Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stun guns - illegal or not?

• 10-10-2003 12:15am
    Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Are the considered weapons or not over here?
    intrested in getting one off ebay, people are willing to post. but would not like hte item getting stoped at customs and the embarrasment of the letter comming saying it was takien...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Yes, they're quite illeagal.

I remember something about some cops getting stun guns from Germany, and henceforth being kicked off the force! Oh my!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭K2

They are classed as a firearm under the firearms act. Didn't have time to read it all, but if you can get a licence for a shot gun it may be possible to get one for a stun gun......you would have to come up with a bloody good reason though.

The Garda that were caught bringing in these items last week are under investigation, they have not been dismissed from their jobs, yet.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Originally posted by K2
    They are classed as a firearm under the firearms act. Didn't have time to read it all, but if you can get a licence for a shot gun it may be possible to get one for a stun gun......you would have to come up with a bloody good reason though.

With stun guns being so small, they could be concealed and i dont think you can get a licence as a result..

Where as a shotgun has to have its barrel a certain lenght and as such cannot be concealed too easily on ones person...

If i remember correctly, you also have to be a member of a gun club to apply for a shotgun licence... dont think they have stungun clubs.. :D

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Would there be any penalties in ordering one to someone's house?
    chance of it getting checked at customs?
    I could ask yer man posting it to put "demo" or "promotion" on it.. heard some of these things stop customs checking items?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭HJ Simpson

They are illegal as far as I know.
    The gardai who were stopped bringing them into the country were not sacked the WEAPONS were merely confiscated.
    The double standards in this country would make you sick!!!
    Nobody asked why they were bringing them in could it be for their second jobs as doormen perhaps??

HJS

YES, they are illegal - HOWEVER i'd say it's quite easy to get one through customs.

BTW stun guns aren't even that good. They wouldn't even down an attacker unless maybe you shocked him in the neck or sumthing. Also, whats to stop him from grabbing it off you and using it on you?

if you wanna make ur own "mini-stun-gun" you take a disposable camera with a flash. Remove the glass part over the bulb and then remove the bulb. Take the two wires that were going into the bulb and attach a paper clip to each of them and use selotape or sutmhing to hold them in place (they can't touch each other). Now charge it up and stun sumone for a laf. BTW it hurts like fook and will leave a burn mark on the skin for a few days.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Originally posted by utility_

if you wanna make ur own "mini-stun-gun" you take a disposable camera with a flash. Remove the glass part over the bulb and then remove the bulb. Take the two wires that were going into the bulb and attach a paper clip to each of them and use selotape or sutmhing to hold them in place (they can't touch each other). Now charge it up and stun sumone for a laf. BTW it hurts like fook and will leave a burn mark on the skin for a few days.

haha, might try that idea for a laugh so, take it the burn mark doesn't scar so?
    And it burns you more than shocks you does it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Err lads.

I think using boards to solicite information on illegal activities is probably against alot if not ever forum charter.

I'd give it a rest.

Utility_

There are three coppers who thought that aswell! Home made stun guns!! What next, do it yourself mace and pepper sprays?

BTW, Lenny, any particular reason why you would want such an item? Are you the new Charles Bronson ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭Serbian

Originally posted by HJ Simpson
    Nobody asked why they were bringing them in could it be for their second jobs as doormen perhaps??
    I wonder why Lenny wants one too. Anyone want to ask him?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Samson

Originally posted by Serbian
    I wonder why Lenny wants one too. Anyone want to ask him?

Maybe it has something to do with Lenny being a
    Tallaght Scumbag
    :p

Originally posted by K2
    Utility_

There are three coppers who thought that aswell! Home made stun guns!! What next, do it yourself mace and pepper sprays?

BTW, Lenny, any particular reason why you would want such an item? Are you the new Charles Bronson ;)

home made pepper sprays eh? Not a bad idea. You know the stuff that comes in glow sticks? Make em with that stuff...That shít is lethal...I got some in my eyes and I thought I was fvcking blinded for life.

Fireworks' fault for handing them out to drunk people...lawsuit waiting to happen :rolleyes:

and Lenny, I havn't stunned myself in so long I can't remember how long the burn marks last. Too scared of the pain tbh...The thing is the pain goes away pretty quickly - its like a muscle cramp or sumthing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

think pepper spray is supposed to be way more effective than a stungun, at least it was on jonny knoxville

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭SoundWave

I got some in my eyes and I thought I was fvcking blinded for life.
    thats a shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

homemade pepper spray

get 1 old mr. muscle spray bottles (empty)
    add a lot of salt/pepper
    add water and spray in peoples eyes
    hit them when there down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭PAPILLION

hmm,. pepper spray stun guns, blinding goo. what is this a diy dangerous weapons thread?

what next home made explosives or flamethrowers?

