Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Favourites

• 23-09-2003 2:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭

OK, we need to get a bit of discussion going here. So, as i find the racing at the moment, pretty boring. I thought it would be best as an introduction to let us know of your favourite racing memories, favorite tracks, favorite horses. I'll begin with those three. Hopefully someone else will carry on.

fav race - Dawn Run winning the gold cup. Surely the greatest race from an irish perspective in the modern era. A seriously underrated horse in my view.

Fav track - To visit probably Leopardstown. Navan has a nice country feel to it. Ive been to a good few around the country. Tipperary was nice as well but I havent been there in ages.

Fav Horse - Not sure about this. Some stand out throughout the years. Early memories such as Assert, Golden Fleece, Stanerra, Istabraq but at the moment I go with Moscow Flyer. He has never let me down when i went big into him. He picks up and accelerates at the finish of his races. He wasnt far behind Istabraq over hurdles and is one of the superstars of the game.

Thats something anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭PH01

Though I'm just getting into the sport I've got a few.

Fav Track: Leopardstown for the national hunt, the Curragh for the flat, and Sligo for horse racing with a great view.

Fav Horse: Well anyone I put money on and comes home for me gets on my list of favourites. Allineedisamiracle and Wahab are my current favourites.

Fav Trainer: Aiden O'Brien - if your looking for a celtic tiger go no futher than this guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭pro_gnostic_8

Nice posts lads ............... s'good to read other racing fans opinions and memories..

My most abiding memory would be Frankie's seven-thru-the-card at Ascot five or six years ago. Sheer class. Although, Dawn Run's Gold Cup comes close, especially Des Scahill's commentary on the race.

Nicest racecourse in Ireland I've been at is Bellewstown for the scenery and the atmosphere. Worst without a doubt has to be Tramore ........... a glorified point-to-point track. Favourite UK course being Goodwood.

Favourite racehorse at the mo' is Tantina (even though she lost last Friday). Has done me four good wins over the last couple of months. The jockey I'm looking at currently is Tony Culhane, particularly when he is riding for Mick Channon. Two more wins on Friday for Culhane at 25/1 and 7/1, and a close second @ 66/1. The man is riding like a genius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Dr. Dre

Memory: Rock of Gibraltar failing to get up in time at the breeders cup a couple of years ago, topping off a horrendous away trip for Ballydoyle. He had a woeful start and even though he overtook the whole field in the last two furlongs just couldn't get there, a crying shame - no justice in the world.

Racecourse: I don't like going on course so-to-speak, quite like Lingfield & Wolverhampton.

Horse: Got to be Dubai Millenium, was absolutely gutted that he had to be retired. Was very fond of Rock of Gibraltar also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭R0UF

Have spent quite some time considering my answers on this so here goes:

Fav Track: Tipperary. Usually a fair test of man and beast.

Fav Horse: Dylan Thomas. Probably one of the greatest ever and would have won the Ascot Gold Cup if they let him take his chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

Morgans wrote: »
    OK, we need to get a bit of discussion going here. So, as i find the racing at the moment, pretty boring. I thought it would be best as an introduction to let us know of your favourite racing memories, favorite tracks, favorite horses. I'll begin with those three. Hopefully someone else will carry on.

fav race - Dawn Run winning the gold cup. Surely the greatest race from an irish perspective in the modern era. A seriously underrated horse in my view.

Fav track - To visit probably Leopardstown. Navan has a nice country feel to it. Ive been to a good few around the country. Tipperary was nice as well but I havent been there in ages.

Fav Horse - Not sure about this. Some stand out throughout the years. Early memories such as Assert, Golden Fleece, Stanerra, Istabraq but at the moment I go with Moscow Flyer. He has never let me down when i went big into him. He picks up and accelerates at the finish of his races. He wasnt far behind Istabraq over hurdles and is one of the superstars of the game.

