Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bloody Chopper Over Ifsc

• 23-09-2003 1:03pm
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭

WHAT THE F*CK IS THAT CHOPPER LOOKING FOR FLYING OVER THE IFSC?

Cant get any work done with its thundering overhead.

If someone can get me a loan of an RPG, il go out and take it down!!

Its bad enough that we dont have enough SAR choppers to to be wasting time flying in circles is even worse.... im going MAD now!!! no wait.... ARG THERE IT IS AGAIN!!!!

*got me RPG....* BANZAIEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Magic Monkey

An RPG won't work, because of the arc and the weakness of the explosive charge. A stinger would be better, but you may need two shots, unless you hit it on the nose.

"Requesting a pickup!"

(Apologies for the spam)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭bloggs

Originally posted by Morphéus

Its bad enough that we dont have enough SAR choppers to to be wasting time flying in circles is even worse.... im going MAD now!!! no wait.... ARG THERE IT IS AGAIN!!!!

Eye in the Sky traffic report?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Originally posted by Morphéus

You're right. It would probably be much better if they just flew around an empty field near Mullingar.
    Or just kept it on the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Originally posted by Magic Monkey
    An RPG won't work, because of the arc and the weakness of the explosive charge. A stinger would be better, but you may need two shots, unless you hit it on the nose.

"Requesting a pickup!"

(Apologies for the spam)

It's not an apache!!

Jesus some scumbag could take it down with a rock:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Maybe not the same chopper but I was watching a film in the Temple Bar area outside (you know those free films they have in the square). For about 15 minutes this loud bloody annoying helicopter was hovering over us. It was so bloody annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Raz

You've obviously never flown a helicopter.
    It's just plain fun :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

i work in the IFSC, i havent heard this so called chopper once

stop making feeble excuses why your not doing your work like your supposed to :p

what building in IFSC you work at?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

some bloke decided to take a swim in the liffey, they were trying to find him.... must be an allied pilot who ejected like they did in iraq at the start of the war !???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭Havelock

The Gardi Helicopter? You don't need a Stinger, a Russian made RPG-7 or a LAW, any straight projectile with explosive head will do. Low altitude, slow speed, usally hovering. If its moving remember to lead about 10-20 feet in front, to compensate. Piece of pie,or even a AA gun. Preferably proximity detonation rounds (30mm), failing the abilty to get that from your friendly lcal arms dealer, just purchase alot of rockets (tis the season), go on line, read one or two things, make modifications. Construct shoulder mount fireing platform, lightem' up and good luck! :)

I don't condone any unprovoked attack on Government owned hardware. I qute like the Gardi, wish they had one of those low visablity silent black choppers, or a Osprey. Um...Military Hardware....*glazed look on face, far away in the eyes* anyway.

Buy ear plugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭colinsky

It's sad that the helicopter is distrubing you, but they were trying to save someone's life:
    A search is continuing this afternoon for a man who's missing in the River Liffey in Dublin.
    Gardai were alerted to the scene just after one o' clock. It's believed the man, who's a non-national was fully clothed when he fell in. The air support unit and the Garda water unit are still at the scene.
    http://unison.ie/breakingnews/index.php3?ca=9&si=43111

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

no no no!!!! im glad they were there, i was just annoyed cos at first ithought they were just patrolling like the gardai chopper usually does, im not annoyed at all... im going to go away quietly now and cry.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

That damned helicopter is always flying around! I live here in the IFSC and it's there nearly every bloody night - whilst I'm well... probably here at the PC. It's most likely on Skanger Alert anyway. That or bored Gardai taking it around for a bit of fun...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

Speaking of the Garda Chopper. Did anyone see "America's best car chases" on Sky 1 the other night. A beamer being chased by police loses control on the dual carriageway, spins across the central reservation, barely misses an on coming car coming in the opposite direction and plows into a ditch. The occupants jump out, hop over a wall into some back gardens and hide. The coppers are directed by the chopper and eventually find the scumbags.

Its unusual to see UK chase footage on "America's best......." but they do show some occasionally. I'd say its pretty damn unusual to hear the Police pilot say, "Nice one lads" in a Dublin accent! Our very own boys in blue on American TV! :D:D The program presenters voiceover was great. "These Irish criminals were caught by the brave Irish Cops.......the only thing they'll see now is the inside of a prison cell for a VERY long time........etc etc.

Had to laugh at that. "Nah mate, they'll jump bail, eventually get picked up, still only get the probation act, and will be driving a different stolen beamer next week"

Our version of 3 strikes is 62 strikes and.......oh dear we've no room in any of our juvenile detention facilities........give him the probation act again...... :rolleyes: :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

How the HELL does one fall into the Liffey??

Must be awful, just plain HELLISH!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Spacedog

get the wee kid from intermission to lob a rock at it! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

Originally posted by joseph brand
    How the HELL does one fall into the Liffey??

Must be awful, just plain HELLISH!!

yeah you'd probably just hit a shopping trolley!:)