Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Loose Women

• 30-10-2003 8:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Do you people think it is a good healthy thing for girls (as young as 16) to just hook up with complete random blokes on a night out and have sex with them without even knowing them?

The question comes up when I hear about people I know, and respect(ed) (but who have perhaps been dumped badly or carry a few pounds) and then they just suddenly change who they are and start meeting lads who are just after 'something' and go home with them and just go at it...

As a bloke I know that although I might like the idea of pulling a girl and gettng straight into the sack with them, I wouldn't really respect a girl who did this thing on a regular basis. And i don't think blokes in general do.

It is OK with me if the girl has the same mentality as the fella, but from my experience of girls who've gone this way - they are people who have been hurt and who feel the only way they can find love is to go about it this way... and ultimately they just get used...

and what lad wants to go out with someone who could be regarded as an object... and has been used and abused numerous times...

like fair enough people have short flings, make mistakes every now and then, or goin out on a date or 2 b4 dipping in, but to just have repeated one night stands with any chancer...

to be just a shag

it's pathetic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Originally posted by Teddddddd
    Do you people think it is a good healthy thing for girls (as young as 16) to just hook up with complete random blokes on a night out and have sex with them without even knowing them?

No.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Teddddddd
    is there a point to this thread?
    apart from the fact that you like the idea of pulling a girl and gettng straight into the sack with them, but then complain that women behave in way you don't like?
    Is it cos everyone else is getting it bar you?

the personal issues forum is for people with problems

so state your problem....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

To get laid is pretty feicing simple, to find someone who is worth it is another matter alltogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

To be brutally honest its sad seeing any young girl whoring herself about, but that’s life. I'm sure you and I do things which many people here wouldn't condone but feck it, life’s like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭Havelock

Its horrible to think that people are like that, but I think some men only have one night stands most of the time to reafferm their "manlyness". We are also insecure.

Their also using it. Christ I (a man) have been used by women for one night stands. And yes have done it because I felt down or unattractive and someone paid me attention. Sex makes you feel good, the attention is flattering, use contraceptives and everything should be alright.

You can feel like an ass sometimes, hate your self the next day. Or you can go around smiling and happier for a short while. I'm condoning it, just saying it happens and my experiances with it have been mixed. Sorry if I went off topic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

Listen mate... this argument is nothing to do with a right and a wrong.

It's to do with a girl you fancy... who happens to do this, regretably, from your prespective, not with you. So you come up with some "moral" arugment, to justify, the fact that, she won't sleep with you exclusively, and this is disagreable with you.

Whoever she is... get over her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭Emboss

sounds like someones enjoying themselves to me

as an ugly red headed loose woman once said it's not a space shuttle launch...it's just sex....

ahhh warm apple pie.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭patch

Don't knock easy women!!!

Umm..... I mean don't knock UP easy women......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

Folks something i think a lot of people are over looking...

Life is indeed short and you should enjoy it while you have the chance. And if your definition of enjoyment is to shag your way around the city then go for it....just be careful and accept the consequnces if it goes belly up...

Waiting around in the corner for the "right person" can waste an awful lot of life....Get out and have some fun...

Originally posted by Peace
    Folks something i think a lot of people are over looking...

Life is indeed short and you should enjoy it while you have the chance. And if your definition of enjoyment is to shag your way around the city then go for it....just be careful and accept the consequnces if it goes belly up...

Waiting around in the corner for the "right person" can waste an awful lot of life....Get out and have some fun...

you mean if she goes belly up ?

Teddddddd the troll hadn't returned to his tread
    I'm seriously thinking of binning this
    while I think that over keep on topic* lads

*whatever the hell that is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭Big al

I dont think girls of 16 should be entering into sexual relationships though at 16 I wished that they did.

I think is all down to the level of emotion attached to the encounter, some see it as the expression of the love of the other person, some see it as a simple shag.

Whats your reason for getting together with a girl on the first night and whats her reason for getting together with you on the first night?

If you are looking at it as a simple shag whats wrong with her having the same view?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

As shocking as it may seem, not in most cases. Most people don’t have the necessary maturity to have sex for it’s own sake. They need to equate it to some deeper emotional meaning or form of commitment before they can indulge without some form of psychological side effects.

Additionally there are other issues with one-night stands. Other than STDs, there’s always the danger, more pertinent to women than men for obvious reasons, of ending up with someone either psychotic and/or violent.
    As a bloke I know that although I might like the idea of pulling a girl and gettng straight into the sack with them, I wouldn't really respect a girl who did this thing on a regular basis. And i don't think blokes in general do.
    Interesting double standard...
    It is OK with me if the girl has the same mentality as the fella, but from my experience of girls who've gone this way - they are people who have been hurt and who feel the only way they can find love is to go about it this way... and ultimately they just get used...
    What you’re describing is actually nymphomania which is a psychological disorder and not as common as you seem to believe. I think you’re also assuming too much by way of the ease with which women can get emotionally involved. Women are not that emotionally fragile and neither are men that emotionally detached.
    and what lad wants to go out with someone who could be regarded as an object... and has been used and abused numerous times...
    In fairness, if you equate a woman as an object under any circumstances, then I suspect it’s you who has issues.
    to be just a shag

it's pathetic
    The crux of your argument is that it’s pathetic because you would consider the woman an object. If the only thing that women have to worry about is that men like you would think them pathetic for sleeping around, I suspect they’re better off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

I think thats something along the lines of what Bob said in Chasing Amy where "Guys want to goto bed with a whore but wake up with a virgin"

Originally posted by Doodee
    I think thats something along the lines of what Bob said in Chasing Amy where "Guys want to goto bed with a whore but wake up with a virgin"

no they want to go to bed with a whore and wake up to a decent breakfast....if the cook is a virgin or whore doesn't really matter..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭yossarin

I think that if anyone is emotionally capable of sleeping around and is happy to do it, then more power to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

girls as young as 16?

what about young lads..... doing the exact same thing.......

not loving the double standards.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Originally posted by embee
    what about young lads..... doing the exact same thing.......

Also no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

How many d's in Ted?

1st Typedef:
    Your comment about it being about a girl I fancy is completely off the ball. Your amazing powers of intuition have let you down compadré.

Double Standards:
    From original post:
    "As a bloke I know that although I might like the idea of pulling a girl and gettng straight into the sack with them, I wouldn't really respect a girl who did this thing on a regular basis. And i don't think blokes in general do. "

I might LIKE the idea. In terms of pure sexual gratification.
    That does not mean I crave it and/or am a regular sleep-arounder.
    Women, moreso than men (but not exclusively), tend to look for relationships, tend to attach a stronger emotional bond to sex.

The overall point I'm trying to make is, young girls 16-25 who are actually seeking out a partner yet who have been let down in the past, who are just looking for some love and fall into sleeping around in search for it... due to bad body image, low self esteem, depression etc... and not because they have a huge desire to get laid (from original post "It is OK with me if the girl has the same mentality as the fella" ... ie. enjoy unattached sex)

Basically folk, I think it's sad when a girl who's been dumped and is hurt, fu[ks off and starts sleeping about while searching for a new beau, regrets it, but in a fruitless effort to feel better about themselves infact eats away at their already reduced self-image.

It's a sad story, and happens to too many girls... You're not Sex & The City until you're strong, independent and in control... you aren't all those things when your a 17 year old girl who's just looking for some attention...

Yes, but once again Tedddd
    I am asking you the question, are you speaking about a specific, personal situation?