Thats something anyway.
    Assert, about to get sick.Had my biggest loss ever on ASSert . I went to Longchamp to support ASSert Eddery rode [Roche jocked off] the conditions were shocking ,ground almost unraceable he finished nearer last than first.Golden Fleece the best 3yr old I ever saw.The best horse I ever saw was Storm Bird[2yr old] never trained on .Istabraq,Anaglogs Daughter,Carvills Hill.Better mention Pearlstone as I won a fortune on him when he won Galway Hurdle.Oh and my friends owned Montelado a great horse who had bad legs.Fav races Montelado winning bumper and supreme novice hurdle at Cheltenham,Roscomm Town was closed for a week,great time.Fav track in Ireland Leopardstown and Roscommon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,099 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

I know this is an old thread but it would be nice if we could keep this going, The forum is dead lately and needs a good conversation.

II'll reply later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Fav Race: Rumplestiltskin's Boussac win

Fav Track: Curragh

Fav Trainer: A P O'B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,006 ✭✭✭Shane732

Being a younger racing goer I'll stick to modern event...

Fav race - Denman absolutely putting the rest of the field to the sword when winning the Gold Cup.

Fav track - I have to say Galway, the atmosphere is just brilliant. I know most racing die hards aren't fans of Galway because it's seen as more of social thing that a proper racing festival. The quality of racing is poor at the festival but the craic is second to known!

Kilbeggan is a nice track due to the fact that it's quite small and you always have that feeling there's a good crowd.

Fav Horse - This is a tough one. Brave Inca would certainly be up there as would Denman.

Other to consider would be Hurricane Run, Henrythenavagitor etc....

Overall I think I'd have to go with Denman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭MassDeb8r

Fav Race: Kauto Star's second Gold Cup win, he put the wheels back on the bike as they say!

Fav Horse in training: Hurricane Fly

Favourite retired horse: Solerina

Fav Track: Cheltenham in UK, Punchestown in Ireland.

Fav Trainer: Donald McCain in UK, Willie Mullins in Ireland

Fav Jockey: McCoy (narrowly ahead of Ruby)

Fav upcoming Jockey: Bryan Cooper (Paul Townend has arrived!)

Most over-rated jockey: Mickaël Barzalona

Fav Presenter: Tanya Stevenson

Biggest loss: £800 sterling (evens) on Kauto Star in 2008

Biggest win: £2,500 sterling (7/4) on Kauto Star in 2009

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭pro_gnostic_8

MassDeb8r wrote: »

Biggest loss: £800 sterling (evens) on Kauto Star in 2008

Biggest win: £2,500 sterling (7/4) on Kauto Star in 2009

A kinda love/hate relationship with Kauto, then, Deb8r ? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Oscars Well.

Fav Race: Zenyatta 2009 Breeders Cup Classic

Fav Track: Fairyhouse

Fav Horse: Probably Denman

A kinda love/hate relationship with Kauto, then, Deb8r ? :)

haha very much so!!! I went against him in the King George and had to go lie down after he won :D

Some horse though, just a pity he's not Irish!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 strik

Fav Horse in training: So you Think

Favourite retired horse: Istabraq

Fav Track: Curragh

Fav Trainer: J. Bolger

Fav Jockey:Paul Carberry / Kieran Fallon

Fav upcoming Jockey:Joseph O'brien still upcoming?

Biggest loss: 600 -- 300 ew @ 33/1 returned 8/1 p.u. and pissed in next time out.

Biggest win: 10,000--- 900 @ 11/1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

Fav Race - 1. Denman's Gold Cup
    Close 2nd. Cesarewitch that Darley Sun won as i had him doubled and trebled with most things i backed for the previous 2 months. haha

Fav Track - Leopardstown/Listowel for the atmosphere. Pure racing wise Thurles is a cracker of a track. The hill on the back straight is a very good test of a horse.

Fav Horse - Probably Denman for the jumps, Dylan Thomas for the Flat.

Fav Trainer - P Nichols

Fav Jockey - D Russell

Lets keep it going also i think keep the how much talk out there is hardly any need for figures?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Fav Race: In general, I think the QM Champion Chase is the best race on viewing over jumps for the speed and quality of it aswell as the fact you have to be almost flawless to win it. In terms of favourite race in terms of horsemanship, don't think I can pass on AP McCoy's ride on Witchita Lineman in 09 Cheltenham.

