Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Customs seize pornography worth €500,000

• 02-10-2003 3:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,647 ✭✭✭✭

"Investigations are continuing"..... looks like the lads will be busy **all** weekend ;)

http://home.eircom.net/content/irelandcom/breaking/1599119?view=Eircomnet
    Customs seize pornography worth €500,000
    Thursday, 2nd October, 2003

Customs officials have seized a substantial quantity of hardcore pornographic material in Co Cork.

The seizure follows the discovery of a consignment of pornography in Cork Airport Tuesday.

In follow-up searches, about 10,000 videos, 2,400 DVDs and 3,600 magazines with an estimated street value of €500,000 were found. Investigations are continuing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,647 ✭✭✭✭Victor

http://home.eircom.net/content/irelandcom/breaking/1599117?view=Eircomnet
    Illegal petrol seized by Customs in Co Leitrim
    Thursday, 2nd October, 2003

Customs officials have questioned a number of people after they seized a consignment of "doctored" petrol found to contain excessive levels of methanol.

The find was made yesterday when a tanker carrying over 16,000 litres of fuel was detained in Co Leitrim. The vehicle had loaded the fuel at a commercial site in east Donegal and was taking it to supply a number of premises in Co Monaghan.

Following tests the State Laboratory the fuel was found to contain more than three times the 3 per cent maximum amount of methanol permitted in petrol under an EC Directive.

A file is being prepared for the DPP.
    Well at least they can drive to Cork for cheap ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Porn is illegal? Bloody hell...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Originally posted by Sarky

sad really, isn't it :f33r:

Not quite, you'll only get in trouble for selling / importing / distributing it. "Personal use" is ususally not a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭CivilServant

So if the guy gave it all away, he could be ok :)

Or used it for himself.

Sounds like an impressive collection...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

Damn! Better place that order again then...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭one-angry-dwarf

I wonder what happens to it all. do they just destroy it? seems like such a waste...

Originally posted by one-angry-dwarf
    I wonder what happens to it all. do they just destroy it? seems like such a waste...
    Potentially it could be sent back to where it came from. I imagine most of it gets shredded (they need to keep samples as evidence ;)).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭one-angry-dwarf

yea probably...but what about drugs? i mean how do you destroy hash? burn it??!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

"Oh my beloved pornography!"Krusty the Clown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭oneweb

Originally posted by one-angry-dwarf
    lol, No doubt some of the payload will, um, go 'missing'. For the next month you'll be seeing nothing but smiley-faced Gardaí :D

It is what it's.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭TomTom

Or used it for himself.

hrmmm using 500,000 for him self. He'll have his winer worn out in no time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

Customs seize pornography....

yeah...seized...heh heh heh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭[CALIBUR]

what about buying pornography from other country...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

Dont worry Meat, customs wont snare you if you buy that scat porn you were after, just lash it in the bottom of your suitcase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭nesthead

NOO THE BOARDS BEER IS RUINED:horned:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,288 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

What's the problem with methanol in petrol ?

Methanol is a renewable resource, and since it burns with a non-luminous flame is less likely to cause secondary ignition by radiation, also being water soluble it's easier to put out. (burning petrol + water = well lets just say that water going to steam produces four times the volume of gunpowder exploding)

apart of course for the Duty...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,260 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

I can think of at least 4 places off the top of my head in Dublin city centre where you can walk in and buy hardcore pornography OVER THE COUNTER - completely legit so the issue down in Cork is not the subject matter of the videos (we'll assume it's straight porography, no children or fatalities involved) rather the fact that no duty had been paid on the goods. it is a money making exercise rather than an exercise in moral judgement. Pornography is not illegal in Ireland and the importation of pornography for personal use is not illegal. However as with most other things, bulk importation without disclosing the possibility of material gain to the government is very much illegal in this nanny state we live in. Sad ****ing fact gentlemen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭hedgetrimmer

Or used it for himself.

Reminds me of that bit in Chasing Amy, "You;ve got like 30 magsazines here" Reply: "I like a wide variety"

<actual quotes may not reflect reality>:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Panda

Originally posted by Victor
    Not quite, you'll only get in trouble for selling / importing / distributing it. "Personal use" is ususally not a problem.

Just like amsterdam, no wait thats drugs...... we're getting there tho...
    Originally posted by oneweb
    lol, No doubt some of the payload will, um, go 'missing'. For the next month you'll be seeing nothing but smiley-faced Gardaí :D

That explains why you get so many red faced garda shicaloni

The real point here is whether it has been though the Censor or not. The censor will pass all sorts of stuff (not rape scenes, some manipulation, some drugs, child pornography and the like) with an 18's rating. The likely problem here was this stuff was not being submitted for classification.

Originally posted by Panda

That explains why you get so many red faced garda shicaloni

I just thought they were drunk...