Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mindcontrol do U believe in Keith Barry?

• 07-09-2003 6:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭

What is the craic here? With all these URi Geller, DAvid Blane, Keith Barry.
    Do you think telepathy is possible, can people read minds, talk with the dead or see into the future?

Was Nostradamis a good hoax or a man that could see the future?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭TetsuoHashimoto

Do humans have another perception beyond the 5 senses, or is premonition and magic just fake?

has anyone seen Keith Barry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Seen his show today, usual crap. Errie music, and reflection crap.

His tricks where the same old card tricks you see everywhere, except he added some twists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭DMT

The blindfolded car driving was funny - "By the way Katryn, while I'm hurtling towards a ditch, ye couldn't think of a film could ye?"

The palming the black guy's watch bit was crap though - no doubt another bit of David Blane style editing where they make it look like they go over to the reptile tank immediately after making the watch disappear, not showing the bit where he's palmed the watch off to someone from his right pocket while doing another trick.

Just like David Blane's throwing the card through the car window trick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭phobos

I've never actually seen (or heard of) Keith Barry. How different would he be to the likes of Derren Brown?

*** I'm fascinated with some of the things DB appears to be doing. But one question that was asked, and I believe to be extremely relevant to how magic, etc, is presented today is..."is it real, or it fake". Now of course magic isn't real. I believe magic to be a combination of skill and knowledge applied by the magician in front of a group of people who are simply ignorant to what is actually happening. But it's all in the name of entertainment. So to take for example, you see some trick that amazes you, and soon after find out how it's done, immediately you're no longer impressed (ie. elimination of ignorance).

But then there is what DB is doing, which is more psychological. I "want to" believe in this. I am willing to keep an open mind, and not be as skeptic as I usualy tend to be. I believe this kind of stuff to be the output of advanced human mental abilities, that everyone is capable of. When we dont' understand something we like to throw a name at it such as "is it telepathy", "is it mind reading", "is it a 6th sense", etc. For quite a long time I've been interested in exploring how the human mind works. I would like to think that most of us haven't reached our full potention (what ever that is, and furthermore, will we ever reach it [..because how could we know when we get there]). I just think that DB has exploited the whole area of psychology to a degree where his shows come across as magic to us.

We are ignorant towards what we perceive, and we are ignorant to what is really happening. But without that, we wouldn't be entertained ;)

;-phobos-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

I'm really impressed with Derren Brown and while some of his stuff seems far fetched, some of it really holds water.

I especially liked the show where he had the marketing guys come up with a poster/logo and they fond that it matched the one he had predicted earlier.

He'd travelled the route they took to work and looked for images on posters abd billboards etc, that they subconciously took in.

It's more "psychological prediction" than anything else and alot of the time its an educated guess (he rarely guesses "perfectly") or reading a person body language.

I'm thinking of taking up an evening psychology course out of inspiration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭wiensta

Derren Brown does have talent in my opinion.

He is not magic, nor does he claim to be, he is simply an excellent observer of human behaviour and can play on it.

Im certain enough that he does pull off his stunts without the aid of camera trickery or actors.

He has a book which is soon to be released and apparently it is very advanced and more of a psychology textbook than a beginner friendly book of cheap derived tricks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭Spunog UIE

Derren Brown is class I think, only one of these lads that I like to watch, funny the one with him on the beams and the guy giving him instructions and told to lie, and midway double guessed himself. Ya the advertiser one was brillant too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

He actually put the posters/images there himself in the advertising show didn't he? Yea, he's not a magician but the stuff he does is a lot more impressive than David Blaine's shite.

And he doesn't come across as a total mongoloid either, which is always a bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

Brown is brilliant. Especially when he starts the pick pocketing !

Keith Barry, I struggle with, probably because I have known the lad since we were kids chasing women. I wish him all the best though. From the first show, it seemed he did pretty well, but he doesn't have the charisma of his competitors on screen and is more than a little derivative. David Blaine at the time was something fresh and that added to his impact. Keith so far appears to be more of the same.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Originally posted by wiensta
    Derren Brown does have talent in my opinion.

He is not magic, nor does he claim to be, he is simply an excellent observer of human behaviour and can play on it.

Im certain enough that he does pull off his stunts without the aid of camera trickery or actors.

He has a book which is soon to be released and apparently it is very advanced and more of a psychology textbook than a beginner friendly book of cheap derived tricks.

Been an “excellent observer of human behaviour” and doing tricks is by far more talented then some one who who just does tricks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Originally posted by monument
    Been an “excellent observer of human behaviour” and doing tricks is by far more talented then some one who who just does tricks.
    Indeed. This Brown chap seems interesting. Does he have a regular telly show then?

he used to on channel 4 was on every week. Did he do that russian roulette thing yet? haven't seen it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,956 ✭✭✭corkie

Sykeirl hit some keys and this was the outcome.

I especially liked the show where he had the marketing guys come up with a poster/logo and they fond that it matched the one he had predicted earlier.

I was wondering recently where I had seen that show about subliminal adverts and messages.

Most of these performance are combinination, of 'Power of Suggestion' and 'Be able to read body language'.

As an example have you ever, sent in a request to a radio show.
    Then when your listining to the Show, and have tuned in to see if they will play or read your request. That you become so tuned in to the Show, and any words they say that are similar to words
    you may have mentioned in your request, you peek up and listen more. If you are extremely tired, you may even begin to think that radio presenter is talking to you.

For an experiment tomorrow morning turn on your favourite radio station and listen out for these key words below, just when you get up or when you driving to work. Going Nuts because of the traffic jams.
    Tenth, Wednesday, fire, jeans, September, brain, music, request, event, celebration, ball, honey, birth of a baby, new arrival, mind, fine, world, jack, james, river in cork, fun

Also think of a piece of music that you would like to have played.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭EL_Diablo

Originally posted by sykeirl

It's more "psychological prediction" than anything else and alot of the time its an educated guess (he rarely guesses "perfectly") or reading a person body language.

It's not prediction at all. He explains it himself. He tries to implant ideas into people's heads subliminally (sp?) and by their body language he can tell when they've picked up on the idea he's giving them.
    He's damn good at what he does and is a refreshing change from the likes of David Blaine and Criss Angel (I'm not knocking them I'm just saying that a lot of people do what they do - granted with varying degrees of success)

And Gideon: He will be playing Russian Roulette on or around October 26.

ah luly, I remember the ads when they were looking for audience members, haven't heard anything since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭DMT

One side of the blindfold was see-through, the other side was not.
    He simply turned it around. The solid blindfold incorporated similar trickery...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Mindcontrol do U believe in Keith Barry?

No - He does not exist ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,956 ✭✭✭corkie

Originally posted by corkie
    For an experiment tomorrow morning turn on your favourite radio station and listen out for these key words below, just when you get up or when you are driving to work. Going Nuts because of the traffic jams.

fire, jeans, September, brain, music, request, event, celebration, ball, honey, birth of a baby, new arrival, mind, fine, world, jack, james, river in cork, fun

Also think of a piece of music that you would like to have played.

Did anyone try the above experiment and what if any where your observations.

By any chance did you pick this music?
    Brand/Artist: Lewis Jerry Lee
    Album Song Title: Great Balls Of Fire
    Lyrics:
    You shake my nerves and you rattle my brain
    Too much love drives a man insane You broke my will, but what a thrill
    Goodness, gracious, great balls of fire
    I laughed at love 'cause I thought it was funny
    You came along and moved me honey
    I've changed my mind, your love is fine
    Goodness, gracious, great balls of fire
    Kiss me baby, woo feels good