Fav Horse in training:
    Big Bucks

Favourite retired horse: Voy Por Ustedes / Henrythenavigator

Fav Track: Aintree/Sandown in UK, Curragh in Ireland.

Fav Trainer: AOB/G Elliot in Ireland; Alan King in England.

Fav Jockey: Keiron Fallon or Silvestre de Souza (both very strong in a finish IMO, not just because of the stats they put up last year)

Most overated jockey: Ryan Moore (as much for his moaning as anything else)

Fav upcoming Jockey: Brendan Powell

As you can probably guess I got into racing circa 2006/07!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Overthelast

Fav Race: Flat - Sea the Stars Arc win. Jumps - Detroit City's Triumph Hurdle win (he ensured my first visit to Cheltenham was a profitable one :))

Fav Horse in training: Frankel/Al ferof

Favourite retired horse: Quito/Moscow Flyer

Fav Track: Goodwood & Cheltenham in UK, Leop in Ireland.

Fav Trainer: Paul Nicholls for UK/ J Harrington in Irl

Fav Jockey: Fallon/Ruby

Fav Presenter: Mike Cattermole

Biggest loss: €1,800 over the course of 2 days at the Nov Cheltenham meeting in 2009- I couldn't buy a winner that w/e for some reason.

Biggest win: €5,200 Rail Links Arc (@ 26/1 PMU)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

My drunken favs

Horse: Hurricane Fly

Up N Coming Horse: The Westener Boy

Jockey: Townend

Track: Galway/Cheltenham

Trainer: Oliver Brady

Presenter: Chapman (that commentary in Galway was top class)

Overrated Jockey: P.Mullins

Upcoming Jockey: B. Cooper

Race: Last years Cheltenham Gold Cup. Long Run, Kauto and Denman jumping the last together, Magical.

Owner: JP McManus. A lot of people say himself and O Leary are ruining the game, but IMO JP is invaluable to the sport, and the country. He does not get the credit he deserves.

ft9 wrote: »
    My drunken favs

Horse: Hurricane Fly

Up N Coming Horse: The Westener Boy

Jockey: Townend

Track: Galway/Cheltenham

Trainer: Oliver Brady

Presenter: Chapman (that commentary in Galway was top class)

Overrated Jockey: P.Mullins

Upcoming Jockey: B. Cooper

Race: Last years Cheltenham Gold Cup. Long Run, Kauto and Denman jumping the last together, Magical.

Owner: JP McManus. A lot of people say himself and O Leary are ruining the game, but IMO JP is invaluable to the sport, and the country. He does not get the credit he deserves.

Totally agree with you about JP being invaluable to the sport. Interviewed him a few times for various racing articles and the man has racing so close to his heart. He honestly doesn't know how many horses he has in training and for him it's a hobby. (I believe he had 340+ horse in training last year). O' Leary picking better horses at the moment but has many a lesson to learn about contributing to the sport the way that JP does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭mountai

"has many a lesson to learn about contributing to the sport the way JP does"

Elaborate please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭windy bee

I just believe that JP contributes more to the sport than O'Leary does.

Off the top of my head I know that from 2006-2009 he donated over €424,000 to the Irish Horse Welfare Trust, Drogheda Memorial Fund, Jim Olde Racing Charity, Jockeys’ Accident Fund, Jockeys’ Emergency Fund and the Injured Jockeys’ Fund.

JP often keeps horses in training for smaller yards just to support the yard even though the horse might not have a great chance of a successful career.

I also like the way he sponsors smaller races throughout the country and not a high-profile "ryanair chase" and JP doesn't go on the back of his publicity remember O Leary's "free flights for everyone" comment after war of attrition won the 2006 gold cup.

I just believe the two men are on opposite ends of the scale and although both clearly support and love the sport, are in it for different reasons.

And no, I'm not related or affiliated to JP anyway but I recognise his support of racing at a grass roots level and have yet to see O' Leary do similar despite his resources but am hopeful that he will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Fav race - In terms of races ran, I probably have 2 favs, from back when I was very young. Moscow Flyer's tingle creek beating Azertioup and Well Chief, and Beef or Salmon's defeat of Best Mate. Both we're written off prior, Moscow for being surpassed and Beef for not being good enough, yet both we're awesome in beating their huge rivals. Didn't hurt that I had a few quid on, back when I used to plan my bets months in advance!

