Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The best and worst finishers off all time.

• 04-11-2003 2:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭

O.K. that little debate that started in the SS thread got me thinking. What is the worst and best in finshing in the modern era? (No hardcore finish, no tables, chairs or ladders)

Best finisher: RVD for the frog splash, the move would hurt, looks convincing, RVD's turning through the air adds panache and lifts the crowd.

Honourble mention to Walls of Jericho and Hardcores Alabama Slam

Worst finisher: The peoples elbow, slow, uncovincing, (It's an elbow for Gods Sake! all this running about won't make it any more convincing) my granny could kick out of it! (and she's dead)

Dishonourable mention, Hogan leg drop and Scotty's Worm

I'm sure many if not all of you will disagree so let me have it!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭NeroTheExtreme

Best Finishers:
    WWF early 90s - Power and Glory - Superplex off top rope by Hercules followed by a frog splash from Roma. Way ahead of its time!

Chris Benoit's diving headbutt.

Worst Finishers:
    Sgt Slaughters Noogie of doom.
    Kerry Von Erich's discus punch

Thats all i can think of for now...
    Nero.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭smiaras

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

Best Finishers:

Rick Rude's neckbreaker
    DDT - when it actually meant something
    Hart Attack
    Any suplex Tazz finished a match with (especially versus Tajiri :) )
    Triple Jump Moonsault (as only Sabu can do)
    Hardy Boys old finisher, Event Omega - Flying legdrop, splash combination
    Arn Anderson's Spinebuster - simply the best in the business
    Gore/Spear
    Razor's Edge
    Garrison/Cade's finisher - Dropkick into a spinebuster - simply because its new ;)

Worst Finishers:
    Dina Bravo's side slam
    People's Elbow
    The Rock's attempt at a sharpshooter
    Hogan's legdrop
    Demolition's finisher - how weak was that!!!
    Beefcake's sleeper - yawn
    Booker T's axe kick
    Jackhammer
    Arabian Facebuster (as done by Billy "I have no talent" Gunn)
    Chokeslam

Originally posted by smiaras
    I'm going to throw Crush's finisher in for worst finisher as well when he used to grab their heads and squueze them like a lemon.

what about his heart punch finisher???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,640 ✭✭✭Gillie

IMO the Stone Cold Stunner. It just send shivers down my spine!
    3d ain't bad either!

WORST: Rock Bottom. I mean FFS! How Lame!

Originally posted by Gilly2003
    WORST: Rock Bottom. I mean FFS! How Lame!

The Rock Bottom/Book-end are modifications of a move call a Urunagi Suplex (sp?) - it was done to perfection by the wrestler known as Kama Mustafa when he was in the Nation - he did it perfectly on the Undertaker aswell as a few nameless wrestlers. The move is not mean to be a slam as such, more of a high impact suplex onto the neck and shoulders

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭xx

Fave finishers:

Spike Dudleys 'Dudley Dawg' - from back when he just came into the WWE and would run down to the ring and drop someone big-time with it. Looked great when he got loads of air under him when he jumped from the turnbuckle.
    Shane Helms 'Vertaebreaker' from back in the old WCW days. Jaysus, that move ruled!!! Shame that Vincent Mc Fcukface won't let him use it any more.
    A 'superkick' - only if done by Lance Storm.
    RVD '5-star frog splash' - just because....!
    Crippler crossface
    F5
    A good meaty 'Angle Slam'
    Anklelock
    And I know ye said no hardcore finishers, but I just couldn't leave the 'Vanterminator' out!!! No matter how many times I see that move, it never ceases to amaze me!

