Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Power of Makeup....

• 31-10-2003 6:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭

I was sent these (1 2 3 4 5) pictures in an e-mail today and there was much debate about whether or not they were photoshop jobs or the real thing.

I've always said about celebrities that they only look that good because they have thousand-dollar an hour makeup artists working for them. This seems to prove it.

So what do ye think (especially he girls) can make up change people that dramatically?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Well up close you can tell when a girl is wearing excessive makeup, i think its horrible, i always go for a girl who i think has natural beauty rather than the skanks u c in town on a friday night who looks rather tasty at 15 feet but when u get up close u realise that shes fecking ORANGE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭sionnach

omg @ #4. And yes excess makeup is hideous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,156 ✭✭✭oneweb

"Lipstick, powder and a littol bit of paint,
    make a girl look what she jolly well aint."
    -Grüeber ('Allo 'Allo) :D

It is what it's.

• Registered Users Posts: 25 deletebert

No Makeup:definitely better.
    Like A. Kournikova after a quick game - top notch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭sunbeam

Oh dear. :eek: I feel a lot more radiant now...

I think some of these images have to have been photoshopped and of course a lot depends on the angle the photos were taken and lighting etc.

I personally am not a fan of excessive makeup, especially the luminous orange foundation that passes for 'ivory' on most beauty counters...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭CivilServant

No. 4 - ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Lol thought id logged on to schroet.com for a sec there....

Anyways, a little makeup does the job, but excess is worse than none. damn knacker byors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

Originally posted by deletebert
    No Makeup:definitely better.
    Like A. Kournikova after a quick game - top notch.

Thats Anna Hornikova right?? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

mad isnt it, and who the **** is egotiscal enough to spend an hour each morning applying all that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

Originally posted by sunbeam
    Oh dear. :eek: I feel a lot more radiant now...

I think some of these images have to have been photoshopped and of course a lot depends on the angle the photos were taken and lighting etc.

I personally am not a fan of excessive makeup, especially the luminous orange foundation that passes for 'ivory' on most beauty counters...

i think yur right there. i think whats making them look so drastically different is that their hair is tied back in all the pics. What would be a better comparison is if she had the same style and pose for the first shot and then the same with all the makeup and stuff.
    Also i do think that excess makeup looks nasty too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭sunbeam

Yeah, I couldn't decide if a few were wearing wigs or had new hairdos photoshopped on.

No.1 seems to have had her hair relaxed/extensions while her makeup was being put on, no.4 had her fringe cut and no.5 had highlights and a possible perm. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

A few of them look semi-genuine, but you can see the ones that have been Photoshopped just a little too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Oswald Osbourne

Originally posted by sykeirl

I've always said about celebrities that they only look that good because they have thousand-dollar an hour makeup artists working for them.

Well even if number 4's makeup artist is on a thousand-dollars an hour then she still deserves a payrise! (ie the original face must be a p.shop?)

Still, out of those 5 I'd only have deemed 1 and 2 as hot (and they still looked good w/o makeup anyway) so I guess it just goes to show ladies that makups not gonna do you much of a favour if you've got nothing to work with from the begining.

Less is more when it comes to slap IMHO! :)

ever see jordan without makeup? While I never really found her attractive with makeup - her before and after pics would fit in well with #4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

jayzus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Lukin Black

Gotta be airbrushed.. just a bit too perfect in the end up. I'm sure the make-up helped, but it can't work miracles - no. 4 looked like she'd need putty to even things up.

Originally posted by utility_
    ever see jordan without makeup? While I never really found her attractive with makeup - her before and after pics would fit in well with #4
    I've never seen Jordan's face.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

So it's back to the old adage about seeing what someone looks like when they step out of the shower...

TBH: some of the jawlines look changed - but I didn't look too closely

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭DriftingRain

#1 maybe
    #2 where did dhe get the highlights
    #3 Not the same girl
    #4 WOW
    #5 WOW
    That's all I have to say...These girls have to much time on there hands
    If a guy can't like me without all that then forget him!

WOW Again!!!

~DR~:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

Could you imagine waking up next to #4 after bringing her home from the pub and spending the night with her.... Doubt you'd ever drink again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭conZ

:: 1 - Same girl, just wearing a wig.
    :: 2 - Same girl, highlights can be half seen in the side pictures.
    :: 3 - Same girl
    :: 4 - Should be shot, but it's the same girl.
    :: 5 - Same girl.

Yea,., all the same women. 4 and 5 should just be shot, or,.. well, whoever wakes up beside on a Sunday morning should be shot/will shoot themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭Ste-

I just picked out a couple of the women on that list that I think are hot and I when I saw their 'befores' I had to say they still looked good without the makeup anyway.
    http://www.deansplanet.com/images/celebs/no_makeup/aliciaeating.jpg (bad pic - but you can tell shed look ok without food in her mouth :) )
    http://www.deansplanet.com/images/celebs/no_makeup/rachel_weisz.jpg

But the most suprising thing is the FRIENDS cast! It's horiffic :( It must be down to years of rehearsing and reciting those terrible scripts.
    http://www.deansplanet.com/images/celebs/no_makeup/courtney_cox.jpg
    http://www.deansplanet.com/images/celebs/no_makeup/jennifer_anniston.jpg
    http://www.deansplanet.com/images/celebs/no_makeup/no_makeup_lisa_kudrow.jpg

