Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why'd you do that?

• 30-09-2003 4:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭

Is anyone else seriously annoyed with RTE????

All these great programs getting axed probably because the ratings drop... of course that wouldnt have anything to do with the fact that hey put on some great shows late at night when the appropriate audience is well and truly in the land of nod...

I mean come on, Stargate...cancelled..
    Earth.........cancelled..
    Off Center..canceled..

They should at least try airing these shows during the AWAKE hours first, if the rating drops then, then they could move it to the night slot, if they drop again then just axe them... its common sense really, beats constant over turnings of re-runs...

I mean, as great a showsas they were, how many mores are we gonna be subjected to the likes of Father Ted or another run of the James Bond season.... come on, half the movie channels dont have a bond season!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

only heard of one of them show stargate and that was nothing special so maybe i won't be missing them that much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

man Stargate is CRAP. I'm so glad RTE dumped it.

Hopefully they'll put something decent on instead.
    If a shows ratings are doing badly after, say, 10 pm, they can hardly say
    "hey, lets try it on primetime! It's bound to do better there!?!"

I'd prefer to watch Father Ted over, and over, and over, and over again then even see the credits for Stargate.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,884 Mod ✭✭✭✭celticfc

I wont be missing them at all. :)

I've also only heard of Stargate & it looks like complete sh!t to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭ColinM

All stations, not just RTE, traditionally bump sci-fi type shows in favour of what they consider to be more "main-stream" programming. Unfortunately they have to try to cater for the lowest common denominator.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

stargate - crap
    earth (i'm presuming you mean above & beyond or whatever its called) also crap
    off center - never heard of it.

good riddance ***, use the airtime to replay the sopranos or summat rte.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Sadly ireland is too small for niche genres like scifi to survive in. The airtime is needed for shows like Farmer Makeover and I'd quite like to be an ugly TeenIdol. irish TV channels are shite.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,011 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Stargate:SG-1 is the best sci-fi show that's around anymore. Of course you have to watch it for awhile to get both the mythology and the characters. However, if you don't like RDA (O'Neill), then you'll hate the show. I love his character because his sarky disrespectful attitude is reminescent of the flippant manner of the Doctor from "Doctor Who"...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭Cable

Has no body heard of off centre?

Its not even sci-fi to begin with, it's a comedy, most of the cast are the cast from American Pie, ie the guys who play Finch and the japeneese guy (ok i cant remember his name but he rocked)

And I didnt mean putting it from 10pm and stupid ratings to primetime and have stupid rating...that would be stupid.

What i meant was put them on trial around prime time, like the slot where they put Faterh Ted re-runs. And not all sci-fi sucks, The point im tryin to make is that RTE cancell shows that are never given a chance. I mean even Sky try airing a show for a week or two where the appropriate audience will see it before they decide they it may not keep ratings, how do you know that Stargate wouldn't boost ratings? I remember when it first starded at 6 o clock on a saturday it wa in the top 10 ratings list for RTE? wheres the logic in stopping the show for a year and restaring it at 1am without even so much as an advert?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Ok!

OFF CENTRE WAS AXED BY THE AMERICAN NETWORK THAT MADE IT!!! THAT IS HOW UNFUNNY IT WAS.

Stargate was going out at 5 o clock last year they'll bring it back, they just don't repeat and repeat like sky.

Do any of the British channels show these shows? i.e. BBC 1, 2, ITV or C4? i.e. the main channels. (c4 is showing Enterprise and BBC 2 shows STAR TREK TNG)

Earth Final Conflict is also very bad as far as TV sci fi goes, is that shown on Sky even?
    I remember when it first starded at 6 o clock on a saturday it wa in the top 10 ratings list for RTE?

N2 I wouldn't be to impressed to get into N2 top ten myself.

But I mean look what they've done to The Practice.
    They used to show it on RTE 1 every Sunday it used to get 250,000 viewers each week, Now they show it on a Saturday on N2 (Interupted by Dog Racing nearly every second week) it gets less then 91,000 viewers on N2. :confused:

Network 2's schedule is getting worse and worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭Cable

See now someone is getting my point, well almost anyway.

I was just using some sci fi as an example.

