Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish laws ::: whats the story

• 02-11-2003 6:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,362 ✭✭✭

I was out with a mate last week and he needed to use a toilet so he went up to a hotel they wouldnt let him in he presisted a bit and they called the cops

when the Cops arrived the siad that he had to move away from the hotel as they would arrest him he siad thats its illegal for any one to turn you away from there premises if they need to poo

and this is what I though as well he also said to them that if he wanted to go on the street they had to put the coats around him so that others didnt see they siad boll*x and advised him that they would arrest him also if he did that .

What is the truth around this law and what other stupid laws do you know of as its good to know where you stand as most of the cops are grumpy f**kers when you have a fews beers on you. and have no issues arresting you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

You can't take a bladder relief in public, but you can take a dump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

Technically they are supposed to provide cover if you need to take a **** and there is nowhere else to do it. In reality, good luck getting a cop to do it.

The hotel had no obligation to let your mate in. If they called the police, he was either acting the prick or they over reacted in a massive way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

Originally posted by neuromancer
    You can't take a bladder relief in public, but you can take a dump.

afaik if u want to take the dump it must only be in there hat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭gobby

i heard that one too. if u need a dump and there is no where to go, by law, a copper is obliged to give you his hat for u to dump into!

hahahahaha........ gotta love that. never gonna happen though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

You'll find the police generally are grumpy when dealing with mindless drunks on the weekend. It's because, like everyone else, they have better things to do than deal with mindless drunks.

There should also be a law against your grammer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭vac

Slutmonkey, you're too cool for school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,187 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Originally posted by Slutmonkey57b

There should also be a law against your grammer.

I'll assume you mean grammar.......:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

It sounds to me like the pair of yu were bladdered at the time. The hotel refused you admission most probably because

1-You were legless and most probably werent going to drink in the hotel bar
    2-If your mate happens to throw up in the bogs thats the hotel staff cleaning the walls and sides of a toilet of 40 quids worth of alcohol and food that wasnt even purchased on their premises

Couldnt you just let it rest? Your pal getting drunkenly agressive and loudly defensive probably pissed off the staff enough to call the fuzz. Presumably ye were acting the gob****e as if youd just pissed off without causing a scene they wouldnt have called the cops.
    And anyway,presumably if you were on the rip you were in a built up area.surely there were dozens of pubs you could have used?

Actually come to think of it are you Utility?Or his good friend Driveby Milkshakeman?

Originally posted by Tha Gopher
    Actually come to think of it are you Utility?Or his good friend Driveby Milkshakeman?

HA.

I have to say that I agree with the hotel staff not letting you in. I'm not sure if this was in Dublin city or wherever, but places like this can't just let in any person off the street to take dumps in their hotels. If he wanted to go THAT bad then he could've gone down a lane or wherever, but going into a McDonalds sounds like a better option. Otherwise there's always taxis etc.

He was lucky he wasn't arrested by those guards, because it sounds like he gave them a lot of shít.

You really can't blame the guards here. I know if I was staying in a hotel and next thing drunken locals that they had just let in were running around the place I'd never go there again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Originally posted by elexes
    afaik if u want to take the dump it must only be in there hat
    lol "scuse me occifer, i'm dying fer a shoite, teh law clearly states that i have ta do it in yer hat"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

then you ould call the filth, 'SH*THEADS', LITERALLY.

'YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO REMAIN IN HOVER MODE'.

'ANYTHING YOU SQUEEZE OR POO MAY BE TAKEN AND DISPOSED OF FOR EVIDENCE'.

'DO YOU UNDERSTAND???' :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Monty - the one and only

Speaking as someone who works in Temple Bar nearly every night, letting people use the toilet is a hell of a lot more trouble than its worth. We've had people lock themselves in the toilet for hours...as a result...if your not a customer you dont get to use it and no if, buts or why's is going to change that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

as far as i am aware.....
    its your constitutional right to be arrested as gaeilge. If a Garda cannot do that, he isnt allowed to take you in. which buys you a bit of time to make a run for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Originally posted by tman
    lol "scuse me occifer, i'm dying fer a shoite, teh law clearly states that i have ta do it in yer hat"

I guess it's a sad state of affairs but that's the funniest thing I've read here in ages...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by embee
    its your constitutional right to be arrested as gaeilge. If a Garda cannot do that, he isnt allowed to take you in. which buys you a bit of time to make a run for it.
    This is why Gardaí take Irish lessons in the Garda College.

They probably have the arrest / warning wording written down in English and Irish with their warrant card (Garda ID). Insisting on them getting an Irish speaking Garda when they needn't will get you in trouble for wasting Garda time (think double your sentence).

Making a run for it is not a good idea - all he has to say is "Garda! Stad Anseo!" and O_o you are looking at another charge for evading arrest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Originally posted by Victor
    This is why Gardaí take Irish lessons in the Garda College.

They probably have the arrest / warning wording written down in English and Irish with their warrant card (Garda ID). Insisting on them getting an Irish speaking Garda when they needn't will get you in trouble for wasting Garda time (think double your sentence).

Making a run for it is not a good idea - all he has to say is "Garda! Stad Anseo!" and O_o you are looking at another charge for evading arrest.

Dont you have the right to conduct the whole coversation as gaelige?

you also have the right to get a baton to the head