Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dunphy Show violates fire & safety regulations???

• 10-10-2003 10:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭

Never heard a fire alarm go off during a live prorgam before but...

Is it not true that when a fire alarm goes off it's the responsibility of the fire officer to evacuate the building, even if it is suspected to be a "false alarm".
    And presumably turning the fire alarm off would be a violation fire & safety regulations - unless it was just reset....but even then it may be a violation...?

:f33r: :f33r: :f33r:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Thats why they went to the break.

There is always the one. it might have been planned to keep him in the news.

Could have been someone having a sly fag in the jacks or something and pat having the anti-smoking ban crowd on.

Spent all night flicking between the two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭Cork

At least Roy Keane, Bob Geldolf & Alister Campbell were class guests.

Roy Keane was a mighy guest. Great Show.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 6,527 Mod ✭✭✭✭sharkman

Turned into a slagging session for Roy with eamon the lapdog in tow ..

Once again ****E...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭The Weatherman

sharkman, you hit the nail on the head there.

they were like kids or someting.
    "so i told him where to go" - Keane, followed by
    raptorous applause and a smarmy s******
    from dunphy.
    terrible television.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭smiaras

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

If the Health and Safety ppl close the show down it'll be no loss.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

so was this the fire that melted his face ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭Hairy Homer

Originally posted by Cork
    At least Roy Keane, Bob Geldolf & Alister Campbell were class guests.

Roy Keane was a mighy guest. Great Show.

A little bias there judging by you moniker, methinks. That's fair enough. Now for an alternative viewpoint.

The Keane interview was utter muck. Nothing more that a trawl through the book, that the two of them wrote together, for the benefit of the tiny minority of the population that hasn't read it or who have not been made aware of its contents.

You're never going to get a searching interview when a guest is being asked questions effectively by his damned PR man FFS.

Gentle little questions setting Keane up to slag off his former team mates about 'stabbing him in the back'; pussy footing around the fact that he had insulted them in the most disdainful manner in a newspaper interview.

A good question would have been: 'Can you not see that criticising players for lack of ambition and saying "that's probably why they're playing where they are"' smacks of utter arrogance, the type of 'I play for United so my shit smells better than your' supercilliousness that just makes people want to break your legs? How could you hope to engender a team spirit when you made it so obvious to your team mates that you thought they were an inferior bunch to you? Didn't you even realise you were doing this? You were supposed to be the ****ing captain, for chrissake?'

But no. It was everybody else's fault. Not our poor little Roy's.

In cricketing terms, instead of bowling bouncers he was lobbing Keane a friendly full toss.

Now cricketers who spin the ball are called spinners.

Those who pitch a toss therefore must be called........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭K!LL!@N

In fairness to Keane, he is extremely focused and driven in what he does, and he expects those around him to be equally as focused and driven. They are professional players, it's their job. They're representing their country at the highest level possible, they should be ambitious, they should be focused, they should be professional in their attitudes and in their actions. Maybe if they were we'd have qualified for Portugal. He was right when he said we settle for second best, and worse. If i recall correctly he never named individuals in that interview with Humphrey's. So i don't think he did anything wrong.

This probably doesn't belong in this thread and i don't wish to hijack everyone ridicule of Eamonn Dunphy, so i'll shut up now.

Killian

ps. I'm not a Man Utd fan, just a disappointed Irish fan who thinks we should have done better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Totally agree with Homer on that.

Just to add the the double standards were horrific. Keane is 'driven' and 'profesional'. He wasnt always like that. He slags people off for going out drinking till all hours when that was EXACTLY what he used to do. Its alright for the almight roy to make mistakes but no-one else is allowed make them.

The only interesting thing was the fact he insisted that he walked out, when he traded on the fact he was kicked out for such a long time.

As someone said, truly awful television. Dunphy is showing that he really has no great interview technique.

I dont mind him when hes doing people like Geldof or Michael o Leary. With those people he's quite good at getting their background out and getting a good personal story from them.