For actual annual races, an obvious one maybe but I always walk away after watching the Grand National with the heart pumping thinking "what a fcuking race"

Fav track - Can only be Cheltenham really, nothing like it.

Fav Horse - As mentioned above, huge Beef or Salmon fan and loved Moscow Flyer too. They were the horses that got me into racing. Nowadays i'd have a soft spot for Captain Cee Bee and Sprinter Sacre.

Fav Jockey - Paul Carberry can be the most infuriating bastaard, but at his best i've never seen anyone as good.

Fav Trainer - If I had a horse and the money i'd stick him in with Gordon Elliot. Used to be a massive Nicholls fan, and then Mullins, until they became very 'in vogue' and with it the ferocious spotlight and underpriced horses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭tryfix

Fav NH Horses. Kauto is the the best chaser I've seen, loved Carvills Hill but he was flawed, he had the best engine of any NH horse I've ever seen. Remittance Man was a magnificent Champion chaser, his jumping was flawless when he was at the height of his career.

I didn't like Desert Orchid, but in the modern era he was second only to Kauto in what he achieved.

Istabraq was my favourite hurdler by a long way, a different class than everything other than See You Then.

Fav Flat Horses. Montjeu, his Arc win as a 3yo and his King George win as a 4yo were out of the top drawer. Zilzal was my favourite miler . Arazi in the BC juvenile is my favourite 2yo performance, Frankels Royal Lodge win as a 2yo is a close second.

Dancing Brave, Sea The Stars and probably Frankel are the only horses of the modern era that are of the standard of the all time greats.

Fav Races.

Dawn Runs Gold Cup.

Danolis Hennesy Gold Cup.

Old Vic's second to Belmez in the King George as a 4yo.

Fav Track. Leopardstown.

No favourite trainer, John Oxx handles his best horses very well, if he has a champion he will campaign it to perfection.

Fav Jockey.

Flat, Johnny Murtagh, he's not flawless but top class and a nice guy.

Jumps. Ruby Walsh. Richard Dunwoody and John Francome were very good in their day, stylish and confident.

Morgans wrote: »
    ............. I thought it would be best as an introduction to let us know of your favourite racing memories..............

Went to Kempton with my Dad back in 2006 for a day meeting, had had a look at the card the day before, was lucky enough to have picked a winner or two, had nothing major on them but Dad had followed me too so we were both up a small few quid. For the last race we said we'd back the fav but it was odds on so we went for Robert Winston (we noticed he had a few rides when looking at the card) on an outsider, Great Hawk, I was having a £10ew and so was Dad so we did £20ew at 20/1 with the only bookie offering those odds, most were 16 or 18 to 1, and Great Hawk won :eek:

Afterwards we got Robert Winston to sign our racecard (:o), we said to him we thought he might have a winner, he replied to us as he chuckled away "I didn't think it would be on that yoke" :cool:

I'll always remember that day at the races as one of the best.

I'll never forget the race with Limestone Lad and Likeabutterfly in the Champion Hurdle either, a wonderful duel they had.

Hulk Hands wrote: »

Fav Horse - As mentioned above, huge Beef or Salmon fan ................

Fav Jockey - Paul Carberry.............

.... Paul beckoning to Jim Culloty I thought was epic tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

RoverJames wrote: »

.... Paul beckoning to Jim Culloty I thought was epic tbh.

It was a scummy thing to do, there is a certain thing called respect. You don't mock a triple Gold Cup winner.

Similar to when Scudamore did it to Denman in the Aon that year.

Both jockeys came off looking like *****

In some folks minds, I thought it light-hearted rather than disrespectful :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

It was a scummy thing to do, there is a certain thing called respect. You don't mock a triple Gold Cup winner.

Similar to when Scudamore did it to Denman in the Aon that year.

I remember Scu doing it, when did Carberry do it?

Actually I remember Brian O Connell on Dunguib having a long look at Ruby on Fionnegas in the last 100 yards at Leopardstown. Ruby had been throwing the sink at the horse well before the bend and to see this piss poor jockey on what looked a top horse doing that to someone of Rubys calibre made my blood boil.