Incidentally take two matchsticks, some ductape and a can of.....

enuff i recon.
    :horned:

Originally posted by Samson
    Maybe it has something to do with Lenny being a

:p

haha, brillant one Samson.

About the pepper spray, yea glowsticks stuff is leathal.
    Also if yea want to give someone a _horrible_ taste in there mouth, pour a few drips in there mouth while sleeping or slip it into there drink,
    taste lasts for hours and is very unplesant.

Reason I was intrested in a stungun was... hmm not too sure. could come in handy someday, yea never know?
    or when yea are at a gaff an yea want everyone out. this thing could come in handy? :)

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 6,527 Mod ✭✭✭✭sharkman

I have one if you want to try it ..

Where did you pick it up from?

And stop copying my sig!!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 6,527 Mod ✭✭✭✭sharkman

Brought it back from New York in hand luggage about four years ago ..

And NO...:horned:

utility, if you have a strobe light, just do the exzact same as that as you did to the camra, holy **** some power outage of that I tell yea, the thing went right through me body and I litterly feel me hard skip beats, proberly because the electricity out of the plug is so strong and has a lot more amps,
    i was shacking for almost 20 mins and in some shock haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

if anyone has a link to the anarchist ( sp) cookbook pls pm :)

stunguns always looked intresting . your ment to be able to get some extreamly powerfull . but there all ment to be used near the neck or leg /arm as u have a good chance of numbing the part of the person thus making it easier to get away .

o and lads the 2 of ya have the exact same sig.... freaky

I didn't have a strobe light...I had a glow stick. And your best option is pepper spray, cause they wont be able to differ it from a deodorant or sumthing like that in customs.

Then again they probably wont even know what a stungun looks like either.

I've gotten some mad **** through in the past, but I think you should order it to your grannys house or sumthing just in case they go looking for the person who shipped it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭Mac daddy

Originally posted by elexes
    if anyone has a link to the anarchist ( sp) cookbook pls pm :)

Pm sent:D

i don't think much of the stun guns, i have used them a few times not very usefull:p

you will only get caught if your flashing it around just buy one and have fun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭PAPILLION

madness i tells ya.......

odlums porrige oats owl -> :f33r:

Does having fun with a stun gun involve connecting it to your nipples? :p

Btw Mac daddy, that is one cute blond, any chance there is more to the picture and if so can you send it to me?:D I could have a lot of fun just looking at it.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 843 ✭✭✭DaithiSurfer

Home made flame thrower.
    As the Man said a can of ...... and ducttape but a Zippo lighter instead of matches.
    Flame stays as long as the lighter is lit.
    I might walk through Tallaght some night with one. Anyone coming with me .... with disposable cameras and paperclips. lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,574 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by DaithiSurfer
    Flame stays as long as the lighter is lit.
    ...until you burn your fingers.

oldposts.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 843 ✭✭✭DaithiSurfer

Originally posted by Victor
    ...until you burn your fingers.

But thats precisly why its a ZIPPO lighter. So it doesnt burn your fingers.

Another good homemade stun gun are steel toecapped boots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Musashi

FIREARMS ACT, 1925 SECTION 1
    the expression "prohibited weapon" means and includes any weapon of whatever description designed for the discharge of any noxious liquid, noxious gas, or other noxious thing, and also any ammunition (whether for any such weapon as aforesaid or for any other weapon) which contains or is designed or adapted to contain any noxious liquid, noxious gas, or other noxious thing;

FIREARMS AND OFFENSIVE WEAPONS ACT, 1990 SECTION 9

9.—(1) Subject to subsections (2) and (3), where a person has with him in any public place any knife or any other article which has a blade or which is sharply pointed, he shall be guilty of an offence.

(2) It shall be a defence for a person charged with an offence under subsection (1) to prove that he had good reason or lawful authority for having the article with him in a public place.

(3) Without prejudice to the generality of subsection (2), it shall be a defence for a person charged with an offence under subsection (1) to prove that he had the article with him for use at work or for a recreational purpose.

(4) Where a person, without lawful authority or reasonable excuse (the onus of proving which shall lie on him), has with him in any public place—

( a ) any flick-knife, or
    ( b ) any other article whatsoever made or adapted for use for causing injury to or incapacitating a person,
    he shall be guilty of an offence.

(5) Where a person has with him in any public place any article intended by him unlawfully to cause injury to, incapacitate or intimidate any person either in a particular eventuality or otherwise, he shall be guilty of an offence.

