURSELF! Only one who has known the hive mind themselves (and reformed) could make such a point!

Have you got a REAL job lately? Forced to work in a bank and conform to some kind of dress code, eh? Still longing for the long-haired, nerdy days of old? Tell me I'm close to the mark!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭ozt9vdujny3srf

Originally posted by ColinM
    I reckon they grow beards and have their hair long (often in a greasy ponytail) in order to attain the appearance of the "Guru-nerd". This type of nerd is revered by the common-or-garden "Geeky-nerd".

Anyway, what the hell were you doing in Maplins yourself? You must be some kind of "Burd-nerd", Embee.

I'm not a nerd of any variety myself. That's why I don't even know what Maplins is.
    Ask me what it is and I bet you I won't know. From the context though, I'm guessing it's a shop like Boots or something, is it?

Actually, don't tell me - I don't want to know, in case it's somewhere nerdy.

Boards.ie is nerdier than maplins, and all the REAL nerds buy most of their pc stuff online :)

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,001 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Originally posted by Truckle
    Boards.ie is nerdier than maplins, and all the REAL nerds buy most of their pc stuff online :)

Damn straight! Maplin is home of the wannabe nerd. That's why so many have the dress code of long hair/beards because they're on the lower echelons of nerdiness. Those who have transcended can move beyond the need to emenate nerdiness through their looks - it shines from them like a suitless Vorlon!

Im not a 'burd-nerd'.... I was dragged into Maplins to look at stuff...... It bores me to tears but I did remark that

a) there wasnt any females bar myself there
    b) the hairier the face, the wiser the staff member
    c)Maplins is sh1te, peats is better

In Maplins the dude behind the counter couldnt understand the difference between the numbers 8 and 9... And he works in a fookin pooter shop!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I'm not a nerd of any variety myself.

You are on the INTERNET, hence you are a complete and utter NERD of the highest variety.

indenial.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Originally posted by embee

Amen to that!

And for future reference; surely the correct term would be "Nerd Burd". Being a "Burd Nerd" to me implies that one knows an awful lot about Burds, which is something we can only aspire to.

Come to think of it, the whole hairy thing is probably out of some sense of defiance. "I can't get a woman so I'm going to grow a beard God damnit!" Same thing happened to me. I almost had a fairly impressive hairy growth too. But then alas I had to shave it off to go and make a good impression meeting the woman of my dreams. I still get kinda hairy sometimes... but the missus makes me shave it off. God bless her..

This is the end of my emotional tale :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

You are on the INTERNET, hence you are a complete and utter NERD of the highest variety.

Amen to that...im sure there are lots of posters here that don't think they are nerds and indeed they may not appear to be. But, you are. Your a nerd. Its not such a bad thing.

You can tell yourself "oh I only post here to kill time at work" or " I just want to show these nerds the opinion of a real life person" or "I can use the internet and not be infected with nerdgitis" ...But face it, If you use the internet to chat, Buy online, discuss, research, educate or entertain YOU ARE A NERD....

The only way you can use the internet and not be a nerd is to use it solely for the purpose of Porn....and that just makes you a perv**.

That is all

** Being a perv isnt such a bad thing ...with in reason. I was a perv long before I was a nerd...now Im just a nerd :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

I was in Maplins on Saturday and was almost laughing out loud at some of the prices. was looking for some IDE cables and rather predictably they only had fecking glow in the dark round cables and they were 15e upwards.

mind you tried peats and it was almost the same, although i like the new shop. g/f wouldn't let me downstairs though. :(

anyway, online buys all the way. AirWay TransPort Wireless LAN Internet Gateway 60e inc. delivery off one of the more reputable ebay sellers (digidave) and the cheapest one i could find in either m aplins of peats was 170e. madness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭yellum

Originally posted by ixoy
    Damn straight! Maplin is home of the wannabe nerd. That's why so many have the dress code of long hair/beards because they're on the lower echelons of nerdiness.

Actually the advanced geeks use Maplins as they build their own stuff and by build I mean soldering crap together and not buying premade stuff from Komplett. Knowing how to slot things together does not a nerd make.

The true beardy geeks are just too lazy to shave and trim their hair. Alan Cox for example. (Linus is now a suit with his own image consultant. )

Yes Maplins has the wannabe nerds too who buy from the Computer parts section but the real lauded proper nerd is at the components counter arguing with the maplins employee about the tunneling effect of some transistor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

www.farnell.ie

www.radionics.ie tbh
    Maplins fecking suck.
    Ignorant and arrogant feens behind the counter.
    The lads in peats charge more but they're friendlier.
    Like cuddly little wuzzles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

This from a self-professed technically-impoverished person?

Peats is more expensive and rarely carries better/different stock, plus, the tech-staff in Maplins don't try to sell you the shinyiest newest toaster... when you walk into the shop trying to buy PSU[1]

[1] For the technically deprived : Power Supply Unit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭Emboss

I was in both Peats and Maplins today....

So many tech boys have big hairy beards or long pony tails or both....

Whats it all about lads?

Is that how ye pick each other out in a crowd or whats the story?

nerds in maplins ?

they're just 'smelly rockers'

i am teh skang

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

I refer to this thread in Personal Issues.....
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=126812

Please bear in mind that there is 4 brand new Pentium 4's sitting in that gaff, yet they have no money heating oil.... Now thats HARDCORE NERD

Originally posted by Typedef
    This from a self-professed technically-impoverished person?

Im told Peats is a better place to shop, thats all. I havent a clue.....
    Im also a very impressionable young lady......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

Im also a very impressionable young lady......