When it comes to the crunch however, with people like Keane, Adams, Campbell he shows himself to be utterly incapable of asking the tough questions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭Hairy Homer

Originally posted by K!LL!@N
    In fairness to Keane, he is extremely focused and driven in what he does, and he expects those around him to be equally as focused and driven. They are professional players, it's their job. They're representing their country at the highest level possible, they should be ambitious, they should be focused, they should be professional in their attitudes and in their actions. Maybe if they were we'd have qualified for Portugal. He was right when he said we settle for second best, and worse. If i recall correctly he never named individuals in that interview with Humphrey's. So i don't think he did anything wrong.

This probably doesn't belong in this thread and i don't wish to hijack everyone ridicule of Eamonn Dunphy, so i'll shut up now.

Killian

ps. I'm not a Man Utd fan, just a disappointed Irish fan who thinks we should have done better.

Fair points Killian, and having pontificated about the Keane/McCarthy controversy at length elsewhere, I would agree that a full-blown rehash of that debate doesn't belong in this thread.

My main point here is that there IS an alternative argument to the Keane position as stated in his book, and a good interviewer could have put it to him in a contrary, if courteous, manner. That's difficult for anyone to do, but Mr Dunphy in particular, having ghost written Keane's book was in no way inclined to do it.

One thing you can say for the Late Late, even with Pat the Plank in the chair, is that they do encourage discussion with the audience. So maybe there might have been someone from the audience who could have put a hard question or two to him. That sort of behaviour is not tolerated on the Dunphy show though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭joey D

Keane is a great interviewee, the problem is he was being interviewed by Dunphy.

Two typifying moments: Dunphy holds up the book at one point - utterly needless and crass. Later he was about to ask him about the threatened England players 'strike' but somehow wandered back to the whole Saipan saga. It would have been great to hear what Keane had to say about that, as he plays with some current England players, Ferdinand included.

Keane is a fascinating character and unfortunately his appearance on Dunphy show will just further entrench the pro-McCarthy muppets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭K!LL!@N

Originally posted by Hairy Homer
    So maybe there might have been someone from the audience who could have put a hard question or two to him. That sort of behaviour is not tolerated on the Dunphy show though.

I think you've hit on something there. And i think it applies to Kenny and Dunphy, they both pander to their guests. Dunphy is just more shameless about it. I don't think Kenny would have asked any of the hard questions either, but at least on the late late there was the possibility of it being opened up to the audience.

Killian

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭IgnatiusJRiley

Originally posted by K!LL!@N
    I don't think Kenny would have asked any of the hard questions either, but at least on the late late there was the possibility of it being opened up to the audience.

Very true. But I think if Dunphy had've opened it up to the audience and someone had asked a difficult question they would've been shouted down because the vast majority were Keane-loving fanatics.
    This whole Keane-McCarthy finally helps me understand the whole civil war politics thing. Previously I didn't understand how the civil war could affect the way people voted when it was long gone and most of those involved are pushing up the daisies. But Keane-McCarthy still affects how Irish people feel about football event though both men are gone. So thanks lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

Originally posted by parasite
    so was this the fire that melted his face ?

:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Originally posted by IgnatiusJRiley

This whole Keane-McCarthy finally helps me understand the whole civil war politics thing...

Brilliant! :D

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

absolute fluff of a mocked interview.everything carefully rehersed by dunphy in front of a mirro so he wouldnt look unproffessional in front of super roy.
    absolute waffle,even people who havnt read the book knew and heard everything that had to be said before.
    keane looked so relaxed it was scary surely dunphy should have probed him a bit,although he was so excited im sure he would have loved to prob other parts of him!!!

was expecting at least one question bout the rape scandel or rio's drug test but alas no,our hero roy must not have wanted that or perhaps his hero fergie,and if they say no then by god does dunphy dare not rock the boat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,118 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Was out of the country for the show tbtjahhm :)