Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

aib interview tomorrow - advice..

• 19-11-2003 3:41pm
    Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I have an interview with aib tomorrow in ballsbridge.
    This is where I'll be located.
    the ladie described what I'd be doing over the phone etc. and so it looks like I may already have the job, so it could be just an informal chat.

anyways,
    I ahve a few questions compilled,
    why do you want to work wih us etc.
    where do you see yourself in 5 years time, blah blah

but someone has told me to expect this question

Q. Give an example from a previous job where you have
    had to deal with an awkward customer and how you dealt
    with it.

I'm quite stuck with that one now. any idea on what I should say?
    call the superviser or somethin? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I got presented with one of these, and kind of modified a scenario I'd dealt with a few years earlier, so it sounded more difficult than it actually was. ;)

If you've ever dealt with the public before, try and think of the worst bitch you ever had to deal with, then make it a little worse, and improve your solution so you come out a bit better. :)

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

But yea see, I have dealt with dickhead customers before
    and what I used to say was "See yer man over there in the shirt and tie, yea well he's geting paid big money for people like you to complain"

I can hardly say that in there can I? hehe

If she complained about a spill on the floor, you offered the shirt off your back to soak it up, or to lap it off the floor, so she wouldn't get her shoes sticky.

Modify, and create young grasshopper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Originally posted by Lenny

with it.

I'm quite stuck with that one now. any idea on what I should say?
    call the superviser or somethin? :)

have you any kind of customer service experience?
    Or even sealing with clients,

think (or make one up that could have happened) of an example where a client had an out-of-the-ordinary problem or were awkward, and then explain how you fixed or solved the problem.
    Might be an idea to include how your solution involved extra work/effort outside your normal work.

Let them know it was a happy result all round

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

yea dealth with loads of fussy customers, been working in shops for years,
    how about saying when someoen efell and how i help'd them with water an chair in that..?
    thats no good?
    just can't think of any thing that can come to mind at the mo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Then LIE! For example, I worked in PC world when I was in college and this family from Donegal were in Dublin doing their xmas shopping and bought a PC for their little boy. Couple of days later (day before xmas eve!), they ring up 'We set the PC up to see if it was working ok and it's saying there's no hard disk in it'. True enough, there was no hard drive installed in the packard bell machine. Oops!

They aren't about to come from Donegal to Blanchardstown again, so I organise a courier to send them a new machine and collect the old one.

I find this story very effective and heartwarming to the interviewers :-) Course, that did actually happen, but you can use it if you want :)

yea dealth with loads of fussy customers, been working in shops for years,
    how about saying when someoen efell and how i help'd them with water an chair in that..?
    thats no good?
    Nah, they're looking for something more the type "This woman was complaining that we didn't stock a certain product, so I cycled 20 miles in the rain, and fetched one for her, paid out of my own pocket".

Basically, they want to know if you are willing to go beyond your requirements in order to satisfy an unhappy customer. :)

Yea, thought they ment that
    I think I might say this
    "One of the counter boys forgot to put a cake docket into the box, so a customers cake was not made along as the others, the ladie arriving at 5:15 when I was cleaning around my work area set to go home, and her cake was not made. The ladie showed me her docket and her order was taken, so I stayed back an hour to make her a 18" birthday cake for her daughters 21st"

How that sound? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

How that sound? :D
    So, er, you worked for an extra hour by yourself to give the daughter of a customer an caked 18-incher in the box on her 21st.

My congratulations:D

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

but someone has told me to expect this question

with it.

try this for size...

"Ive had to deal a few customers who have been very unhappy with the level of
    service they have received from places where Ive worked in the past..

The best way I feel to deal with a situation like this is to let the customer air their
    complaint fully, dont interrupt as this will only agitate them further, ensure that you
    take note of all the areas they have a problem with as well as taking all the details
    of the complaint down on paper so that none will be overlooked.

When the customer has finished, take ownership of the problem and let them know
    that you are doing this, by saying that you will personally make sure ther problem
    will be solved to the best of your ability. If they need to speak to a supervisor then
    try to accommodate them on this.

Get all contact details from them and if possible give them your contact details so
    that should they have another query in relation to this problem then they can
    contact you directly.

When the issue has been solved, contact the customer to ensure that they are
    happy with the result.."

Thats almost exactly what I was told to say by a mate who worked in HR for a few
    years and its about as close as you will get to the prefect answer..

You can make up a situation that suits the above.. but it works everytime as it
    shows you have customer care skills, can improvise in a difficult situation, are
    willing to accept responsibility and have the dedication to follow things through
    to the end..

Tox

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭whosurpaddy

the girlfriend did (and successfully got) an aib interview bout 2 months ago, i remember her telling me something about they had introduced some new style of interview across the entire bank.

check back tonight an ill get her to put up the difficult questions they asked and her answers. they ring u back about a month later to give u feedback so she should have a pretty good idea of what they are looking for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

heehee "ballsbridge" sounds like a sex toy ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭rachel

I'm working in AIB at the moment and have done 2 interviews with them so far.
    The first one was a general interview, I had no idea what job they were interviewing me for it was just a position within AIB. I ended up in car finance but the interview was not at all specific to that and they basically focused on team work, leadership, ability to adapt to change & time management. It was all example based, they wanted specific examples for all of them. One question which threw me off was ''why did you choose AIB over any other bank to apply to?''.
    Honestly, I had applied to them all and AIB were the only ones to write back! In the end I just said something about the welcome atmosphere in the branches!!!!

Other people I know literally had informal 'chats' with our HR manager and that was their interview. It depends on whether its a permanent or temp position you're going for I think.

The other interview was the new style and for an internal vacancy, it was a lot tougher as I basically had to write a dissertation for an application form and then go for a fairly long interview but it all paid off in the end!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭car

I had an interview with the AIB too on Tuesday and was told on Thursday that I got it much to my surprize. My friend also got the job on the same day as me. It's going to be classed as my work experiance so it's a pretty good number regards pay as some out of my class are doing volentary work placement. (fecking Ejets)

My interview was completely informal, much to my surprize. Hopefully it will work out as this job is depending on me passing my college course so I have to give it 110%.
    So, wish me luck.

Lads, sorry for the late responce, the interview was informal, they focused a lot of hearing me talking about team work, and having a good time in the workforce also. one question that stung me was "out of all your jobs, which one do you prefare the best and why"
    didn't know what to say, so just said I liked them all haha

Got a phone call yesterday saying that they'd be delighted if I could work for them, so I acepted :D
    Told them If I gave my notice yesterday, I'd have to work next week aswell. because the christmas bonus's are being handed out on Fri 5 Dec(hopefully) this is what people have told me, and its 2 weeks pay. so I am not going to miss that, because chances are in AIb, it'll prob be a very small bonus or proberly none at all!
    So I am starting on 8Dec, they still want me to fax reference's in for some reason, they don't seem to want to let that one go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 davymoon

I have recently attended the video interview conducted by AIB.Do anyone have an idea regarding the number of days it will take to let us know the decision

If u are not elected will they notify u .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 MrTvw

davymoon wrote: »
    I have recently attended the video interview conducted by AIB.Do anyone have an idea regarding the number of days it will take to let us know the decision

If u are not elected will they notify u .....

Hello Davymoon,
    Im just wondering how did the video interview go for u?! I think they respond to you within one week but i couldnt be 100 percent sure! What kind of Qs did they ask you?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Sprog 4

azezil wrote: »
    heehee "ballsbridge" sounds like a sex toy ;)

Or a terrifying sex position ;)