Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sorry to ask again but, a few more questions on 'Controllers'

• 25-10-2003 10:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭

Sorry again about this lads but just a final few questions before put in the orders for my equipment. I was looking at the Sl 880 pro and then I saw the Sl 990 for much cheaper than the 880 in some online stores.

Now my question is what is the main difference between these two models?

Also

The Studio Logic 880 pro ses it has 2 Parrallel MIDI outputs
    and
    The Studio Logic 990 ses it has just 1 Midi Output

what is the difference in these, and do the Controllers not need a 'Midi In' socket also? If so the specs for those models dont mention anything about a 'Midi In' ?

The reason I ask if it needs a Midi In is because the way I though these things were set up was:

Laptop -> Via USB Connected to a 'AudioPhile USB' (External Sound Card with Midi In and Out port) -> connected to the 'Studio Logic' via a Midi Cable from the 'Midi Out' on the External Sound Card to the 'Midi in' on the 'Contoller' (in this case the Studio Logic)

Then on its return Path

Studio Logic 'Midi out' -> to the External Sound Cards 'Midi In' port -> then from the External Sound Card via usb to the Laptop?

Have I got this Idea right?

Because I intend on buying a 'Usb AudioPhile (The External Sound Card) Click here To see its info ' and then either the Studio Logic SL - 880 pro or the SL -990, and connecting it all up to my laptop and using 'Reason' Now with all that said would this set up work? Is everything compatible with everything?

If ye have any answers on these questions it would be unbelievably great help,

Thanks a Load.
    -Coz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭dragon_ninja82

Controllers only need to have 1 midi out. The midi cable coming from the sound card should have a midi in connection and a midi out connection. So you plug the midi in connection from the osundcard into the midi out on the keyboard (sorry if this is confusing). The main advantage from what I can see with the 880 is that you have 'zones' on the keyboard which as far as I can see means that you could assign on part of the keyboard to play one instrument on channel 1, then the next octave on the keyboard playing another instrument on channel 2, which would be very helpful sometimes, especially for organ vsti's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭-ADREN-

Yea cheers Nija, I follow you.

But how come I see on some other controllers on the net, their specs say they have both Midi In and Out ports? Why would they include a Midi In port if its not needed?

Also Would the set up I have above be combatible with each other If i decided to buy the equipment, I mean would I have a fully working Music Station in the end when its all connected to my Laptop and using the likes of 'Reason' software? Would I have something that Plays music :) ? With Piano sounds and other sounds etc?

Thanks again,
    -Coz.

The purpose of the midi in port is to allow you to connect another midi device through the midi in port and then onto the computer. For example, I can plug my controller keyboard into my drum machine though the midi in, and then use the midi out on the drum machine to connect both devices to my comp. The hardware/software selection you have there is compatable with each other. If its just piano sounds you are after im not sure reason is for you, its an amazing program but its more suited to dance music and synths (theres a downloadable demo on the net which you might wanna check out), maybe instead you should check out the steinberg studio case http://www.steinberg.net/en/products/bundles/studio_case/index.php?sid=0 which has a sequencer (cubase se) and among other things, has the grand vsti (virtual studio instrument) which as the name might suggest, is modelled after a grand piano (and many others). Hope this helps.

Cheers for the info Ninja m8 yet again :)

That Studio Thing looks great, thing is if I get that am I limited to just Piano Sounds? What if I was looking for Strings, and other funky kind of 'Prodigy' like sounds from my Keybored, where would I get them from? Or the likes of the kind of keyboard effect from the intro to 'Bliss' by 'Muse' if you know that song.

Thanks again and again m8 :D

Basically, using software like cubase or logic or v-stack you can run virtual instruments, which perfectly (in most cases) emulate there hardware counterpart. Using the grand vsti you are limited to the sounds with it, which are basically piano sounds, but if you load up the novation bass station vsti you get all the sounds that a bass station has, or if you load an organ or a rhodes vsti etc, the list is endless. With the right vsti's you could get an exact prodigy sound, but reason is pretty good for that aswell (reason can also be used within cubase). As for muse, a lot of vsti's have there own effects and arpegiators etc and these could recreate that effect.

Man your like a fricken god.. I'M getting all excited now, going to be placing my orders tomorrow. No doubt when I get the stuff youll never hear the end of me :)

Thanks aload m8, and talk to you soon.

-Coz.