All the Irish stations would want to show some continutity.
    I almost hate to say it but TG4 are making the best progress out of the 4, I mean its programs are staying the same, within reson,
    their series are staying within the story and they show some great old movies. all they need is a little more subtitles for some more shows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭ShaneOC

Originally posted by Elmo
    Stargate was going out at 5 o clock last year they'll bring it back, they just don't repeat and repeat like sky.

Do any of the British channels show these shows? i.e. BBC 1, 2, ITV or C4? i.e. the main channels. (c4 is showing Enterprise and BBC 2 shows STAR TREK TNG)

Channel 4 shows Stargate (which is brilliant) on Sunday afternoons. Sky One has just started the new series on Mondays at 8:00.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭IgnatiusJRiley

Originally posted by highvoltage_ie
    Is anyone else seriously annoyed with RTE????

I mean come on, Stargate...cancelled..
    Earth.........cancelled..
    Off Center..canceled..

All truly awful shows. So in answer to your question, No. Get sky one and you'll be in heaven. They show all the sh** shows.
    StarSh**e
    Off Sh**e
    Earth Final Sh**e

Sky One has just started the new series on Mondays at 8:00.

Sky One is not a main British Station.
    Off Sh**e

I don't think Sky even showed this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭ElNino

RTE showed all the episodes of Off Centre albeit at ungodly hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭Mick L

highvoltage_ie makes a very valid point. Here's an example that really pissed me off. Take one of the worst shows I've ever seen on television X-it file (don't confuse this with the X-Files). X-it file was supposed to be a current affairs comedy??? I think. Anyway it was embarassing to watch, i used to get angry waiting for it to end because it wasn't just wasting my time, it was insulting to everyone's intelligence as well. It was shown on RTE1 at 10:30 I think. The reason I had to wait for this show to end is because after it, RTE showed one of the best shows ever to grace a television screen, The West Wing. Brilliant show. I'm thankful that RTE showed it but why show it at 11:30???

btw, Stargate is a great program, roll on series 7.

X-it file (don't confuse this with the X-Files).

I think it was more to do with another show called X-it Poll then the x-files.

X-it poll ran just before the GE in 2002.

I thought it was underrated, but some of the joke were very bad. Colin Murphy spoke to fast. I liked their entertainment girl, garda whats his name, the girl that took a piss take out of TV3's Ursal Haligan and Porterdown Live.

But indeed The West Wing should just have been moved to N2 if they felt they weren't getting enough viewers for it for Prime Time Midweek RTE ONE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Originally posted by Elmo
    I liked their entertainment girl, garda whats his name, the girl that took a piss take out of TV3's Ursal Haligan and Porterdown Live.
    Taking the piss out of Ursula Halligan is like shooting fish in a barrel with a machine gun. The woman is a living satire of herself (and the only reporter who can lick a ministers arse from over 5 miles away). "Oh, bertie'll be having a fine time of it this weekend (hey, I don't know what I'm doing here but I lost the bet and became 'political reporter')"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭Cheez

They cancelled Earth 2,a show which was fairly sh1te but i folled like a soap cuz it had cool creatures that just came up out of the ground and i thought were the best viable aliens ive ever heard of(especially as they were on an inhabitable planet hence the Earth 2). And a few people were corrupt n stuff,ah shur it was great altogether but either RTE axed it or i just didnt get to see the rest or maybe everyone hated the dam thing and it was never finished which i doubt

Have a lovely day now

Originally posted by Cable
    Has no body heard of off centre?

Its not even sci-fi to begin with, it's a comedy, most of the cast are the cast from American Pie, ie the guys who play Finch and the japeneese guy (ok i cant remember his name but he rocked)
    omfg, that show is so dire.
    "look at me, i'm British, i'm so zany and different to you Americans"
    might as well have called it "ethnic mismatch comedy 462"

Originally posted by tman
    omfg, that show is so dire.
    "look at me, i'm British, i'm so zany and different to you Americans"
    might as well have called it "ethnic mismatch comedy 462"

Family Guy quote no?

Originally posted by ixoy
    Family Guy quote no?
    simpsons i think...

You're right. Season 10 - "They Saved Lisa's Brain" (the one with Stephen Hawking)....