Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Series Of Oz Starts Tonite On E4!!!

• 22-11-2003 3:31pm
    Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Whoa! Where did that come from? Oz Season 6 begins tonite on E4 at 00:45 followed by A SECOND BRAND NEW EPISODE!!!!!!!!

Short warning folks but some of ye fans might get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭Jokah

I mean this in the nicest possible way ioxy.......dam!n you...I wanted to announce it first :D ...

Yeah It will be going out for pints tonight and then back home for the start of season 6.

Pity TG4 didn't finish in time....I suppose they didn't expect it to be shown so soon on E4....

Anyway its back its good, bring on Schillinger..........:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Fcuking hell,one of the best tv shows on in years and they stick it on at 12:45 in the small hours of sunday? Jesus christ.

Theres tonights drinking shortened,seeing as a 4 hour tape put on at his time wont catch the both of them,and I dont have the videoplus numbers handy(and even if i did i havent bothered yet trying to work them on my new VCR). Why dont they cop on and give it a 10pm weeknight slot on channel 4? Its the same with another HBO show The Corner. Only saw one episode and its quite good,about heroin addicts living in a ghetto in Baltimore USA. Missed the second ep due to the fact I forgot to set the video for the ludicrous time of 1:15 on a weeknight on channel 4(tuesday or wednesday i think). The Wire,which also looked good even tho i only saw the last episode of series 1,was hidden away on TG4. The Sopranos,Sex and the City and Six Feet Under are,with the exception of the sopranos,less entertaining yet they get better schedule space. WTF??? Thats 4 HBO dramas I like and only the sopranos ever gets put somewhere likely to attract a decent audience.

Anyway the heads up is much appreciated Ixoy.

Edit-well done E4,as for some reason they have inexplicably postponed the showing of the new series in favour of repeats of Queer as Folk ffs. Im nearly certain ive seen it in the epg during the week,so why does it deserve two slots,particularly seeing as its taking up schedule time for a new series?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭scoey

What a crappy time for such a great show, aah well at least its on Saturday and not a weeknight. How many episodes are left on TG4 before this new season? Guess I'll be reading episode guides for the few episodes I haven't seen, which kinda sucks. On the other hand, new series of OZ, woohoo!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

**** **** **** is all i can say. i should have read boards earlier on today

i suppose i'll be waiting for TG4 to show the new series. then again i am watching all the old episodes on that religiously anyway. it is a fine show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭smiaras

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Oswald Osbourne

'Oh ... fiddldy dee ... that will require a tetnis injection...'

Well I'm pretty annoyed now that I didn't know those two were on! :( It doesn't look like E4/C4 are repeating them during the week either. :(

BTW, they're showing another two next Saturday at 00:55 so perhaps they'll have completed the series in just another 3 weeks? I think I'll just record the remaining 6 off E4. watch last nights two on TG4 and catch up with the tapes.

Damn damn damn .... why did I miss this thread :(:)

Well...cut my drinking time down last night and left town at 12:25am. Got a taxi fairly lively and booted my ass back home....

Got in at 12:45....what came on? Queer as folk 2.....I thought it was coming to the end of queer as Folk....but no it was the beginning....

Found out they that postponed the showing of OZ....WHY? :(

Anyway 2 episodes next Saturday night...Gives me another chance to watch the next episode of series 5 on TG4....

I hate the just change TV schedules like that......hate it!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭scoey

Waited till 12:45 for OZ and then the program introducer said "sorry to those waiting for OZ but we are unable to show it this week, however we will have 2 new episodes next week , and now ....Queer As Folk" or something along those lines. Needless to say as tempted as I was to watch queer as folk ,which sounds like a great show..... I went to bed instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Why must they show it so late?
    I have to get up at 7:30 every Sunday for work, so I can't stay up til 3am watching Oz. I can't record it because I don't have E4 on analogue tv.
    They'll show shite like Big Brother all day long, but when it comes to actually showing a quality program they stick it on in the middle of the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭mr_angry

Probably something to do with the random nudity / brutality / drug abuse / racism / graphic homosexuality. I agree - great show, but it ain't gonna be on Saturday mornings T4 or anything!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Originally posted by Makaveli
    Why must they show it so late?
    I have to get up at 7:30 every Sunday for work, so I can't stay up til 3am watching Oz. I can't record it because I don't have E4 on analogue tv..

Why can't you record it? Does NTL not allow you to record? I mean you can record Sky Digital channels assuming you rig up the connections properly, so why not NTL Digibox? Even our ancient VCR was capable of it.

I dont want to go through the hassle of hooking it up to the sky box.
    They're on different tvs too which makes it messier.

Probably something to do with the random nudity / brutality / drug abuse / racism / graphic homosexuality. I agree - great show, but it ain't gonna be on Saturday mornings T4 or anything!

Yet they'll show The Sopranos at a decent time slot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,107 ✭✭✭John R

Originally posted by smiaras
    Will somebody post a spoiler to last night's show?

http://www.tvtome.com/Oz/season6.html

here we go.