Worst finishing moves:

Mandible Claw - WTF!!!???
    Peoples elbow
    Complete Shot - that $hitty one that scott steiner does nowadays
    The 'Earthquake' - as in "sweaty fat bloke running up and down the ring and then sticking his stinky hoop in your face"
    Speaking of which, Rikishi's 'stick-my-hoop-in-their-face one'...rump shaker or whatever its called

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

Best submission: Crossface Chickenwing as applied by Bob Backlund
    I think the Vertebreaker is a great move, but i understand why hurricane's not allowed use it, they should let him use it if they give him a ppv match.
    That neckbreaker thing that test did a couple of times was good.
    Always been a big fan of sweet chin music too

Worst- peoples elbow - for the reasons already stated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭Horsefumbler

Best finisher Tombstone or Screwdriver, reason: would really hurt and possibly break necks

worst, Angle's slam (i dunno what he's calling it now) reason its just a basic slam like a belly to belly suplex

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

haha I thought of a real crapper, Honky Tonk Man's "Shake Rattle and Roll" i can't even explain it for those who are too young to remember but it was terrible. My Favourite finisher has to be Macho Man's big elbow off the top rope, just the way he put his arms up and stood there for a few seconds was legendary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭technobob

earthquakes was definitlety the worse,

lesnar's 5 star if he had pulled it off would have been amazing!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭jongore

Lesnar attemted the shooting star press at WM and nearly knocked himself out.

Kidman is the man who has perfected this move Lesanr is sticking to the F5.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭bombidol

Kidmans SSP is pretty crap i reckon. its messy and dangerous. Jody fleish alway had a better one i thought. but im being critical of something ill never do so..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭a-hole

i cant believe nobody mentioned the stiner rekliner, posably the worst ive ever seen. it was just used so stiner could flex his steroids i mean mossals
    allay gantays claw like come on for a 8 foot monster suraly he could do better

best the vertibraker by huracane, the pile driver owen hart did on stone cold both send shivvers down my spine, the toomstone and the crossface

Originally posted by bombidol
    Kidmans SSP is pretty crap i reckon. its messy and dangerous. Jody fleish alway had a better one i thought. but im being critical of something ill never do so..........

A move so bad that Kidman himself, managed to put himself out for a while because he botched it.

Nero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

The best for me is a tie between the Stone Cold Stunner and the Tombstone.

The worst has to be The Worm from Scotty 2 Hottie. Like its nothing more than a little head butt from a foot away while he's lying on the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

if any of u watched tough enough 3(i think) remember the guy around 6 foot 5" and 200 LBs do a shooting star from the ground.

****ing amazing !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭herbie747

Best Finishers:
    Randy Savages Flying Elbow
    Sweet Chin Music
    Stunner
    RVD's 5-Star Frog Splash
    Jake's DDT
    Christian's Unprettier

What's with the big "slag the Rock" buzz? Is it the "in" thing lately? F*ckin' sheep. I can understand having a go at the people's elbow (which is his SIGNATURE move anyway, not his finisher), but how can some twat call the Rock Bottom the WORST move?? It's hardly the worst move, "Gilly2003"!
    Booker T doesn't even do it as good as The Rock- so does that mean Booker has the worst move ever?

Worst Finishers:
    Crush's Head Cruncher
    Shake Rattle & Roll
    Stevie Kick (Rip off, with a sh*t name)
    Stinky Face
    Mandible Claw
    Dudley Dawg (It's his only move, and it's crap at this stage).

And THE ABSOLUTE WORST FINISHER EVER....

.................wait for it.................

.........................................here it comes....................

The Garvin Stomp.

roffle!
    The Garvin Stomp, the worst finisher in history, but let's not diss him as he was the first one of the 90's generation to use the Sharpshooter :)

I actually thought Richards did the superkick 100 times better than Michaels, just watching that in ECW made me feel sorry for anyone of his opponents.

Sorry, i just think that it's a tad unfair calling it rip off when you have RVD's frog splash as one of your faves, completely ignoring Jimmy Snuka ;)

Just my 2 cents worth.
    Nero

"Bottom the WORST move?? It's hardly the worst move, "Gilly2003"!
    Booker T doesn't even do it as good as The Rock- so does that mean Booker has the worst move ever?"

Yeah both Rock Bottom & Bookend.
    S&*%e IMO.

