Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Desperate Dunphy scraping the bottom of the barrel

• 24-10-2003 8:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭

I just flicked over on the break of Scrubs and I can't believe that he'd stoop so low - he just had a hand puppet of Gay Byrne answering an agony aunt letter from 'PK of Dalkey' whose problem was genital warts on his face. Seriously.

I mean, this just smacks of desperation. It's like schoolkid stuff.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,884 Mod ✭✭✭✭celticfc

I thaught it was hilarious. :D:D

Funniest thing i've son in a while (especially on TV3).

I also heared Dunphy say that he's supposed to make a regular appearance throughout the series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭ShaneOC

I thought his interview of Bertie last night was quite good. Had a quick look at who was on the Late Late and it was some gardener fella. FFS :rolleyes:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭Go Figure!

I thought Dunphy's puppet stunt was pathetic, incredibly childish and totally unfunny. He obviously has no confidence in the quality of his guests if he feels he has to resort to these stupid stunts to get an audience.
    Grow Up! Eamonn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Originally posted by Go Figure!
    He obviously has no confidence in the quality of his guests if he feels he has to resort to these stupid stunts to get an audience.

oh yes, the night this puppet is introduced is also the night the Taoiseach is present

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭Mac daddy

The interview with bertie was quite good. that puppet was a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

The puppet was oone of the most un-fucking-funny things I've ever seen. Absolute gutter trash.

I really enjoyed the interview with Bertie, high quality television. Following it with a fucking spitting image puppet telling jokes that a 12 year old knacker would find imature was just mind boggling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Glad i went out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

Glad I was at work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

In the bottom of todays article in the Indo on Dunphy and Esat BT thinking of dropping sponsorship because of his comments on taking recreational drugs, is the latest viewing figures for The Dunphy Show..

One of the lowest yet.

192,000 last Friday, but, if he changed to Saturday, he is getting 100,000 for the 11pm repeat.

Kenny had 540,000, also lowish, but always above the half million.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭DukeDredd

Try heading out on Friday nights lads - it's much more fun i swear :D
    Seriously though i think it was a mistake by TV3 to try to compete with the Late Late. Saturday night would have been much more successful for them.