Ah c'mon ozwald the cast of friends aren't THAT bad. They're all getting pretty old and everything, but they seem like just bad pictures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,178 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Not to mention they're compare pictures of them when they were younger and with makeup

Yeah in fairness regarding those Friends pictures they definetly are the two extremes. Tho that said (and I haven't seen a new ep of the show in years) you CANNOT tell me that Phoebe currently looks like her 'before picture' when she's filming? So I don't think aging can be the total explaination?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Angelina Jolie looks great in both pics!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

theres a bit of exaggeration going on with some of the pictures... like lisa kudrow,the picture of her is a bad picture,then it had the quality lowered,then it was tinted grey-ish. And its compared to an absolutly stunning picture of her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭quaalude

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭The Second

i think whats making them look so drastically different is that their hair is tied back in all the pics.

eh yeah.. that and the plastic surgery between shots!

make up is great ... it hides hangovers .. lack of sleep... it is my sunshine during the winter months! It is a skill aswell ... an art form... an extension to your clothes and style

but I agree ... these pictures are scary... a lil bit of makeup goes a long way... but alot of make up scares men away!

der is no way these pictures were merely a make up job!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭hedgetrimmer

They could be genuine - especially if you're talking stage/movie set make-up. That stuff can really cover everything. The frsit 3 look easy enough, no 4 and 5 could be 'shopped

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Doodah7

What was it that Martin Fry of ABC sang all those years ago...

"Some things are hidden/some things you'll see
    Make them known/Signal to me
    Nine out of ten/In every case
    She might look pretty/But there's make up on that face..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

its alot more than just makeup, i didn't look at them all closely but no1 has a different eyebrow shape and they look like they've been dyed too, they're much lighter
    cosmetics can do scarey things
    i wish i could figure them out, heheheh :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

Good quality makeup can be helpful to your skin, if it has an SPF factor and built-in moisturisers, especially if you spend a lot of time out and about in a city, having exhaust fumes belched in your face and polluted rainwater spotting on your skin.

A lot of younger girls use makeup far too much, when in fact they could get by with none, and it's because of a lack of self confidence. Make-up's a great shield. You can rely on it too much when young though - Michelle Pfeiffer apparently, when 17, wouldn't go to the end of the pathway to collect the mail without putting on makeup first.

Plus at that age all you can afford is cheap crap so you're slathering stuff that's just not going to look good. Makeup is essentially paint for your skin. The difference in quality is an essential part of it not looking crap. It's like the difference between painting a picture using those washing up liquid bottles of primary colours that they give you to play with in primary school, and those tiny metal tubes of exquisite shades that professional artists work with.

If you get a little more confident when you're older you can use makeup to maximum advantage - hide the blemishes, even out the skin tone, take the shine off and bring up the best features, without plastering on so much clag that you leave half your face on someone's shoulder if you hug them.

As for the original poster's question, it's incredible the difference makeup can make. I wouldn't say the original pictures used are simply a makeover before and after - for starters there's some soft focus lens work going on in a lot of those 'after' pics.

Still, nothing's worse than that ultimate howler, badly applied foundation. In the wrong colour. That stops at the jawline. And it's tag-teamed with pearlescent blue eyeshadow. And black mascara that the wearer blinked while it was wet and now it's like tiny crows feet over her cheeks. And red lippie that's worn off in the middle. And two eyebrows that have been plucked into terrified retreat and replaced with a pair of painted on curvy lines that stop an inch from the hairline and give the wearer a look of permanent astonishment, as if they can't quite believe how bad they look.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭The Second

I think Minesajackdaniels just sumed up the whole makeup thing nicely...

don't forget the tougher women who like to outline their lips with a pencil that is about 10 shades darker than the lipstick... I think they are going for the porn industry look!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

Originally posted by The Second
    don't forget the tougher women who like to outline their lips with a pencil that is about 10 shades darker than the lipstick... I think they are going for the porn industry look!

what men dont like that?! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭DriftingRain

Hehehehehe
    what men dont like that?!

As far as makeup is concerned...men almost say we want the natural looking girl but always go for the painted up ones.

Minesajackdaniels Explains it correctly...The wrong shade of foundation can do terribly for the face and the wrong amount of the powder finish EKKKKK....See you men what we go through!!!!

LOL WOW.....Is all I can say....I could use a few tricks from those people that did the makeovers....... GEEZE:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 keeaumoku_tofu

are from the late Kevin Aucoin's book. He was an absolute genius make-up artist and I doubt very few could match his results.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭FoXXy

i reckon we should all just copy j-lo!
    the diva wont leave the house without her lighting assistants and make-up artists by her side... to give her the... "natural look" hehe:confused:

but then again we're not that desperate or rich so... guess we just have to work with what we've got,there'll always be someone out there who's thinkin ur hot :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

They get away with it in photos but in real life, you'd probably see a crust-effect.

After having painted my face for Hallowe'en, I can say that putting make-up on your face is just way too much hassle - it takes ages and you have to remember it's there every time your face gets itchy/you eat and drink/take a jumper off/kiss someone.