Originally posted by herbie747

What's with the big "slag the Rock" buzz? Is it the "in" thing lately? F*ckin' sheep..

i hated the rock since late 99 i knew then he couldnt wrestle and most of his moves were s*ite i tried to tell people but nobody'd believe me. i was so happy to see him go do movies and i hope he dosnt come back (i did like some of his promos but there has to be more to a wrestler than promos)

stiner recliner worst

Does anyone else thing that the rock bottom/bookend are just boring standing versions of the bossman slam?

The Rock is woeful in the ring, has been for years, but i could listen to that guy taking the piss out of everyone for hours!

Bookka Teeeeeee just bores me to death.
    Nero.

Once the Rock/HHH Fued was over that was it.
    Granted he is funny on the mic but thats no enough.
    Bossman Slam was very similar.

Don't think Rocky will be back much now.
    Movies are more important to him and that's fine.
    Whatever makes him happy.

Well apparently The Rundown is better than any storyline he's been involved in for the last three years.

Altho i loved his pisstake on Hogan just before No Way Out last year! Whoppedy doo! Let the rock tell you in a language you might understand! Whatcha gonna do when ya dududhdududha!

Priceless.
    Nero

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭whosurpaddy

Originally posted by NeroTheExtreme
    Best Finishers:
    WWF early 90s - Power and Glory - Superplex off top rope by Hercules followed by a frog splash from Roma. Way ahead of its time!.

definitely the best finisher for me. not sure about this but i thought it was a swan dive, not a frog splash. is there a differance?

ive a fealing the can-am connection had a great one aswell but i cant for the life of me remember what it was

i also reckon eddies submission hold (lasso from el paso) he has been using recently looks good/painful. charlie hass (hass of pain) seems to be using the exact same thing tho.
    Kerry Von Erich's discus punch
    . [/B]

didnt he do the original mandible claw aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Cianan2

That power and glory move-didn't D'Lo and Chaz do a version of that recently?

I like the rock.

Jake the snakes DDT stands out in my mind...f'n class,he was.

Brocks Shooting Star Press was supposedly twice as good as Kidmans,we had been waiting since he left OVW to see it. He said he'd use it against Rock at Summerslam,but no. Then when he does use it,he ****s up and now vows never to use it again. Damn him.

Yep, saw last weeks velocity match. Jesus, Brian Kendrick has really gone lazy! If London wants to get anywhere, he'd be better off getting the hell away from Spanky!

Nero

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭whosurpaddy

im gonna add the frankensteiner to my list, just because its dam impressive that a guy that big can pull that move off.

Originally posted by whosurpaddy
    im gonna add the frankensteiner to my list, just because its dam impressive that a guy that big can pull that move off.

booker t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭jobonar

IMO the best finishers around are

BEST
      f-5 last ride stone cold stunner sharpshooter shooting star press
    WORST
      peoples elbow death valley drivers final cut dudley dogg mandible claw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭Cactus Col

Don't know about the best finisher ..... the thing the Eliminators used to do, maybe,

but definately the worst ... has got to be ... Big Daddy's ... don't know if it had a name, but wasn't it just a splash (or a belly flop as we called it when I was young) ....

.... that said .... he did pretty much kill someone with it once ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Sean101

I love rey mysterios 619 followed by the west coast pop. Its so unique. Jeff Hardy's swaton bomb aslo rocked. I heard a story of him doing it out a hotel window into a snow drift. I think it was the fourth floor or something. God damn i miss him.

Oh i also smile everytime angle does his ankle lock and angle slam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Best Finisher:

Razor Ramon, The Razors Edge.

Worst Finisher:
    THE WORM!!

taker use to do a heat seeking misial off the midle of the top rope in his wcw days it loofed prity good

it wasnt a finisher but the rocks slap, like come on 3 good punches wont nock you but blow on my hand and your down in a shot. i was realy pi$$ed off when he put the big show through a table with it