I was delighted when he got dogs abuse after his ride in The Supreme. Even happier now to see his strike rate at 7%.

Completely agree on the respect issue, its very slighly more acceptable when its a proper jockey but seeing a ****ebox doing it to in my opinion the best around is unacceptable.

hucklebuck wrote: »
    I remember Scu doing it, when did Carberry do it?

.........2004 Lexus Chase.

3.20 ish on this video.........

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=ZOEAQrCvgvI

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Don't like that disrespectful demeanour.

I remember Jamie Spencer doing it to Fran Berry as he passed him on the bridle in the Irish Oaks on Sariska. Jamie defended himself by saying they were good mates, still not something I like to see. He could make a joke in the weighing room or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭Huntey

I wasn't a fan of either incident, but particularly Scudamore for doing it when Denman was at deaths door. The guy is an imbecile.
    Actually I remember Brian O Connell on Dunguib having a long look at Ruby on Fionnegas in the last 100 yards at Leopardstown. Ruby had been throwing the sink at the horse well before the bend and to see this piss poor jockey on what looked a top horse doing that to someone of Rubys calibre made my blood boil.

I was delighted when he got dogs abuse after his ride in The Supreme. Even happier now to see his strike rate at 7%.

Completely agree on the respect issue, its very slighly more acceptable when its a proper jockey but seeing a ****ebox doing it to in my opinion the best around is unacceptable.

I don't understand why that incident would make your blood boil. It was a cocky thing to do but just because BOC isn't on the best horses doesn't mean he is a ****ebox or a piss poor jockey.

If you met Ruby you would probably explode, he is the cockiest and most ignorant person in the business.

Huntey wrote: »
    If you met Ruby you would probably explode, he is the cockiest and most ignorant person in the business.

Often comes across like that when he is interviewed and at a Cheltenham preview night I was at years ago.

I don't understand why that incident would make your blood boil. It was a cocky thing to do but just because BOC isn't on the best horses doesn't mean he is a ****ebox or a piss poor jockey

It made my blood boil as here is a guy who in my view hadn't made his bones riding a machine showing utter disrespect to a man who has and was on top of his game. Surely this makes sense. You have to ask yourself why he isnt getting better rides.

Maybe Ruby is, I am sure plenty of them are but I dont recall seeing Ruby, Geraghty or Davy Russell doing it in a race. Professional courtesy costs nothing.

Never said I approved of Carberry or Scu doing it but at least they have made their bones.

Completely agree on Scu by the way, a blind man could have seen a Denman sending out distress signals that far from home was still suffering from his heart scare.

It made my blood boil as here is a guy who in my view hadn't made his bones riding a machine showing utter disrespect to a man who has and was on top of his game.

Fair enough.
    Surely this makes sense.

It does but you seemed to come across more uptight about this incident when what Paul and Scudamore did was far more disrespectful.
    You have to ask yourself why he isnt getting better rides.

He certainly isn't one of the best jockeys around but it is surprisingly difficult to break into any top yards where you can have a chance of a winner every week. Philip has been good to him and is probably happy enough to tip away down there.
    Maybe Ruby is, I am sure plenty of them are but I dont recall seeing Ruby, Geraghty or Davy Russell doing it in a race. Professional courtesy costs nothing.

I'd borderline describe Ruby as an asshole. He has earned the right to be like that but as you say, professional courtesy costs nothing. Professionalism extends well beyond the racecourse in this day and age aswell.
    Never said I approved of Carberry or Scu doing it but at least they have made their bones.

I find it disrespectful no matter who does it, be it a pointer or a multiple time champion jock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭meriwether

Did anyone read McCoys autobiog?

He slated Jack Doyle as being very unpleasant. It was just a thrown in paragraph, he must have really pi55ed of AP at some stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

Favourite Race: Flat - When Sea The Stars won the Arc.
    NH - Long Run's GC win last year

Fav Horse in training: Flat: Frankel, NH: Big Bucks

Favourite retired horse: Sea The Stars/Denman

Fav Track: Leopardstown is the only one I've been to, so probably that one.