(6) In a prosecution for an offence under subsection (5), it shall not be necessary for the prosecution to allege or prove that the intent to cause injury, incapacitate or intimidate was intent to cause injury to, incapacitate or intimidate a particular person; and if, having regard to all the circumstances (including the type of the article alleged to have been intended to cause injury, incapacitate or intimidate, the time of the day or night, and the place), the court (or the jury as the case may be) thinks it reasonable to do so, it may regard possession of the article as sufficient evidence of intent in the absence of any adequate explanation by the accused.

( 7 ) ( a ) A person guilty of an offence under subsection (1) shall be liable on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding £1,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding twelve months or to both.

( b ) A person guilty of an offence under subsection (4) or (5) shall be liable—
    (i) on summary conviction, to a fine not exceeding £1,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding twelve months or to both, or
    (ii) on conviction on indictment, to a fine or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding five years or to both.
    (8) In this section "public place" includes any highway and any other premises or place to which at the material time the public have or are permitted to have access, whether on payment or otherwise, and includes any club premises and any train, vessel or vehicle used for the carriage of persons for reward.

(9) In this section "flick-knife" means a knife—

( a ) which has a blade which opens when hand pressure is applied to a button, spring, lever or other device in or attached to the handle, or
    ( b ) which has a blade which is released from the handle or sheath by the force of gravity or the application of centrifugal force and when released is locked in an open position by means of a button, spring, lever or other device.

this is the law unedited by me.What it boils down to is you can't carry anything, even if you weren't out to use "insert object" on some one.The fact of your carrying something which could be used to injure some one makes you guilty.

The **** is illegal and not that effective anyways.You'd be better off with a good hurley FFS!
    What is it lately with pepper spray and stun guns??
    Put it out of your heads and learn to recognise/avoid impending ****e.
    If u want to chat about Self Defense do it over in Sports/SD Boards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Originally posted by Lenny
    Are the considered weapons or not over here?
    Yes.

http://www.justice.ie/80256E01003A21A5/vWeb/pcJUSQ5YBJWM-en
    (iii) Stun guns are totally prohibited in Ireland. Firearms certificates are not granted for these weapons.

And if you're caught with one without a licence, you'll be charged under the Firearms Act. Decidedly a bad idea to have one, basicly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭dogz

ive felt the shock from the cameras ir hurts like a bitch, i was using the camera flash as a spark for a spud cannon i was building, forgot it was charged and grapped the 3 wires to put them into the pipe. it hurts like a bitch, but for best results conect some 2.5 twin and earth to the wires and use the third wire wrapped around the reflector, it will make the spark jump about 8 inches when the button is pressed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

I have a stun gun, ill sell it to you :)

100,000 volt

Price?
    And what type is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Originally posted by Lenny
    Price?
    100 euros and two years imprisionment for possessing the firearm. Not sure how much extra for carrying it about or using it on someone...

Theyre great fun. I used to always carry it, never worried/paranoid.
    I used to fry bugs with it, it was cool. Also gave people quite a shock (no pun intended!)
    Forget what make it is.. its all the way upstairs i cant be bothered going up for it.

Its a hand-held one, fits in your pocket, its straight, the prongs are not at an angle.

wouldnt sell it for less than 100euro, i had SERIOUS trouble getting it into the country

DaithiSurfer why did you drag this one back up??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

BTW stun guns aren't even that good. They wouldn't even down an attacker unless maybe you shocked him in the neck or sumthing. Also, whats to stop him from grabbing it off you and using it on you?

Hmmm right... Check this out. Look at the videos. They can knock out a Bull so im sure a puny human will be no problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Nemici

my mate couldnt resist and stunned himself in the leg, he came to and had to change his underwear.......................

So does anyone wanan buy my 100,000volt one?! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭Micheal Wittman

Hey Lenny,

Stun guns are beyond a doubt not allowed in Ireland. Came across this when I was checking about importing an antique rifle.

http://www.justice.ie/80256E01003A21A5/vWeb/pcJUSQ5YBJWM-ga

To be precise...(iii) Stun guns are totally prohibited in Ireland. Firearms certificates are not granted for these weapons.

Regards

Herr Krupp Of Essen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Musashi

As for stunning a bull, bulls don't wear shoes. Electric fences **** them up where we just get a nasty shock.Stun guns are not worth the bother tbh.Better off with a good cane like the Cold Steel White WaxWood one,a Koppo stick,or a Sjambok!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 482 ✭✭spooiirt!!

théres a difference between stun guns and tasers. stun guns are crap. completely impractical. do you think an assailant is gonna stand there and watch you, shaking with fear,trying to poke him with your stun gun?
    generally youl be attacked from behind and by more than one guy.
    also for women, they are utterly useless. youd never EVER have enough time to get it out of youre hand bag in time to defend yourself!
    the only thing id ever carry is pepperspray, put me out of action for a good 15 minutes that stuff did, and it was a fairly crap brand.