Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Round One to Dunphy

• 05-09-2003 10:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭

Eamo had:
    Paudi
    Sex n city gal
    some geezer with nightclubs
    Bob Fisk
    Kieran Fallon

Pat had:
    Westlife
    Renault cars
    Some alleged irish 'celebs'
    Lots of 'it shouldn't happen to me but it did' stories

also, helix crowd seemed like they'd had a couple of free beers, and were nice n lively. theatre setting suited dunphy's style of playing to the audience.

only one winner on night one, but can he sustain it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

I wasnt watching,but wasnt roy keane meant to make an appearance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭Dr. Nick

Originally posted by Tellox
    I wasnt watching,but wasnt roy keane meant to make an appearance?

nahh, not tonight seemingly, but later in the series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Spacedog

the some geezer with nightclubs was hewey from the fun lovin criminals. Also Paul Brady, Mundy, and Joe Dolan.

I flicked over th pat a few times too, he had Twink and Mary Kingston. Who you gettin next week Pat? Derick Davis and Pajo? bloody hell!

The Fisk interview was especially good.

The audience having a pulse was also good alright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭Dr. Nick

Originally posted by Spacedog
    the some geezer with nightclubs was hewey from the fun lovin criminals. Also Paul Brady, Mundy, and Joe Dolan.

I flicked over th pat a few times too, he had Twink and Mary Kingston. Who you gettin next week Pat? Derick Davis and Pajo? bloody hell!

The Fisk interview was especially good.

The audience having a pulse was also good alright!

ahhh, hewey, i see. missed most of that part........

Agree on Fisk

dunno if he can keep the level that high, but hopefully he will, especially with navanman being on the case......spot on, no bother!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

Seemed like a good show alright Joe dolan killed that song wit mundy big time!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Eden

Can't stand Mundy meself, but he stayed in the shadows anyway, which was a little wierd.
    Have to agree with the gist of the thread. Dunphy asked some great questions and lead to the discussion of many interesting points. Still needs to get into his stride, obviously, as TV is a completely different ball game to radio.
    Robert Fisk was brilliant.
    And is it just me, or did FLC Huey look fooking awful? Like he'd been blown backwards across the atlantic on a beer bottle?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭jonhate

Yes agreeing with most posters Eamo was better...

Fisk interview was damn good

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Yeah, just like most of ya, I especially enjoyed the Robert Fisk interview. Very good.

I had to laugh when nearly all the EsatBT bumpers/stings were cut. They'll not be happy sponsors!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭innisfree

Did nobody else feel really embarassed for Dunphy? Not anything in particular he did, but just how nervous he was. I couldn't help cringing each time he fumbled his words over and over, and looked so tense in his seat.
    Also that 'thing' when he introduces music. A very cringeworthy moment too as he swung his arms in their direction in a very ott, out of character way.
    A bit of modesty would have saved him too at one point, when he uttered the line, "(sex in the city girls name,candice?)! Huey Morgan! Mundy! Joe Dolan! What a party!!". Not from where I was sitting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Slimjim

I agree bigtime from what I saw. The arms towards the band looked very awkward indeed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

Originally posted by innisfree
    Did nobody else feel really embarassed for Dunphy? Not anything in particular he did, but just how nervous he was.

Yep, same here. But I was embarrased because I thought he was pissed! :D I was thinking, "Christ, looks like he had to have a few to calm his nerves before he went on." Are you sure it was just nervousness? ;) It probably just was but I was convinced he was after having a few. Still, I suppose the nervousness will pass in time and he'll get more into his stride.
    Originally posted by innisfree
    Also that 'thing' when he introduces music. A very cringeworthy moment too as he swung his arms in their direction in a very ott, out of character way.

Agreed. I got the impression he was trying to do an almost over-the-top Jay Leno type of impression there. Take it easy, Eamo, or you'll end up swinging your arms around so much you'll loose your balance and go flying clean out of the chair! :D

And speaking of Leno, what did people think of the Leno/Letterman-esque style set? With the presenter behind the desk and the guests facing him on seats opposite the desk and the window (or is it just a window-type backdrop?) behind? I thought it was okay and much better than some of the boring sets we normally see on chatshows over this side of the pond, e.g. The Late Late, Parkinson, Patrick Kielty. Though, anything has to be better than the Kielty one. Having the presenter and guests sitting on a couch with this tiny, round table squished in between them just doesn't look good, in my opinion. It looks too cramped.

Still, though, warts and all, you've got to say round 1 has to go to Eamo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

I didn't think much of either of them.

Pat was Pat doing the late late
    Eamon was Eamon doing the late late on a different channel

Enjoyed Apres Match on the late late.

I am not interest in Fisk so not for me but then I wasn't interest in any of the guest really.

The last guest Eamon Had on was not the greatest to go out on.

I liked the last interview Pat gave I think that thats what he does best I don't think Eamonn could do that.

Eamonn Relied a bit much on this que cards.

I liked eamon's set, not overly american as i don't like those stuip american city back drops with plants all over the place. Pat should just get his old set back, I liked his old set.

but over all same ole same ole

Something new please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭DMT

JOE DOLAN FFS!!!