You will give me all your money...

Look into the flashing light....

Must have houseslave for womans-work.....

You are feeling sleepy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭hedgetrimmer

One of these days some UberGeek will invent a PC accessory that sahves and washes you while you surf, and everywhere, techies will become beautiful.. or at least improve their chances of getting laid... online... bandwidth depending...

Can we get a Boards branded toothbrush out onto the market for the Xmas period? We could come to some sort of arrangement with Ann Summers for a female boards collection. A Boards branded Dildo with DeVores Avatar stamped on the tip would be cool :)

Talk Nerdy to me baby :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭Emboss

You are feeling sleepy.

It happens alot after reading one of your posts

You are feeling sleepy.

I have no money.

Flashing light?

Womans work? Could you elaborate on that...

And yes I am sleepy. Bring me to bed.

An to think Typedef, no illegal substances?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Bring me to bed.

Well... that's all I needed to hear :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

Old geeks are the geeks that go into Peats and Maplins, they are just to sad to go online to look for stuff.

komplett.ie is great for the new young hip geeks. Finding the best deals on the Net, rather than asking silly questions in shops.

Not everyone on the Net is a geek. Where I work, we have LAN lines where everyone surfs. In saying that though, people have said to me that they have bought new PC's "and it has a Pentium processor". They don't really have a clue about PC's and so will never become a nerd, no-matter how much time they spend on the Net.

I have an AMD running 2000Professional, because we all know XP is crap. I downgraded to 2000.

Originally posted by neuromancer
    I have an AMD running 2000Professional, because we all know XP is crap. I downgraded to 2000.

Fool and fool

Originally posted by JesusThatsGreat
    Please bear in mind that there is 4 brand new Pentium 4's sitting in that gaff, yet they have no money heating oil.... Now thats HARDCORE NERD

Don't pretend you're any better! This is coming from the man who bought 50 wall-tacks to set up a structured wiring system in the room, and has an innate desire to build shelves for future technology storage? Now, THAT'S HARD-F*CKING-CORE nerd, buddy. Join the club!

(Actually don't - we hate you).;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Beëlzebooze

Originally posted by vibe666
    g/f wouldn't let me downstairs though. :(

too much cheese on the taco perhaps? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Read Cryptonomicon!

There was a whole section (albeit a piss-take) there on middle-class techie-type males and beards!

Originally posted by mr_angry
    Don't pretend you're any better! This is coming from the man who bought 50 wall-tacks to set up a structured wiring system in the room, and has an innate desire to build shelves for future technology storage? Now, THAT'S HARD-F*CKING-CORE nerd, buddy. Join the club!

(Actually don't - we hate you).;)

I wasn't my good buddy. Merely pointing out your NERD powers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Originally posted by simu
    Read Cryptonomicon!

There was a whole section (albeit a piss-take) there on middle-class techie-type males and beards!
    Yeah that bit is great.

Up there with the graphs showing the relationship between masturbation and ability to concentrate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭echomadman

We grow beards because we're in a position where its acceptable, and in my case i'm too lazy and too cheap, and i'm not a sucker to the razor industry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Beer Baron

We grow beards because we're in a position where its acceptable,

I wouldn't go that far, the amount of double takes and "arrgh it's a big hairy guy!" <trundles upstairs> "Arrgh! It's another big hairy guy!"

It's no more acceptable.
    I think people take one look @ the 2 of us and go, "man, the state of them! They must know what they're doing!"

In your case it's true.
    In mine it's not so true but still, I get away with it.
    And I don't have to shave, and I've a job where my boss (echo 4 all intents and purposes) doesn't repremand me for my appearance. (altho he does get bitchy when I come in smelling of booze- damn nazi!)

Still, I ain't never cutting my hair, and I like being hairy and my girlfriend likes it too.
    If a customer comes in and judges us on our appearence then **** 'em. Although I will admit a lot of people are scared of us I'm glad as it sets the standard of customer relations we desire; "I suppose if I really wanted help I could ask that menacing grumbling angry Beard behind the counter...but do I reeeeally want to do that?" Net result? Fewer stupid questions, we get to sit on our arses more- \o/

(Hmm, Embee and Emboss on the same thread- must remember not to confuse the 2)

Did anyone see the picture in the Digital Ireland section of the Independant today that totally typified this type of person? The guy was "head of projects" at Trinity's Centre for High Performance Computing, and was posing for a photo opportunity with some corporate blokes. So, given the importance of the occasion, what was he wearing?

Hair in pony tail, glasses, and a Motorhead tour t-shirt.

F*cking legend! I looked for a pic on siliconrepublic.com, and they carry the story, but don't include the picture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭Havelock

What of it? Personally I purchase most of my "paraphernalia" from companies I do odd jobs for, or from my friends. Or most of my tech stuff I get for free or in return for favours of a technical kind.

There is no truth in the myth that a hairer Nerd is a greater Nerd, nor that their casual clothes or indept knowledge of several sci-fiction/fantasy novels/series/comics/universes in higher in proportion to the lenght of hair. What one must observe, to correctly evalute the social posistion of a paticular Nerd is the level of defferment he/she recevies from their fellow Nerds. It is only through observing the Nerd community as a whole can you begin to see the complex hierarchical social structures, which keeps the dangerous Camelion Nerd at the top of the pecking order all the way down to the fictional geek at the bottom. In reality there is no bottem of the structure. More a complex webway of interconnected ring, star and mesh networks, not too unlike the internet. Deux ex machina

That is all, return to your homes, your governement is keeping you safe, ask no questions and remember, hairy men with long pony tails could also be bikers.