As soon as the cra!p dawsons creek is over.......Season 6 of Oz starts......

2 hours......yeah........:D

Powerful....

Much more graphic than the previous series I think...More hard hitting...

Excellent viewing again. I though the first episode of last nights show was brilliant.

2nd episode was powerful......moving...

Good start to season 6! I liked the way they used executed prisoners (Jefferson Keane and Shirley Bellinger) to do the Augustis Hill links! I wonder will this theme continue for the remaining 6? I'm also especially curious to see what happens to Robson - talk about a fall from grace!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭MrPinK

Originally posted by Oswald Osbourne
    I liked the way they used executed prisoners (Jefferson Keane and Shirley Bellinger) to do the Augustis Hill links! I wonder will this theme continue for the remaining 6?
    I looked at the cast listings for the upcoming episodes, and it does seem like there's a dead prisoner in every one. Haven't come across Adebisi making an appearence, but I haven't checked all eight episodes yet. It'd be a great shame if he doesn't do one of the narrations.

Originally posted by MrPinK
    Haven't come across Adebisi making an appearence, but I haven't checked all eight episodes yet.

Adebisi was murdered rather than killed in a state execution tho! Bellinger and Keane were both executed thats why I made the connection between the two and wondered would further links be done by executed characters? There must be at least 100 characters 'murdered' during the run of Oz but not too many have been sentenced to death by the 'government', so it'd make a nice little tie in if the number came to 8..

I can tell you whether or not Simon Adebisi makes an appearance..... (And no not everyone who appears was executed)...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

What was with the Prison Fashion shoot ?
    i forgot how fecked up oz is !
    wanna get spooned ?

I mean you have to feel for James Robson...

The look of fear in his face when Pancamo tried to attack him in the library.

Then Robson comes out with this thing from his past.....So you have to feel for him, but then you look back and see all the nasty things he has done to people.....

But really Prison is a sick place and the guy with the spoon.....like why? You know why...because he could shove that spoon where the sun don't shine.. Robson is that spoonman's prag now and he is protected I suppose...

You see the eyes on the back of Schillingers head....class...

It will be interesting to see what happens over the next series or two...so many stories...

I watched Episode One, Series One last night again....so good.

Originally posted by XPThink
    It will be interesting to see what happens over the next series or two...so many stories...
    You mean what happens over this series. This is the final one. The end. And - having seen the eight episodes - I truly believe it is the end. Be prepared for a bumpy but fun ride :D

Sorry dude,

I actually should have said "over the next episode or two" - I know that there are only 6 series...6 Series is enough...

I watched all of OZ in the States,(god bless TIVO) but left when Series 6 started...haha..so I had to wait a long time in Ireland for Series 6 to be shown...:D

I know where to find the spoilers and episode guides and I haven't read any of the Series 6 ones. I just think reading ahead would ruin the drama.

Anybody got any of the DVDs?
    Season 1 and 2 are available and 3 is out in Feb/March I think.
    I have Season 2 ordered from dvdsoon.com, not 1 though.

Tonights Episodes were superb.

Such brilliant episodes packed full with everything.

Hard hitting, brilliant...

WOW!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭smiaras

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

For once I wish E4 had stuck on dawsons creek instead,as my digibox is knackered and Im going to have to wait god knows how long to see them on TG4 or channel 4,unless E4 repeats them in the near future which is doubtful.
    I think fate is standing in the way of me seeing the final two. Because the digibox is broke I texted a mate and told him to tape them for me. What happens? His video is broke. I text another dude with sky. What happens? He used to live in the states and because he likes watching all the films he taped he still only has an american VCR,which doesnt tape our programmes. I try yet another guy. Hes already gone out. Im about to text yet another dude when I realise he recently got rid of sky digital,and unfortunately sold his digibox,which I would have been able to set up in minutes in order to video Oz had he not sold it :mad: I text one more friend,and he says he would but his sister already has the video taping something which I would assume is utter sh1te in comparisonto the Oz finale.
    I mean,why the fook does something want to prevent me from seeing something Ive waited a year for?

Unless Sky run a 24 hour service you couldnt have had the digibox set up in minutes because they have to marry your card to the new box.
    Last nights epidsodes were really good alright.
    That nurse is twisted.

I to also saw the Dawsons crack cr!ap being advertised in between the Oz episodes.

But lo and behold it just showed the two episodes back to back. The last episode shown was un interrupted and no ads....:D

But I mean what episodes.. my mate was teasing me from America during the summer saying how he had Oz on Cable/TIVO whenever he wanted. He could watch any episode/series at the touch of a button....

Of course he wanted to tell me for months what happened in Series 6. But I resisted...

Now I am glad I did resist, cos Series 6 is a cracking series. Very disappointed with the last episode of Series 5 on TG4. It did't live up to any of its "last episode" predecessors.

I can't wait for the last two next week. Going to be a cracker..