Pat "The Plank" Kenny needs to stop trying to be things he's not (e.g. witty, charming, etc), otherwise he came across as being professional. Hate it when he tries to cover up anything that remotely takes the piss out him, like the Aprés Match opener.

Eamonn "Look, here's a copy of Joe Dolan's new cd but I'm so thick I'm holding in such a way that the camera can't see anything other than the edge" Dunphy came across as being clueless.... Mary Kennedy would have been better.

:ninja:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Eden

Mary Kennedy for her own chatshow! Brilliant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Sorry but he did. Like them or not westlife are a bigger audience puller than a GAA manager. The GAA is primarily the sport of country men. Westlife are liked by nearly any female between 6 and 16 and by all yore mas(face it,yore ma thinks they make lovely music and are a grand bunch of lads:D ) So on the popularity scale Kenny won there. His first guest was a bit of an anti climax after all the hype as to who it would be.
    The only Dunphy guest who really interested me was Robert Fisk. He certainly won over Pat there but in general Pat had more people the public would care to see.
    I quite like Dunphys presenting style though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

According to the papers today, Kenny have a whopping 600,000 viewers when Dunphy had only 257,000 odd. According to the article, dunphy had more viewers at the start, obviously cause he started at nine. But averaging it out and kenny has nearly twice as much viewers.

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭BoB_BoT

Originally posted by Tha Gopher
    Sorry but he did. Like them or not westlife are a bigger audience puller than a GAA manager. The GAA is primarily the sport of country men. Westlife are liked by nearly any female between 6 and 16 and by all yore mas(face it,yore ma thinks they make lovely music and are a grand bunch of lads:D ) .

wtf, i thought westlife were dead "as a band" and there was no longer any interest in them. plus to the best of my knowledge they havn't produced any of their crap style music in a while. so how were they the bigger puller?

"6 and 16" come on, how many 6-12 year olds would watch the late late show ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Space Coyote

Dunphy should stick to radio. He doesn't have a face for telly. Although either do half the morons we see hosting shows on RTE. That includes the women. I half-watched Dunphy, while playing cards and it was obvious he was a nervous wreck, understandably. The show will do reasonably well IF he can attract/afford controversial and/or A-list celebs. That just aint gonna happen. Páidí O'Fúckin-Sheá does not fall into any category I'm aware of other than unemployed overweight bogman. WTF was he wearing ? From where I was sitting, it looked like a jacket with a hoody from the early 90's.
    Pat Kenny is a puppet, ye can see the bloody strings coming out of his arms and legs. He's a wanna-be Marty Whelan. The Late Late would still get the punters even if whats-his-face off the TV3 weather was the host, jazes that's a great idea ! Ah howeyas, must say howeya to little Jimmy Murphy who's 36 today. Fair play to ya. Jazes lads, there's clouds all over the gaf today. And our next guest is me oul one. Fair play to her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭JustHalf

Kenny beat Dunphy over 2:1 in viewing figures.

I'd hardly say he beat the lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Originally posted by Tha Gopher
    yore ma thinks they make lovely music and are a grand bunch of lads

my mother is currently listening to a lot of The Darkness and Rammstein with a little Mary Black and Delores Keane. contrasting styles or what

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭one-angry-dwarf

Does this whole kenny vs. dunphy "fued" just seem like a desparate publicity stunt to anyone else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭beezkneez

in fairness to dunphy, although kenny beat him in the ratings war, they were kennys viewers who switched over to dunphy so in effect kenny lost out on viewers.

with all that said, dunphy i felt wanst at the races at all. he was too nervous, twitchy and anytime he would adlib he would say the wrong thing.he should defo stick to radio. heuy morgan was hardly a catch either was that sex in the city bird. heuy is in dublin most of the time and joe dolan is a gob****e.

pat kenny is very professional and does a good job of it most of the time. not that pat had better guests but the ones he did have werent that bad at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭Humphrey

I was at the show in the Helix.

I thought his guests where crap.

The ligting was too Dark.
    There was no free drink as mentioned earlier.

And the reason the crowd may have sounded lively was because the Floor Managers was jumping around telling us to cheer and clap when all we wanted to do was fall asleep especially when Fallon came on.

Could of interviewed Huey a bit more.
    That Sex N the City writer was a head wrecker.
    Frisk his old buddy from the last word was interesting , I suppose.

Overall I thought Dunphy was good and I think he will be a good success if he improves on his guests.

Humphrey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭aodh_rua

What got me about the whole thing was that the Late Late went down their now usual route of having people on who were promoting a particular event\release\tv show. Take a look at who was on...

Westlife - singing soon to be released single from soon to be released album
    Celebrity Farm - obvious!
    Conrad Gallagher - interesting but also the subject of an RTE show on Tuesday night

At least the Dunphy Show's guests were interesting in their own right - especially Robert Fisk. It'll be interesting to see if they can keep up the quality as the year goes on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

If dunphy wants viewers he'll move to Saturday night. There is nothing on a saturday night.

Too many chat shows on a friday night.

Most sit into watch the late late
    those not watch are divided between

Ross
    Norton
    Kelly
    and ITV.

Dunphy will be lucky to get all the viewers for the british channels to watch him all the time.

Anyway I wouldn't think Advertisers will be to happy everyone flicking between Pat And Eamonn when their Adds come on.

Also IMO neither won, lost or drew. Bland very bland