Fav Trainer: Paul Nicholls/Willie Mullins

Fav Jockey: Richard Hughes/Davy Russell

Most Over-rated Jockey: Ryan Moore

It does but you seemed to come across more uptight about this incident when what Paul and Scudamore did was far more disrespectful.

I said it was "very slighly more acceptable when its a proper jockey", I didn't like any of the incidents, there is no need for it.
    He certainly isn't one of the best jockeys around but it is surprisingly difficult to break into any top yards where you can have a chance of a winner every week. Philip has been good to him and is probably happy enough to tip away down there.

I don't mean break into a yard, there are loads of spare rides and they are given to the best available.

Favourite Race Flat - Sea The Stars Arc, the way he pulled for the first three furlongs and the way he ghosted up the inside off the bend to get out and romp home as he liked

2nd Favourite Flat Race - Notnowcatos Coral Eclipse in 2007, superb ride by Ryan Moore, took the horse diagonally round the bend onto the far rail for the quicker ground, Authorised and Geroge Washington (RIPfrown.gif) having a ding dong on the inside rail and Cato won it.

NH:

Favourite - Denmans Gold Cup, visually unbeliveable, the way he travelled, jumped and to have a horse like Kauto Star under pressure coming down the hill is just incredible.

Second Favourite - Monets Gardens Betfair Ascot Chase win, Geraghty started with him getting a lead from The Sawyer and Herecomesthetruth, Monet with the ears pricked as usual and twitching left Geraghty no choice but to send him to the front. I remember Geraghty giggling away as he was being interviewed after the race.

Third Favourite (I know, greedy!!) - Lough Dergs Steel Plate Hurdle 2009, typical Lough Derg under a strong drive with Mc Coy(Franchoek), Walsh(Five Dream) and O Reagan(No Refuge) queuing up to pick him off, over the last Lough Derg is back in third with No Refuge going best and in last 50 yards Lough Derg gets by Franchoek and collars No Refuge on the line. Ruby rides over ignores Scudamore and given Lough Derg a slap on the neck and rides off.biggrin.gif

Fav hurdler in training - established: Hurricane Fly
    Younger hurdlers - Samain & Zarkandar

Fav chaser in training - Sizing Europe
    Younger chaser - Grands Crus

Favourite retired horse flat: Sea The Stars / George Washington

Favourite retired horse NH: Denman/ Monets Garden

Fav Track: Cheltenham

Fav Trainer: Paul Nicholls/ John Oxx

Fav Jockey: Ruby Walsh

Best Training Performance : John Oxx keeping Sea The Stars ticking over all season to smash everything Ballydoyle and the other yards had to throw at him.

I have all of these races, if you want a look at them PM me and I will send you a link. smile.gif

I'd borderline describe Ruby as an asshole. He has earned the right to be like that but as you say.............

I shared a house with a lad who went to school with him, he was like that apparently long before he earned the right to, the same lad reckoned everyone loved Ted Junior.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Went to Kempton with my Dad back in 2006 for a day meeting, had had a look at the card the day before, was lucky enough to have picked a winner or two, had nothing major on them but Dad had followed me too so we were both up a small few quid. For the last race we said we'd back the fav but it was odds on so we went for Robert Winston (we noticed he had a few rides when looking at the card) on an outsider, Great Hawk, I was having a £10ew and so was Dad so we did £20ew at 20/1 with the only bookie offering those odds, most were 16 or 18 to 1, and Great Hawk won :eek:

Afterwards we got Robert Winston to sign our racecard (:o), we said to him we thought he might have a winner, he replied to us as he chuckled away "I didn't think it would be on that yoke" :cool:

I'll always remember that day at the races as one of the best.

What stripclub did yourself and Dad hit then James? :pac:

More to the point, that is a fantastic story and nice to have the souvenir to go with it. One for the grand kids as the saying goes.

... just dug out the racecard, I had £20 on Ceremonial Jade at 12/1 earlier that day, Oscar Urbina was on that, excellent jockey at Kempton, the racecard highlighted him as being the one to follow as for that year he was "top of the tree" for level stakes profit, also had £10 on a 4/1.

Could do with a winner these days :pac: